So another years draft is done and dusted, I thought I would give people an early indication of the talent for next year, I have worked on this list for most of the year, it is still early and I expect some players to either develop or come back from injury, but here's an early look at my top 50 for 2023, I will fill in more details in the coming weeks, but right now I will list the names to look out for next year.
1. Harley Reid - Bendigo - 185cm 82kg - really shun at the champs, has been excellent all year in a variety of positions
2. Daniel Curtin - Claremont - 195cm 91kg - best afield in the u17s pre GF game, terrific game after being injured for a large chunk of the yr
3. Jed Walter - GC A - 195cm 91kg - wonderful season showing off surprising athleticism and kicking 9 goals in 4 games for the Allies at the champs
4. Koltyn Tholstrup - Subiaco - 188cm 80kg - one of the best for WA in the champs, forward who can rotate in midfield
5. Zane Duursma - Gippsland - 188cm 73kg - a real danger in front of goals, can also rotate through midfield, he was a real weapon for Vic country that they missed in the finale
6. Archer Reid - Gippsland - 201cm 85kg - athletic and flexible KPF, had a huge trials game, was ok at the champs, but has heaps of potential
7. Nick Watson - Eastern - 169cm 66kg - tough, electric small forward, loves a goal and can kick them from anywhere
8. Jack Delean - Sth Adel - 181cm 73kg - was great last season and had a good champs this yr, but didnt dominate the sanfl u18
9. Nate Caddy - Northern - 190cm 83kg - high flying medium forward, took a tonne of huge pack marks this yr, excited to see him fly high again next yr
10. Ashton Moir - Glenlg - 186cm 78kg - had a good sanfl u18 season, had 1 good and 1 poor champs games
11. Nathan Philactides - Oakleigh - 180cm 80kg - fantastic defender from Oakleigh, match saving efforts in the trials got him some champs games where he performed well for VM
12. Will Lorenz - Oakleigh - 186cm - really stood out in a u17 game earlier in the season, smooth moving midfielder, Grandson of Hawk Legend Graham Arthur
13. Ben Ridgeway - Glenlg - 181cm 78kg - tough inside mid with some good run and spread, had an impressive game in midfield at the champs
14. Riley Hardeman - Swan Dist - 185cm 70kg - quality winger who was good in the wafl colts GF in 2021 and has since shown a lot of quality at the champs and u17 games
15. Colby McKercher - Tamania - 182cm 72kg - Allies winger who had some good moments in the champs this yr and for Tassie in the NAB League
16. Koen Sanchez - East Frem - 176cm 65kg - midfielder/forw who was dominating the wafl colts in 2021, injured this yr, but still had a good champs as a goal kicking forw
17. George Stevens - GWV - 190cm 90kg - good forward who was a standout in 2021, got injured and missed 2022, big season ahead
18. Will Brown - Sandringham - 192cm 80kg - was a stand out in the Sandringham Premiership team this yr, tall mid, could rise up the order
19. Archie Roberts - Sandringham - 183cm 71kg - good winger from Sandy, had some injuries this yr, but also had a good GF performance
20. Jack Callinan - Tasmania - 177cm - performed well in the u17s game prior to the AFL GF, impressive forw performance
21. Reece Torrent - Peel - 182cm 82kg - forw/mid, had a big finals series for Peel and was one of the best in the wafl colts GF
22. Jake Rogers - GC A - 172cm 67kg - energetic small midfielder, had great NAB League games and a good champs, in the mold of Darcy Jones who went pick 21 this yr
23. Kobe Shipp - Dandenong - 186cm 79kg - good season as a defender for Dand and had a great game for the u17s in the game before the AFL GF
24. Mitch Edwards - Freo NGA(Peel) - 205cm 85kg - really good ruck option, very athletic and a good mark, could go higher, had a good wafl colts GF
25. Luamon Lual - WB NGA(GWV) - 181cm 70kg - athletic defender played great off hbf in the trials game and in general uses it intelligently
26. Chad Reschke - Sturt - 187cm 88kg - medium forward who came on the radar kicking 68 goals as an underager in the sanfl u18s and kicked 3 goals in 2 reserves games this yr
27. Ryley Sanders - Sandringham/Tas - 185cm 80kg - he has the talent and speed to be higher, but has yet to put it all together performance-wise
28. Alex Holt - Sturt - 180cm 73kg - quick hbf who had some good moments playing for SA in the champs and trials
29. Sam Frangalas - Dandenong - 187cm 84kg - big bodied midfielder, can have some moments where he kicks goals outside 50 and goes for some good runs
30. Will McCabe - Haw FS(C Dist) - 196cm 75kg - slim, but brave KPF/KPD, won the SA MVP in the u16s as an overager, looks like a good athletic but raw KPP
31. Alex Molan - GWV - 177cm - when he gets the ball good things happen, i just like how he plays, he has an x-factor i like
32. Luca Slade - Sturt - 180cm 69kg - good SA winger prospect, had some good moments in the 1 champs game and the u17s games he played
33. Clay Hall - Peel - 189cm 80kg - i've seen a fair bit of him and he has played well in WA Gold v WA Black, u17s games, wafl colts GF, accumulator with skill and a burst of pace
34. Caiden Cleary - SYD A - 180cm 77kg - inconsistent midfielder, but he has some raw talent to work with
35. Logan Morris - Western - 192cm - was really competitive in the trials for the champs, got selected for the squad, kicked 29 goals in 14 games as an underager
36. Oliver Badr - Oakleigh - 177cm 71kg - played some ok games, trials and champs, i have him here to see if he has some improvement in him
37. Will Patton - West Adel - 191cm 74kg - KPD who played for SA in the champs
38. Cooper Simpson - Dandenong - 181cm 74kg - goal kicking midfielder
39. Cody James - Murray - 176cm 69kg - really impressed me with his speed off the hbf and skill in the trials game
40. Darcy Weeks - Western - 178cm 64kg - had a great u17's game alongside Lorenz and Billy Wilson in a u17s game midway through the year
41. Ethan Read - GC A - 200cm - athletic KPP or Ruck, could go higher as he does have some x-factor, which he showed in the champs
42. Riley Weatherill - Eastern - 195cm 87kg - another who impressed at the trials, but he missed out on the squad, also had a good NAB League season
43. Billy Wilson - Dandenong - 181cm 66kg - played hbf and wing for Dandenong and in u17s games, looks dynamic at times
44. Mahmoud Taha - Ess NGA(Cald) - 182cm - solid midfielder who again had a good trials game
45. Cam Nyko - Eastern - 178cm 72kg - outside player who popped up and had some good games in 2022
46. Kynan Brown - Melb FS(Oak) - 180cm 78kg - midfielder who had some good games in 2022
47. Xavier Walsh - East Perth - 193cm 84kg - played well in the u16s as an overager making the AA team i think? then followed it up with a good game in the WA Black v WA Gold u17s game, but i think he was injured or played mostly school footy?(PSA) but one to keep an eye on i think
48. Caleb Windsor - Eastern - 184cm 74kg - performed well earlier in the yr and i think he got injured?
49. James Lugsdin - SYD A - 176cm - solid midfielder for Sydney, a bit inconsistent, but showed something imo
50. Darcy Wilson - Murray - 184cm 66kg - highly touted forw/mid, high marking player, yet to see him dominate a game
Riak Andrew - Dandenong - 192cm 70kg - Mac Andrews brother, injured, athletic potential?
Michael Rudd - Geelong - 191cm 83kg - potential kpp option?
Will Green - Northern - 202cm 83kg - potential Ruck option?
Charlie Hillier - Bendigo - 180cm - good run on outside, potential Allies player?
Tom Wheaton - South Adel
Patrick Weckert - WWT
Kane MacAuliffe - Nth Adel - 187cm 90kg
Tyzreise Clark - Subi
Mitch Williams - E Perth
Coen Livingstone - Perth
Billy Richardson - Allies (Bris)
Harvey Thomas - Allies (GWS)
Beau Nash - Allies (Tas)
Arie Schoenmaker - Allies (Tas)
Oliver Horlock - VM/East
Iliro Smit - VM/East
Luke Lloyd - VM/Sand
Rohan McKenzie - VM/North
Charlie Naish - VM/North
Jude Georgievski - VM/North
Diesel Moloney - VM/West
Sam Phillips - VM/Oak
Kade Mueller - VM/Cald
Harrison Kelly - VC/Bend
Malik Gordon - VC/Bend
Oliver Poole - VC/Bend
Ethan McKercher - VC/GWV
Joel Freijah - VC/GWV
Lachlan Charleson - VC/GWV
Josh Hamilton - VC/Gipps
Tobyn Murray - VC/Geel
Patrick Hughes - VC/Geel
Liam Kershaw - VC/Geel
Kade De La Rue - VC/Dand
1. Harley Reid - Bendigo - 185cm 82kg - really shun at the champs, has been excellent all year in a variety of positions
2. Daniel Curtin - Claremont - 195cm 91kg - best afield in the u17s pre GF game, terrific game after being injured for a large chunk of the yr
3. Jed Walter - GC A - 195cm 91kg - wonderful season showing off surprising athleticism and kicking 9 goals in 4 games for the Allies at the champs
4. Koltyn Tholstrup - Subiaco - 188cm 80kg - one of the best for WA in the champs, forward who can rotate in midfield
5. Zane Duursma - Gippsland - 188cm 73kg - a real danger in front of goals, can also rotate through midfield, he was a real weapon for Vic country that they missed in the finale
6. Archer Reid - Gippsland - 201cm 85kg - athletic and flexible KPF, had a huge trials game, was ok at the champs, but has heaps of potential
7. Nick Watson - Eastern - 169cm 66kg - tough, electric small forward, loves a goal and can kick them from anywhere
8. Jack Delean - Sth Adel - 181cm 73kg - was great last season and had a good champs this yr, but didnt dominate the sanfl u18
9. Nate Caddy - Northern - 190cm 83kg - high flying medium forward, took a tonne of huge pack marks this yr, excited to see him fly high again next yr
10. Ashton Moir - Glenlg - 186cm 78kg - had a good sanfl u18 season, had 1 good and 1 poor champs games
11. Nathan Philactides - Oakleigh - 180cm 80kg - fantastic defender from Oakleigh, match saving efforts in the trials got him some champs games where he performed well for VM
12. Will Lorenz - Oakleigh - 186cm - really stood out in a u17 game earlier in the season, smooth moving midfielder, Grandson of Hawk Legend Graham Arthur
13. Ben Ridgeway - Glenlg - 181cm 78kg - tough inside mid with some good run and spread, had an impressive game in midfield at the champs
14. Riley Hardeman - Swan Dist - 185cm 70kg - quality winger who was good in the wafl colts GF in 2021 and has since shown a lot of quality at the champs and u17 games
15. Colby McKercher - Tamania - 182cm 72kg - Allies winger who had some good moments in the champs this yr and for Tassie in the NAB League
16. Koen Sanchez - East Frem - 176cm 65kg - midfielder/forw who was dominating the wafl colts in 2021, injured this yr, but still had a good champs as a goal kicking forw
17. George Stevens - GWV - 190cm 90kg - good forward who was a standout in 2021, got injured and missed 2022, big season ahead
18. Will Brown - Sandringham - 192cm 80kg - was a stand out in the Sandringham Premiership team this yr, tall mid, could rise up the order
19. Archie Roberts - Sandringham - 183cm 71kg - good winger from Sandy, had some injuries this yr, but also had a good GF performance
20. Jack Callinan - Tasmania - 177cm - performed well in the u17s game prior to the AFL GF, impressive forw performance
21. Reece Torrent - Peel - 182cm 82kg - forw/mid, had a big finals series for Peel and was one of the best in the wafl colts GF
22. Jake Rogers - GC A - 172cm 67kg - energetic small midfielder, had great NAB League games and a good champs, in the mold of Darcy Jones who went pick 21 this yr
23. Kobe Shipp - Dandenong - 186cm 79kg - good season as a defender for Dand and had a great game for the u17s in the game before the AFL GF
24. Mitch Edwards - Freo NGA(Peel) - 205cm 85kg - really good ruck option, very athletic and a good mark, could go higher, had a good wafl colts GF
25. Luamon Lual - WB NGA(GWV) - 181cm 70kg - athletic defender played great off hbf in the trials game and in general uses it intelligently
26. Chad Reschke - Sturt - 187cm 88kg - medium forward who came on the radar kicking 68 goals as an underager in the sanfl u18s and kicked 3 goals in 2 reserves games this yr
27. Ryley Sanders - Sandringham/Tas - 185cm 80kg - he has the talent and speed to be higher, but has yet to put it all together performance-wise
28. Alex Holt - Sturt - 180cm 73kg - quick hbf who had some good moments playing for SA in the champs and trials
29. Sam Frangalas - Dandenong - 187cm 84kg - big bodied midfielder, can have some moments where he kicks goals outside 50 and goes for some good runs
30. Will McCabe - Haw FS(C Dist) - 196cm 75kg - slim, but brave KPF/KPD, won the SA MVP in the u16s as an overager, looks like a good athletic but raw KPP
31. Alex Molan - GWV - 177cm - when he gets the ball good things happen, i just like how he plays, he has an x-factor i like
32. Luca Slade - Sturt - 180cm 69kg - good SA winger prospect, had some good moments in the 1 champs game and the u17s games he played
33. Clay Hall - Peel - 189cm 80kg - i've seen a fair bit of him and he has played well in WA Gold v WA Black, u17s games, wafl colts GF, accumulator with skill and a burst of pace
34. Caiden Cleary - SYD A - 180cm 77kg - inconsistent midfielder, but he has some raw talent to work with
35. Logan Morris - Western - 192cm - was really competitive in the trials for the champs, got selected for the squad, kicked 29 goals in 14 games as an underager
36. Oliver Badr - Oakleigh - 177cm 71kg - played some ok games, trials and champs, i have him here to see if he has some improvement in him
37. Will Patton - West Adel - 191cm 74kg - KPD who played for SA in the champs
38. Cooper Simpson - Dandenong - 181cm 74kg - goal kicking midfielder
39. Cody James - Murray - 176cm 69kg - really impressed me with his speed off the hbf and skill in the trials game
40. Darcy Weeks - Western - 178cm 64kg - had a great u17's game alongside Lorenz and Billy Wilson in a u17s game midway through the year
41. Ethan Read - GC A - 200cm - athletic KPP or Ruck, could go higher as he does have some x-factor, which he showed in the champs
42. Riley Weatherill - Eastern - 195cm 87kg - another who impressed at the trials, but he missed out on the squad, also had a good NAB League season
43. Billy Wilson - Dandenong - 181cm 66kg - played hbf and wing for Dandenong and in u17s games, looks dynamic at times
44. Mahmoud Taha - Ess NGA(Cald) - 182cm - solid midfielder who again had a good trials game
45. Cam Nyko - Eastern - 178cm 72kg - outside player who popped up and had some good games in 2022
46. Kynan Brown - Melb FS(Oak) - 180cm 78kg - midfielder who had some good games in 2022
47. Xavier Walsh - East Perth - 193cm 84kg - played well in the u16s as an overager making the AA team i think? then followed it up with a good game in the WA Black v WA Gold u17s game, but i think he was injured or played mostly school footy?(PSA) but one to keep an eye on i think
48. Caleb Windsor - Eastern - 184cm 74kg - performed well earlier in the yr and i think he got injured?
49. James Lugsdin - SYD A - 176cm - solid midfielder for Sydney, a bit inconsistent, but showed something imo
50. Darcy Wilson - Murray - 184cm 66kg - highly touted forw/mid, high marking player, yet to see him dominate a game
Riak Andrew - Dandenong - 192cm 70kg - Mac Andrews brother, injured, athletic potential?
Michael Rudd - Geelong - 191cm 83kg - potential kpp option?
Will Green - Northern - 202cm 83kg - potential Ruck option?
Charlie Hillier - Bendigo - 180cm - good run on outside, potential Allies player?
Tom Wheaton - South Adel
Patrick Weckert - WWT
Kane MacAuliffe - Nth Adel - 187cm 90kg
Tyzreise Clark - Subi
Mitch Williams - E Perth
Coen Livingstone - Perth
Billy Richardson - Allies (Bris)
Harvey Thomas - Allies (GWS)
Beau Nash - Allies (Tas)
Arie Schoenmaker - Allies (Tas)
Oliver Horlock - VM/East
Iliro Smit - VM/East