Dean Bailey

You probably don't have much of and idea. We haven't really been able to judge Bailey as yet as he hasn't had the team. He has a vision that is strongly supported by the administration and president and perhaps the playing group. You only need to look at our recruiting to see that Bailey is sticking to his guns. I reckon the bloke has guile, I don't think we have seen what he is capable of as yet.

If the club didn't stick by him, it would send the message that the changes we have made to this club a wrong.

I think that what Bailey has had to work with, where he has taken our list, he has shown that he deserves the right to go all the way. I reckon he'll pull it off.

Since Northey to Daniher, the Dee's have never really had a plan - this is the first for our club has taken a positive direction on the field.
Good post...reckon he's done exactly what the club wanted him to do...to the letter!!

I don't see why they couldn't have waited until the end of the year, or at the very least, the split round. At this point the jury is definitely still out on Bailey, because he hasn't had a chance to show his wares. Getting in early with the contract extension benefits nobody.

Thats what Richmond would do but instead they sack him at round 8. That takes away any stability, either do it now which I think they should or wait until the end of 2010 season.

I think they want to show a little faith in him & it helps keep the club stable so the focus can be on footy.

Thats what Richmond would do but instead they sack him at round 8. That takes away any stability, either do it now which I think they should or wait until the end of 2010 season.

I think they want to show a little faith in him & it helps keep the club stable so the focus can be on footy.
Richmond gave Wallace 5 years.

That was stability, look how that worked out.

Richmond gave Wallace 5 years.

That was stability, look how that worked out.
In fairness though BC the football world didn't even know the Tiges were in a 5 year plan until Wallace stated as such after 2 or 3 years at the helm after he tried to run the gauntlett with a near enough (but not good enough) team. Wallace had no vision or wish to go the hard yards. The 5 year plan was just a bs cop-out because he was under the pump and knew he had no choice but to start again.

Bailey has at least implemented system and purpose since he has been at the club. He is about to embark upon the next phase you'd think and whilst there are no guarantees I haven't seen anything to suggest that he doesn't know what he's doing so far.

Not convinced. Do you think Brock McLean was impressed with the 'culture' Dean Bailey has created?
If by that, you mean Bailey's strict guidelines about alcohol consumption during the season, then no. Which explains why he wanted to go to Carlton.

He's won 7 from 44. The worst strike rate of any coach in a long, long time.
That's 7 more wins than Guy McKenna. :p

Too many people on here wanting to judge the coach purely on number of wins. We simply arent in that position right now.

Bailey applied for this job with a pitch that was whole-heartedly strategised around a re-build and he's stuck to it brilliantly so far and shown great courage and commitment by emptying out the more more experienced players, earning high drafts picks and blooding young kids.

The next phase is the development, and from what I know, he's shown very good skills in that department up until now as well.

Id happily sign him until the end of 2011 today. Its healthy for the playing group to know that the board/club beleives in what their coach is doing.

I have posted on this issue previously, and while I am more than happy with how things eventually panned out in 2009 (we were getting belted in the middle of the year and I was very concerned), I dont think we need to rush in.

Imagine if (and I know it wont happen) we were o-10 and Paul Roos said, hey, i'd like to coach Melbourne in 2011, and we couldnt at least evaluate this without paying out Bailey if we were to sack him.

I hope Dean is the man going forward, as he has done the tough yards for sure, but I dont think other clubs are lining him up at this stage, so we dont really have a risk of losing him to another club.

Lets wait and see - we can offer up a new contract mid year when he has really shown his worth and we have a mob of young talent running around playing for him as we hope they already do.

I see no issue with being cautious and leaving negotiations until the end of next season (Unless we exceed expectations and have say 7-8 wins before the season is out).

It is a win/win situation if we leave the negotiations until later. If we have a poor year we get a new coach without having to sack Bailey or stick with him. If we have a 'good' year we sign him up ASAP.

I think we should give him a years extension to give him confidence. We sent him overseas just before Xmas to look at coaching etc.. A further year would be able to virtually give all players (6 new draftees) knowledge of his game plan.He then will be now judged accordingly. However, in his extension, there should be a clause, do not win at least six games and your out the door.

Looks like he's getting a one year extension:

Meanwhile, Melbourne will announce as early as next week that coach Dean Bailey has been given a contract extension of one year.
Bailey, who is entering the third and final season of his initial three-year deal, brokered by the Demons' previous administration, has been secured until the end of 2011.

(at bottom of this article: http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...-training-mishap/story-e6frf9io-1225823873279)

Interesting thread. I can see both sides of the argument but I have to come down on the side of yes to the extension. 2008 was a year for Bails to figure out who was worth keeping and who had to go. 2009 was about blooding the kids and (let's be frank) getting the pick Carlton stole from us. 2010 will now be about melding the team into a unit that begins to understand it's strengths and limitations.

Sure we might not win all the time on the scoreboard but we will see team begin to play active rather than reactive football this year, and that will start to pay big dividends 2012 onwards. It would be a shame if Yoda was dumped because of a (for this year) meaningless KPI such as W/L that is used rather than something like how the kids stick to the plan under pressure or finding out that X player can play a certain position but struggles because he hasn't quite got the strength yet.

The last point is important. Watts, Scully, Trengove, Morton et al all have the talent to make it as top players but they are kids playing against men. It is also important to remember that this is a process. 2009 we were a team that got belted constantly. If we were 3 goals down then we would lose by eight but (with the exception of a couple of games) last year fought it out and scared a couple of good sides. All this with a younger list.

If the MFC sees something in Bails that it wants to give him some more time to build the list into a quality team then I will back them 100%.

2009 was a year for Bails to figure out who was worth keeping and who had to go. 2010 was about blooding the kids and (let's be frank) getting the pick Carlton stole from us. 2011 will now be about melding the team into a unit that begins to understand it's strengths and limitations.....

Hey mate, you seem to be a year further along the timeline than I am! :D

I can't start threads so I thought I would bump this seeing as it is semi relevant.

I would like the opinions of the Demon supporters on the following...

Can Garry Lyon coach? I heard he coaches a club somewhere.
If so would you like him to coach this club?
Do you think he would like to coach? Or is he happy doing tv?

I'm not saying replace Bailey or anything. Just wondering when Dean's time is up.. is Gary an option?

I can't start threads so I thought I would bump this seeing as it is semi relevant.

I would like the opinions of the Demon supporters on the following...

Can Garry Lyon coach? I heard he coaches a club somewhere.
If so would you like him to coach this club?
Do you think he would like to coach? Or is he happy doing tv?

I'm not saying replace Bailey or anything. Just wondering when Dean's time is up.. is Gary an option?
If Dean isn't up to the job, I'd prefer Todd Viney to Garry Lyon.