Draft Expert Davo-27's 2023 Draft Thread

Agree. Some very unlucky to miss out. Hopefully they will be added at a later date. A couple of bottom agers very lucky to make that squad too.
I think you will find other top agers will be added to the squad next year as they prepare for the champs. There are always bottom agers added to squads so I wouldn't say they are lucky. Ive seen and heard good things about Otis Harvey and imo has earned his squad call up. However, it does not mean the bottom agers play.

I've been keeping a very close eye on Evan Smith (SD) and Elijah Scoble (P) and while I think they are more than decent, I'm surprised they are rated by the WA academy as top 15 2005 DOB's. Nothing against either. Both are tall, erstwhile and give effort and could well develop.

I think you will find other top agers will be added to the squad next year as they prepare for the champs. There are always bottom agers added to squads so I wouldn't say they are lucky. Ive seen and heard good things about Otis Harvey and imo has earned his squad call up. However, it does not mean the bottom agers play.
There will definitely be more added to the squad over the coming months. Yes lucky probably wrong word but will have to respectfully disagree re Harvey. If the 2022 draft taught us anything, players must possess at least 1 or 2 elite traits to be in the mix. Doesn’t mean they wont make state squads, play in national championships, play as an underage colt etc but do they truly have what it takes to get drafted. Time will tell. Just my opinion.

Hence why it's called a forum. Everyone can have different opinions. No one is right or wrong, just a friendly discussion. :cool:

You must be on a different forum to me mate! Been around for years and this one doesn't fit that description. ;)
Most forums don't. Ideologically yes, factually...Not so much.

Has anyone else watched this latest video by the AFL Draft Expert? If so what are your thoughts. The video is about being multi faceted and based on this years draft that's what clubs have selected for. I don't necessarily agree, and imo the ones that can play multiple positions (eg fwd/mid or back/mid) are highlighted.

AFL Draft Expert top 10 listed (alpha order)
Nate Caddy - Nice key fwd and had 1 good game in the mid, but not enough speed and can fumble at times below the knees
Daniel Curtin - can play back/mid
Jack Delean - too small to be a mid at AFL level, but I would love to see him play some mid minutes in 2023
Zane Duursma - can play fwd/mid
Will Lorenz - I still need to see more of Lorenz but I think he can play fwd/mid
Ashton Moir - can play fwd/mid

Harley Reid - can play anywhere
Koltyn Tholstrup - 3rd tall back or fwd. Haven't seen enough of him to know whether he can play mid.
Jed Walter - Key fwd, nothing else to add.
Nick Watson - as per Delean. Too small to play mid at AFL level.

Has anyone else watched this latest video by the AFL Draft Expert? If so what are your thoughts. The video is about being multi faceted and based on this years draft that's what clubs have selected for. I don't necessarily agree, and imo the ones that can play multiple positions (eg fwd/mid or back/mid) are highlighted.

AFL Draft Expert top 10 listed (alpha order)
Nate Caddy - Nice key fwd and had 1 good game in the mid, but not enough speed and can fumble at times below the knees
Daniel Curtin - can play back/mid
Jack Delean - too small to be a mid at AFL level, but I would love to see him play some mid minutes in 2023
Zane Duursma - can play fwd/mid
Will Lorenz - I still need to see more of Lorenz but I think he can play fwd/mid
Ashton Moir - can play fwd/mid

Harley Reid - can play anywhere
Koltyn Tholstrup - 3rd tall back or fwd. Haven't seen enough of him to know whether he can play mid.
Jed Walter - Key fwd, nothing else to add.
Nick Watson - as per Delean. Too small to play mid at AFL level.

So Knightmare has had a rebrand?

Yep.

Curtin, McKercher, Lorenz, Hardeman and Patton are others off the top of my head. Moir is both
This is his defining trait at the moment, he is truly ambidextrous. He switches up his set shots depending on where is best, he can kick goals from 55m on either foot off two steps, and he plays with this elusive dual-sidedness in mind with his sidesteps and pack work. Truly unlike any player I've ever seen.

He’s clearly a right footer but it is correct to say his left is a lot better than we seem to see these days. He is definitely exciting maybe we can get him to fill the hole missing out on Sheezel left.

Moir is easily the best both sided player in the pool. I think we would need to go a long way back to see a player with such a natural kick on both sides.
As far as top end talent goes for 2023 I dont think there are too many lefties. RanaNaved is on the money. Watching the u17 future stars game there is some great vision and elite moments of lefties.

Preseason lists for 2021 and 2022 were rough to create because of no season in 2020 for most areas and limited footy in 2021(covid), the full season last year gives me a chance to make a decent list prior to the season for the first time in 3 years, I also got to see the u16s which gave me an idea of what to look forward to in the coming years, I'm also interested to see players who take their chances in 2023 and come from nowhere like Weddle ect.

Slower inside mids no matter how good as players seem to be out of favour for AFL clubs which I will have to keep in mind going forward for my own understanding of what clubs look for.

Some clubs like Geelong Falcons, Murray Bushies and Calder Cannons I didn't see a lot of their games, so I have some blind spots that hopefully the first month or so will give me an opportunity to fill in those blanks, I'm excited for the season to come.

Preseason lists for 2021 and 2022 were rough to create because of no season in 2020 for most areas and limited footy in 2021(covid), the full season last year gives me a chance to make a decent list prior to the season for the first time in 3 years, I also got to see the u16s which gave me an idea of what to look forward to in the coming years, I'm also interested to see players who take their chances in 2023 and come from nowhere like Weddle ect.

Slower inside mids no matter how good as players seem to be out of favour for AFL clubs which I will have to keep in mind going forward for my own understanding of what clubs look for.

Some clubs like Geelong Falcons, Murray Bushies and Calder Cannons I didn't see a lot of their games, so I have some blind spots that hopefully the first month or so will give me an opportunity to fill in those blanks, I'm excited for the season to come.
Im really looking fwd to this years footy. I said on another thread that the academy 30 is so bloody talented and with like you say seeing players come from nowhere makes this crop bloody exciting. At this stage H. Reid is the obvious #1 pick, but I reckon there are probably another group that could potentially knock him off.