Dawes

57 goals across two years is very good? Mathew Stokes (57), Angus Monfries (55), Aaron Edwards (61), Hayden Ballantyne (56) and Todd Banfield (51) must be very good forwards too. Especially given worse delivery, both quantity and quality wise, bar Stokes.

All of them would walk into our team and improve the forward line, so whats your point?

57 goals across two years is very good? Mathew Stokes (57), Angus Monfries (55), Aaron Edwards (61), Hayden Ballantyne (56) and Todd Banfield (51) must be very good forwards too. Especially given worse delivery, both quantity and quality wise, bar Stokes.

Martin is a better footballer than Dawes. With or without the brain fades that have been noted - which, FWIW, I think aren't as bad as are being made out to be, and being someone who was a basketball player up until when we drafted him, slowly being eradicated.

Um yes they are all quite good forwards, definitely not superstars of the game but would provide a lot for us especially considering the pressure that the smalls like Banfield and Ballantyne would provide. I would not call any of these players bad at all, and if we got any of them i would be thrilled.

My point is that Dawes ain't worth a high pick... :D
Pick 20 for a player who WILL be in our best team is not a bad deal.

If two sides both give up more than they think they should it is normally a good sign that the deal is good.
We think pick 20 is a bit high, but Collingwood probably feel it isn't quite enough

Are you guys seriously taking the piss on here? Some absolutely ridiculous posts:

• Scott Lucas was a gun for a large amount of his career, how anyone could even contemplate calling him shit is an absolute joke.
  • Stefan Martin is ridiculously over-rated on here. I am not saying he is hopeless but Dawes is a much much better footballer and I dont care if you have studied both their stats and find them to be of a similar nature. Martin can play multiple positions but he has never really done anything amazing except for a pretty good patch mid-year in 2011, so I fail to see how that gives him "the capacity to be one of the best ruckman in the game".

I'm doing my best to stay out of the Martin / Dawes debate, but bang on for mine :thumbsu:

Scott Lucas was a gun and as much as it pains me to say it Maxwell wasn't that shit.

FFS next time use examples like Steven Armstrong, Aaron Shattock & Roger James

And let my Essendon biased hate get in the way. I accomplished what i set out to do my having my Essendon mate ring me up and complain about my post about Lucas. :thumbsu: Could have put down Nathan Buckey but he hasn't won a Premiership. :D

Talk of Dawes to Dogs for pick 21.
If true Good pick up by them really. I'm neither here nor there about not getting him.
I'm the same. If we can get Pederson with a 3rd/4th rounder, I'd be happy to use pick 20 on a young mid.

Dawes seems like a bit of an enigma. I'm not sure why he'd be unhappy with the club getting Lynch, when he played his best footy with a 3 tall structure, and he didn't have to ruck.

I also believe that we may have cooled on Dawes with Hogan locked in for 2014. I would hate for us to use Clark as our 2nd ruckman, and neither Dawes nor Hogan could fill the role.

And let my Essendon biased hate get in the way. I accomplished what i set out to do my having my Essendon mate ring me up and complain about my post about Lucas. :thumbsu: Could have put down Nathan Buckey but he hasn't won a Premiership. :D

Yeah he just left Brissie to chase them :p

And let my Essendon biased hate get in the way.

Mate, when discussing the Verucas, there's no such thing as bias.

YjqRO7.gif

With all due respect CJ, having read the last 2 pages - who lost their marbles? Tradepower put forward his thoughts in a good manner and Melbourne posters then discussed why they felt the trade was no reasonable and why (and it wasn't reasonable, but that's beside the point). There was no personal attacks and no put downs, unless you have deleted these posts and I have missed them. If so then I apologise. The only thing I can see anyone getting upset about is mentioning Scotty Lucas as an ordinary player which, we all know, is ridiculous in the extreme. There is no need to come bouncing in here and telling us off for having some discussion that someone else brought up.

And I don't think we need to be referred to as children but please yourself.

Ok I'll backpedal a bit here, 'lose their marbles' was a poor choice of words from me.
Reading back a bit, the most obvious example was Syrus being a bit hostile to Tradepower. Not a hanging offence in itself but I maintain my point that some posters here are unnecessarily hostile to outsiders at times, often only because that poster has the boldness to suggest that, for example, Martin (replace as necessary with half our list) isn't really that good a player, or that their club would not accept whatever trade has been suggested.
Fair to say I'm sympathetic to these types of guys (assuming they are saying stuff with good intentions, if not they can GAGF) seeing as the MFC has been so utterly crap for so many years - if I was in their shoes I might have something to say about people still rating Cook or whoever else.
Far be it from me to stifle what has been some excellent discussion around here the past few weeks - a bit more civility at times would not go astray.

Also I was using 'children' facetiously... Zero intention of being patronising, especially seeing as I'm a lowly Spec Mod. Just trying to be funny haha.

I have also cooled on Dawes ( although I understand the reasons some are all for him ),believing that Pederson can do the job just as well without the restrictions of being a one trick pony.Dawes struggles to be anything more than a lead up forward and our current midfield is hardly going to be banging it on his left tit like Collingwoods can.Would be great if we can leave a couple of picks for mids in the draft which would compliment what we have already accomplished this trade period.

Reading back a bit, the most obvious example was Syrus being a bit hostile to Tradepower.

I wasn't being hostile. But to suggest we give up Martin and pick 20, for Dawes (who is no longer seen by his club as best 22) and a 3rd round pick is rediculous.

Ok I'll backpedal a bit here, 'lose their marbles' was a poor choice of words from me.
Reading back a bit, the most obvious example was Syrus being a bit hostile to Tradepower. Not a hanging offence in itself but I maintain my point that some posters here are unnecessarily hostile to outsiders at times, often only because that poster has the boldness to suggest that, for example, Martin (replace as necessary with half our list) isn't really that good a player, or that their club would not accept whatever trade has been suggested.
Fair to say I'm sympathetic to these types of guys (assuming they are saying stuff with good intentions, if not they can GAGF) seeing as the MFC has been so utterly crap for so many years - if I was in their shoes I might have something to say about people still rating Cook or whoever else.
Far be it from me to stifle what has been some excellent discussion around here the past few weeks - a bit more civility at times would not go astray.

Also I was using 'children' facetiously... Zero intention of being patronising, especially seeing as I'm a lowly Spec Mod. Just trying to be funny haha.

Agree re: civility mate. I certainly wasn't trying to have a go but just thought we have actually been pretty good to an "outsider". We, and certainly me included, have been far worse.

And while I agree that I would have something to say about other clubs rating their crap players highly, I think we have the right to do it on THIS board without others butting in, unless they do it with respect. The Bay, AFL board and so on is the place for that but I think MFC posters here should be protected from the outsiders regardless of their views. If someone here rates Cook then that's their prerogative and we can argue amongst ourselves but we don't need other supporters telling us how to go about it.

Just my two cents though as you guys all do a great job of keeping this board in excellent knick. :thumbsu:

OK children, everyone take a chill pill. Both Martin and Dawes are being over-rated here. Tradepower, fair to say I think the trade you proposed was a tad ridiculous.

Point is moot now, Bulldogs are ponying up with pick 21 and 47, Carlton is getting frantic and offering the breath Jeff Garlett, I'm sure we'll do something with someone, after all he is a 100kg+ power forward with a midfielders tank who was the best big man on the ground in the Grand Final replay.. and yeah you mates are right, the children crack was just a little condescending.. even for an internet mod o_O

One big forward down a few still floating around... What are our options now to fill the void.. Pederson? White? Any other suggestions?

Are you guys seriously taking the piss on here? Some absolutely ridiculous posts:

• Scott Lucas was a gun for a large amount of his career, how anyone could even contemplate calling him shit is an absolute joke.
  • Stefan Martin is ridiculously over-rated on here. I am not saying he is hopeless but Dawes is a much much better footballer and I dont care if you have studied both their stats and find them to be of a similar nature. Martin can play multiple positions but he has never really done anything amazing except for a pretty good patch mid-year in 2011, so I fail to see how that gives him "the capacity to be one of the best ruckman in the game".

It means that for an extended period he produced results that were of an equivalent standard to the best rucks in the game. When you preface the statement with “capacity”, the insinuation is that whilst he has shown the ability he needs to do it on a consistent basis. Unfortunately he was injured this year and didn’t get a chance to consolidate his form.

Maybe some on here overrate Martin, but by the same token I think others are overrating Chris Dawes. This guy has just had one of the most horrendous years I have ever seen; we’re talking Aaron Davey bad. I mean footballs were literally bouncing of his hands and chest. His own club just went out and replaced him with a 30yo FFS.

Chris Dawes has never kicked more than 4 goals in a game and averages a mammoth 1.2 goals/game over his career. Even in the wonder years when Collingwood won the flag he only went at 1.5 goals/game. He isn’t the saviour boys, we need midfield depth with our early selections and if we want a stop gap until Hogan is ready then get Pederson or even Gumby at a fraction of the price.

Going by the prevailing logic of some on this site we should be expecting Flash will fetch us a first round selection on the open market.

But to suggest we give up Martin and pick 20, for Dawes (who is no longer seen by his club as best 22) and a 3rd round pick is rediculous.

Tradepower, fair to say I think the trade you proposed was a tad ridiculous.

Well at least my 'ridiculous' offer included pick 39 to you guys, according to the guy running the official AFL trade chat I'm paying overs
http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/live-afl-trades-chat/story-fnelctok-1226494232268

11:14
spacer.gif

[Comment From riley riley: ]
what would the dees give up for dawes if it was to happen? hopefully not too much, can't see the value in him, i tihnk gumbletons the better gamble
fb_share2.png

Friday October 12, 2012 11:14 riley
11:15 Early pick and Stefan Martin for sure.

It's a good indication of what an unbiased view of their respective worth is out there

Well at least my 'ridiculous' offer included pick 39 to you guys, according to the guy running the official AFL trade chat I'm paying overs
http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/live-afl-trades-chat/story-fnelctok-1226494232268

11:14
spacer.gif

[Comment From riley riley: ]
what would the dees give up for dawes if it was to happen? hopefully not too much, can't see the value in him, i tihnk gumbletons the better gamble
fb_share2.png

Friday October 12, 2012 11:14 riley
11:15 Early pick and Stefan Martin for sure.

It's a good indication of what an unbiased view of their respective worth is out there

Trollolololol. You're quoting some unknown persons response from a chat room and its on the HUN website. As if they have some idea what is going on. Whatever you believe is a good deal for your club is fine with me, but I think its rediculous to think that Dawes is worth Pick 20 and Stef Martin.

It's not an unknown and his name escapes me at the moment but he's the guy running the AFL trade chat that everyone is asking questions of.. not one of the public posting :rolleyes:

Dawes