David King

• Thread starter Thread starter Daphne

Daphne

Sorry my server went off the air and couldnt get in here till now.
Kingy is my favourite player,what more could you expect from him. Apart from being a great player, he is a menace on the field. He is always gobbing off at someone, and he enjoys the interaction with the supporters on and off the ground. I think that he is one of our friendliest players and a cheeky buggar to boot. Hopefully he will keep doing the job he has always done, I never really hear anyone getting stuck into him (our supporters I mean), I know sometimes he makes a few stuff ups but then who doesnt

I didn't like it that time when he slid down on his knees on the ground and pumped his fists.

I was worried I might see something up his shorts leg that I oughtn't.

This is the only negative thing I can think of. There are plenty of positives though. So I'll get back to you.

Gotta love the man. Reported and suspended in only his 6th game (whacked M.Febey), but unfortunately has toned down the violence a bit.
Love those runs out of defence, great ball carrier, runs 40 metres then kicks it 50. An asset to any side.
He added a new facet to his game last year, averaging more than a goal per game. Still can't believe he kicked 7 against the Bummers in a side that got flogged.
Well done too for staying loyal to North and turning down other clubs' big bucks. Stick around mate, you might play in another flag side yet!
Looking forward to another big season from Kingy.

------------------
"Not by speech-making and the decisions of majorities will the questions of the day be settled... but by iron and blood" - Otto von Bismarck 1862

Originally posted by 35eye:
I didn't like it that time when he slid down on his knees on the ground and pumped his fists.

I was worried I might see something up his shorts leg that I oughtn't.

This is the only negative thing I can think of. There are plenty of positives though. So I'll get back to you.
What is negative about that 35eye, there are a couple of things I want to say but better keep it clean.

Kingy is an absolute loyal Rooboy. He turned down the big dollars at Freo so the club should look after him. He has a go every week and he will be one of the few three time premiershop players this year.

I admire his loyalty to the club. Does anyone know how close he was to signing a contract with Fremantle? I know they chased him for quite a bit and took him to Perth in an attempt to convience him to change clubs. Was he close to moving or was he always going to stay on with the Roos?

Kingy is as brash as they come. I remember him giving it to some of the Collingwood players in the earlier game at the MCG last year.The media seemed to make such a big deal about his behaviour. What the media did miss was Betheras kneeing David KIng in the groin behind the play. The umpires obviously did not peruse the video very well either.

I know he is sooo nice. When i went down to training this summer he came over stretching on the fence near us and started talking to us wot a nice bloke he is then when when he went past in the car with Ricky they waved. Love players who acknowledge the fans!!!

Other real nice Roos i have found to be Stevo and Carey!

sPiDeR eVeRiTt and RiCkY oLaReNsHaW
~kewlest players round!!!

He is a great player for us. I must admit last year when both he and Bell were talking to Fremantle, I was more confident of Bell staying and Kingy going. How wrong was I huh!!! He restored a lot of faith in the word - LOYALTY, and showed us all what a true Roo he is.

Why do you all assume he stayed at North because he was "faithful"? If he was so faithful, why did he go to Fremantle in the first place ? Perhaps North offered him more to stay.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

I think he went to Freo to shake the Roos up a bit. Though he did look genuinely pee'd off when the Perth media snapped him arriving there for talks. I agree, I reckon North offered him more to stay.

Kingy is also part of the Branding Committee which was probably worked into his contract. Along with Ross Smith, Kingy is travelling all over the countryside selling the Kangaroos alliance to other sporting clubs.

Originally posted by Carey_is_King:
Why do you all assume he stayed at North because he was "faithful"? If he was so faithful, why did he go to Fremantle in the first place ? Perhaps North offered him more to stay.

If you were offered xx amount of $$ to switch jobs, wouldn't you at least check it out. I know I would - it's called keeping your options open..

Originally posted by Aussie_Roo:
If you were offered xx amount of $$ to switch jobs, wouldn't you at least check it out. I know I would - it's called keeping your options open..

My point exactly. That is why this talk of how wonderfully loyal he is doesn't stack up.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

when Kingy took out OBrien in the 1996 GF... I think it was a vital turning point in the game... they only had one avenue to goal from then on... and Mick eventually shut him down...

and don't be mistaken... he meant it... and that is what I like about KINGY...

The only thing I don't like about King is that sometimes he gets lost in a game... instructing others or giving directions...

Kingy did the right thing for himself (and possibly those directly around him) in listening to Fremantle's offers. Nothing wrong with that.

King, the brash, cheeky and aggressive player said via the media that he "won't make a decision until after the finals" and his refusal to make a commitment one way or the other probably had most Roos fans thinking he was on his way out.
Bell, universal Mr. Nice Guy, little battler reject come good, was thought to personify courage, integrity, passion and reward for hard work, and was considered less likely to leave than King was.

King stayed, Bell left.

I'm not all that dirty on Bell, he did what was right for himself and his family BUT I daresay Kingy proved a lot of people wrong when he stayed. Good on him! I would always have rather kept King than Bell, based on the skills of the player, the return we got from the player, and the player's importance to the side.

------------------
"Not by speech-making and the decisions of majorities will the questions of the day be settled... but by iron and blood" - Otto von Bismarck 1862

Originally posted by Damir Dokic
Is KING Is GOOD

Yes, yes, yes!
I am very good. Thankyou very much for your kind words.
Damir, you the one with that very spunky daughter?
Shes got a veru good body, I wonder if she would like the *Sexual King*

Kingaroo

I think that Kingy giving directions to other players all the time is a good thing because the Roos haven't had a stable captain recently and we have had a lot of young guys progress to seniors this year, like Harro,Teaguey,Drew,Jonesy etc who sometimes get a little lost and Kingy knows the game so well he just helps them out which results in a greater team effort, I say well done Kingy,
he's got the charm,the looks,and can play footy I say
'HE'S GOT IT, YEAH BABY HE'S GOT IT'

Originally posted by Daphne
Kingy is not from the country is he?

I think King is originally from the Murray Ovens region before spending a couple of years at Port Melbourne.