Dawes Flaw

• Thread starter Thread starter burtpies

Dawes played a funny game last night. I want to see the replay before I make too many comments however I tend to agree with the statement that he is probably lacking the fitness for the intencity of seniors football. Finals football is even more intence however I can't see him being dropped for the rest of the year.

His presence alone along with JA has revolutionised how our forward 50 functions and we seem much more dangerous now. Cloke is playing closer to goal whilst Dawes has been going on some long searching leads. At times last night he was even in defence.

So we are a better side with Dawes playing, and Dawes too will be getting better with the experience. He knows what is expected and can set himself up over the preseason for a massive 2009.

That's the whole point of having him in the side. It is about the team winning, rather than if an individual kicks 10 goals.
Gary Ablett kicked 14 or something against Essendon and Geelong still lost the game. :rolleyes:
It's a team sport and each player has a part.
Dawes gets a tall defender and takes him away from Cloke and JA.
Opens up the forward line. It's common sense if you are at the game.
You cannot see what a player does and the movements he makes during the game if you watch it on TV. :eek:

Dawes looked a little out of his depths last night but for his 3rd game that is not the end of the world.

I think it is partly a fitness thing, his intensity in all games is much better early on. I also get a sneaking suspicion that he is a real confidence player. Which could explain why when he was in some poor form early in the year he looked borderline hopeless and his poor form last for a fairly extended stint. He looked on occasions last night like a guy who had really dropped the bundle.

His fitness clearly needs to be improved, but the guy is a second year Kpp coming back from a reco, no one can blame him for his fitness.

His lead timing all year has been pretty poor, but his a kid and that will improve with time.

If I am right about the bundle dropping thing though that neeeds to be nipped in the bud quick smart.

I'm not concerned about Dawes, he's just learning his trade and until Rocca is back and fit, we've no-one to replace him with. Perfectly happy for him to continue to get experience, afterall, we're undefeated with Dawes in the line-up. It's not as though we were winning games before he debuted.

Spot On.

He really should not of played this year. These games he is getting know is a Bonus and know he now what is expected at AFL Level and He can work in the Pre-Season to get the body up to AFL Level:thumbsu:

Dont see much wrong with his attack. Has made some poor decisions at times but they are more to do with inexperience and not being used to the pace of senior footy than anything else. You got to know when to hold 'em, know when to fold 'em, that old cliche.

Will be dropped if and when Rocca comes back but in the meantime I'm happy with his progress. I'm more concerned with Anthony. He just doesnt get enough of the ball. Perhaps its time to move him into defence.

Look he’s a baby in KP terms. He can take a mark and kick a goal. He’s a couple of years off being a front line player. He does spectate a bit though. He will contest for the ball in the air but he can look lost when it’s on the deck. I reckon he got burnt by a couple of passes on Saturday night. Nothing unusual for a Collingwood forward.

As other posters have mentioned above he is important to our forward structure so as long as we are winning and he is contributing he will stay in. He does not need to kick a bag if he is presenting at half forward and helping Trav kick bags of 5.

MarkT is right - he is a couple of years off but the great thing is he is contributing by playing a role. The same with JA - forward is not his spot but he is still contributing.

Dawes would have been replaced by Rocca had Rocca come up but from reports in another thread Rocca seems to have had some soreness so will probably not play again this year.

I wouldnt be surprised if McCaffer took his spot next week... anyone?

(Be nice if they brought Dids in for him!!!)

Won't happen as he keeps his opponent honest, haven't you guys noticed Travis' improvement in form since Dawes was brought in?
Dawes allows Travis to play 1 on 1 footy, the kid won't play excellent week in week out he provides a target/contest and thats all he has to do atm.

If spuds like Toovey and Maxwell can get game after game playing poorly than kids with actuall talent should be afforded the same right.

Maxwell played shithouse for over half the year and didnt even look like his spot was in doubt, he has only really hit form over last 3 - 4 weeks.
As for Toovey he has had 1 decent game all year yet MM loves him , meanwhile stanley couldn't buy a game.

Point being don't have to jump on him for 1 average game (he wasn't even bad) especially when some players NEVER get dropped despite having months of poor form or looking totally out of there class.

I Know that Chris is just starting his career and he is showing potental but he has a major flaw in his game. He will not go in for the ball, he just likes it be delivered to him and if it is not he is out of the contest. Watch him dance around pack or just stands there. Unlike J.A who is a bull at the ball, Chris needs to work on this part of his game and gain more confidence in his ability, he can do this next year by smashing a few VFL defenders around before his return to the AFL
There's no point in everyone going in for the ball, just one or 2 and the others try to create an outside option, or cover the opposition's outside options. It's not good when you jump into a pack, get hold of the ball and get a bit of a mauling while you're at it, then there's no-one free on the outside for the quick pass and you then get *really* mauled and maybe free-kicked.The fact he does go in when he is the only option shows that this is all according to instructions. He's not currently one of the preferred in-the-pack players.

But he does have one serious flaw: he's only a 3 game player. Fortunately this flaw is easily fixed - after playing another 10 games he definitley won't be a 3 game player anymore!

I think Dawes has been given a very specific role, MM has said as much, and has been doing it so far. MM has also gone out of his way to say how pleased he is with both Dawes and Anthony so I would say they are both doing as they are expected.

Well he had a Shocker Tonight.

Look way out of his League.

Got Caught Behind To Much.
Does not put his Body on the Line Enough
Kicking needs Improvment.

Drop Him for the Rest of the Season and Have a Massive Pre-Season

He'll only be better for the few games he played this year.

He has plenty of time and will get better.

He'll only be better for the few games he played this year.

He has plenty of time and will get better.

I dare say he will,

Needs a Big Pre-Season

I hope you fellas are right - you've seen a lot more of him than me. He was terrible tonight, no lone ranger though

There was no chance of making a forward look good tonight with the way we moved the footy. Just abysmal.

I would almost axe Dawes for next week and bring in Macaffer. But if Dawes stays I have no problem with it what so ever.

If you listened to the commentary, he was on the bench for most of the night. Can't do much on the bench. :eek:
They said something like " Mick has decided that the ground does not suit Dawes and has been on the bench for most of the time since first quarter".
I am not defending Dawes by any means.
The whole side was shit apart from Neon Leon.

There was no chance of making a forward look good tonight with the way we moved the footy. Just abysmal.

I would almost axe Dawes for next week and bring in Macaffer. But if Dawes stays I have no problem with it what so ever.
Did not help the Mids where terrible and That just makes it hard for a Foward to get in a Game.

Cloke was the Same

If you listened to the commentary, he was on the bench for most of the night. Can't do much on the bench. :eek:
They said something like " Mick has decided that the ground does not suit Dawes and has been on the bench for most of the time since first quarter".
I am not defending Dawes by any means.
The whole side was shit apart from Neon Leon.
So Mick was Out coached then by harvey

Lets not get carried away. He's an 18 y.o key position player playing against men. He's shown a bit, and is probably now time to rest him.

Really, it is the supporters unrealistic expectations which isn't really going to help his development. ffs...his a kid, coming back from a knee, ofcourse he's going to have quiet games where he does nothing.

I agree he should probably be dropped. He's had a taste...showed some glimpses that he could be a very good forward for us...but is still at least a couple of seasons before he starting producing consistantly.

Lets not get carried away. He's an 18 y.o key position player playing against men. He's shown a bit, and is probably now time to rest him.

Really, it is the supporters unrealistic expectations which isn't really going to help his development. ffs...his a kid, coming back from a knee, ofcourse he's going to have quiet games where he does nothing.

I agree he should probably be dropped. He's had a taste...showed some glimpses that he could be a very good forward for us...but is still at least a couple of seasons before he starting producing consistantly.

He's 20.

Yeah it will be 2-3 Seasons before we see Consistent Performances from Dawes

I dare say he has shown more than most would've expected so far. So it's a positive.

Well Dawes spent most of the Night on the Bench and I don't know why.

There were no report of him being Injured so I was thinking maybe his Knee was Playing up because he had said in another Interview that his knee hurts in most Games he Plays.

That would explain why sometime he does not go 100% in Contest and Not Fantastic at Time below his Knee. If it Hurts to do it.

Just hope this will be with him his Whole Carrier and He can get 100% confidence in his Knee and does not hurt in games

needs to be a lot harder at the ball.
was disappointed to hear he went to brighton grammar, certainly playing like it. soft as butter!
a nice contrast is JA tho lol
mate you're a tool. brighton grammar guys are some of the hardest players in schoolboy football.
with that logic no-one should go near jack watts cos he'll be soft as well because he goes to BGS