David Warner

• Thread starter Thread starter Soups

He had SA crapping their pants for a good couple of overs there. Ripper catch by Khaaaaaaaaaan. He doesn't need to worry about bowling when he smoking them like that.

Mark Waugh also said that Dave can bat right handed as well. Obviously he smokes the ball pretty well left handed (I would like to see him try right handed just for fun:p) but my god this kid is a freak!

After seeing his last two matches his defence isn't the best. I reckon he needs to follow Afridi and just try to belt every ball. I know it's not what should be suggested but this guy seems to have that Afridi feel about him.

If he wants to play for Australia then this won't work. He should work of his defence, keep the good balls out and smack the rest.

Afridi is really just an average batsman who occasionally gets some runs. I hope Warner has higher ambitions than this because Afridi would have never got a game for Australia.

The way I see it, Afridi is a pure slogger. He will smash the ball anyway possible. With Warner, if you look back to that 95 he made against Tas, he just hits the call clean and plays some very good cricket shots. He may need to work on his defence, but these days to get noticed you have to score runs fast! I don't think he hits the ball through cover enough so he may have to work on that one a bit more.

If he wants to play for Australia then this won't work. He should work of his defence, keep the good balls out and smack the rest.

Afridi is really just an average batsman who occasionally gets some runs. I hope Warner has higher ambitions than this because Afridi would have never got a game for Australia.
Afridi is more than a handy bowler.

A very entertaining innings.

Did anyone else see the players face when he smashed the ball for six?
Funny stuff, especially Cam White.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/d...ome-a-bushranger/story-e6frf9if-1225838914322

He wants more FC cricket, notwithstanding the fact that his forays so far have been pretty average, mostly batting in the lower-middle order.

4 matches 6 innings Ave 26.20 HS 48*

He says he wants to open the innings but with Katich, Watson, Hughes and Jaques in front him, not to mention Khawaja who could also open or bat at 3 you can see why it's going to be a long shot for him to establish himself there.

Victoria and Queensland have been linked to him. However, being the drawcard that he is in T20, and to a lesser extent one-dayers, NSW can't afford to lose him, as it could impact them financially. What can NSW do though? Will they compromise by allowing him to play in the Shield just so they can cash in on his explosiveness in the shorter forms of the game?

Love how we've been linked to him on the basis of well, nothing, actually.

Airing your dirty laundry in public isn't ideal but you can understand why he and his manager have taken this route.
Will it work? Probably not, i just can't see NSW being bullied into giving him a free pass.
As good a prospect as he is at T20 level, he's not yet shown enough technique or ability at first-class level to demand a permanent spot at the top of the order for a team with as much depth as NSW.

If he did decide to go elsewhere, Queensland would be the logical fit for me, with Tasmania and WA also possible destinations.
I guess we could look at him given Nick Jewell and Chris Rogers are both 32 but i'd imagine we'd be looking more to strengthen our suddenly depleted bowling stocks first.

If that's his attitude then he can pack his bags and piss off. We have way too much depth in our Sheffield Shield batting to put him ahead of proven players, why should he get some golden pass?

What a joke.

We have way too much depth in our Sheffield Shield batting to put him ahead of proven players, why should he get some golden pass?

I guess his attitude is 'if it's good enough for Moises, why not me?' ;)

Evidently these golden passes have an expiry date on them, though.

Reckon he should move to Tassie if he wants to establish a FC career... way too much depth in NSW top order for him to get a game there.

Whingeing in the media is certainly not the way to go about it either, especially when virtually nobody reckons you deserve a spot in the first place.

Agree on Henriques, massively overrated.