Draft Watcher Davo-27's 2019 Draft Watch

Because of the work effort and training they delivered to set up the training facilities to generate this talent from an under representative area.

No discount = no investment by the clubs in doing the academies.

Let’s make it perfectly clear. No academies = reduced intake and potentially no pathway for under representative areas.

Whereas GWS have a high yielding region both currently and historically. That’s the difference!

this is just not true.

If I'm sitting there with the next Buddy Franklin in my zone, I'm not crying about paying my first without discount

this is just not true.

If I'm sitting there with the next Buddy Franklin in my zone, I'm not crying about paying my first without discount
It isn't the first rounders that you need to motivate clubs into developing. Guaranteed access to an elite talent you know better than any other is incentive enough, so the discount could probably be reduced or removed there, similar to how the AFL have limited top 8 clubs from matching multiple early bids. This applies to both northern and next-gen academies.

Heeney is a good example of both this and the other discussion about whether academies are drawing non-AFL talent in. He wouldn't be a footy player without the academy, and so it can be deemed an unqualified success, but was also a promising enough talent that Sydney would've matched regardless of discount.

Where the discount is important is in more speculative picks. The (at least official) purpose of the academies isn't to feed Heeneys into northern teams, it's to develop the northern state talent pool, so getting as many prospects through an elite program as possible is the goal, and discounts help this in a couple of senses. It gives the clubs an incentive to develop and pick players who may be effectively interchangeable with whatever interstate prospects are kicking around at that point, and in doing so it demonstrates to the academy players themselves that the program offers a real shot at getting drafted even for those who aren't elite prospects.

I don't pretend to know the details, because I don't, but our zone isn't just blokes who were always going to play AFL. There are some of those, but a lot of our prospects are from out in the middle of nowhere. Carter last year was the first person drafted from his town.
And no other club bidding for him during the draft came to us as a rookie. That is, he was not wanted by other clubs.

now that Vic Metro have finished their run at the Champs with a 1-3 record, i was thinking of covering my thoughts on players that caught my eye

Vic Metro:
#1 Jack Mahony - he was effective in every game in varying degrees, his disposal was better than most in the VM squad, he did drop out of games a bit and i think VM needed more from him to stay competitive

#5 Trent Bianco - again one of the better users of the ball in the squad, started the carnival slowly, then had a couple of good games to end the carnival, showing his ability to read the play, crash bodies and hit long kicks.

#11 Matthew Rowell - played all 4 games at a high level, Mr Consistent, you can rely on his work rate and endurance, also his toughness and never say die attitude

#13 Daniel Mott - had an ok carnival, mid who fell back to half back and played a link out of defence role, collected a bit of possession, but lacked a bit of impact.

#22 Miles Bergman - he really stepped up to the level and played wing for most of the carnival, gave VM some options out wide and hit up forwards and he loved going for the spectacular

#24 Noah Anderson - was busy without being spectacular, kicked a couple of goals in the win over SA, but overall i was hoping he would show more flair

#25 Finn Maginness - played all 4 games and was a bit up and down, when he played well he was winning clearances and feeding out side runners, when playing poorly was kicking without looking ect

#29 Fischer McAsey - up with Rowell was by far the best in the VM squad, took a bunch of intercept marks and did his best to stem the tide of inside 50's

#30 Harrison Jones - skinny tall who would fly for marks and ended with 4 goals in 4 games and 4 goals in the trial game, potential 2nd half of the draft pick up

#31 Josh Worrell - had 2 very good performances when pushed forward, kicked bags of goals and looked a danger in the air, the other 2 games his performances were not as special, but a good carnival

#40 Nick Bryan - i rate him as the 3rd best ruckman in the pool behind L.Jackson and Comben, one of the better pure tap ruckman and decent around the grounds, got beaten by the other 2 rucks and beat SA's ruck, but even when beaten he was competitive

disappointments:
Dylan Williams - i was expecting more from him after a good champs last year and an impressive performance in the finals last season, but he seems to have lost that spark, which is bad news for the medium forward.
Hugo Ralphsmith - other than a couple of highlights, like a goal on the boundary ect, didnt do much and got dropped for the last game.
Jamieson Rossiter - was talked up last year and early this year but has not delivered much at all.
Charlie Dean - he was really good last year, then started the year in great form, but at the Championships got little ball fed to him and the ball he did get he missed easy opportunities, got replaced by Jeka who also missed easy opportunities

All-Australian Potential:
Rowell, McAsey, Anderson, Bianco, Worrell?

All Australian Team Prediction

B: Rivers, Finlay, Ruscoe
HB: Gould, McAsey, Young
C: Schoenberg, Green, Rowell
HF: Cahill, Anderson, Flanders
F: Weightman, ???*, Henry
R: L.Jackson, Robertson, Serong
INT (from): Garcia, O'Neill, Ash, Day, (Kemp/Edwards)

*Tall forwards are hard to pick seeing as most have not performed this carnival, the tall forward spot is open and between Hollands/J.Smith/Taylor/Sladojevic/Worrell/Jones

others with a chance to be AA:
Sharp, Bianco, Mead, D.Stephens, Rosas, Gulden, Oea

*Tall forwards are hard to pick seeing as most have not performed this carnival, the tall forward spot is open and between Hollands/J.Smith/Taylor/Sladojevic/Worrell/Jones

No chance Cahill makes it in especially going of recent history with the AA, players like Kemp and Stephens will find a spot and despite his form I won’t be shocked if Sharp makes it in aswell.

yea you might be right on Cahill, he has had 1 really good game against VM, and 2 average games against Allies and SA, if he kicks 2+ and sets up a few against WA i think he will earn a spot, but tbh most forwards have under performed in the carnival, other than Henry and Weightman, all other forward spots are open and likely to be filled with mid/forws.

Kemp, D.Stephens and Sharp are in the conversation to be in AA, the last game will decide, unless they get in via reputation

yea you might be right on Cahill, he has had 1 really good game against VM, and 2 average games against Allies and SA, if he kicks 2+ and sets up a few against WA i think he will earn a spot, but tbh most forwards have under performed in the carnival, other than Henry and Weightman, all other forward spots are open and likely to be filled with mid/forws.

Kemp, D.Stephens and Sharp are in the conversation to be in AA, the last game will decide, unless they get in via reputation
Reputation will play a big part and they don’t like picking multiple small forwards either they would rather name midfielders in those Forward spots

Oneill will need to have a good game Wednesday to make AA in my opinion if he killed it yesterday then he would

Really think J Smith has been the most effective key forward but might suffer from the lack of reputation

now that Vic Metro have finished their run at the Champs with a 1-3 record, i was thinking of covering my thoughts on players that caught my eye

I agree with a lot of your thoughts, I thought I would add some more information to your list.

1. Harrison Jones - Watch for this name in the back half of the season, he has shown glimpses of AFL talent for me. Has a little Charlie Curnow light for me. Reminds me a little of Waite as well for Carlton. 194cm and only 75kgs... I think once he builds an AFL frame he will be dangerous. Currently, I would certainly role the dice on picking him up on an AFL list.

2. Jeka - I want to see if his kicking issues are constant or just having a bad run at the moment. He has a little Levi Casboult about him.

I agree with a lot of your thoughts, I thought I would add some more information to your list.

1. Harrison Jones - Watch for this name in the back half of the season, he has shown glimpses of AFL talent for me. Has a little Charlie Curnow light for me. Reminds me a little of Waite as well for Carlton. 194cm and only 75kgs... I think once he builds an AFL frame he will be dangerous. Currently, I would certainly role the dice on picking him up on an AFL list.

2. Jeka - I want to see if his kicking issues are constant or just having a bad run at the moment. He has a little Levi Casboult about him.

Jones i agree, he is draftable, he is a worthwhile project tall in the second half of the draft

Jeka's goal scoring issues are long term, they arent a lack of form like Dean's was, he averages under 1 goal a game i believe for 2 seasons in the nableague, 10 goals in 14 games last year and 4 from 4 this year and thats playing the way he does which is a solid lead and strong mark/contested efforts with decent ground game, i was hoping his draft year would see him kick more goals, but i've given up hope at this stage, could he be converted into a defender?

Eventual role at AFL level?

any small man role, can play small forw, with stints in the midfield, his ground game is very strong and use of the ball is very good, he can also be a goal kicker as we saw at the end of the last game against the Alies with 3 goals, he could play small defence as well because of his disposal being good, but he is probably too small for defence and hasnt shown the run and carry and aerial skills needed for that role like a Bianco ect has, so probably small forw OR midfield.

Jeka - I want to see if his kicking issues are constant or just having a bad run at the moment. He has a little Levi Casboult about him.

Always been an average kick, I'll be surprised if he becomes anything more than a state league player after floating around on a list for 2-3 years

Sharp, Bianco, Mead, D.Stephens, Rosas, Gulden,
Always been an average kick, I'll be surprised if he becomes anything more than a state league player after floating around on a list for 2-3 years
thought he had a presence like Ellem for Allies on a day for small forwards

you talking about Jeka? yea he has a presence and plays well, just cant score a goal (well he averages less than a goal a game to be fair), would you recruit a tall forward that cant kick goals but can lead, contest and is decent with the ground ball? i mean you might but it would be as a rookie if at all, right?

disappointments:
Dylan Williams - i was expecting more from him after a good champs last year and an impressive performance in the finals last season, but he seems to have lost that spark, which is bad news for the medium forward.

Has been injured & hardly played at all these Champs.....Still a gun in my books.

oh i mean all season, these champs were just another example, he does have a certain De Goey look about him and i wish him all the best, he is likely to go early in the draft, maybe not as early as he wouldve gone, but the facts are hard to ignore, a good finals campaign could change my mind, but currently i believe he has dropped a little in the rankings.

earlier in the year he was potentially top 5, with a draft range of around 3-10, but after a disappointing nableague and now Champs, he might have slid to 10-25, i dropped him further back in my list, but i think i was a little too harsh, i think he is a late first rd prospect now, but thats imo.

Allies end their campaign with 1-3 record, here are the players that caught my attention at the Champs:

#1 Errol Gulden - Syd A - the 2020 youngster is set to go high next year, every game bar the first game he was one of the best for the allies, ended with 3 goals in the Championships

#2 Hewago Paul-Oea - GCS A - played in 3 of the games with the last 2 being his best as a small half forw flank, set up multiple goals with his run and clever kicks

#4 Malcolm Rosas Jnr - NT - last 2 games showed some dash and ability to out fox his opponents, a lot of x-factor and potential, ended up with 5 goals

#9 Mitch O'Neill - TAS - his first 2 games were very good and stable, but seemed to drop off a little in the last 2 games, he has had a bit of an up and down season so far

#21 Luke Parks - Syd A - one of the better performers for the allies, started off slow, but ended the Champs strong, i think he could be a valuable late pick if Sydney dont opt to accept a bid

#22 Tom Green - GWS A - the star of the team, he worked his butt off in the 4 Championship games, got tagged and tackled a bit, but was one of the best players of the Champs imo.

#37 Josh Gore - GCS A - played well in 2 of his games kicking 5 goals, then had a disappointing last game going goaless, still added some forward punch to the Allies

#42 James Peatling - GWS A - played game 2 and 3 and perfromed quite well, dont know why he was dropped for the last game?

#51 Sam Gaden - Syd A - i noticed him in the trials, was playing amazing footy for the Allies in the 2nd game of the champs then gets injured at half time, didnt play much but in the short time made an impact.

disappointed in:
Connor Budarick - GCS A - made a bunch of errors and fumbles, was expecting more from him at the champs, had a good game against WA, but the other 3 games were disappointing
Jackson Barling - Syd A - had 1 poor game in the first game and got dropped for the rest of the Champs
Will Martyn - Bris A - seemed too slow and couldnt get anything going for the Allies, played all 4 games though
Sam Collins - TAS - played 1 poor game and got dropped for the rest of the Champs, nerves got to him it seemed
Liam Delahunty - GWS A - just didnt perform as a forw and then got sent to the backline where he hardly got near it either, poor champs for him

All Australian Potential:
Green, O'Neill?, Rosas Jnr?

South Australia end their Champs with a record of 2-2, players from their squad that caught my eye

#3 Corey Durdin - this 2020 prospect showed dash and a knack for kicking goals, his run with 5 bounces was a great play only to get caught by Charlie Comben

#7 Dylan Stephens - one of the better outside mids, heavily reliant on his left side, passing was good and got into good wide position to HR or run on, wasnt as good as i expected from his SANFL form, played well though

#8 Jed McEntee - just a tough inside player, was generally reliable and played a good role in each game for S.A.

#10 Josh Shute - lanky half back flanker was pretty busy rebounding and providing the target of those rebounding out of defensive 50

#12 Will Day - intercept marking machine, read the ball in flight better than anyone, was a bit sloppy every now and then, but was a part of the SA wall that was hard to get throgh in defence

#15 Harry Schoenberg - was the best S.A. player on show, hardest worker in the champs, was everywhere, he would pop up deep in defence then hit up a target in the forw50, then win a clearance then kick a goal, then get the ball out of defence deep, generally good ball use as well.

#18 Jackson Mead - started the champs off a bit slow, but then warmed up and had a good ending to the champs, good running outside more than inside mid, beautiful kick as well

#19 Luke Edwards - another 2020 prospect that impressed, he should go high in the draft next year, really good half back that would clean up any poor passes and hit a target going past or through good disposal

#20 Lachlan McNeil - most of the champs he was just fighting and scrapping for a kick, not the best user of the ball, but fights to win a contest

#22 Harrison Magor - played half back/inside mid, tough player who was pretty good, has a small chance of going late at the draft.

#24 Will Gould - played well in most of the games, his game against VC was his best by far, an inspiring performance, really good running tall CHB/flanker

#33 Dyson Hilder - one of the better tall prospects this season, played well down back and had a go forward kicking a goal in the last game

#35 Karl Finlay - another really good tall defensive prospect, strong in the air and used it well in general

disappointing:
Kysaiah Pickett - i know he has heaps of potential, similar to Byron Pickett in build and play, but didnt perform as SA would have liked
Cameron Taheny - has talent, you can see it from his SANFL form and from the good last game he played in the champs, but overall was a disappointing champs
Josh Morris - had a good record and good trial form, but under performed at the champs

All Australia Potential:
Schoenberg, Gould, Day, Mead, Edwards, Finlay, D.Stephens?, Shute?, Hilder?

Vic Country end their campaign runners up with 3-1 record, players that caught my eye.

#1 Ned Cahill - was handy in all the games but only starred in the VM game, strong small forward who kicks and sets up goals for his team as well as tackles and pressure, kicked 6 goals

#2 Caleb Serong - was one of the best 2-3 in 3 games and was good in the last game, strong contested player, kicking goals, winning tough clearances, getting the ball going forw for his team and a good user of the footy

#3 Cody Weightman - played with high energy and speed, ended up kicking 9 goals after going goaless against VM, was the small forw of the champs imo

#4 Sam Flanders - along with Serong was strong in the contest and got the ball going forward for VC.

#6 Riley Baldi - started the champs off with a bang in the first 3 games, then was just ok in the last game, added to an already stacked midfield

#8 Thomson Dow - wasnt the best champs, but did enough to be decent, clean disposal, seemed to be on the interchange a lot in last 2 games.

#12 Lachlan Ash - brilliant running half back and his disposal at times was deadly, competitive beast that generates a lot of rebound from defence

#13 Jay Rantall - running mid, provided a lot of handballs to players in better positions, played well and would be generally happy with his champs

#15 Ryan Sparkes - played wing perfectly, won a lot of contests on the wing and hit targets when free, raised his draft stocks a bit this champs

#16 Brodie Kemp - played really well at half back in the first 2 games, got his opportunity in the 3rd game in the mid and killed it kicking the winner, then played mostly forw in the last game and kicked 2 goals and hitting the post with the 3rd shot that wouldve probably put them in a winning position again, some great contested marks also

#17 Hayden Young - had some great performances, but fluffed his last game to finish off poorly, had a hghlight or 2 but fumbled a lot and kicked poorly ect in the last game.

#20 Elijah Hollands - talented marking forw prospect for 2020, needs some work on accuracy, but has all of the tools to potentially perform next season

#24 Brock Smith - didnt play game 1 very well, then got injured, came back for game 3 and 4 and was really solid at CHB, outplayed Taheny and then had a solid game against WA

#36 Sam De Koning - every game he performed to a good level, with many intercept marks and use of ball out of defence

#40 Charlie Comben - 2nd best ruck in the draft pool imo, he has all the traits you look for, god tap ruck, good mark around the grounds, good goal kicker, athletic, good fitness, good speed, can win clearances ect.

disappointments:
Martin - was hoping he would be more flexible and kick more goals, he got dropped after 2 games
C.Stephens and Perez being injured for the Champs

Serong, Flanders, Weightman, Ash, Young, Kemp, Comben?, De Koning?, Cahill?, Baldi?

Western Australia won the Champs with a hard fought win over Vic Country and ending their campaign with a 3-1 record

#3 Tyrone Thorne - added some speed and some poacher goals, ended with 6 goals for the champs, so a good effort, unsure if he will be draftable though?

#4 Riley Garcia - was the midfield partner to Robertson, reminded me of Prestia, broke his leg in the final game just before quarter time and was probably best on at that early stage, had a good champs

#5 Liam Henry - he went from strength to strength, dominating a couple of games including the final game, his kicking skills are sublime, he is a smooth operator and will cost Freo a first round pick 100%

#7 Nathan O'Driscoll - this youngster for 2020 has a heap of talent and proved it again in the final round against VC, took over where Garcia left off after his injury, highly regarded prospect for next year

#10 Deven Robertson - industrious midfielder, always gets a handball to a clear team mate, works hard around the ground and was next to Henry the best players for W.A. in the champs

#11 Jarvis Pina - gave WA some much needed pace out of defence, they had the strong and good disposals covered and he provided the line breaking pace.

#14 Chad Warner - had a solid champs, wasnt as impressive as his trials form, but was still a solid performer for the champs winner

#17 Jeremy Sharp - talented half back with great athleticism and had good impact in the last game of the champs in which he wasnt named in the side, kicking a goal and setting up another 1-2

#18 Jai Jackson - was dropped after the first game after i thought he had played pretty well, came back and was a good contributor for game 3 and 4

#19 Elijah Taylor - heaps of talent, but im still unsure whether he can perform consistently after going in and out of games

#21 Jake Pasini - good tall defender, intercept marking and linking out of defence

#26 Trey Ruscoe - talented half back flanker, his long kicking was the highlight of the champs, strong and smooth user of the footy

#32 Luke Jackson - the best ruck prospect of the draft, good tap ruck man, good around the grounds, wins clearances and his kicking is of a good quality, his kick hitting Clarke for the winning goal of the Championships

#35 Trent Rivers - rebounding defender, was always safe with possession, has the potential to move into the midfield similar to Kemp i believe, has a lot of potential

disappointments:
none? Georgiades injured and not seeing Musika?

Robertson, Henry, Garcia, Sharp, L.Jackson, Rivers, Ruscoe, Pasini?, Taylor?, Warner?

Vic Country end their campaign runners up with 3-1 record, players that caught my eye.

#1 Ned Cahill - was handy in all the games but only starred in the VM game, strong small forward who kicks and sets up goals for his team as well as tackles and pressure, kicked 6 goals

#2 Caleb Serong - was one of the best 2-3 in 3 games and was good in the last game, strong contested player, kicking goals, winning tough clearances, getting the ball going forw for his team and a good user of the footy

#3 Cody Weightman - played with high energy and speed, ended up kicking 9 goals after going goaless against VM, was the small forw of the champs imo

#4 Sam Flanders - along with Serong was strong in the contest and got the ball going forward for VC.

#6 Riley Baldi - started the champs off with a bang in the first 3 games, then was just ok in the last game, added to an already stacked midfield

#8 Thomson Dow - wasnt the best champs, but did enough to be decent, clean disposal, seemed to be on the interchange a lot in last 2 games.

#12 Lachlan Ash - brilliant running half back and his disposal at times was deadly, competitive beast that generates a lot of rebound from defence

#13 Jay Rantall - running mid, provided a lot of handballs to players in better positions, played well and would be generally happy with his champs

#15 Ryan Sparkes - played wing perfectly, won a lot of contests on the wing and hit targets when free, raised his draft stocks a bit this champs

#16 Brodie Kemp - played really well at half back in the first 2 games, got his opportunity in the 3rd game in the mid and killed it kicking the winner, then played mostly forw in the last game and kicked 2 goals and hitting the post with the 3rd shot that wouldve probably put them in a winning position again, some great contested marks also

#17 Hayden Young - had some great performances, but fluffed his last game to finish off poorly, had a hghlight or 2 but fumbled a lot and kicked poorly ect in the last game.

#20 Elijah Hollands - talented marking forw prospect for 2020, needs some work on accuracy, but has all of the tools to potentially perform next season

#24 Brock Smith - didnt play game 1 very well, then got injured, came back for game 3 and 4 and was really solid at CHB, outplayed Taheny and then had a solid game against WA

#36 Sam De Koning - every game he performed to a good level, with many intercept marks and use of ball out of defence

#40 Charlie Comben - 2nd best ruck in the draft pool imo, he has all the traits you look for, god tap ruck, good mark around the grounds, good goal kicker, athletic, good fitness, good speed, can win clearances ect.

disappointments:
Martin - was hoping he would be more flexible and kick more goals, he got dropped after 2 games
C.Stephens and Perez being injured for the Champs

Serong, Flanders, Weightman, Ash, Young, Kemp, Comben?, De Koning?, Cahill?, Baldi?

I only caught the last quarter, but I thought Young was terrific.