David Warner

Superbly put Phatboy, such an important post in the current climate. I listened to 3aw tonight interviewing an espn journo who said he has been heavily drinking on his own in the hotel bar.

He deserves his forthcoming punishment, I am far from a fan of his but now he is a scapegoat being used to lessen the impact of Smiths inevitable return.

This whole episode is representative of the rotten core of the Australian team. I simply cannot buy that from Lehmann down they did not know, as soon as a possible reason to limit team impact comes about in the form of sacrificing a player they do it, that's how this all unfolded in the first place with "Bangers".

Warner will be severely punished, his mental state still needs to be considered.

Edit: Just to add, this is the perfect example of the pack mentality (rather than team) of the side. They all agreed, coach down, with him until it goes south......**** any team mate or friend loyalty.
I think Lehmann made Warner VC for a reason- aggression and belligerence. If your attack dog bites someone, you can't act like you're surprised.

He has only ever been a KFC Big Basher in my eyes, the fact he has a spot in the test team just shows how crap cricket has become.

He comes across as a bit of a dick and his ego far outweighs his cricket ability, for this reason I am not really surprised that he would stoop this low to gain an unfair advantage.
He has become a good Test player. I admit to being highly surprised by that. Yes, he's much better at home than away; and generally abysmal on slow pitches (except one short series in the UAE) but the big gap between favoured and non-favoured conditions is pretty common for most batsmen in modern times. (In all times really, but it seems a bigger gap now.)

From the outside he does seem to have a Trump like ego, and a Duttonbrain to go with it. Having him in any sort of "leadership" role was always fraught with danger. There were few options at the time he was made VC, but it never sat well. You want captain and vice to have an IQ above their batting average (OK, maybe Bradman could have got away with it, average intelligence could be good enough).

Journalist Robert Craddock has detailed the simmering bad blood between David Warner and the bowling group, led by Mitchell Starc, over claims of who knew what about the tampering.

Speaking on The Back Page Live, Craddock revealed the extent of the discontent. “There’s been an extraordinary development. Basically David Warner has gone rogue. He’s taken himself off the team WhatsApp and he’s had a major falling out with the fast bowlers, including Mitchell Starc,” Craddock said.

“It’s on two fronts. The first is that they believe he has given evidence to the integrity commissioner that they knew about the ball tampering. And the second is that there’s been a story published on the Channel 9 website today which quotes an “unnamed source” saying that the bowlers knew about the ball tampering.

“They (Australia’s bowlers) are blistering, to the point where I understand where one of the bowlers is thinking about approaching team management and saying ‘get him off the tour’.

The leadership group is Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazelwood, captain and vice-captain. And I know for a fact that Starc is blistering on it. As I said, one of the players is contemplating seeing the management and saying ‘get him off the tour now’ in the expectation that Warner will be banned tomorrow when the penalties are handed down.
“It’s a major blow-up, they’re not on talking terms. Warner’s been photographed in a bar by himself on tour and probably sums up the isolation of the issue.

“I’m asking myself whether Warner can ever play in this team again because the bad blood is staining every possible relationship.”

https://www.foxsports.com.au/cricke...e/news-story/11af43019ade182ec6797537d551459c

Warner has gone full James Hird

The leadership group is Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazelwood, captain and vice-captain.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/cricke...e/news-story/11af43019ade182ec6797537d551459c
Well, if that is the leadership group, then all that needs to be investigated is whether the decision was unanimous. Anyone who agreed must go.

Anyone who did not agree, I have a lot of sympathy for. They should have gone to the umpires or match referee, but that would be an extraordinarily difficult thing to do. They should go as well, but that is a harsh call. Simply saying "no" to the captain and VC would be hard enough - to dob them in goes against every instinct of a member of any team.

Look, this will come as a complete shock given my well known thoughts in him as a cricketer, and his general character in and around the game.

But I find this incredibly sad from a human perspective. He would feel at the moment, rightly or wrongly, like he hasn’t got a friend in the world, and it is incidents like this that can seriously drive a person down a path they might never return from.

He has brought it mostly on himself but that doesn’t mean his wife and kids don’t love him, and if this does take an even worse turn, it’s not just Warner it effects. I hope he gets whatever help he needs.
This is my concern with Smith and Bancroft as well. I don't think the condemnation has been unfair in the slightest, but whilst CA must punish these three appropriately; they also need to get some of their support staff in close contact with them over the next few years. There's a fine line between condemnation and lynching, and its horrible to think what this kind of fall from grace could do to these guys.

Yep. CA needs to be careful with what they do here and not pander to the masses.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Pander to the masses? The ones that turn up, watch the game on the tv or via new media platforms. Those who take their kids to play or the kids who will be chasing a spot in 2030? Whoever is behind this needs their contract torn up. Every member of the touring management who had the ability to rein in Warner should be moved on. There are great troubled players in the past,Warner has just joined them. This is one time CA need to listen.

Warner( will not be told), but he will never, ever, again play for Australia. CA has the perfect time to get rid of this "small man"
He has tarnished the "brand"so many times now, and all will not be forgiven.
Hopefully the NSW press mafia ,will get message,( that the rest of Australia's are crying for) and not give him any oxygen

Warner( will not be told), but he will never, ever, again play for Australia. CA has the perfect time to get rid of this "small man"
Hopefully the NSW press mafia ,will get message,( that the rest of Australia's are crying for) and not give him any oxygen

If warner was told he would just tip the bucket on everyone

Journalist Robert Craddock has detailed the simmering bad blood between David Warner and the bowling group, led by Mitchell Starc, over claims of who knew what about the tampering.

Speaking on The Back Page Live, Craddock revealed the extent of the discontent. “There’s been an extraordinary development. Basically David Warner has gone rogue. He’s taken himself off the team WhatsApp and he’s had a major falling out with the fast bowlers, including Mitchell Starc,” Craddock said.

“It’s on two fronts. The first is that they believe he has given evidence to the integrity commissioner that they knew about the ball tampering. And the second is that there’s been a story published on the Channel 9 website today which quotes an “unnamed source” saying that the bowlers knew about the ball tampering.

“They (Australia’s bowlers) are blistering, to the point where I understand where one of the bowlers is thinking about approaching team management and saying ‘get him off the tour’.

The leadership group is Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazelwood, captain and vice-captain. And I know for a fact that Starc is blistering on it. As I said, one of the players is contemplating seeing the management and saying ‘get him off the tour now’ in the expectation that Warner will be banned tomorrow when the penalties are handed down.
“It’s a major blow-up, they’re not on talking terms. Warner’s been photographed in a bar by himself on tour and probably sums up the isolation of the issue.

“I’m asking myself whether Warner can ever play in this team again because the bad blood is staining every possible relationship.”

Oh ****, this is getting way bigger than the ball tampering, sounds like the Aussie team will be getting a major shakeup as soon as tomorrow.

Michael Clarke had his faults as a captain, but I felt her learnt from the old guard very well, and did hold the integrity of the game in high regard. Prior to that our captains were made of tough stuff. Really tough stuff .

I think there is a lot of truth to that.

My impression was Clarke might not have been a natural captain, and he had his own personality flaws, but he came to the job having done an apprenticeship under some incredibly strong personalities- he was kind of a testament to how much an average person can learn if they train for an extended period in an exceptional environment. The next generation after him, holy ****.

From Geoff Lemon's twitter:

Right. It now looks more and more likely that the ball-tampering comes down to Warner. Which means Smith either was a pushover, or turned a blind eye, or didn't know but covered for his teammates.

It's clear that Warner has been erratic on this tour, and reports that some teammates want him out of the team hotel are especially telling.

At times, I like David Warner. He's complex, and much smarter than people credit. I've written of this side of him before. But he can also be highly aggressive, and teammates say he's prone to massive behavioural swings.

Just before the Durban Test, we did a Final Word podcast with him. He was eloquent, gave long considered answers, and wanted to be there. Days later he was exploding at South African players on the field.

Even before they'd said anything back, there was something in Warner that was boiling over. And when de Kock did say something back, it was Warner's prompt to fully blow his top.

This isn't to say that de Kock's comment was fair recompense. Attacking women bystanders to get a response from men is misogynist bullshit, and exactly the kind of attitude that makes organised sport so unwelcoming for women.

What that comment did though, and the crowd abuse that followed, was set Warner on a dangerous path: feeling righteously better than the South Africans, and furiously wanting to smash them.

You could see it in his batting in Cape Town, coming out and trying to put Rabada on the moon. No foot movement, walloping everything outside off, rather than the controlled drives that have become his signature.

In that context, as the match was slipping away, I can imagine an angry Warner saying "F*** these c***s," and deciding it was justified to resort to anything.

Anything to smash them, anything to silence the crowds.

And then it's not hard to picture a younger player who wants to impress the superstar, so agrees to play along. And the question from there is what Smith knew, or guessed, and how early.

The impression from outside the camp - and this may be wrong, I'm just piecing together observations and conversations - is that Smith can't control Warner. Instead Smith helps create space for him.

Like all the "good tough cricket" nonsense about sledging - Smith isn't a sledged, it's not his game. Yet he sits in press conferences over and over, making allowances for it, and acting like he approves.

It wouldn't surprise me at all if the current case was just the most recent and dramatic example. Meaning Smith either wasn't equipped to stop it, or tried to protect his teammate from suspension.

None of which means Smith isn't culpable, of course. He's the leader, and if he can't control a teammate then he shouldn't be. If he didn't know about the plan beforehand, that means he lied about it afterwards.

But Warner's involvement speaks of a player who lost the plot, and whose influence in dragging in a junior player is toxic and (literally) corrupting.

When Warner was made vice-captain, some of us liked the idea. We thought responsibility might help harness his power for good. It looks like we were very wrong.

He's pretty much poured on the fuel and set his international career on fire in a way that probably hasn't been seen since the spot-fixing scandal in 2010 (no, even Kevin Pietersen didn't go to these lengths).

If he comes back into international cricket in any capacity, it would be a miracle to make Mary McKillop proud.

I guess I may as well say that, despite all the asshattery, he's had a career that almost anyone would be happy with. He's definitely the second best Australian batsman who has debuted in the new decade and has blitzed bowling lineups time and time again with his blazing strokeplay. We'll always remember his 123* against NZ on an absolute greentop where everyone else surrendered, not to mention his delirious 180 against India on another juicy deck. We'll always remember his spectacular takes and disappointing drops. We'll always remember his, um, rudimentary legbreaks.

Shine on into the T20 circuit, you crazy, crazy diamond. We'll just go about rebuilding the Test side without you, as has happened since time immemorial.

Well, if that is the leadership group, then all that needs to be investigated is whether the decision was unanimous. Anyone who agreed must go.

Anyone who did not agree, I have a lot of sympathy for. They should have gone to the umpires or match referee, but that would be an extraordinarily difficult thing to do. They should go as well, but that is a harsh call. Simply saying "no" to the captain and VC would be hard enough - to dob them in goes against every instinct of a member of any team.

Yep. Let’s not forget Smiths attribution of this to the “leadership group”. Even if that was crap, it has meant Starc, Hazlewood and Lyon have been dragged through the mud already.

Pander to the masses? The ones that turn up, watch the game on the tv or via new media platforms. Those who take their kids to play or the kids who will be chasing a spot in 2030? Whoever is behind this needs their contract torn up. Every member of the touring management who had the ability to rein in Warner should be moved on. There are great troubled players in the past,Warner has just joined them. This is one time CA need to listen.

Nah life bans would be ridiculous. Half the public have jumped on the bandwagon when they probably don’t give two shits normally of what Australia does overseas. The masses are what Ch9 panders to so that’s all we need to know.

What was said between Warner and De Kock? From what I understand Warner was saying nasty shit for a while until De Kock finally fired back and then Warner proceeded to have a sook? Lol

There is a reason Warner doesn't play that much for NSW anymore, he has always been a brilliant cricketer, but everyone knows that he is also a massive DH.

At the start of the 2013/14 season he was due to play his first game for new club Randwick-Petersham. He was only due to play day two and Randwick had already batted day one. So he figured as he wasn't going to get a bat he would just go for a net session then out to the races. **** fielding for the boys. That's a plebs job.

At this stage his ego only had 22 tests and an average of 36 to go with it and had only been a few months since the Joe Root debacle.

At the start of the 2013/14 season he was due to play his first game for new club Randwick-Petersham. He was only due to play day two and Randwick had already batted day one. So he figured as he wasn't going to get a bat he would just go for a net session then out to the races. **** fielding for the boys. That's a plebs job.

At this stage his ego only had 22 tests and an average of 36 to go with it and had only been a few months since the Joe Root debacle.

He used to be compared to Scott Hookey, also immensely talented but also a massive DH.
Hookey used to open the batting and there are many stories about him heading home (to the pub) straight after getting out. Would also turn up straight from a big night out when he knew they were fielding. Also abused the shit out of team mates, umps, opposition players, NSW selectors.

He used to be compared to Scott Hookey, also immensely talented but also a massive DH.
Hookey used to open the batting and there are many stories about him heading home (to the pub) straight after getting out. Would also turn up straight from a big night out when he knew they were fielding. Also abused the shit out of team mates, umps, opposition players, NSW selectors.
Hookey was a bit before my time but heard plenty of stories about him. IIRC correctly scored a double century for North Sydney in a 50-over game and was dismissed not long after the 40th over. Sometime around the mid 90's. Before scores were logged on the web.

I don't recall that, not saying it didn't happen because Hookey was that kind of player for sure.

West Indies U19 toured in '88 and played a game at North Sydney Oval. Heaps of people turned up to watch one Brian Lara, there is a story that Hookey was pissed, sitting on the hill abusing the shit out of Lara while he was batting.