David Warner

According to Tony Sheehan on Twitter, Hughes said to Warner you killed my brother. I’m not surprised Warner walked off and took some time to cool down if that’s true.

If that's true, then that's below the belt from Jason Hughes. I really hope Sheehan is wrong here.

According to Tony Sheehan on Twitter, Hughes said to Warner you killed my brother. I’m not surprised Warner walked off and took some time to cool down if that’s true.

Surely that's not the case, surely.

I read a little refresher. Jason Hughes said he was told by Tom Cooper that the NSW players told Phil they were ‘going to kill him’ and reckons the bowling was beyond the pale. Come the inquiry, everyone got up and said it didn’t happen, including Warner. So there’s some bitterness there.

That all said, a fast bowler saying he’s ‘going to kill ya’ is not a serious threat. If Hughes did say that, then he needs to taken aside and told to cool his jets or take a spell.

I don't have an issue with him being sledge about what happened in Cape Town. Nor do i have an issue with him being sledged in general as long as family dead or alive aren't mentioned. I reckon if somebody other than Jason Hughes sledged him, Warner may have reacted differently.

Easier to take the moral high ground than consider the relevance of the person giving it to him, and what that might imply about what was said.

I read a little refresher. Jason Hughes said he was told by Tom Cooper that the NSW players told Phil they were ‘going to kill him’ and reckons the bowling was beyond the pale. Come the inquiry, everyone got up and said it didn’t happen, including Warner. So there’s some bitterness there.

That all said, a fast bowler saying he’s ‘going to kill ya’ is not a serious threat. If Hughes did say that, then he needs to taken aside and told to cool his jets or take a spell.
Yeah there's a bit of awkwardness there

An unprecedented situation but pleased in a way that Warner chose to remove himself rather than escalate it. A foul slanging match would be worse.

That the other team allowed him back on indicates to me that they are a bit embarrassed by what was said. Ie some of them felt he was within his rights to walk off.

A gesture to hose down any animosity.

Yeah there's a bit of awkwardness there

An unprecedented situation but pleased in a way that Warner chose to remove himself rather than escalate it. A foul slanging match would be worse.

That the other team allowed him back on indicates to me that they are a bit embarrassed by what was said. Ie some of them felt he was within his rights to walk off.

A gesture to hose down any animosity.

Makes you wonder what sledges he would have handed out to Sean Abbott....

I dunno, when you can kill someone and you tell them you will kill them (and then you do), I can see why a brother would hold a bitter grudge for a long time. Not saying Warner did but if there is confusion over who said what etc.

Weird how some players get to decide what sledging is ok and what isn't, you can tell them you will kill them but not allowed to remind them they said that when they eventually did...

In any case, credit to Warner who has seemingly handled this instance perfectly. A walk-off and either calming down or removing himself from the situation totally is the ideal choice, and one that gives all sides to take a breath.

This is a weird one. If Hughes did say something to do with his brother then I think Warner has every right to be upset. If Phil Hughes wasn't mentioned then Warner needs to get on with it. Chances are he didn't storm off the ground over a sledge about the ball tampering when he would've heard all that already in the first 4 rounds of grade cricket.

Tony Sheahan isn’t exactly a good source so take it with a grain of salt. if true then that’s horrible.

Weird one. Sheahan is probably right I don't think Warner is leaving the field over anything to do with sandpaper.
Could have got seriously ugly if he didn't remove himself me thinks

I don't have an issue with him being sledged about what happened in Cape Town. Nor do i have an issue with him being sledged in general as long as family dead or alive aren't mentioned. I reckon if somebody other than Jason Hughes sledged him, Warner may have reacted differently.

But this is the problem. Who are we, as in Australia, to set what can and can’t be said and what is and isn’t over the line. In China for example their general abuse/sledging to each other and about ones family is off the richter scale. In Pakistan and Bangladesh even just swearing at someone is considered totally unaceptale and over the line. The English stick to their witty houmour and the South Africans have a mixed bag with religion, heritage and recent changes in their law. Australian sledging has in recent years become vulgar and distasteful rather than “put a mars bar on a length....” or “ “Maybe not, but at least I’m the best player in my family.”
With dumb blokes like McGrath Warner and Wade, humour like: Rod Marsh: “So how’s your wife & my kids?” Ian Botham: “The wife is fine but the kids are ******ed” has become “your a campaigner mate and your sister is getting ****ed by my mates”

This all started with the ‘mental disintegration’ crap. And when we have some guys who don’t have witt or intelegence and are state and international cricketers, like Warner and Wade who say just shit things then the whole reason to sledge has been lost. And then to think you can spend a few hours trying to ‘mentally degregate’ and really upset someone and then expect them to have a beer with you just goes to show how unintelligent they are.

We put blokes like Mcgrath and Warne on such pedestals that when they sledged very distastefuly like to Sarwan “what does Lara’s dick taste like” and when he got the reply back Mcgrath lost the plot and had a cry and then the Aussies said, and to this day continue to say, that Sarwan had crossed the line.... FFS McGrath stared it with disgusting sledge that isn’t a sledge and when he gets a witty reply back in his face he loses it....... and don’t get me started with the holier-than-thou Hayden.

You know we got really bad when we wanted the microphones turned off.

Sledging should be witty, funny and fair not disgusting and distasteful.

Warner is a dickhead but he isn't to blame for what happened to Hughes and I hope nothing was said about that, let's remember phil Hughes had no issues playing in Aussie domestic and international sides that sledged the opposition and aimed bumpers at their skulls he was no better or worse than the other Aussies in this era, Warner was no more responsible for his death than Hughes would have been if Warner had been struck and killed.

Regardless of what Hughes said to warner I think warner removed himself from the game before saying something he would regret.

Reckon it's time people laid off Warner for a bit. Mob mentality in full swing.

His behaviour had been poor over the years but the sledging he and his wife got in South Africa was appalling and overlooked by the world cricket media.

He’s just going to have to suck it up, put his head down and get on with it.

Regardless of what Hughes said to warner I think warner removed himself from the game before saying something he would regret.
He's compromised the integrity of the whole f***ing match because the other boys said nasty things to him. Even if you disregard the distinct lack of self awarenes from Warner, we're talking Malcolm Turnbull like lack of spine here.

Do we know what was said?

We need the facts before we start calling people spineless. I don't mind the idea of him walking off. If it was serious.

The culture of verbal attacking of the field stems to grade, maybe this might help to change that culture.

Do we know what was said?

We need the facts before we start calling people spineless. I don't mind the idea of him walking off. If it was serious.

The culture of verbal attacking of the field stems to grade, maybe this might help to change that culture.
Culture change and "code of conduct" doesn't seem to have filtered down to grade level yet. Time it did. Kids don't have to learn this.

I'm not a Warner fan, he's dished out plenty of rotten stuff over the years, but in this case he did the right thing imo, walking away. For one thing he can't afford to take up where he left off in South Africa, with onfield behaviour, if he ever wants to be considered for a return to the national team.

Warner is within his rights to walk off if what is being said is true.. the best course of action was to remove himself from the situation. I personally think he's on a hiding to nothing, he bites back and he's crucified he walks off he's called a campaigner not taking what he gives. He can't win.

The hate and vitriol this guy gets you'd actually believe he was public enemy number one. He's an egotistical loud mouthed bogan hardly the piece of ##@$ we all wanna pretend he is.

Sent from my SM-A300Y using Tapatalk