Dawes

Sorry, I just can't get excited for recruiting for a KPF who is incapable of taking a mark above his shoulders.

Yeah, he had a shit year - but he can take pack marks, 2010/11 proved that.

Exactly. Are people seriously happy with this? Both players want to come to us simply because they know they'll be walk up start for 22 games, which wouldnt be the case for any other teams (except the expansion). Decent players with options dont want to come to Melb

Dawes had an offer from Carlton - are you suggesting he wouldn't be best 22 there?

What with all their key forward options...

Sorry, I just can't get excited for recruiting for a KPF who is incapable of taking a mark above his shoulders.

You can't get excited about anything, period. Don't worry, we get it, you don't need to shove it down our throats.

Dawes had an offer from Carlton - are you suggesting he wouldn't be best 22 there?

What with all their key forward options...

Same goes for the Doggies TPM - he would be a walk up start there also.

Exactly - it's not like we're saying Dawes is a world beater.

But he could be a really good contributor IMO, between 30-40 goals as a 2nd key forward.

Exactly - it's not like we're saying Dawes is a world beater.

But he could be a really good contributor IMO, between 30-40 goals as a 2nd key forward.

Spot on. People aren't seeing the bigger picture - having Dawes down there takes pressure off Clark, which then takes pressure off a guy like Jeremy Howe and so forth as, even if Clark gets the best defender, Dawes can still kick a few, Howe doesn't get a gun backman and so on.

Dawes for Pick 20 is what will do it and I'm comfortable with that. As long as we hold on to pick 4 and draft a gun midfielder (Toumpas or Wines is fine with me!) then this FA/Trade period will have been a massive win for the club!

Jeeze. Wouldn't have minded having Jurrah taking the third defender behind Clark and Dawes.

Howe will do just fine if we need him there :). And for the minority who are finding something silly to complain about...what are you on??? Neeld is recruiting hard working players all of whom have good attitudes (and skills, despite what some may think). This means more than anything (as shown by Sydney).

Neeld is doing what should have been done a looooong time ago.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

IMO that is paying over the odds considering his form this year. We will probably get a second round compo for losing Moloney and Rivers, I would rather part with that.
Ur dreaming mate. Dawes at his best is incredibly good. Give the guy a chance...he's young.

IMO that is paying over the odds considering his form this year. We will probably get a second round compo for losing Moloney and Rivers, I would rather part with that.

Mitch Clark wasn't in the best of form when he left Brisbane and we gave up Pick 12 for him which has turned out to be a ripping move. Dawes is a premiership player and a guy who, outside of this year, was a very important player for a Top 4 club. I won't argue that this year he was poor but Pick 20 for a guy who CAN play very well and who would relish a fresh start is about right.

This is one of the more sensible posts on this topic. I mean come on, the guy had a dreadful year, but anyone who thinks that pick 20 for a premiership CHF is paying overs is basically doing nothing but trying to big note how good they are in the recruiting game and seeing none of you seem to have a job in the recruiting department in the end it just sounds like your talking out your arse. I believe we have a great coach, with a clear plan and if Dawes fits a role within that then we do whats needed to get him here.

It is understood we won't get compo for Moloney because we got Byrnes so talk of another second rounder is optimistic at best

We will probably get that if Rivers leaves also.

I think everyone has forgotten how good Dawes really was in 2010, both him and Cloke frightened the shit out of every opposition side, they were an unstoppable combo(Clarke & Dawes anyone). It was the new game plan from Buckley that stuffed Dawes up, i am wrapped that we have the chance to get him, just what we need, finally some big bodies to rattle the opposition defences up.
I would be more than happy to part with pick 20, we need some size in our forward half and that is what Dawes would bring.
Just get the deal done asap.

We have to try something... Mitch Clarke cannot do it alone, and nothing else we have presented over the past 3 years has even looked like the right forward structure.

He is itching to get into a side where he can 'lead' others.. WOW a leader, we haven't had one of them for a long while.

Clarke gets best defender, he gets number 2.. and when our midfield develop he will tear teams a 'new one'. Guy is a bargain at pick 20, considering he has 5 years of good footy left!

We have to try something... Mitch Clarke cannot do it alone, and nothing else we have presented over the past 3 years has even looked like the right forward structure.

He is itching to get into a side where he can 'lead' others.. WOW a leader, we haven't had one of them for a long while.

Clarke gets best defender, he gets number 2.. and when our midfield develop he will tear teams a 'new one'. Guy is a bargain at pick 20, considering he has 5 years of good footy left!

I'd say he has more than 5, he is only 24 years old.

Agree with the leadership aspect and he is well known as being an extremely hard worker on the track and on the field, something he can model to guys like Hogan and to the younger players coming through. He is, after all, coming from an extremely successful club.

I'd say he has more than 5, he is only 24 years old.

Agree with the leadership aspect and he is well known as being an extremely hard worker on the track and on the field, something he can model to guys like Hogan and to the younger players coming through. He is, after all, coming from an extremely successful club.

Exactly. They've been carrying him the last two years. The guy is slow, terrible mark with turning circle of the Titanic. I honestly can't believe he's an AFL player, let alone a premiership player.

I know were 'trying' to improve. But its a bit deflating knowing all we can get is other clubs rejects. Thank God Mitch Clark fell in our lap, it certainly wasnt his first choice to come to us.

Ur dreaming mate. Dawes at his best is incredibly good. Give the guy a chance...he's young.

Now, tell me honestly, was this your assessment when he was playing at the Pies? Take the blinkers off, all of a sudden there's a chance of him coming here and he's potentially a star. His goals for 2012 - something like 15 in 22 games is very poor, especially considering he was playing for a top 4 side.

I'm know I'm coming down hard on the guy, I reckon he tries hard...but since when did that ever cut it at AFL level??? Except at Melbourne FC of course :rolleyes:

Hasn't the absence of players that try been one of our main problems?

Its been the culmination mostly of average players who try with some average ones that don't. I actually think most of the guys 'try' they just don't have a clue what they're doing, and that's some to do with lack of direction, and some to do with lack of football instinct.

I don't what the answer is. I would say, recruit young players and lots of them, rather than the likes of Dawes. But we have no idea how to do that and even less of a clue how to develop them. Its hard to see how anything we do could possibly make things worse, but this just seems a lazy quick fix option.

We've gone the long term option with Hogan - we're also getting a short and long term option in with Dawes, who has played good football as a 2nd fiddle forward.

We've got the talent on our list, what we need is direction and work ethic IMO.

Now, tell me honestly, was this your assessment when he was playing at the Pies? Take the blinkers off, all of a sudden there's a chance of him coming here and he's potentially a star. His goals for 2012 - something like 15 in 22 games is very poor, especially considering he was playing for a top 4 side.

Correct he isn't a star and most likely will never be a star, but if he can play the same role he played when Collingwood were at their best, then I'm more than happy for him to be in the team. It was getting pretty obvious last year that we were kicking the ball to Mitch Clark a hell of a lot, it won't take long for teams to put a plan in place to stop that next year, but with a big bloke like Dawes who likes to lead and run around a lot, he will make it harder for teams to defend against us. He is the best available big forward who wants to come to our club, done and done.

Dawes