Dean Polo

• Thread starter Thread starter Geoff

Unfortunately he wasn't given a fair go in he's first couple of years, he literally only played one proper game in the midfield throughout he's career. (which was he's debut where he got 28 disposals and B.O.G)

Was drafted as a rover but was thrown all over the place; half back, back pocket, half forward, tagging roles, wing. Lost all confidence and become a average user of the football, he was actually a very good kick as a junior player. He didnt get along with Wallace which he has told me first hand. Reckons Wallace played favourites and barely spoke to him while at the club.

I honestly believe with a big preseason and at a new club he could become a handy player but I highly doubt he will be picked up...

Hey you could get a job at the Herald Sun.
Polo was lazy and undisciplined. Not much else to it. Not gonna miss him.
The Herald Sun typicially had a dig at Wallace and Richmond today for our drafting and singled out Polo, McMahon, Thomson and Patto. Yet to see an article where they slag off Neil Craig, John Meesen, Chad Gibson, Darren Pfeiffer, Alan Obst, James Sellar, Nick Gill, Bryce Campbell, Aaron Kite or Rodney Eade, Jesse Wells, Damian McCormack, Stephen Tiller, Travis Baird, Brett Montgomery, Andrejs Everitt, Brennan Stack, Malcolm Lynch, Paul O'Shea, Guy O'Keefe, Jarrad Boughman etc etc.

Look, most of those spuds were drafted lower than Polo so dont even worry about comparing them. There is no doubt that I was just unlucky in my coaching..... I mean Terry, yeah Terry was unlucky and Polo could be the greatest player at Richmond since.... Yeah ok Im a bit drunk but really.... we are devoting any more time to Polo?????

Loves to party. Enough said.

i think it was only his 2nd season at richmond and they were doing pre season training over at Vic park, i had the day off and went over for a look.
I was sitting next to 3 young guys and after training finished Polo jogged over and started talking to the guys, they were friends from school by the sounds of it. any way one of them said ' do you wanna join us for a few cones'?
Polo said 'yeah, meet you at your house;. :confused:
WTF!! I nearly fell off my seat when i heard it.
I said to myself, this kid needs to get his act together.

nothing has changed from what i have heard. :thumbsd:

I do believe he was a bit of a Wallace failure. He should of played more footy in his first 3 seasons and could of been a diiferent player if this had of happened.

Our team is littered with players that Wallace never brought along and chose to play old hacks instead of them. Hardwick was smart enough to recognise this

Conners
Collins
Edwards
thurstfield
Cleve Hughes
Meyer
& Polo all should of played more footy under Wallace but were never given much of a chance.

Hughes kicked 6 straight one week and was dropped 2 weeks later. Yes Polo has fallen by the way side but things could have been different if Wallace had of given all these boys games over the list cloggers like Tivendale , Hyde , Pettifer and co

anyways all done now and I hope Polo gets a go at another club. He us the only one capable out of all our delistings.

Couldn't be more wrong if you tried! Cleve Hughes wasn't dropped after 2 weeks! 3 weeks later (Rnd 16) he had 1 kick and zero tackles. Hyde (11games) was miles ahead of the 62kg Collins, 61kg Edwards and needless to say Danny Meyer. Tivendale only played 3 games that year ('08). Pettifer (kicked 35 the year before) was injured in Rnd 11 and wasn't clogging the team so..... whatever! Just make it up if ya want! Go work for the Herald Sun!

Slow, average kick, not strong enough.

Every team has half-a-dozen of them.

You give them a go, see if there is any hope of them developing into something.

Polo didn't.

+1 for me. More interested in the next pub session than training session.

Thanks folks, I am trying to get my head around why he was de-listed.

Polo was taken at pick 20 in the 2005 draft, debuted in 2006 with a 28 possession game. Appeared to be an elite runner in the team.

What happened to his development? Was he one Walletts recruiting and development failures? Is he a chance in the Drafts or is he gonski as an AFL footballer.

Any info is appreciated

Cheers

heartless gutless squibb who was an embarassment to the jumper
didnt care about the team didnt care about the game and didnt deserve to wear the jumper after his first year, believed his own hype, dyed his hear like a cheetah, thought he was king shit, Stoked to see him delisted and hope he waste some other clubs time aswell

i hope he doesn't end up anywhere else. Blokes who was an opportunity like the one he had don't deserve a 2nd chance at it:thumbsd:

Worse being an internet hero bagging him:o

Slow, average kick, not strong enough.

Every team has half-a-dozen of them.

You give them a go, see if there is any hope of them developing into something.

Polo didn't.

Could have improved his speed if he wanted to - chose not to

Could have improved his strength - chose not to

His kicking could have easilt improved to be considered good enough to be an AFL player - he never did.

He just never chose to improve the things that kept him below average - if he had, he would have definitely been a player - i can't believe guys waste their chances at AFL level like this bloke did - why bother??

And just remind us how many games of VFL/AFL you played.

You wonder if an environment with a Brad Scott/Damien Hardwick/Mick Malthouse/Paul Roos at the helm could have turned him around.

But regardless of who was in charge - Polo didn't care enough. He had the tools - but not the intensity. If he got his stamina together he could be a capable inside midfielder with poor disposal. Without the tank he's a slow inside midfielder with poor disposal by foot and sub-par stamina. Sounds a lot like Hislop and Thomson.

And just remind us how many games of VFL/AFL you played.

Irrelevant

I wont get on here and bag a blokes skill, but aslong as you wanna take your 200k+ a year and pull on that Richmond jumper the One prerequisite i have is you must try every single time, you MUST HAVE A GO, and you must have a heart, if you dont try you well and truly deserve to cop anything that comes your way!

If you wanna tolerate players not trying, good for u but aslong as blokes pull on our jumper and dont care and dont try im gonna call them on it

I can assure you one thing if any of us were to pull on that jumper, effort wouldnt be anything you could question

Polo had all the ability he needed, but he didnt care at all

Worse being an internet hero bagging him:o

hardly a hero

bagging a bloke who gets paid a few hundred k a year to play football yet doesnt care about his jumper and refuses to try

fair if u ask me

You wonder if an environment with a Brad Scott/Damien Hardwick/Mick Malthouse/Paul Roos at the helm could have turned him around.

But regardless of who was in charge - Polo didn't care enough. He had the tools - but not the intensity. If he got his stamina together he could be a capable inside midfielder with poor disposal. Without the tank he's a slow inside midfielder with poor disposal by foot and sub-par stamina. Sounds a lot like Hislop and Thomson.

The big difference is both Hislop and Thomson tried when they put the jumper on , both of them would take a hit for a teammate and both of them gave their all when they were on the field, wether they were good enough or not is irrelevant , polo had more ability than both of these 2 put together yet still didnt try come game day

hmm most talk as though polo had the tools to make it no one has mentioned his strengths those things that suggest to people he was good enough.

that's a pathetic thing to say about a player that spilt blood for the club, it makes me sick to see someone assinated by a keyboard warrior. i seem to recall Polo being flattened after standing under a pack at subiaco once, an average player YES, a gutless squibb not in your life , that kinda label is better served elsewhere

Will anyone else take him? Or is his attitude really that bad?

personally I dont reckon it is attitude, like tambling he struggled to have the full bag of tricks to be an enduring figure in senior footy, promise only lasts so long, the chickens soon come home to roost once the post draft honeymoon is over

pace < average
awareness < average
disposal < average
footy smarts < average

now the ebst attitude in the whole world aint going to turn that around:o

personally I dont reckon it is attitude, like tambling he struggled to have the full bag of tricks to be an enduring figure in senior footy, promise only lasts so long, the chickens soon come home to roost once the post draft honeymoon is over

pace < average
awareness < average
disposal < average
footy smarts < average

now the ebst attitude in the whole world aint going to turn that around:o

Nathan Foley is good player to compare with Dean Polo. Had to work hard off the rookie list. Pretty much the same age. Worked hard on skills. Polo was over 6 foot 1 while Foley is undersized and made the best of his opportunity. We actually have a bit of history of blokes who've nearly been overlooked and had to work hard for their spot and turned out to be great players (and often B&F winners). Wayne Campbell, Chris Bond, Andy Kellaway, Chris Newman, Kel Moore, Jacko, Tucky, Thursty, White, Graham, Kingy etc etc.....

lol its a littany of deficient players who have all played during a time that could perhaps be described as the worst period in our history.

have you ever stopped to think that these blokes and others like nthem are the reason we have been so crap.
quite simply we should have overlooked them like everyone else did.

oh and foley is not a good player to compare with polo in almost all areas of the game.

Irrelevant

I wont get on here and bag a blokes skill, but aslong as you wanna take your 200k+ a year and pull on that Richmond jumper the One prerequisite i have is you must try every single time, you MUST HAVE A GO, and you must have a heart, if you dont try you well and truly deserve to cop anything that comes your way!

If you wanna tolerate players not trying, good for u but aslong as blokes pull on our jumper and dont care and dont try im gonna call them on it

I can assure you one thing if any of us were to pull on that jumper, effort wouldnt be anything you could question

Polo had all the ability he needed, but he didnt care at all

I agree with you on this. The personal attacks are more than covered by the salary. Nurses, paramedics, garbos, teachers etc have more impact on people's lives than footballers ever will, yet get a fraction of what they earn.

My feeling is the same - if you are going to run around in the Richmond jumper I expect 100% everytime. If you don't enjoy running around in the Country Leagues for a few hundred each week and a shout at the local bar post game.

Loves to party. Enough said.

fact, most footy players do though. he just wasn't as keen on sports

i think it was only his 2nd season at richmond and they were doing pre season training over at Vic park, i had the day off and went over for a look.
I was sitting next to 3 young guys and after training finished Polo jogged over and started talking to the guys, they were friends from school by the sounds of it. any way one of them said ' do you wanna join us for a few cones'?
Polo said 'yeah, meet you at your house;. :confused:
WTF!! I nearly fell off my seat when i heard it.
I said to myself, this kid needs to get his act together.

nothing has changed from what i have heard. :thumbsd:

lol mate, smoking weed isn't gonna kill him, it's equally as bad as drinking imo.

i have a few bits and pieces on polo and a few players, not the place to say it though obviously