David Noble

It does have the look of 1-2 players who got offside to Nobles or even JHF not wanting to be in Melb.
Just spread through the playing group.
You seen it many times players just wanting the coach axed.
Then the media says the coach cannot coach.. Not the players are weak and cry babies :)

I do wonder they cleaned house too much. Seems so many young mids

I'm a Brisbane/Fitzroy(Ammos)/North supporter. I lived in North Melbourne at Uni and used to get into Arden at half time if I wasn't watching the Roys or playing for the Reds. The family decided that barracking for Brissie was grea,t but we wanted to go to the footy each week and I wasn't going general admission and giving the AFL my money. so we joined North.

North have an appalling list. Their BF winner last year (Simkin) is the reincarnation of Noel Mugavin. He tries very hard but he butchers the ball big time. Its funny that this analogy means nothing to the North people but conveys exactly the right image on this thread. Apart from LDU who will be(he isn't now)a possible A grader mid no one else on the North list will fill me with confidence next week.

McKay has a very poor rating one on one and until he learns to stop trying to take unrealistic marks he wouldn't get a game for us. Either would Corr.

They have a good ruckman but he's 34.

Walker, who also wouldn't get a game with us, is in the top four for contests one on one this year and he stands out like a sore thumb. He's competent but limited and will finish top 5 in their BF!!!!!!

North need to totally clean out their list over the next two years(again) and this probably means Noble has no way to survive

I'm a Brisbane/Fitzroy(Ammos)/North supporter. I lived in North Melbourne at Uni and used to get into Arden at half time if I wasn't watching the Roys or playing for the Reds. The family decided that barracking for Brissie was grea,t but we wanted to go to the footy each week and I wasn't going general admission and giving the AFL my money. so we joined North.

North have an appalling list. Their BF winner last year (Simkin) is the reincarnation of Noel Mugavin. He tries very hard but he butchers the ball big time. Its funny that this analogy means nothing to the North people but conveys exactly the right image on this thread. Apart from LDU who will be(he isn't now)a possible A grader mid no one else on the North list will fill me with confidence next week.

McKay has a very poor rating one on one and until he learns to stop trying to take unrealistic marks he wouldn't get a game for us. Either would Corr.

They have a good ruckman but he's 34.

Walker, who also wouldn't get a game with us, is in the top four for contests one on one this year and he stands out like a sore thumb. He's competent but limited and will finish top 5 in their BF!!!!!!

North need to totally clean out their list over the next two years(again) and this probably means Noble has no way to survive
They have completely cleared out their list. They have so many young kids, but they’re almost all midfielders or half forwards.

Their recruiting and drafting has been haphazard at best.

Then they have 3 young rucks/ruck forwards, but can’t play two of them, because Goldstein is still their best ruck.

And they traded away their second and third round picks for this year, so really only have their first round pick to take to the draft, unless they are planning on splitting it.

They have completely cleared out their list. They have so many young kids, but they’re almost all midfielders or half forwards.

Their recruiting and drafting has been haphazard at best.

Then they have 3 young rucks/ruck forwards, but can’t play two of them, because Goldstein is still their best ruck.

And they traded away their second and third round picks for this year, so really only have their first round pick to take to the draft, unless they are planning on splitting it.
"Haphazard" is not the word I would use. "Terrible at best" is what I would say. We picked up McCarthy, Adams, Lyons basically for bugger all. They got Polac and Walker and the funny/tragic thing is Walker is their best pick up for three years!!!!!!

I reckon their No 1 pick will want to go home and Cam Zurhar isn't signing up.

briztoon, would you consider the North recruiting job? You would have to do a better job.

"Haphazard" is not the word I would use. "Terrible at best" is what I would say. We picked up McCarthy, Adams, Lyons basically for bugger all. They got Polac and Walker and the funny/tragic thing is Walker is their best pick up for three years!!!!!!

briztoon, would you consider the North recruiting job? You would have to do a better job.
We changed to being a club that players want to come to (for varying reasons). When that happens it makes it easier to get players for buggar all. North have been trying to buy players for donkeys years with minimal success (make that no success based on results). They are the new Suns with nobody wanting to go or stay with them. Massive amount of work to get the whole club sorted me thinks.

The Suns look to be turning the corner as well.

Time to put our boot on their throats and poach the last remaining talents from their list.

I doubt anyone would know but I seem to recall years ago hearing that he and his wife were building there dream home in Mount Tamborine which would have been handy when the club relocates to Springfield. Of course he and his wife could have sold it when he moved to North.
Pretty sure it was put on the market when he left.

It looks like the Roos are in a bit of strife and David Noble is not going great guns down there. He is probably not enjoying it either now to be honest.

Also feels like that we have lost a bit of our edge since he left - our improvement has stalled - and often looks like Fages is out of ideas when games go down to the wire. The game against the Hawks was probably the first game in a while where we had finals type pressure applied to us at the latter stages and again our game plan/style didn't stand up

Should we be in David's ear about coming back to us? It could potentially be a win-win-win for Roos-Noble-Us
Would there be enough room in our soft cap?
I will stick my neck out and say I have you as playing in the GF this year let alone winning it, so you can have him back next Sunday night if you like.

as a north supporter whats your analysis of nobles role as senior coach?

are the issues because he really is truly out of his depth and cant get the playing group to buy in to whatever hes selling? Is it all the external stuff that we've seen manifest in club figures leaving? are the cattle just not there? something inbetween?

i thought he was a good pick and looked to have you on the right course last year, sad it doesnt look like it will work out for him

are the issues because he really is truly out of his depth and cant get the playing group to buy in to whatever hes selling? Is it all the external stuff that we've seen manifest in club figures leaving? are the cattle just not there? something inbetween?

i thought he was a good pick and looked to have you on the right course last year, sad it doesnt look like it will work out for him
Just have a really bad feeling that he might have lost the majority of the playing group after spraying the playing group “really badly” after that Round 3 clash against us and it has resulted in him facing an up-hill battle to regain those crucial relationships with his players again.

Before all that, the club actually seemed to look positive in terms of their rebuild in 2021 and in the early parts of this year but after that round against us, they just look so disinterested in playing for him and the effort has dropped off significantly as a result.

The tide will turn hopefully for them. Well it was just like yesterday.
When we were struggling back 10 years ago, I have to say I admired how Nth went about it when they came to town.
There forward patterns , the way they would run and lead to the kicker in two waves, the first lead running closer to the kicker and the second ( Drew Petrie) running in an identical arc running into the space created just behind , and of course it went over the first lead falling onto the chest of the second lead , briiliant to watch , clockwork , timed to perfection.
The thing was when the Nth player kicked the ball into that zone , you couldn't tell who he was kicking it to until the ball sailed over the first lead.
I might send the tape to Fages , you know bring the play out in the Grand Final. :D
It could work or we look look the three stooges Nuck nuck nah. Wooh woo woo woo woo.

…well I am talking from pov only and I have no idea of wat is going on with his relationship with players, but wat I do see if a lack of Game Day Coaching capability with regards to structure and strategy, both offensively and defensively

I think North's recruiting in the last couple of years hasn't been completely terrible. I think "haphazard" is about right. Some good decisions recently and some missteps.

I think the bigger issue that most of the mature players they have signed are playing their career worst footy and the young players' development is not necessarily on par with their potential. And clearly there are some fractures within the playing group and with the coach. It reminds me so much of the last days of Leppa. I remember saying at the end of Leppa's time with us that I didn't know if he was a good coach or a bad coach given the poor/young talent levels he had but I was confident the club couldn't move forward with him at the helm - there was just too much damage, even if a lot of it wasn't his fault.

I reckon Noble is now in the same boat.
Some things are irreparable without a change at the top. The problem for North is that Noble was their Fagan - the experienced footy guy who'd been up every dry gully. And that's not working out. They've also tried their inexperienced but highly regarded guy (Shaw). What do they do now? Go back to the well with the next best young guy? Hope a decent-ish senior coach like Cameron or Hinkley is the right fit? Pray hard for Clarkson?

We're the model for getting the leadership right first, then focusing on culture and improvement. But, leaving aside questions on whether Noble can coach, as Lions supporters, we know he can lead and we know that he understands and can contribute to a good club culture. Is North so broken that even a guy with a track record on that stuff can't succeed? Or maybe "rinse and repeat" is too simplistic.

I think North's recruiting in the last couple of years hasn't been completely terrible. I think "haphazard" is about right. Some good decisions recently and some missteps.

I think the bigger issue that most of the mature players they have signed are playing their career worst footy and the young players' development is not necessarily on par with their potential. And clearly there are some fractures within the playing group and with the coach. It reminds me so much of the last days of Leppa. I remember saying at the end of Leppa's time with us that I didn't know if he was a good coach or a bad coach given the poor/young talent levels he had but I was confident the club couldn't move forward with him at the helm - there was just too much damage, even if a lot of it wasn't his fault.

Some things are irreparable without a change at the top. The problem for North is that Noble was their Fagan - the experienced footy guy who'd been up every dry gully. And that's not working out. They've also tried their inexperienced but highly regarded guy (Shaw). What do they do now? Go back to the well with the next best young guy? Hope a decent-ish senior coach like Cameron or Hinkley is the right fit? Pray hard for Clarkson?

We're the model for getting the leadership right first, then focusing on culture and improvement. But, leaving aside questions on whether Noble can coach, as Lions supporters, we know he can lead and we know that he understands and can contribute to a good club culture. Is North so broken that even a guy with a track record on that stuff can't succeed? Or maybe "rinse and repeat" is too simplistic.

Well said - I feel exactly the same. It's like watching Brisbane in 2016.

So it’s time for the AFL to step in, and put some of their own people in to right the ship.

@briztoon, would you consider the North recruiting job? You would have to do a better job.
I think North Melbourne are just VERY VERY inexperienced on all aspects of the footy club (including the board room antics) and Noble will be the unfortunate scapegoat that’ll be the sacked at the end of the year as a sacrifice of the poor incompetence of him (in few regards) but mostly everyone around him.

In terms of list management/trading though, the club just really needs to prioritise bringing in experienced-like players (for starters) before worrying about needs/voids in their AFL team to help create a strong culture (on-field/off-field) and to provide internal competition for spots in their squad similar to how we attacked the trade period early on and they should be able to do that easily with the amount of salary cap they currently have at their disposal.

A couple of quality experienced OOC players from a list of Daniel McStay/Ryan Lester (Brisbane), Steele Sidebottom (Collingwood), Dyson Heppell (Essendon), Griffin Logue (Fremantle), Quinton Narkle (Geelong), Tim Taranto (GWS), Jack Gunston/Chad Wingard (Hawthorn), Andrew Bradshaw (Melbourne), Karl Amon/Steven Motlop (Port Adelaide), Shane Edwards/Kane Lambert (Richmond), Jarryd Geary (St.Kilda), Sam Reid (Sydney), Jack Redden (West Coast), Mitch Wallis (Western Bulldogs) would help North Melbourne massively next year and beyond in their rebuild and help provide numerous benefits to the club as mentioned before.

I think North Melbourne are just VERY VERY inexperienced on all aspects of the footy club (including the board room antics) and Noble will be the unfortunate scapegoat that’ll be the sacked at the end of the year as a sacrifice of the poor incompetence of him (in few aspects) but mostly everyone around him.

In terms of list management/trading though, the club just really needs to prioritise bringing in experienced-like players (for starters) before worrying about needs/voids in their AFL team to help create a strong culture (on-field/off-field) and to provide internal competition for spots in their squad and they should be able to do that easily with the amount of salary cap they currently have (reportedly).

A couple of quality experienced OOC players from a list of Daniel McStay/Ryan Lester (Brisbane), Steele Sidebottom (Collingwood), Dyson Heppell (Essendon), Griffin Logue (Fremantle), Quinton Narkle (Geelong), Tim Taranto (GWS), Jack Gunston/Chad Wingard (Hawthorn), Andrew Bradshaw (Melbourne), Karl Amon/Steven Motlop (Port Adelaide), Shane Edwards/Kane Lambert (Richmond), Jarryd Geary (St.Kilda), Sam Reid (Sydney), Jack Redden (West Coast), Mitch Wallis (Western Bulldogs) would help North Melbourne massively next year and beyond in their rebuild and help provide numerous benefits to the club as mentioned before.
Can you see even one of those players going to North? Unless they are delisted, and looking for an afl lifeline.

Just have a really bad feeling that he might have lost the majority of the playing group after spraying the playing group “really badly” after that Round 3 clash against us and it has resulted in him facing an up-hill battle to regain those crucial relationships with his players again.

Before all that, the club actually seemed to look positive in terms of their rebuild in 2021 and in the early parts of this year but after that round against us, they just look so disinterested in playing for him and the effort has dropped off significantly as a result.
Any players that decide the coach has ' lost ' them and they just don't want to try too hard anymore because they copped a big spray I don't want anywhere need my list.

My spelling is terrible.

That's anywhere NEAR my list.

If that's the true main reason he's 'lost' them they need to grow a set.

I can't believe he apologised to them afterwards. That edict obviously came from above.

They were terrible. Face up to the fact that you were terrible and show the coach you've got what it takes to get better.

…well I am talking from pov only and I have no idea of wat is going on with his relationship with players, but wat I do see if a lack of Game Day Coaching capability with regards to structure and strategy, both offensively and defensively

And some here claimed it was the game day smarts that we lost with Nobel leaving.

Such a difficult game to really understand.

Can you see even one of those players going to North? Unless they are delisted, and looking for an afl lifeline.
Personally, there’s a couple that could seriously consider it (if the money and years were right).

Players like Lester, Heppell, Gunston, Reid & Wallis would be the 5 that I would look at the most trading for this year even if it’s for a couple of years to create a strong culture over there and provide competition for spots.

I'm happy to give my 2 cents on the subject as a long-term supporter of the club. There are quite a few issues, many of which Noble has inherited.

As a people manager, it is hard to say. He has his favourites like any coach, but there is an alleged (I stress the word alleged) divide between the older players that back him and a younger group that find his intended gameplan far too complicated to implement properly and that it is ineffectual for the modern game. There appears to be a real lack of competitiveness amongst the whole group and a few of the younger players are not responding well to his style of coaching (Stephenson and TT for example). Our fitness standards are still lacking (though slightly improved on previous years) and have been really poor since the end of Scott (we fell behind most clubs in regards to fitness).

As a gameday tactician, it is also hard to say given the lack of quality personnel. His persistence with 2 rucks without a proper KPF CHF is a bug-bear for many supporters, but I understand it due to Comben's constant injuries. I would say Noble is average at best, but he's at least willing to be versatile with players (i.e. Bailey Scott to HB). Some on our board think he overemphasizes versatility too much, which forces ball-pigs like Powell and LDU to sit on a flank or at half-forward for long periods. We all get the need for versatility, but some players just can't be flexible.

Too early to tell with list management as he's only had one main draft and one MSD draft. Our list management woes are a consequence of a few things. We simply lack decent players and leaders in the 24-28 bracket (think Scott/Joyce years), our current leaders being very average for the most part and we lacked both KPDs and KPFs heading into the season. We had to play Aiden Bonar on Harry McKay a few months back because of personnel issues. Injuries to our better young players also hasn't helped.

At the time, I felt he was the right pick, but I personally have concerns over his player management, an inability to instill competitiveness, a real noticeable regression since last year and his capacity as a gameday tactician (jury is still out on this one). I personally want him gone as player trust problems are often untenable and we are simply too uncompetitive atm, but the issues are larger than him. I feel that the board simply hasn't ponied up the resources over the years (largely due to cost savings and poor appointments) for our support staff, our fitness staff and the VFL team. Our CEO in Ben Amarfio has also been largely mediocre. We made the right decision letting go Luff and co a few weeks back. They are the ones that decided last summer to have 3 genuine KPDs and 3 genuine KPFs heading into 2022 was a grand idea.

I think they should stick with Noble for 2023 and I dare say it, 2024. Put a good 2IC with him who can help with match day tactics, they could put feelers out for Leon Cameron. If they go down the path of sacking Noble, the next coach has to still sift through "half the list turned over in 2 years" rubble and very likely won't make it. Noble can go through this phase considering he's done it with us before and if things start turning around, he could very well continue with the job.

Get a strong 2IC, get some more experience through the middle and let the rest of the young players settle around them. Oh, please get a KPF in draft to pair with Larkey. I still can't believe they went with Phillips and ignored McDonald.

When you're sitting near the bottom of the ladder and a section of players are saying we don't like this or that and making judgements about the way they're coached maybe that's players you don't want to be working with.

There's a big opportunity for players at NM to get a game at an AFL club and show they can play. And contribute to a team.

The more I hear about the issues at North the more I'm thinking they've just got crap players. And an endemic poor culture that no one's going to turn around without a LT plan.

David Noble