Dawes

Would not get a game at Carlton or malthouse would have got him. He wanted to come but mick did not want him. What does that tell you? And that pies prefer a 30 year old journeyman at the end of his career?

Pick 20? C'mon you guys they are screwing you all the way home. Don't do it.
Lol, he is a better player than Waite or any of the other shit you have as KPF's

Would not get a game at Carlton or malthouse would have got him. He wanted to come but mick did not want him. What does that tell you? And that pies prefer a 30 year old journeyman at the end of his career?

Love this. Absolutely love it. If you look closely you'll see all the makings of a mis-guided BF post. Let's analyse it shall we!

1. - Notice the over rating of his own players in the "Would not get a game at Carlton" start of his post. Now, clearly, the whole football world knows their KPF stocks are very, very poor yet he would have you believe he wouldn't get a game up there because, you know, Casboult is the man.

2. - Then you can also see the fact that he firmly believes Mick didn't want him, showing us three things
a) He thinks he has some sort of inside info all the way in Hobart
b) He has seen Mick say something in the paper and he has totally mis-construed it or
c) He is making it up to suit his own arguments. I think we'll go with this one, don't you?

3. - Then he claims we will be paying overs when, really, it will be around the right mark but because he wants to troll a little he is trying to soften us up a bit by being nice. Very clever but, like I said, look closely and you'll see it. And, finally....

4. - He then tries to show everyone his knowledge of other teams but saying "They got a journeyman to replace him...." when we all know Lynch was recruited to play the Leigh Brown role, which is something many other people have said. But to suit his argument he wants to take it another way and try and show that Dawes is worthless and wouldn't get a game in a forward line that relies on Jeff Garlett. Did you read that right? Yes, a forward line that relies on Jeff Garlett.

So there you have it. The quintessential BF post that we've come to know and love over the years. Peace be with you my friend.

Considered the possibility that Malthouse wanted Dawes but found Collingwood unprepared to deal with Carlton?

HAHA....thanks for the laugh mate, really helped end my night on a high.

They won't be complaining when Dawes and Clark are tearing teams to pieces in 2013.
Defenders nightmare. especially with Brynes etc. lurking at ground level.
FINALLY A FORWARD LINE DEVELOPS!

A great pick up for us, and I have no problem with giving up pick 20

I've been on the Dawes bandwagon from the start (was disappointed we didn't nab him last year but landing Mitch eased the disappointment)

Now we have 2 100kg + capable forwards both only 24 years of age

Sure his year was down, but he has shown he has the ability

Importantly he'll bring in experience and leadership, and Clark / Dawes combo will be a great mentoring duo for Hogan

This trade / FA period has been amazing for us so far. Realistically, it reads like this:

Pick 3 Jack Viney
Pick 4 Available (draft midfielder)
Pick 13 Jesse Hogan and Dom Barry
Pick 26 down graded to pick 20
Pick 20 Possible Dawes Selection
FA - Byrnes
Out - Moloney

With Pedersen likey and Ray a possibility

Rivers possibly out - will give us a 2nd round return on FA I would think

Neeld will not go down without a fight

others may have a different opinion about ray, i don't see anything special about him. Why would we bother with him, we are far better off getting games into young players than wasting 4-5 years of development on a bloke that hasn't made the cut at his last two clubs.

I like the idea of getting Dawes and would accept coughing up 20 for him, the only reservation i have about Dawes is that he and Clark are the same age and Martin is about 1 year older if they stay on our list it could be a bit of steep cliff when they all retire at roughly the same time.

others may have a different opinion about ray, i don't see anything special about him. Why would we bother with him, we are far better off getting games into young players than wasting 4-5 years of development on a bloke that hasn't made the cut at his last two clubs.

I like the idea of getting Dawes and would accept coughing up 20 for him, the only reservation i have about Dawes is that he and Clark are the same age and Martin is about 1 year older if they stay on our list it could be a bit of steep cliff when they all retire at roughly the same time.

If we get a flag in their time it could be the Grand Canyon for all I care

On Ray, my opinion is he was rubbish at the Dogs, but transformed his game at St Kilda under Lyon, had a much harder edge

His running and experience is appealing to me

Yeah, but I'm pretty sure we can trust our recruiting staff to look into getting young talls in before those two are 30-32. Not a big deal.

Mick didn't really have a choice in the matter when Dawes chose Melbourne instead of Carlton.

I agree that pick 20 is over for him, but i have some faith in the coaching department that they know what they want and are doing.

I've really come around to the idea of Dawes in our forward line. He's 24, and has said that he want's the opportunity to become a leader, Melbourne would be a good fit, and Neeld & Co. want him. Theonly issue is Collingwood, which shouldn't be too difficult to deal with, after all they are the cream pies. (eww, I just realized that's kinda gross).

Anyway, I think pickups like Dawes, Pederson, and Gumbleton would be good for us, however, I'd hope that Mitch didn't get his nose out of joint. I think getting these guys in will cement Mitch's spot in the forward line, and allow the other guys to take ruck duties if need be, rather than having Mitch move. I could be wrong, but That's what I reckon anyway.

What do you guys think will happen to guys like Gawn, Martin, Spencer and Fitzy if we get Dawes & Co. into the club?
Perhaps if Riv does go, we may see a reshaped Backline with Frawley and McDonald as our KPB'S?

I've really come around to the idea of Dawes in our forward line. He's 24, and has said that he want's the opportunity to become a leader, Melbourne would be a good fit, and Neeld & Co. want him. Theonly issue is Collingwood, which shouldn't be too difficult to deal with, after all they are the cream pies. (eww, I just realized that's kinda gross).

Anyway, I think pickups like Dawes, Pederson, and Gumbleton would be good for us, however, I'd hope that Mitch didn't get his nose out of joint. I think getting these guys in will cement Mitch's spot in the forward line, and allow the other guys to take ruck duties if need be, rather than having Mitch move. I could be wrong, but That's what I reckon anyway.

What do you guys think will happen to guys like Gawn, Martin, Spencer and Fitzy if we get Dawes & Co. into the club?
Perhaps if Riv does go, we may see a reshaped Backline with Frawley and McDonald as our KPB'S?

I would have Rated Mcdonald ahead of Rivers anyway tbh. Rivers leaving means that we need Garland or maybe Sheehan to step up again imo.

I think Pederson will affect Fitz getting games, but his performace in the VFL will determine his next contract, injuries may give him a look in?

I am sure Mitch didnt enjoy being triple teamed after 3/4 time all that much :p

Has anyone actually thought that we are targeting players like Dawes, Pederson and Gumbleton because Mitch's Linsfranc injury is probably worse than what has been reported?

Nope.

I took it as, we are targetting all 3 players and trying to make each of them feel as if they are our number 1 target. That way if 1 or 2 rejected us, it doesn't make the last one seem like he was our backup plan.

I do like a good conspiracy theory, but god I hope this isnt the case!! Though not sure we would replace Clark (if he had a chronic injury) with Gumbleton :eek:

I reckon being devoid of big bodied forwards is the key reason to hit the trade table, Neeld's game plan seems to involve a bit of bombing into the forward line, should work better with some bigger blokes down there

No, not at all

Good talls are rare, and they need to strike whilst the iron is hot

If Hogan is as good as people say, we'd be silly not to take him

Dawes for leadership and experience and to take some heat off Mitch

Look what happened when Mitch went down, so did our avenue to goal

People bleat about Midfield Midfield Midfield, but consider a few points:

This draft / trade / FA will see us land:

2 top 5 midfielders (Viney and pick 4 - maybe Wines)
Next years draft will be midfielders, midfielders and a few more midfielders
Midfielders are ALWAYS available, good talls are not
We've bought in Byrnes
We MAY bring in Ray

Despite how crappy they were, I still believe we have the nucleus of a decent midfield:

Jones - nuff said
Trengove - immensely talented and an absolute work horse (will get better and better)
Grimes - a very underrated mid
Sylvia - still believe it's his best position and if his 2nd half of this season is an indication, Neeld MAY have gotten him on track
McKenzie - blue collar but a great defensive mid

Wines / Viney are inside players, no doubt, but they have more strings to their bow.

Viney has good acceleration, Wines has good skills and a quick mind (good distributor)

Other blokes like Gys, Bail, Blease, Tapscott have something to offer the midfield

Outside class with pace could potentially be Blease / Barry

Bail (whilst his disposal was ordinary) has a lot to offer IMO

Good defensive side, great endurance.

What we need is for these guys to create a standard that is to Neeld's vision.

We have the base platform for a reasonable midfield, it just needs fine tuning

There's alot of talk about midfielder's. Am I the only one who actually forgot about...
Rory Taggert?
We also have Jai Sheahan and Leigh Williams who were apparently forwards. Rookie listed, but they're still on the list. Could still play AFL yet. Could still help out Clark/Dawes etc.​

There's alot of talk about midfielder's. Am I the only one who actually forgot about...
Rory Taggert?
We also have Jai Sheahan and Leigh Williams who were apparently forwards. Rookie listed, but they're still on the list. Could still play AFL yet. Could still help out Clark/Dawes etc.​

As soon as I posted, I realised I'd forgotten Tynan / Taggert

Virtually like new recruits

No. We have no forwardline apart from clark. We need more options. It's really that simple.

Call me crazy, but I think having better forwards will make our mids look better as well.
At the moment, none of our forwards (apart from Mitch) are smart enough or work hard enough to get good separation from their defender. This means our mids have to be pin point with their disposal. If the forward had a few metres on his backman the mid delivering the ball would have more leeway in accuracy and may actual kick better due to less pressure of getting it spot on.

Call me crazy, but I think having better forwards will make our mids look better as well.
At the moment, none of our forwards (apart from Mitch) are smart enough or work hard enough to get good separation from their defender. This means our mids have to be pin point with their disposal. If the forward had a few metres on his backman the mid delivering the ball would have more leeway in accuracy and may actual kick better due to less pressure of getting it spot on.

Agreed

If Mitch didn't mark it, it virtually bounced straight back out

Not to mention it will give the mids confidence looking up and seeing Clark and Dawes

I am sure Dawes 0.8 goals a game would make all the difference to the Carlton forward line. I can't believe that pick 20 is on the table for a guy that got dropped in round 22 after disappointing for pretty much an entire season.
Go away flog, if you make decisions based on pointless stats such as goals a game, then you sir don't understand the game of AFL. You are a classic supporter who only supports the general supporter consensus. A pessimist who is offended because the almighty Carlton couldn't beat the MFC in poaching Dawes. It's not about goals a game, it's about structure, he played injured and in the Ruck, he isn't a ruckmen he is a workhorse, will thrive when he gets back to the role at CHF. Enjoy your blind hope, your relying on Jared Waite to play out a full season to get you a spot in the finals. Haha and casboult and Luke Mitchell are your other KPF prospects so don't pretend your not interested in Dawes you moron.

Dawes