Dean Bailey

I like Dean as much as anyone, but I'm not in favour of a contract extension being given if he hasn't earnt it.

What if he's given an extra year now, and we come out and win 2/3 games in 2010?

I like Dean as much as anyone, but I'm not in favour of a contract extension being given if he hasn't earnt it.

What if he's given an extra year now, and we come out and win 2/3 games in 2010?

Think positive BC, We are going to win more than that & it was reported that the club is extremely impressed with his ability to develop the young blokes, Continuity at the club is important for everyones development, so I think it can only be a positive if the doubt over the coaching position disappears...
Positive thinking got Bell and Newton two-year deals in 2007.

I'm not saying Bailey shouldn't get a contract extension, I'm just querying why give it to him now? I'd like to think everyone is pretty confident we will improve this year, and when we do, by all means sign him up.

However, there's always the possibility we'll struggle again, and if we do, Bailey will rightfully come under plenty of pressure. The 'rebuilding' excuse ended last year IMO, how many teams have won the wooden spoon three years in a row?

If we finish last this year, Bailey will go.

If we finish last this year, Bailey will go.[/quote]

If we finish last I will go, maybe not, 44 years of supporting an underperforming team that sometimes fills you with hope & then you you get another kick in the guts, but you stick with em...:thumbsu:

I take your point though BC, and it probably will only be a one year extension, which makes sense... At least we are on the "TV" again as a positive story.... :)

Someone with a bit of intelligence...good to see.

Dean won't be fielding offers from other AFL clubs, nobody would want him as senior coach.

The club supposedly want to have a deal done to avoid scrutiny during the year, but if the club are winning games there will be no scrutiny. And if they are losing, well it will be time to ditch Bailey.

Nobody wins by signing the guy up early - except for Bailey himself.

Dean won't be fielding offers from other AFL clubs, nobody would want him as senior coach.

The club supposedly want to have a deal done to avoid scrutiny during the year, but if the club are winning games there will be no scrutiny. And if they are losing, well it will be time to ditch Bailey.

You probably don't have much of and idea. We haven't really been able to judge Bailey as yet as he hasn't had the team. He has a vision that is strongly supported by the administration and president and perhaps the playing group. You only need to look at our recruiting to see that Bailey is sticking to his guns. I reckon the bloke has guile, I don't think we have seen what he is capable of as yet.

If the club didn't stick by him, it would send the message that the changes we have made to this club a wrong.

I think that what Bailey has had to work with, where he has taken our list, he has shown that he deserves the right to go all the way. I reckon he'll pull it off.

Since Northey to Daniher, the Dee's have never really had a plan - this is the first for our club has taken a positive direction on the field.

Piss off Footyman, go and enjoy your new Bastardised Club while the tide is in, "The New & improved Bears" & anyway who was the previous club that was lucky enough to be rid of your presence????

If he gets an extension, it should be only a year.

He does need to be given a chance to coach the list he's built and developed over the last 2 years.

I agree with this point of view.

The club has 2 choices, either give a 1 year extention before the season starts or enter negotiations mid season on a new contract for 2 or 3 years.

1 year now sees him through to the end of 2011 and gives him 2 years to produce results with the list he's built. Not unreasonable considering the hard yards he's put in imo.

The alternative is to judge him on 12 rounds or so of trying to mould a very young and raw list. It's putting a lot of pressure on Dean to look after his short term interests rather than our long term interests. And then you have to decide if he's the man till potentially the end of 2013. Last years W/L ratio isn't a fair guide and 2008 wasn't Bailey's fault, he inherited a trainwreck. 12 games is not enough to decide if he's the man we want at the helm when we're entering our window.

Prudent move by the club. He's shown he can handle the rebuild and I'm glad Bail's will get a decent crack to prove he's a decent matchday coach. I'll back him in to have us all eating out of his hand by the time his extention is up.

The club has 2 choices, either give a 1 year extention before the season starts or enter negotiations mid season on a new contract for 2 or 3 years.

1 year now sees him through to the end of 2011 and gives him 2 years to produce results with the list he's built. Not unreasonable considering the hard yards he's put in imo.

The alternative is to judge him on 12 rounds or so of trying to mould a very young and raw list. It's putting a lot of pressure on Dean to look after his short term interests rather than our long term interests. And then you have to decide if he's the man till potentially the end of 2013. Last years W/L ratio isn't a fair guide and 2008 wasn't Bailey's fault, he inherited a trainwreck. 12 games is not enough to decide if he's the man we want at the helm when we're entering our window.

Prudent move by the club. He's shown he can handle the rebuild and I'm glad Bail's will get a decent crack to prove he's a decent matchday coach. I'll back him in to have us all eating out of his hand by the time his extention is up.

Really good summary TD...:thumbsu:

Disagree.

The alternative is to judge him on 2 years and 12 rounds. Also, now that the dead wood is gone, our long-term interests and his short-term interests are lined up. We want to win games now.

All this is :thumbsu: even if it is by a GC flog.

If we lose our first 10 games (which I doubt) who looks like the fukwit then?

Bailey hasn't had much of list to work with, and I'm all for stability but who is to say right now he is a great coach worthy of persisting with?

We win seven games next year extend it.

We win four or less and we give him the boot. Five or six means we would have to think about it pretty hard.

I'm not worried at all. The guy can coach, we can all see the direction we are going in and things will only get better.

When your given a chance to become an AFL coach you don't want to screw it up, Bailey has told the members that we are re-building and we all know how long that takes. With all our new kids I feel more confident in the MFC than I ever have.

This is the first time we have a coach and board actually building a premiership side and Dean Bailey will lead us there.

You could give him and another 2 years and I'd be more than happy, I have faith in our board. Remember that the old Daniher era got thrown out in the trash, we are new fresh and 3 years from a premiership.:thumbsu:

I'm not worried at all. The guy can coach, we can all see the direction we are going in and things will only get better.

When your given a chance to become an AFL coach you don't want to screw it up, Bailey has told the members that we are re-building and we all know how long that takes. With all our new kids I feel more confident in the MFC than I ever have.

This is the first time we have a coach and board actually building a premiership side and Dean Bailey will lead us there.

You could give him and another 2 years and I'd be more than happy, I have faith in our board. Remember that the old Daniher era got thrown out in the trash, we are new fresh and 3 years from a premiership.:thumbsu:

I agree with having more faith in our new kids, definately.

We kinda screwed up a couple of high picks years ago, with Molan,
Johnson and Thompson unfortunately leaving, yet with all that said,
we still made it to a grand final and had a couple other good years.

With the kids we got now - and more no 1 and high picks than we had
back then, on top of Sylvia coming good, Davey flying, Id say we are in
very good shape for the coming years.

Id offer Bailey 2 years to be safe and make him earn his keep in the next
couple of years, because realistically we wont be challenging for a flag
until after those 2 years.

You probably don't have much of and idea.
More idea than you think pal. Go stick your head in the sand like a good old Melbourne supporter would. You want to see a premiership in your lifetime or not?

The club is happy so far because he's given them two years of priority draft picks. The jury is still out on his coaching ability. There is absolutely no need to go and rush into signing him to an extra year and then find out 12 weeks into 2010 that he still can't get the team to win games.

That's just an absurd business decision. He was lucky to get a three year deal initially. As a new, untried coach I felt he should have only been given two years.

The guy can coach
That's just an absurd comment.

He's won 7 from 44. The worst strike rate of any coach in a long, long time.

If success is measured by how many priority draft picks a coach can get them Bailey's been a success story.

I've seen little evidence of any game plan. Time will tell. We'll see how he's travelling 12 weeks into 2010. No more excuses.

More idea than you think pal. Go stick your head in the sand like a good old Melbourne supporter would. You want to see a premiership in your lifetime or not?

The club is happy so far because he's given them two years of priority draft picks. The jury is still out on his coaching ability. There is absolutely no need to go and rush into signing him to an extra year and then find out 12 weeks into 2010 that he still can't get the team to win games.

That's just an absurd business decision. He was lucky to get a three year deal initially. As a new, untried coach I felt he should have only been given two years.

Footyman, you're very knowledgeable about footy, anyone who reads your work on the draft forum would know this, but Bailey has done alot more than just deliver two years of priority picks.
The work his done in developing the kids has been far superior to what this club saw over the past decade, he's also largely responsible for creating a new 'culture' (generally hate that word but in this instance it fits) within the club.

Almost forgot, didn't you used to barrack for Melbourne? When did you make the change to the GC?

Think people forget it took Bomber Thompson 7yrs to win a flag at Geelong. I wonder in his final year of his contract if the Cats didnt make the 8 that year, would they have renewed his contract?

What I am trying to say is Dean Bailey has spent the last 2 yrs fixing up the train wreck of a list Daniher left behind and in my opinon, deserves another 2 years to show the footy world he can coach.

he's also largely responsible for creating a new 'culture' (generally hate that word but in this instance it fits) within the club.
Not convinced. Do you think Brock McLean was impressed with the 'culture' Dean Bailey has created?

Almost forgot, didn't you used to barrack for Melbourne? When did you make the change to the GC?
Don't barrack for anybody, but as you'd know if you read the draft forum often I don't like the GC so I did it for a bit of a joke.

Not convinced. Do you think Brock McLean was impressed with the 'culture' Dean Bailey has created?

It could be argued that McLean has been part of the problem with our old culture ie drinking, partying, not prepared to put in the hard yards to improve his game etc

Don't barrack for anybody, but as you'd know if you read the draft forum often I don't like the GC so I did it for a bit of a joke.

Oh ok, that explains alot lol

I don't see why they couldn't have waited until the end of the year, or at the very least, the split round. At this point the jury is definitely still out on Bailey, because he hasn't had a chance to show his wares. Getting in early with the contract extension benefits nobody.