Universal Love David Teague

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

As I said before, he has not exactly been given a stellar assistant/support panel. Probably one of the worst (Least in terms of credentials) in the league.

Also we do not how hamstrung/disruptive this whole COVID crisis has had on Teague and his coaching and trying to get some kind of continuity and rhythm in his game.

We are no longer getting flogged almost on a weekly basis anymore, and we have been in most games up until the final quarter this season.

Sure, we are not getting the wins we wanted, but it's bit of a strawman's argument to suggest we have not improved at all undrr Teague.

Sacking Teague now or at the end of the season would be the easy way out.

Tje board need to pull their socks up and do a through internal review with regards to every aspect of the machinations of our football dept over the rest of the season and see how they give the resources and people that will be of asset to Teague and the players in 2022 and beyond.

We cannot afford doing another quick fix.

I don't see how any of that points to him 'deserving' another year?

Think the review needs to be independent, not internal.

If the club is serious about an end of year review, they would call in independent assessors and go over the whole football dapartment from top to bottom, from now until the end of the year. At the end of the year, a week after our last game, the assessors will hand over their findings to the new president so that he can take it to the board. The board should agree to abide by the recommendations of the assessors even if it means sacking everyone in the football department and starting the coaching group from scratch.

The assessors should, if they recommend parting company with Teague, recommend 3 people to take up the coaching role at the club. Then the board can interview the replacements for the senior coaching role and appoint the new senior coach. The senior coach, should then consult with the board and recommend which assistant coaches he wants from other clubs and should sack any assistant coaches he feels aren't doing their job properly at the club.

Personally, I think that the club should part ways with all assistant coaches in the event that the assessors recommend the removal of Teague. If we only sack Teague, I feel that we are papering over the cracks of more serious issues at the club and if those issues aren't addressed properly at this point in time, we are going to be in for a lot more pain for a long time.

Wonder what's really going on...
Some questions that need to be asked if were ever going to progress..
  • Are our players really lazy and dumb?
  • Are our players unfit and unskilled?
  • Is Teague's brand really that far off the mark? (He does keep saying we aren't following it...)
  • Is Teague's game plan to difficult for players to follow?
Teague needs to bite the bullet and try and build a brand around the strengths of the group of players we have

Independent review of the entire football department first. Starting now. Club has to go through the process correctly this time, sparing no expense or effort. It's clear we cannot manage this internally. The reviewing personnel must be independent and above reproach.

At this stage I am all for clearing the decks of Teague, and most or all of the assistants except Power and O'Keefe, at the end of the season. But we need to do it the right way this time. Opting for the quick fix (Bolton out, Teague in) is how we ended up here.

In the end, we need to see a new path forward, with a football department we can believe in to take us back to our rightful position as a successful club. Everything comes from that. The players will buy in too. They want success as much as the fans. With maybe the only exception being a couple reaching the end of the line, they'd be desperate to restore hope for the future, and to experience a feeling of pride.

Everyone screaming for internal review coach change -- outsiders tell us where we are going wrong -- while trying to signs key players and recruit some -- it all wouldn't sell confidence
Sure it would be nice to sell a stable and successful club, but how could we effectively sell confidence in what we're doing now? I think change is the only option at this stage, it would crazy to sit on our hands pretending everything is fine while the rest of the footy world looks on with scorn. We need to move forward. Might be tough, but it's the only way.

There are issues yes but don't scorch earth --- none of us know how the club operates -- I would hope that a Brad Lloyd would be telling the coach let's change some things up tweak what we can -- eg let's go young add some enthusiasm maybe bring some better
Disposal in and run drop the handball kick ratio down find some accountability -- set some markers for the group achieve them if the staff we have can't do that let's set markers for them .. list
Manager should already know what we need to go forward..... most
List management decisions are made long time in advance that was always a risk of not allowing SOS to fix his mistakes and reshuffle the list now we are basically going through a reset (would SOS take Williams as a mid to cover his drafting mistakes) maybe not ..

It seems a crying shame but when players won't tackle, defend, run or present it would seem that the coach has lost them.
That said, this would seem the 3rd time that senior players have done this to our coaches, and they should now also face the consequences.

I don't mind saying it.
Murphy can't play anymore. His heart isn't in it.
Levi too. Didn't play today but has been deplorable this year (and the last 2 IMHO). Setterfield and Newnes to be given an ultimatum.

Dow, O'Brien, Fisher, SPS to be played in their proper positions in the seniors week in/week out for Cotters, Gibbons, Fogarty, Ed, and Newnes. These boys are all trying their arses off with decent if not better performances at VFL level and deserve to be rewarded and given opportunity lest we lose them forever because we are too deluded by mediocrity and favouritism to develop them well. They simply must be played in the 1s. That's final.

How about Teague and co actually coach the basics in tackling with intent and removing an opponent from play, passing to advantage, presenting, running hard to create 2 on 1s and overlap, using and defending the corridor for quick ball movement, forward leading patterns, hitting players on leads. We didn't use the corridor until we had well and truly lost the game in the last and even then we were poor because we are trained to constantly use the wing if there is even the slightest pressure from opposition. It's pathetic.

Teague. You are the head coach. You set the agenda to your assistants and the players and demand they follow suit - there is no 'or else' - you ****ing force them to do it! Be crafty, be bold or loud, whatever you prefer - just do it and don't accept mediocrity! Take control of the team and bend it to your will or be pushed out by lazy players, no-hoper assistants and pass-the-buck board members looking to save their privileged positions.

Wonder what's really going on...
Some questions that need to be asked if were ever going to progress..
  • Are our players really lazy and dumb?
  • Are our players unfit and unskilled?
  • Is Teague's brand really that far off the mark? (He does keep saying we aren't following it...)
  • Is Teague's game plan to difficult for players to follow?
Teague needs to bite the bullet and try and build a brand around the strengths of the group of players we have

That’s what he tried to do in 2019 tried to “build a brand around the strengths of the players we [had]” then; it didn’t do much (enough to build some hope with our supporters only); players were added [McGovern, who he’d worked with, Betts who he has a friendship with, Saad, Williams].

He tried to build on strengths of those we had and those we have. It isn’t working. Adding Worsfold to a mentoring role at Teague’s suggestion has done little. Difficult game plan? So difficult no one can see it at all, players included?

As I said before, he has not exactly been given a stellar assistant/support panel. Probably one of the worst (Least in terms of credentials) in the league.

Also we do not how hamstrung/disruptive this whole COVID crisis has had on Teague and his coaching and trying to get some kind of continuity and rhythm in his game.

We are no longer getting flogged almost on a weekly basis anymore, and we have been in most games up until the final quarter this season.

Sure, we are not getting the wins we wanted, but it's bit of a strawman's argument to suggest we have not improved at all undrr Teague.

Sacking Teague now or at the end of the season would be the easy way out.

Tje board need to pull their socks up and do a through internal review with regards to every aspect of the machinations of our football dept over the rest of the season and see how they give the resources and people that will be of asset to Teague and the players in 2022 and beyond.

We cannot afford doing another quick fix.

Am not for or against sacking Teague. Do think his appointment was a quick fix, however.

True that our losses are now more honourable. After Bolton, Teague started playing a lot more senior players. This helped stop the weekly bloodbath that happened under Bolton, but he’s relied heavily on senior players that aren’t going to take us further than mid ladder.

Also a number of youngsters haven’t developed (even gone backwards under Teague).

It’s a fine balancing act between playing youth and senior players, but we shouldn’t be seeing a number of young players stagnant or go backwards.

Maybe it’s Teague, maybe other coaches - I don’t know. But if we’re considering moving people on I wouldn’t be putting a circle round Teague and saying “he must stay.” Haven’t seen anything yet to say he’s a mastermind coach.

Don’t think we can use covid-19 as an excuse, all clubs had to deal with it.

Be great to have a culture from that we can build a premiership on. Watch every top team - they’re hungry and know exactly what to do in games. We don’t.

All I know is that something is seriously wrong. It's impossible to justify losing to a reserve eagles side.

Team lacks the 4 C's confidence, composure, commitment and captaincy.

This is all on the coaching staff, they have ruined the cattle.

That’s 6 Cs :-)

Calmed down a bit from before.

I think Teague deserves at least another season with actually a decent, well credentialed assistant coaching support staff.

The AFL is partly to blame for forcing club's to cut back hard on Soft Cap spending on assistant coaches and fitness staff etc.

I am now actually asking myself has the Board and Liddle actually given Teague enough resources and capable assistants in all facets of the football dept ?

Anyhow David Teague is a very good person from all reports and I desperately want him to succeed as coach of Carlton.

I would like time over the next fortnight for the players and coaching staff to catch a breath and have a solid evaluation of what has gone right and wrong this season.

Touchwood Charlie Curnow should be back soon after the bye, which is better than a visit from Santa.

I hate how the culture of this club took such a dreadful emotional toll on Brendon Bolton, would hate to see the same happen to DT.

The fact we are never getting flogged any more is a positive that rarely gets mentioned.

After a brief stop at Cuckoo/Overreaction Station..i am firmly back on The Teague Train.

The malaise at this club and the 'culture' runs far deeper than The Coach.

The most sensible course of action is to stop doing what we have done so many times in the past, back our coach in, and provide him with better staff/assistants.

We need to mature and evolve as a football club (not just referring to the supporters, but especially the board)
Teague has been happy with the assistants he has, been spoken about ad nauseum on this forum.

Additionally, Liddle, Lloyd and Teague are the best of buddies, also been discussed.

If there is to be change, that nexus needs to be broken firstly.

Secondly, Teague and co need to make change NOW. Follow Sydneys path from last year.

Season is over, stated aim was finals, thats not happening.... spend the next 10weeks changing the system, finding out which players have the ticker to dig in and be carlton players.

Those that dont, can be traded, retired or delisted...

We cant waste another opportunity in all this mess.

Sent from my SM-N975F using Tapatalk

If the club is serious about an end of year review, they would call in independent assessors and go over the whole football dapartment from top to bottom, from now until the end of the year. At the end of the year, a week after our last game, the assessors will hand over their findings to the new president so that he can take it to the board. The board should agree to abide by the recommendations of the assessors even if it means sacking everyone in the football department and starting the coaching group from scratch.

The assessors should, if they recommend parting company with Teague, recommend 3 people to take up the coaching role at the club. Then the board can interview the replacements for the senior coaching role and appoint the new senior coach. The senior coach, should then consult with the board and recommend which assistant coaches he wants from other clubs and should sack any assistant coaches he feels aren't doing their job properly at the club.

Personally, I think that the club should part ways with all assistant coaches in the event that the assessors recommend the removal of Teague. If we only sack Teague, I feel that we are papering over the cracks of more serious issues at the club and if those issues aren't addressed properly at this point in time, we are going to be in for a lot more pain for a long time.

100% Barker should go & anyone else who has been there from the Bolton era

That’s what he tried to do in 2019 tried to “build a brand around the strengths of the players we [had]” then; it didn’t do much (enough to build some hope with our supporters only); players were added [McGovern, who he’d worked with, Betts who he has a friendship with, Saad, Williams].

He tried to build on strengths of those we had and those we have. It isn’t working. Adding Worsfold to a mentoring role at Teague’s suggestion has done little. Difficult game plan? So difficult no one can see it at all, players included?
Worsfold. Dialling it in from Perth. Gets the same view of things that we do from Foxtel (not sitting in the box with Teague)

That should tell us everything.

If they were fair dinkum, it would be a mentor in and around the club 24/7, to see everything the coaching and playing group does prior to, during and post game.

Oh wait, maybe thats also the role of Lloyd!?

Surely you can all see that worsfold was a handbrake on Essendon, him leaving was a breath of fresh air.for them. Look at their performance, they have a brand now.

Our club continues to shy away from any characters that tell it like it is. Club from President down, doesnt want to hear about our failings, just wants to spruik memberships.

Sent from my SM-N975F using Tapatalk

I don’t buy Ross Lyon as being a great anything. Maybe a great fraud.
When you see exciting footy like Dees Tiggers and Bummers are playing, why would you want a stifling boring plan that those calling for Roos or Ross would bring? Even if we had won yesterday...it was so boring. Just awful footy. Imagine playing ugly repressed footy every week?

When you see exciting footy like Dees Tiggers and Bummers are playing, why would you want a stifling boring plan that tjose calling for Roos or Ross would bring? Even if we had won yesterday...it was so boring. Just awful footy. Imagine playing ugly repressed footy every week?
Tigers and Geelong play a defensive style which then opens up the attack. We have attacking players who’s instinct is to attack. Perhaps they need a defensive coach to prioritise that end of the ground

For the talent that we have on the pitch we should be much better than what we are now.
Teague experiment has failed. It’s time to move on.

Really wish we all didn’t buy into the Teague train hype. I would have loved Justin Longmuir if we went an untried coach at that time