Draft Expert Davo-27's 2023 Draft Thread

Doesn’t mean I have to agree with it. TBH I generally like Davos opinion but on this occasion I can’t agree. It’s ok, after all it’s a forum where people can share their thoughts. Unless Davo is really Kim Jong Un 🤣
You didn’t share thoughts, you replied with an emoji.

Davo-27 Moirs ranking based on talent/ potential exclusively or has there been things you picked up from rewatching the Champs that have caused him to rise?
I think he is in that group after the top 15 or so, I like that he tried to get involved in the play outside of the forward area, but he lacks pace and sharpness, I felt I was being too harsh on him, even before the champs I was saying in the Hawks board I thought he was over rated, but I think he has potential to be a decent player post pick 25, where I had him last year before he got hyped up a bit, pick 26 isn't too high imo, I guess you have him lower?

You didn’t share thoughts, you replied with an emoji.
I think he is related to Nathan Philactides, im not going to take it personal, friends and family have attacked me for years over my ratings, 1 more doesn't affect me, last year it was Kane Bevans family clogging up my thread, this year it's another players friends or family that doesn't like where I have them ect....

Will Brown last year was big in the finals series for Sandringham, he has been ok this year, but it seems he lacks motivation or something, he reminds me of the Daniel Hardford story, a guy with talent, but doesn't work hard enough (or only works hard when necessary)and ultimately becomes an average player, so I think 2nd or 3rd round is about right imo, Harvey Johnston has a good athletic frame, good movement, he has been put in positions other than midfield at both Sandringham and Vic Metro and done well, when given midfield time he has done well and I think could be a more important player to a team, I think there could be scope for big improvement if played in his natural position(mid) more often, again in that 2nd or 3rd round grouping imo. (apparently Johnston had a good game for the Zebras at vfl level)
This is not accurate. Will Brown possesses an outstanding character. His issue is he is a tweezer. not big enough for key position, lacks dynamic movement for third tall and not a real midfielder. A bit like mitch podhaljski from a few years ago. I really like your thread but when not sure do not make things up.

34. Will Brown - Sandringham - 194cm 86kg

Same as Charlie Curnow, so big enough.

I don't always agree with Davo's assessments of individual players but very much appreciate the obvious power of work he puts into his ratings and can't say I see any really glaring differences from about where I see most players in the pecking order.

Along the way Davo has opened my eyes to several players I didn't rate particularly highly at the time from my perspective but after going back and reviewing some of their games he was pretty much on the money.

Doesn’t mean I have to agree with it. TBH I generally like Davos opinion but on this occasion I can’t agree. It’s ok, after all it’s a forum where people can share their thoughts. Unless Davo is really Kim Jong Un 🤣
Exactly. But you didn't share your thoughts. You just gave a laughing emoji which was passive aggressive. You could've just stated what you didn't agree with.

Watched the 1st u16s champs game a few players from each team to look out for in 2025 afl draft, I will update this as I watch more games

Vic Metro

Xavier Bamert Sand 184cm mid
Oliver Greeves East 190cm mid/forw
Thomas McGuane West 176cm forw
Archie Ludowyke Sand 193cm kpf
Sam Allen Oak 181cm mid
----- top 5
Jack Dalton Sand 176cm mid
Jamie Gilchrist East 185cm forw
Lachlan Dovaston East 175cm mid/forw

Mentions: Thomas Burton, Isaac Dugdale, Mitchell Moate, Xavier Taylor, Cooper Duff-Tytler

Vic Country

Harry Morphett Geel 175cm mid
Willem Duursma Gipps 189cm def/mid
Tairon Ah-Mu Dand 199cm ruck
Jobe Scapin Gipps 186cm wing/mid
Noah Higgins-Hargreaves Dand 185cm mid/forw
Ben Rongdit Geel 183cm def
Giuseppe Posterino Geel 175cm mid
----- top 7
Josh Lindsay Geel 182cm mid
Riley Onley Murr 194cm def/kpd

Mentions: Archie Taylor, Jackson Long, Geordie Richardson, Zach O'Keefe, Jack Murray

Close game with Vic Country winning over an inaccurate Vic Metro, high quality game, I also have to mention a player that caught my eye in the trials Sam Grij from Oak I think? He seemed very talented and I'm not sure why he wasn't in the VM squad? Maybe injury? Idk?

WA V SA u16s champs game wasn't as good quality-wise as the all Vic game, but it was a close game at least, a few players from each side stood out from my pov, WA winning by 5 points

WA

Kayle Gerreyn West Perth 198cm ruck/kpf
Blake Kelly Swan Dist 180cm mid
Toby Whan South Frem 180cm def/wing
Marcus Cassidy East Perth 186cm def/mid
Basil Hart Peel 183cm forw
----- top 5
Jadd Hill Perth 176cm mid
Judd Marcello West Perth 189cm def/forw

Mentions: Taj Longmuir, William York, Darcy Montgomery, Loch Carpenter, Matt Petagna

SA

Dyson Sharp Cent Dist 188cm mid
Blake Oudshoorn-Bennier Nth Adel 182cm mid
Noah Roberts-Thompson Sturt 180cm mid
Jesse Nye Sth Adel 172cm mid
Harley Baker Sturt 186cm wing
----- top 5
Lachlan Sands WWT 179cm forw/mid

Mentions: Blake Thredgold, Douglas Cochrane, Kodak Edwards, Jim Kelly

WA V SA u16s champs game wasn't as good quality-wise as the all Vic game, but it was a close game at least, a few players from each side stood out from my pov, WA winning by 5 points

WA

Kayla Gerreyn West Perth 198cm ruck/kpf
Was it a mixed team?

Spelling error, meant to put Kayle Gerreyn
Can you see Charlie Hillier being drafted?
I think I remember him being a winger for Bendigo/Allies? name popped up last year, Have not heard much about him this year, has some pace if I remember correctly? Unlikely without performing in draft year.

WA

Kayle Gerreyn West Perth 198cm ruck/kpf
Blake Kelly Swan Dist 180cm mid
Toby Whan South Frem 180cm def/wing
Marcus Cassidy East Perth 186cm def/mid
Basil Hart Peel 183cm forw
----- top 5
Judd Hill Perth 176cm mid
Judd Marallo West Perth 189cm def/forw

Mentions: Taj Longmuir, William York, Darcy Montgomery, Loch Carpenter, Matt Petagna

SA

Dyson Sharp Cent Dist 188cm mid
Blake Oudshoorn-Bennier Nth Adel 182cm mid
Noah Roberts-Thompson Sturt 180cm mid
Jesse Nye Sth Adel 172cm mid
Harley Baker Sturt 186cm wing
----- top 5
Lachlan Sands WWT 179cm forw/mid

Mentions: Blake Thredgold, Douglas Cochrane, Kodak Edwards, Jim Kelly
Nice one. Sharp got MVP of the week in Under 18's last round in only his second game. Already too big and strong for that level, I'd like to see him get a reserves or even league game before the end of the season.

I do like Cochrane, he's really young but has put up some nice games this year.

I've watched the div 1 for u16s ( VM, VC, SA, WA) and have most of my top 30 sorted, I'm in the process of watching the div 2 games and finishing the top 30 for 2025(Zeke Uwland is already in, he was huge for GCS A in the CTL), it should be up soonish?

Dyson Sharp - 188cm Central Dist mid/def and Oliver Greeves 190cm Eastern mid/forw, would be early favourites for pick 1, Sharp probably gets the nod for being top tier in both of the u16s champs, 2022 and 2023, Greeves does have that goal kicking ability, it's a close 1 imo.

I've watched the div 1 for u16s ( VM, VC, SA, WA) and have most of my top 30 sorted, I'm in the process of watching the div 2 games and finishing the top 30 for 2025(Zeke Uwland is already in, he was huge for GCS A in the CTL), it should be up soonish?

Dyson Sharp - 188cm Central Dist mid/def and Oliver Greeves 190cm Eastern mid/forw, would be early favourites for pick 1, Sharp probably gets the nod for being top tier in both of the u16s champs, 2022 and 2023, Greeves does have that goal kicking ability, it's a close 1 imo.

I reckon these names will be in it:

The above 3.
Willem Duursma.
Jai Murray.
Beau Addinsall.
Jamie Gilchrist.
Daniel Annable.
Harrison Heaton.
Sam Grij.
Aidan Schubert.
Jake Boniwell.
Blake Oudshoorn-Bennier.
Jack Dalton.
Darcy Montgomery.

Ok so there might be a few surprises, I will name my top 30 and a few others outside the top 30 I think will likely get drafted, mostly from the u16s but also from CTL for a few of them...

Early top 30 for 2025 draft based on u16s and CTL form
1. Dyson Sharp 188cm Central Dist
2. Oliver Greeves 190cm Eastern
3. Blake Kelly 180cm Swan Dist
4. Lachlan Dovaston 175cm Eastern
5. Blake Oudshoorn-Bennier 182cm Nth Adel
6. Louis Emmett 198cm Oakleigh
7. Marcus Cassidy 186cm Est Perth
8. Archie Ludowyke 193cm Sandringham
9. Jack Dalton 176cm Sandringham
10. Noah Roberts-Thompson 180cm Sturt
11. Tairon Ah-Mu 199cm Dandenong
12. Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves 185cm Dandenong
13. Harry Morphet 175cm Geelong ...(broke his leg at champs)
14. Basil Hart 183cm Peel
15. Riley Onley 194cm Murray
16. Xavier Bamert 184cm Sandringham
17. Jadd Hill 176cm Perth
18. Dylan Patterson 183cm GCS A
19. Judd Marcello 189cm Wst Perth
20. Giuseppe Posterino 175cm Geelong
21. Jamie Gilchrist 185cm Eastern
22. Zeke Uwland 176cm GCS A
23. Raphael Geesu 175cm Bris A
24. Toby Whan 180cm Sth Fremantle
25. Jobe Scapin 186cm Gippsland
26. Aidan Schubert 194cm Central Dist
27. Mitchell Moate 180cm Northern
28. Jim Kelly 178cm Norwood
29. Zach O'Keefe 176cm Gippsland
30. Jack Harrison 183cm Bris A

Mentions: Willem Duursma 189cm Gipps, Taj Longmuir 179cm Sth Frem, Thomas Burton 177cm Western, Thomas McGuane 176cm Western, Sam Allen 181cm Oakleigh, Tyson Gresham 170cm Northern, Hunter Wright 186cm Bendigo, Jesse Nye 172cm Sth Adel, Lachlan Sands 179cm WWT, Luke Candy 183cm Glenlg, Sam Cumming 186cm Nth Adel, Josh Reichelt 180cm Central Dist, Louis Kellaway 182cm Sturt, Harley Baker 186cm Sturt, Will York 172cm Peel, Darcy Montgomery 180cm Subiaco, Jai Murray(gcs), Beau Addinsall(gcs), Daniel Annabel(bris), didn't like anyone from syd, gws, tassie or NT, 2 QLD teams the only teams in div 2 playing good footy from my pov...

Sam Grij Oakleigh mid/wing would be in the list if he played in the champs.

Vic Metro won with WA coming runners up, with SA and Vic Country competitive
Brisbane dominated div 2 with GCS A coming runners up then the other 4 teams(GWS, Tas, Syd and NT)