Draft Expert Davo-27's 2023 Draft Thread

Wonder what players will need to be let go to fit them in?

What others will look elsewhere for opportunity?
Doesn’t every club draft 3 each year?
cant See that we’ll have trouble fitting in 2-3 draftee wage players each year, whether they come from the gc or elsewhere.

Guys likely/possible to be gone over next 3 years
Retired/delisted senior players: Casboult, day, Jed Anderson, Connor Blakely, Charlie constable, James tsitas, Rory Atkins, jarrod Witt’s, Jake stein, Alex sexton, Chol, burgess, collins, swallow, Brodie mclaughlin all possible to be off the list by 2025/6.

Delisted youngsters: too early to call but johnston, Brock, Faulkhead yet to make debuts

Trade: sharp gone, Flanders?, hollands?

Easy fee list spots available each year.

Doesn’t every club draft 3 each year?
cant See that we’ll have trouble fitting in 2-3 draftee wage players each year, whether they come from the gc or elsewhere.

Guys likely/possible to be gone over next 3 years
Retired/delisted senior players: Casboult, day, Jed Anderson, Connor Blakely, Charlie constable, James tsitas, Rory Atkins, jarrod Witt’s, Jake stein, Alex sexton, Chol, burgess, collins, swallow, Brodie mclaughlin all possible to be off the list by 2025/6.

Delisted youngsters: too early to call but johnston, Brock, Faulkhead yet to make debuts

Trade: sharp gone, Flanders?, hollands?

Easy fee list spots available each year.
Not exactly.

Gold Coast only drafted 1 kid last year.

Clubs do have to make a minimum of 3 selections, but that can include upgrading rookie listed players to the senior list.

So GC would have upgraded 2 rookie listed players to the senior list.

Brisbane only drafted 2 players last year, and upgraded 1 rookie listed player to the senior list.

Do you believe Collins only has 3 more years left in him?

Aside from Watson and Duursma who are the front half players capable of rolling through the midfield? Haven't seen much of Callinan but seemed a pretty silky mover. Tholstrup seems to be dropping down the rankings and from what I've seen of Moir he'd get absolutely butchered if he went anywhere near a competitive AFL midfielder

Moir is sliding a lot faster than Tholstrup. Atleast Tholstrup has been playing league football.

Not exactly.

Gold Coast only drafted 1 kid last year.

Clubs do have to make a minimum of 3 selections, but that can include upgrading rookie listed players to the senior list.

So GC would have upgraded 2 rookie listed players to the senior list.

Brisbane only drafted 2 players last year, and upgraded 1 rookie listed player to the senior list.

Do you believe Collins only has 3 more years left in him?
Well, point is made.
I don't think we're going to have trouble listing any academy kids that are good enough.

Not sure re: Collins.
3 years will take him through to 32.
He's had a few form slips in the last few years. Could see a situation where he isn't best 22 at that time and decides to retire.

Well, point is made.
I don't think we're going to have trouble listing any academy kids that are good enough.

Not sure re: Collins.
3 years will take him through to 32.
He's had a few form slips in the last few years. Could see a situation where he isn't best 22 at that time and decides to retire.
If you can manage to pay the required points this year, I don’t believe you’ll have problems in the future.

More likely, in the future it’ll be about the balance of your list, and whether you prioritise taking every quality academy kid, or if you don’t match some due to list needs and balance.

We have Will McCabe, around the 20 pick mark I think? 1 of SA best this year, although SA doesn't look great this year, we also have long shot options in Maginness and Dear, that's up to the club if they think they can develop them, not sure about next year, Burgoyne's eldest, I think is eligible, have not heard much about him?

Croft had a big 1st champs game, stocks might rise?

Callinan might go in the 2nd round? From Tassie and the allies, maybe Tom Anastasopoulos from Geelong Falcons and VC
What did Croft do well in that game? It's hard to tell from the highlights package yet anyone who's seen the game seems to talk up his performance, so he must have been doing more than the highlights show. And how well do his skills transfer to key defence would you say?

he got into good position, led with purpose and showed speed and athleticism, his game in regards to leading and winning the footy is great(because he beats his opponents in general play and to the drop of the footy he does get a lot of free kicks), his one weak point is his goal kicking accuracy and maybe disposal in general which is holding me back from going too high with he and Sanders atm, he is also a handy ruck and moves around the ground well, i have not seen him much in defence so im not sure if he is a natural or not back there

The way you descibe him... he sounds like a good poetntial type tall.. except for the Dogs do they need another who tall like that . Where does he fit? Another forward who is a little shakey at setshots? What do you think the chances are that they pass on matching?

I think they will match a bid and then worry about which ones make it or not, competition for spots should make the team overall better.

Also the bid most likely comes just after their first pick anyway

This will be the most compromised top 10 outside the expansion drafts.

If reports are true, NM McKay FA and GWS Himmelberg FA will be two AFL magic created top 5 picks. Then you have multiple GC academy picks.

A rebuilding team could have pick 6 that becomes 10 which is just ridiculous and can understand why rebuilds take long with the draft being so compromised every year.
What club is paying McKay so much money as to warrant band 1? Can’t see that happening. The rest seems accurate though.

Hey Dave, always appreciate your work. Certainly in the top few guys in BF now. Kudos

Quick one, Essendon should be in the market for a running half back with excellent kicking skills. Nick Hind is a reasonable stop gap but many Essendon fans don't think he is good enough to be a finals bound HBF.

Philactides sounds like one, I don't mind if the names you suggest are academy linked. Would like to keep an ear out for some other names

thanks mate

I do think we will be in the market for a creative half forward as well. Ashton Moir could be perfect for us at our second pick should he continue to slide.

Hey Dave, always appreciate your work. Certainly in the top few guys in BF now. Kudos

Quick one, Essendon should be in the market for a running half back with excellent kicking skills. Nick Hind is a reasonable stop gap but many Essendon fans don't think he is good enough to be a finals bound HBF.

Philactides sounds like one, I don't mind if the names you suggest are academy linked. Would like to keep an ear out for some other names

thanks mate

I do think we will be in the market for a creative half forward as well. Ashton Moir could be perfect for us at our second pick should he continue to slide.
It's not really a strong draft for elite kicking half backs, Logan Evans and Alex Holt are decent half backs from SA, Leake is getting some spotlight for his Allies form, he was good for Tassie as well, Philactides has a good all round game, but not so good disposal, more of a 1 v 1 player and intercept counter puncher, I like the dash of Billy Wilson, a very Hawthorn type half back, they are the ones I can think of off the top of my head.

I don't know if you call them half backs but I have liked Tarkyn O'Leary and Josh Docking's games, O'Leary was one I picked in the Phantom Draft before deleting/editing it out and bidding on Naish, I liked his game in parts for VM last weekend.

It's not really a strong draft for elite kicking half backs, Logan Evans and Alex Holt are decent half backs from SA, Leake is getting some spotlight for his Allies form, he was good for Tassie as well, Philactides has a good all round game, but not so good disposal, more of a 1 v 1 player and intercept counter puncher, I like the dash of Billy Wilson, a very Hawthorn type half back, they are the ones I can think of off the top of my head.
Ok thanks for that. Any X factor type forwards in this draft then to mate?

Obviously Watson, Darcy Wilson when he plays forw has x factor, I would've said Tholstrup, but he seems to have dropped off so unsure with him atm, Anastasopoulos has a bit of flair, Harley Reid has x factor when he goes forward, Callinan can be a good small forward at times and Delean has been likened to Heeney a couple of years ago, he can be an x factor forw at times as well, Demattia has yet to play champs but he could also be considered an x factor type when he fires.

It's always nice to see the reads I made over a year ago come to fruition throughout the CTL and now the championships, watching the u16s was worth the effort and I might do it again this year for 2025 reads, the vast majority have dominated in their various leagues and at the champs so far which is good to see.

I am disappointed Finn O'Sullivan and others didn't get a game for Vic Country, I know VC were bad in the u16s champs, but Finn is a talent and some quality has been found outside of the u16s VC team last year, players for 2024 in the CTL imo like Unwin, Langford and Hynes ect, didn't play for that VC team, I think Unwin didn't even get a trial spot this year for the u18s, which is insane because he is legit a star for GWV as an underager this year so far imo, just my 2 cents.

It's always nice to see the reads I made over a year ago come to fruition throughout the CTL and now the championships, watching the u16s was worth the effort and I might do it again this year for 2025 reads, the vast majority have dominated in their various leagues and at the champs so far which is good to see.

I am disappointed Finn O'Sullivan and others didn't get a game for Vic Country, I know VC were bad in the u16s champs, but Finn is a talent and some quality has been found outside of the u16s VC team last year, players for 2024 in the CTL imo like Unwin, Langford and Hynes ect, didn't play for that VC team, I think Unwin didn't even get a trial spot this year for the u18s, which is insane because he is legit a star for GWV as an underager this year so far imo, just my 2 cents.

Yeah they might have to do what SA did.
Can’t believe how much better SA we’re with the underage lads in. Dumb they didn’t do it earlier.
Do you think next years draft might be better?
Or just better for SA

Yeah they might have to do what SA did.
Can’t believe how much better SA we’re with the underage lads in. Dumb they didn’t do it earlier.
Do you think next years draft might be better?
Or just better for SA

Every year a handful of underagers star, I wouldn't read too much into it, I said this in another thread but talent is like a pyramid and the top tier always looks good, I guess another way to say it is, every year approx 20 AFL stars of the future are drafted, if you have 5 teams of about 30 players that's 150 players, 20 of that draft year will be future AFL Stars and when you sprinkle in some of next year's crop of future AFL Stars it can look like the next year is better, but you're just seeing the top tier and your perception is skewed, whereas for the current year you are seeing the 20 stars, maybe 10 from next year (a good chance most will be top tier) and 120 players who will go undrafted or have a limited AFL career.

As for SA I think next year is going to be possibly their best group of talent since 2018.

Every year a handful of underagers star, I wouldn't read too much into it, I said this in another thread but talent is like a pyramid and the top tier always looks good, I guess another way to say it is, every year approx 20 AFL stars of the future are drafted, if you have 5 teams of about 30 players that's 150 players, 20 of that draft year will be future AFL Stars and when you sprinkle in some of next year's crop of future AFL Stars it can look like the next year is better, but you're just seeing the top tier and your perception is skewed, whereas for the current year you are seeing the 20 stars, maybe 10 from next year (a good chance most will be top tier) and 120 players who will go undrafted or have a limited AFL career.

As for SA I think next year is going to be possibly their best group of talent since 2018.

Yeah well said

Yep

H.Reid
Watson
Caddy
Moir
Tholstrop
J Walter
Harderman
K.Sanchez
phila ect

And then Curtain had a huge futures game late

All were very good last year

How do you see this pool though? Its hard to place as it is always comparing one year to the next

Yep

H.Reid
Watson
Caddy
Moir
Tholstrop
J Walter
Harderman
K.Sanchez
phila ect

And then Curtain had a huge futures game late

All were very good last year

How do you see this pool though? Its hard to place as it is always comparing one year to the next
All recent drafts seem the same to me in quality, except 2020 and 2021 when covid meant there was barely any junior football and there was a lot of guess work unfortunately, the only reason I liked 2018 so much was because there was a very strong dozen players that would probably go top 5 most years.(if you swap Chayce Jones out for Jordan Clark)

Thoughts on where George Stevens would play at AFL level? Has Ginbey vibes to me.
I'm not sure, pros are that he seems to have a good attitude and some leadership qualities, is performing at high levels, cons, he lacks athleticism, I think a club might pick him to play a role in the forward or defense or he might go undrafted?, definitely not like Ginbey, I don't think there's a combative athletic mid like Ginbey in this years Draft pool that I can think of.