Dean Bailey on SEN right now.

• Thread starter Thread starter FOOOOTY

Was asked about first impressions of MFC, thought the players are very flexible, because they are used to training all over the place, as opposed to having an actual home.

KB asked about player positions, Dean Bailey didnt give much away, said he likes flexible players, but wouldnt go into much detail.

KB asked about what melbourne supporters can expect, dean bailey said he wants to the players to beleive they can win every game every quarter and that starts in the NAB cup in rnd 1.

KB asked about the style of play and if we will move the ball quickly, Dean likes our forward line and our 1 on 1 ability of our forwards, that can win contested marks, so he pretty much talked up an agressive game plan that will get it in quickly to Robbo and Neitz.

KB asked if there was anyone that particulary surprised him and the first person he mentioned was Daniel Bell, and he hasn't realised how big and strong and quick he is, and hes really impressed, Buckley and Garland, as well got mentions for their attitude and said he was very impressed with them to.

KB asked about the leadership group, specifically Brad Miller, Bailey talked up the players picking the leadership group on advice on what they should look for in leaders, and that the leaderships group especially 'behaviours' must actually reflect on where we want to head as a club.

He talked up a story, about P.A. with Josh Mahoney beating Chad Cornes for a leadership spot and how he helped out and it helped Chad's game as well., and as the coach of MFC he wants a really good standard by the set the club.

Still talking up Josh Mahoney and now Sean Wellman, and his previous involvement with them, and he's happy with having 2 development coaches, talked up about how young a lot of the list is, and that the coaching panel needs to reflect the list, and he thinks MFC have done that.

Now asking about Nathon Carrol's suspension, and Bailey said yeah it had a little bit to do with what happened last year, but then said the leadership group set down some guidlines a week ago, and Nathon didn't meet them after so they felt they had to sanction him.

Now KB's asking about Brad Green not making the leadership group and whether Bailey had to have a chat about whether he was dissapointed about not making the leadership group, said the players addressed Brad and suggested areas he needed to improve on, and similar to Jeff White, and and he thinks Brad will be in for a big year.

KB asked if he was happy with the draw, Dean wasn't sure how to answer mentioned Geelong in NAB and Hawks in rnd1 as being up against the 'big teams' , but then talked up all the games we have at the G as being great.

Then mentioned Shane Velenti and 1 other player which i missed would have a good shot at playing NAB cup.

KB asked about what melbourne supporters can expect, dean bailey said he wants to the players to beleive they can win every game every quarter and that starts in the NAB cup in rnd 1.
dont get me wrong... i always have hope we can win, but god true belief that we always can would be nice!

i swear this man can say nothing wrong, i love every single thing that comes out of his mouth! just hope he's as good on match day :thumbsu:

Then mentioned Shane Velenti and 1 other player which i missed would have a good shot at playing NAB cup.

Sorry to intrude.

He mentioned Valenti, Stefan Martin and Wonamerii(SP?) as the 3 others to possibly get games in the nab cup :thumbsu:

Sorry to intrude.

He mentioned Valenti, Stefan Martin and Wonamerii(SP?) as the 3 others to possibly get games in the nab cup :thumbsu:
Thanks mate.

Might take us a while to get on top of old Wona's name.

I heard it as well and you've covered it pretty well FOOOOTY, Bailey is honest without giving too much away, although I miss the humour that was a good Daniher interview! Will be interesting to see whether he retains his composure in a press conference after a close loss. Seems the type that won't tolerate stupid questions if he doesn't want to but at the same time he understands the importance of the media.

Great to see Bell is having a ripper preseason but it doesn't suprise me that Bailey underrated him, he is probably one of the best natural athletes at the club and his footy is coming together really well. Also the continued raps on Garland is exciting, I think he might be better suited to CHF than Juice (who looks a FF) and when Neitz finishes up and the Miller experiment fails for the 47th time he could be a much needed player.

Carroll's suspension means we can go down to Geelong and give Stefan Martin a real crack at Hawkins or Mooney along with Frawley, Rivers and Holland. Our 5 potential key position backmen (Rivers, Carroll, Holland, Frawley, Martin) are all different but could make a nice package. Valenti should prove his worth in the NAB cup and we're all hoping to see Aussie W put in a Davey04 like performance.

yes bailey is impressive i am going to a function 4 the ballarat demons next weekend where dean and junior mac will be guests cant wait to meet him should be good

He seems to have taken a lot away from PA. I like that he has a vision for your club and seems to have brought the players along with it. I think he will be a great pick up for your club and that PA will miss his contribution this year.

Aahhh i can't belive i missed it!!! but very happy to hear that Aussie, Valenti and Martin might be getting a run in the NAB cup:thumbsu: did he mention anything about Morton, Maric or Grimey getting a run in the NAB cup??

Nice work FOOTY... lovely wrap up... i bloody missed it... thank god for you guys!
Cant wait to see Valenti and Wonga tear the pussycats to pieces...

Geeeeezzz, you gotta love the way Bails talks... he gets me excited everytime he goes on one of his club directional rants.... Not long now boys!

Aahhh i can't belive i missed it!!! but very happy to hear that Aussie, Valenti and Martin might be getting a run in the NAB cup:thumbsu: did he mention anything about Morton, Maric or Grimey getting a run in the NAB cup??
When asked about Morton he said that he's coping with increases is training load and is a good chance to play and then named the others. Didn't mention Grimes, Maric etc.

excellent wrap up foooty, great job. Much appreciated.

Yeah you have to be impressed with Dean Bailey, he says everything you want to hear about the direction of the club and where he wants to head. Hope his a good match day coach but the way he comes across his seems like the real deal. Time will tell but looks and just feels like the club has made the right decision. Back when he was appointed I couldnt quite believe it but now I couldnt be happier with how things are shaping.

Also I hope Valenti gets a game in the NAB cup, seen him train the other week and gee he stood out with the way he moved. Very smooth.......

It's going to be a very interesting season. Part of me reckons this guy can make the boys have an imediate impact on the 2008 season but the other half keeps in mind that we played soem really bad footy last year.

From stretcher to breakthrough season

By Greg Denham
January 31, 2008
NEW Melbourne coach Dean Bailey predicted a breakthrough season from Daniel Bell, who was last seen by Demons fans being carted from the MCG on a stretcher in August.
Bell was unfairly collected front-on by Collingwood's Ben Johnson in round 20 and sustained a spinal injury and associated headaches, which prematurely ended his year.
Johnson later accepted a six-match suspension from the match review panel for making forceful front-on contact. Bell has made a complete recovery from the incident, which could have had far more serious health ramifications.
Speaking on Melbourne radio station SEN, Bailey said Bell, 22, was one of three or four younger players to stand out in pre-season. "Although he's been on the list for a number of years, he has had some contact injuries," Bailey said. "I didn't realise how big and strong and quick he is. His pre-season has been fantastic.
"He's not what you would call a superstar top two or three player, but he's really impressed with his attitude to training."
Bell, a first-round selection in the 2002 national draft, made his debut in 2004 and played 28 games in his first three seasons before making 17 senior appearances in 2007.
Bailey told The Australian that Bell would start the season proper as one of six defenders, but that he had the scope to be developed into a quality midfielder.
The Demons coach said teenager Ricky Petterd, whose lung collapsed playing against Carlton in round 14 last year, was over the injury that cut short his rookie season. Bailey said Petterd was about to step up his training after being restricted to about 80 per cent of the club's pre-season program.
Petterd's left lung collapsed during play and he developed tension pneumothorax, which led to air being trapped in the lung causing an extraordinary amount of pressure, particularly to his lungs and heart.
Bailey has also been pleased with the progress of youngster Lynden Dunn and second-year players Simon Buckley and Colin Garland.
"These guys are probably guys when I got here I thought they were good, but when you see them live, when you see them train, when you see their attitude and talk to them, they've been very impressive," Bailey said.
Bailey said Melbourne could introduce four new faces during the pre-season, which starts for the Demons with the NAB Cup match against Geelong at Skilled Stadium on February 16.
He said first-round national draft selection Cale Morton, Stefan Martin (pre-season draft), and rookies Austin Wonaeamirri and Shane Valenti could all get a look in early in the year.
Bailey said the main difference to the pre-season program compared to previous years was that he had introduced footballs and match simulations earlier, combining skills with running.
He also said that training at a number of Melbourne venues because of the unavailability of Junction Oval had not been a problem.
"Those sorts of things do disrupt your pre-season, but the players' flexibility and their adaptability have been fantastic," Bailey said.
"They are really, really keen to change what happened in the previous season."
After finishing fifth in 2006, Melbourne sunk to 14th last year with just five wins.
Only three of Melbourne's mainstream 2007 football department staff - Paul Williams, Mark Williams and Barry Prendergast - remain.
Joining Bailey and general manager of football operations Chris Connolly this year are assistant coaches Sean Wellman and Josh Mahoney, as well as development coaches Kelly O'Donnell and Andy Lovell.
Off-field, Melbourne, in its 150th year, is set to replace chief executive Steve Harris. The club last year returned a poor financial result, making a profit of almost $97,000, which was $1.5million below budget.
-----------------------------------------------------------------

very interesting about Bell into the midfield.......