Dean Solomon

If Solly is to play the match committee will need to take a hard line on any acts of ill discipline. 50m penalties and umpire reports can no longer be tolerated. The stream of untoward incidents instigated by Solly and our little mate Josh looked like a big distraction to the team last season. To an extent all Freo players became tarred with their dirty brush in the eyes of the umpires.
You know when Brisbane won their premierships, and the year Port won theirs, they were the most reported teams in the competition. Top teams play it very hard and take it right to the limit, and have players that get reported.

The reason they do that is to win premierships. You can't win premierships with a team of feckless, insipid David Mundy's and Michael Johnson's who are unable to put any phsyical pressure on opponents and lack that competitive spirit.

Solomon is a game breaker and shedding him is one of the stupidest things Essendon ever did. He showed us what he could do in the EF in 2003, and you only have to remember his BOG performance against Adelaide a year or so ago. The one where Luke Webster snapped the point to win the game.

My biggest wrap for Solly though is I love watching him play. He plays the game like my coaches used to yell in your ear. Try your hardest. Never give up. Keep yourself in the game, don't let your man get an easy kick, have some personal pride etc etc. You could see those qualities in Mark Johnson as well and I was sorry to see him go as well. .

You know when Brisbane won their premierships, and the year Port won theirs, they were the most reported teams in the competition. Top teams play it very hard and take it right to the limit, and have players that get reported.

The reason they do that is to win premierships. You can't win premierships with a team of feckless, insipid David Mundy's and Michael Johnson's who are unable to put any phsyical pressure on opponents and lack that competitive spirit.

Solomon is a game breaker and shedding him is one of the stupidest things Essendon ever did. He showed us what he could do in the EF in 2003, and you only have to remember his BOG performance against Adelaide a year or so ago. The one where Luke Webster snapped the point to win the game.

My biggest wrap for Solly though is I love watching him play. He plays the game like my coaches used to yell in your ear. Try your hardest. Never give up. Keep yourself in the game, don't let your man get an easy kick, have some personal pride etc etc. You could see those qualities in Mark Johnson as well and I was sorry to see him go as well. .

i actually could not have said any of that better myself, good work :thumbsu:

If your red head comment is a reference to Ling then it is a disgrace.

"Smacked around like a redheaded step child" is an old and funny phrase for treating something roughly. Similar in meaning to "beaten like a government mule", or "treated it like a hire car".

Its certainly not as stupid as saying Solomon only got a contract because he is a mate of Harvey. He adds more to the team than most. The body of work he has amassed here should not be written off because he gave Ling a silly shot.

Re-read Dr Dagg's brilliant post, if you still don't get it then you're not concentrating.

Could not agree more. I'm glad that he got an opportunity to continue playing. He was in the Essendon rooms in the last round last year watching some of his best mates play their final game. If that's not a wrap for the guy I don't know what is. I don't think there would be many other listed players who are allowed in opposition team rooms.

"Smacked around like a redheaded step child" is an old and funny phrase for treating something roughly. Similar in meaning to "beaten like a government mule", or "treated it like a hire car".

EDIT; I just noticed that you thought Chops dodgey comments re MJ may have been a joke in bad taste, but you don't have any issues with a joke regarding Solomon breaking a redheaded players jaw???

Its certainly not as stupid as saying Solomon only got a contract because he is a mate of Harvey. He adds more to the team than most. The body of work he has amassed here should not be written off because he gave Ling a silly shot.

Re-read Dr Dagg's brilliant post, if you still don't get it then you're not concentrating.

Now you are picking on government mules and hire cars???? Yes I know the saying. What exactly is your point? Choosing it over government mule looks like a reference to Ling.

Solomon is not that old, and I would think has potentially 2-3 years after this one to play, so why give him a one year contract? This is the guy who adds more to the team than most remember.

Thanks for the insult re my concentration. I felt like I'd been smacked by a feather. But in the end, I find it pretty acceptable for people to have different opinions.

You're joining the Thought Police posters too Esti.

Well after years of watching insipid Freo teams meekly roll over without giving a yelp it's refreshing to watch a guy like Solly giving his all for the jumper. Anyone who can't appreciate that deserves to be stuck supporting a weak, heartless team.

Being smacked around by guys like Solomon you mean? Instead of "killing for someone" Esti, the other option of course is that the AFL have the courage to enforce protection of the head from guys like Solomon.

I mean being legally smacked around the oval - like how Solly plays 99.9% of his footy.

He made one mistake in the heat of the moment and has been punished accordingly. Do you turn on every one of our players that gets suspended - or did you never like Solly in the first place and this is just a good excuse for you?

It's not like Freo players have never had their jaws or cheekbones broken by opponents. Shit happens sometimes in footy. Ling only missed two weeks FFS but some people carry on like Solly put him in a coma.

If your red head comment is a reference to Ling then it is a disgrace.

Haha no it wasn't. But it's pretty fitting now you mention it.

Gav,with all due respect I dont think youve grasped the fact that despite the mellowing of the rules AFL still allows body contact and all great teams have had their players who push that rule to the limit.They are the equivilent to the Aussie larrikin soldier who pushed the establishments rule but would jump on a grenade to protect his mates .They made all in the trenches stand ten feet tall around them.
Teams need these types to not only enforce the fear of god with their attack on body and ball onto the opposition but to ensure that the younguns have someone to watch their backs,someone to sidle up to the opposition hardman (and if you havent noticed Gav all clubs have them )and mention if he touched one of our boys again he/d be ***ken dog meat.
What would the Hawks have been without Dermie and Dipper and then Brown an Hodge,The Dons without Wallis,Brisbane without the Scotts and countless more
Theyve all had their careless mindsnaps and suffered the consequences but without them none of those teams would have sailed to the heights they did.
I say more power Solly and his ilk in all the clubs cause without them what a whitewashed ,boring comp it would be and please gav if you dont like it there allways tiddlywinks

Thought that this thread could use some pics

84354044.jpg

84354038.jpg

84353984.jpg

I know he's in an Essendon Jumper but we should have seen the signs he had Freo blood in him with these two pics.

He sees Ben Cousins
3326820.jpg

He slams Ben Cousins

3326784.jpg

Now you are picking on government mules and hire cars???? Yes I know the saying. What exactly is your point?

My point was that it seemed you didn't know the saying and that it wasn't in fact a reference to Ling. As it seemed to upset you I thought you might like to have your mind put at ease.

EDIT; I just noticed that you thought Chops dodgey comments re MJ may have been a joke in bad taste, but you don't have any issues with a joke regarding Solomon breaking a redheaded players jaw???

No Gavin, I was quite obviously pointing out that the joke didn't refer to the Ling incident and therefore was, in fact, an innocuous and perhaps outdated saying rather than applauding a players injury.

If you read the Warnock thread as well you'll see my position on wishing injury on other players. Hell I even said Embley should be allowed an injury free run.

Finally, differing opinions are fine, but even small minds should allow for the fact that sometimes they might not be seeing the full picture and be prepared to accept that others may well be right. Particularly when the contrary position is as well set out as Dr Dagg.

I love Solly. I love watching him play. I love seeing him give 100% every single time he's out there. I love that he goes hard at every contest and does not give in while the ball is still in dispute. I love that he wins more contests than he loses. I love seeing the desperation in his eyes as he's chasing someone, or jumping on a loose ball, or laying a bone crunching tackle. I love that opposition players hear footsteps when Solly is around. I love that he is at Freo, and we get to call him our own for a few years. :thumbsu:

Here's a story along the Dr Dagg lines of Solly's "terrific blokeness" from the Family Day in December. My kids were running around getting autographs and photos, and went up to Solly right near the end to ask for a photo with him. The players had been called to come and do their training demo, and all the players were jogging towards the marked out area. I said to the kids, "too late, he's got to go to training now" and started to walk off. The kids followed, and then I heard my son calling me from some distance.

I had kept walking and was a good 20m away at this stage, assuming the kids were behind me still. When I turned around, Solly was waving me back to come and take the photo. I went back and he had a big grin on his face and said something along the lines of, "gotta let the kids get their photo." Which I duly did, thanked him profusely to which he replied, "There you go kids, Gotta go now, don't wanna get in trouble from the coach." And flashed them a grin and took off to join the rest of the guys.

You reckon my kids (and their mother) didn't come away from there thinking what a top bloke is Dean Solomon. :thumbsu:

Solly in my opinion has been a god send and we didn't give up the world to get him.

His attack on the ball is something we have lacked for a long time, not to mention the example he sets for the kids.

I love Solly. I love watching him play. I love seeing him give 100% every single time he's out there. I love that he goes hard at every contest and does not give in while the ball is still in dispute. I love that he wins more contests than he loses. I love seeing the desperation in his eyes as he's chasing someone, or jumping on a loose ball, or laying a bone crunching tackle. I love that opposition players hear footsteps when Solly is around. I love that he is at Freo, and we get to call him our own for a few years. :thumbsu:

Here's a story along the Dr Dagg lines of Solly's "terrific blokeness" from the Family Day in December. My kids were running around getting autographs and photos, and went up to Solly right near the end to ask for a photo with him. The players had been called to come and do their training demo, and all the players were jogging towards the marked out area. I said to the kids, "too late, he's got to go to training now" and started to walk off. The kids followed, and then I heard my son calling me from some distance.

I had kept walking and was a good 20m away at this stage, assuming the kids were behind me still. When I turned around, Solly was waving me back to come and take the photo. I went back and he had a big grin on his face and said something along the lines of, "gotta let the kids get their photo." Which I duly did, thanked him profusely to which he replied, "There you go kids, Gotta go now, don't wanna get in trouble from the coach." And flashed them a grin and took off to join the rest of the guys.

You reckon my kids (and their mother) didn't come away from there thinking what a top bloke is Dean Solomon. :thumbsu:

yeah nice story :thumbsu:, funny how some players go out of their way to be really good blokes to the public i.e solly, des, crowley and some are just arrogant w***ers... wont name them

Gav,with all due respect I dont think youve grasped the fact that despite the mellowing of the rules AFL still allows body contact and all great teams have had their players who push that rule to the limit.They are the equivilent to the Aussie larrikin soldier who pushed the establishments rule but would jump on a grenade to protect his mates

Could not be bothered reading the rest of this post after this carp. The rules clearly do not allow head contact, and are especially severe if it comes from a blow from the elbow as they usually inflict injury. Quite rightly elbow hits to the face are regarded as pretty gutless and low as a result, mellowed rules or not.

You equating Solomon's brain snap to a larikin soldier is one of the poorest analogies I have ver heard. It is akin to Farmer's eye gouge and should be condemned.

Well after years of watching insipid Freo teams meekly roll over without giving a yelp it's refreshing to watch a guy like Solly giving his all for the jumper. Anyone who can't appreciate that deserves to be stuck supporting a weak, heartless team.

I mean being legally smacked around the oval - like how Solly plays 99.9% of his footy.

He made one mistake in the heat of the moment and has been punished accordingly. Do you turn on every one of our players that gets suspended - or did you never like Solly in the first place and this is just a good excuse for you?

It's not like Freo players have never had their jaws or cheekbones broken by opponents. Shit happens sometimes in footy. Ling only missed two weeks FFS but some people carry on like Solly put him in a coma.

Haha no it wasn't. But it's pretty fitting now you mention it.

Yeah I think Freo players who get their jaws and cheekbones broken by acts like Solomon's should expect the idiot who did it to get a very long suspension. It doesn't actually make a lot of diffrence to me if the player ends up in a coma or if they "only" miss two weeks with a broken jaw, and if you think Solomon knows how to measure the result of such thuggery then you have an amzing regard for him.

Solomon has made himself liability to the team. Many on here would have him as one of the first selected. But the reality is the coach gave him a one year contract, so he is is clearly not happy with how he plays, and realises that he ay once again not be available for selection. As with Farmer, if a player is a fair chance to not be available, move on.

I don't have any problem with how he plays 99.9% of the time, and thought he was a terrific get for the team. I also liked Farmer, right up until he stuck his fingers in another players eyes. After that I felt ashamed he was in our team, and looked forward to seeing another player in his place.

Yeah I think Freo players who get their jaws and cheekbones broken by acts like Solomon's should expect the idiot who did it to get a very long suspension. It doesn't actually make a lot of diffrence to me if the player ends up in a coma or if they "only" miss two weeks with a broken jaw, and if you think Solomon knows how to measure the result of such thuggery then you have an amzing regard for him.

Solomon has made himself liability to the team. Many on here would have him as one of the first selected. But the reality is the coach gave him a one year contract, so he is is clearly not happy with how he plays, and realises that he ay once again not be available for selection. As with Farmer, if a player is a fair chance to not be available, move on.

I don't have any problem with how he plays 99.9% of the time, and thought he was a terrific get for the team. I also liked Farmer, right up until he stuck his fingers in another players eyes. After that I felt ashamed he was in our team, and looked forward to seeing another player in his place.

gav you have no idea as to why only a one year contract was signed. perhaps solly only wanted one year as he is thinking of retiring..... your inability to forgive a player who in general has been great for us is staggering, especially given that he apologised straight after the game, and accepted his punishment without issue... let it go man.. you hold on to crap like this and you will end up being ashamed with every player on our list

No Gavin, QUOTE]

Thanks Dolphin. Gavin isn't actually my name, so if you are going to try and use patronising Mum/Dad strategies with me you'll need to try again.

Finally, differing opinions are fine, but even small minds should allow for the fact that sometimes they might not be seeing the full picture and be prepared to accept that others may well be right. Particularly when the contrary position is as well set out as Dr Dagg.

You see, even if I do have a small mind, I don't live in a small word where having a different opinion means that you are wrong, or that you are right. Dr Ralph Dagg sets out the contrary opinion very well, I enjoy his writing and respect his opinions and have for a long time. I respect many posters opinions, Chops comes to mind, who I don't always agree with. I have zero problems with accepting that others may be "right", or that I may be "wrong". But being an opinion means that it is neither right or wrong as we are not talking about facts.

Your large mind probably could grasp that if your small world was big enough to fit that concept in. Instead your echo-location seems to be bouncing off the concrete walls of a very small tank and confusing you. Jump the walls Dolphin and be free!

Could not be bothered reading the rest of this post after this carp. The rules clearly do not allow head contact, and are especially severe if it comes from a blow from the elbow as they usually inflict injury. Quite rightly elbow hits to the face are regarded as pretty gutless and low as a result, mellowed rules or not.

You equating Solomon's brain snap to a larikin soldier is one of the poorest analogies I have ver heard. It is akin to Farmer's eye gouge and should be condemned.

Gav your not ridgie didge FFC are you,why bring Jeffrey into this post ,you seem to be another semi troll who loves to dump on anything purple.
As advised Gav ,tiddlywinks is obviously your go

Gav your not ridgie didge FFC are you,why bring Jeffrey into this post ,you seem to be another semi troll who loves to dump on anything purple.
As advised Gav ,tiddlywinks is obviously your go

FFS your bleating hypocrisy is a nausea inducing puke fest