Dawes

Wouldn't mind a look at Tippett is Swans can't get it done. Over hyped and over paid, but is significantly better than Dawes.

Tippett will only go to Sydney or South East Qld. He hates the fishbowl of Adelaide and is terrified by Perth and will not even consider the possibility of having to live in Melbourne.

Pretty sure his cat was born in Melbourne though, still a chance.

Go away flog, if you make decisions based on pointless stats such as goals a game, then you sir don't understand the game of AFL. You are a classic supporter who only supports the general supporter consensus. A pessimist who is offended because the almighty Carlton couldn't beat the MFC in poaching Dawes. It's not about goals a game, it's about structure, he played injured and in the Ruck, he isn't a ruckmen he is a workhorse, will thrive when he gets back to the role at CHF. Enjoy your blind hope, your relying on Jared Waite to play out a full season to get you a spot in the finals. Haha and casboult and Luke Mitchell are your other KPF prospects so don't pretend your not interested in Dawes you moron.
  1. I don't base my decisions based solely on goals per game (though I recon it is a handy stat for forwards) I base it on the games I watch. Clearly Buckley dropped Dawes at the end of the season because he wasn't providing the structural benefit you are confident he will bring to Melbourne. Blind hope is making excuses for Dawes poor form in a top 4 team over the last 2 years.
  2. I am actually an optimist as I have faith in the 5 KP player we have recruited in the last 2 years. I guess we will all find out how that works out next season.
  3. It is interesting that you seem to think that the Dees have beaten Carlton in the race for Dawes. Where player are traded to has more to do with how much you offer a player and what you are prepared to give up (and what you have to give up)Mitch Clark last year was a classic example of this. I doubt Carlton thought Dawes was worth pick 11.
  4. The Melbourne supporters obviously misunderstand the reason this trade upsets Carlton supporters. It is because we are concerned that Melbourne is going to make Collingwood stronger. Most on the Carlton board (myself included) were never in favour of recruiting Dawes.
If you are happy with Dawes over pick 20, then best of luck. You never know he could be as good a pick up as Clark who was outstanding before he was injured.

Someone should start a poll Dawes yes or no. Would be a good thing to look back on at the end of next year and for as long as his at Melbourne if we get him. And just for the record I am a yes person dont really know y but mainly coz what ever we have been doing for the last 6 years hasn't work and I am hoping coz neeld and him have worked together before neeld knows how to get the best out of him.

Points one and two seem to contradict each other so I stopped reading old ****.

WHaaah??

moe-szyslak.jpg

1. I don't base my decisions based solely on goals per game (though I recon it is a handy stat for forwards) I base it on the games I watch. Clearly Buckley dropped Dawes at the end of the season because he wasn't providing the structural benefit you are confident he will bring to Melbourne. Blind hope is making excuses for Dawes poor form in a top 4 team over the last 2 years.
  2. I am actually an optimist as I have faith in the 5 KP player we have recruited in the last 2 years. I guess we will all find out how that works out next season.
  3. It is interesting that you seem to think that the Dees have beaten Carlton in the race for Dawes. Where player are traded to has more to do with how much you offer a player and what you are prepared to give up (and what you have to give up)Mitch Clark last year was a classic example of this. I doubt Carlton thought Dawes was worth pick 11.
  4. The Melbourne supporters obviously misunderstand the reason this trade upsets Carlton supporters. It is because we are concerned that Melbourne is going to make Collingwood stronger. Most on the Carlton board (myself included) were never in favour of recruiting Dawes.
If you are happy with Dawes over pick 20, then best of luck. You never know he could be as good a pick up as Clark who was outstanding before he was injured.

You should look at some of my older posts on Dawes. I watched probably 75% of collingwoods games this year. The way in which Chris Dawes was treated as a player was disgusting. A guy who isn't gifted in agility as such, is made to play as a 2nd ruck, whilst also having a severe hand injury and further a knee injury. I blame Dawes poor form based on injury and Nathan Buckley's disrespect to Dawes. Your comment about 'structural benefit' is completely flawed.His been played in the wrong position, no bloody wonder he didn't provide them the greatest structural benefit . It's my whole bloody point of the argument. I'm confident he'll improve us structurally because he'll be played in the right position (CHF) as opposed to the 2nd ruck role at Collingwood.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/ch...-joins-melbourne/story-fnfll94y-1226496596484

For someone not worth Pick 20, Melbourne's football department is sure playing him above the market rate of a Pick 20.

Jethro Tull sang the hit "Thick as a Brick". You should go and have a listen mate, it's very relevant.

As mentioned twice above media figures are never accurate. While I'm sure he will get more money it will be front loaded, back loaded and sideways loaded to make sure it's well within the cap and it makes it easy for us to re-sign our players going forward.

Because all figures quoted in the media are correct :rolleyes:

We haven't even finalised a deal with Collingwood and you reckon we've finalised a contract with him?

Have not heard the 500k a year figure quoted anywhere but in the Herald Sun today. No idea where they pulled that figure from as the numbers I saw last week were significantly less.

Collingwood will settle on pick 20 plus either pettard or martin,i believe Martin suits our needs more for dawes.
Pick 20 although everyone is raving about it is really hit and miss.

Draft picks are all hit and miss,outside top 5,even if a club recruits a good player will take years before reults are achieved.

Unlike Melbourne collingwoopd are in premiership window now so have to smart on who we recruit we must fix our needs and Pettard will have trouble getting a game with us unlike Martin.

So if dees are prepraed top over pay Dawes (500K) per year ? Pick 20 plus Martin we have a deal

Sorry guys hold the presses,i was just about to do the chris DAWES DEAL but GWS have just stepped in and have offered us picks 12 or 13,now tghat seems more tempting sold to GWS!

Mate we're going to need a solid source for that, you can't just waltz in here with a statement of fact based on something that hasn't even been discussed before now.

He will not leave Victoria, that is the problem.

It's a facebook rumour

If it were true, you guys would just keep him if that's the case

He's made it pretty clear he doesn't want to leave Vic

Don't think GWS would offer two first round picks for Dawes, they could offer that for Tippet...

Collingwood will settle on pick 20 plus either pettard or martin,i believe Martin suits our needs more for dawes.
Pick 20 although everyone is raving about it is really hit and miss.

Draft picks are all hit and miss,outside top 5,even if a club recruits a good player will take years before reults are achieved.

Unlike Melbourne collingwoopd are in premiership window now so have to smart on who we recruit we must fix our needs and Pettard will have trouble getting a game with us unlike Martin.

So if dees are prepraed top over pay Dawes (500K) per year ? Pick 20 plus Martin we have a deal

Pick 4 FTW :rolleyes:

Your smashing our board with crap about going after that pick, so why don't you man up and post it here as well?!

Pick 4 FTW :rolleyes:

Your smashing our board with crap about going after that pick, so why don't you man up and post it here as well?!

If Collingwood are even coming close to asking for pick 4 I'd be seriously concerned about the sanity of your coaching/admin.

Although I guess losing a player to Melbourne doesn't look good... Big Ed wouldn't be keen on that.

Dawes