Dear Brad

FFS Teff! Coaching couldn't have gotten us anywhere today. Fitness is below par - simple as that.

LOL.

Care to spin that around and look at it again!

Perhaps we don't possess the assets to implement the game plan that the coach continues to flog to death?

Perhaps other coaches have woken up to this?

Square peg, round hole, knowwwhtImean?

I think there were a lot of positives, despite the loss and the fumbling and the mistakes. The fumbling and mistakes come from a lack of confidence, rather than the pressure.

Our injuries combined with out ordinary draw hasn't helped us at all.

I was concerned we would have got blown away today largely because the difference in midfield contingent. Tigers had access to almost their whole midfield contingent and they have a pretty good group of mids.

If you add in McIntosh, Greenwood, Bastinac, Campbell, Ross, etc then we don't have Cunnington, Ziebell, Adams, etc playing roles they are not suited for.

We had the opportunity to win the game despite all our outs and all the other shuffled players trying to make the best of a bad scenario.

Was great to see Dish extract the digit and have a good game.

But, lets be realistic, we are carrying too many players who really shouldn't be playing AFL at this stage and not only that are playing roles out of necessity rather than playing their choice roles.

The simple truth is the coach lacks the resources to succesfully implement his game plan and so far he has lacked the flexibility to maximise the assets that are at his disposal.

The buck stops with him.

If as someone said he's trying to implement a Collingwood style gameplan, not only does it take a few seasons to get down pat, the players need to have huge tanks and excellent disposal on top of understanding exactly where and when they need to be in certain positions. The coaching staff need to run a lot of rotations and, unfortunately for you fans, they need to stick with it when it's not working in order to get it drilled into the players.

Collingwood fans berated Malthouse for having 'no plan B' for years. Facts were that plan A was good enough, especially after a couple of seasons of good drafting (Sidebottom & Beams after a good season, Pendles and Thomas after we tanked). Maybe you guys are tanking for the next couple of years? I don't know the depth of North's talent, but it may be worth bringing in a few high draft picks before having a real crack.

And Bon responds thus:

Changes to come, Scott tells Kangaroos
Furious North Melbourne coach Brad Scott left his players in no doubt changes would be made after their shocking display against fellow AFL strugglers Richmond.

"All the team measures we take a lot of store in, it's becoming a common theme, inside-50s were good, clearances were good, tackling was good, contested possession was outstanding, so we've clearly got to have a look at our side and tweak a few things up," Scott said.

"We're relying on too few. I've shown an enormous amount of faith in this playing group that we've put out in this first month and now we need to have a really good look at it.

"We've got to have a look at all those numbers and have a look at why we're not getting a result from it because we do have players who are playing some pretty good footy but we're not getting over the line.

"A lot of it is skill execution and decision-making. We've got to have a look at the personnel who are up to this level right at this moment. Clearly some are not.

"I'm not going to individualise on who they are. We've just got to look at our entire playing list.

"The inaccuracy cost us but we were in a winnable position so there's a lot more than just accuracy.

"We've got to make some changes so that's what we'll do."

Full article here:
http://news.theage.com.au/breaking-...ome-scott-tells-kangaroos-20110424-1dt3u.html

People would've said the same things about Clarkson a few years before 2008.

:thumbsu:

Complete and utter BULLSHIT!

WRONG, WRONG, WRONG, WRONG, WRONG.

Give it away mate, you couldn't pick a coach more diametrically opposed to Brad Scott if you tried.

Clarkson actually formulated a premiership side from the available resources at his disposal.

No square pegs in round holes for him.

If as someone said he's trying to implement a Collingwood style gameplan, not only does it take a few seasons to get down pat, the players need to have huge tanks and excellent disposal on top of understanding exactly where and when they need to be in certain positions.

Nah...........YOU'RE KIDDING?!:rolleyes:

Complete and utter BULLSHIT!

WRONG, WRONG, WRONG, WRONG, WRONG.

Give it away mate, you couldn't pick a coach more diametrically opposed to Brad Scott if you tried.

Where did I say they were similar types of coaches?

My point was pretty simple: game-plans take a while to come together.

When did you expect this group to win a flag? Seriously? And whatever your answer is, please tell me how much further back today's loss puts us.

Seriously.

In between the barracking for the Tiges on the ABC Matthew Knights made some pretty astute observations about what we were doing wrong. Also tactically explained some of our shortcomings as well. Brad could do worse than listen to the audio and get an impartial view on what was wrong.

Knights explained how our press was disorganised inside 50, that men didn't push up from behind the kicker to guard the mark so he press could fold back and that the way we guarded the mark allowed Richmond kickers the option of kicking the line.

Coming into this season I expected flag opportunities to arise 2014-2016.

This group of under 50 gamers would be pushing 100-150 games which if they have any talent coupled with the attrition rate of current good players/teams should have us primed.

1990 we had some good wins, 1991 ugh as well as 92...so it took three years to build a core group from youngsters.

After 4 years of this group we will know for better or for worse...

If only another Carey was to fall from the sky...

The Obstacle is obstinate indeed. Every good team for the last decade has had a period when the coach and team have been panned by supporters and denounced as hopeless.
Scott has been head coach for a season and a bit, his faith in the players has been a credit to him, you can't swap and change a team each week on the basis of a poor performance or two.
There are mitigating circumstances for the results: Cunnington, Grima, Wright had limited preseasons; Ziebell and Garlett are not great endurance runners; Greenwood and Bastinac (who are) are injured. A number of players are complete novices (Tarrant, Atley, Richardson) and others are still relatively inexperienced. Further we have had two trips to Perth, a flogging by the Premiers and two close losses.
There are some selection problems: Brady Rawlings had been schooled by Pagan to boot it long into the 50 metre zone whenever he gets a break on his man - remember his first few seasons when he tried to dodge and weave and got rebuked by Pagan? His play now is a liability. Yet players at Werribee and Nth Ballarat are equally green, and/or recovering from interrupted pre-seasons.
In short, get off the coach's back, and stop being a self-rightous git.

Knights explained how our press was disorganised inside 50, that men didn't push up from behind the kicker to guard the mark so he press could fold back and that the way we guarded the mark allowed Richmond kickers the option of kicking the line.

When a dud coach like Knights is picking holes in our game......ya know you've hit rock bottom!

whats up with our fitness, we just look so slow, we move the ball slow, our skills look second rate yet again even compared to friggin richmond

martin>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>cunnington ziebell,:(

ziebell,cunners if they cannot run they play in the magoos simple

very sad day....... the day the foorball died......:footy:

whats up with our fitness, we just look so slow, we move the ball slow, our skills look second rate yet again even compared to friggin richmond

martin>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>cunnington ziebell,:(

ziebell,cunners if they cannot run they play in the magoos simple

very sad day....... the day the foorball died......:footy:

Mad over-reaction

When a dud coach like Knights is picking holes in our game......ya know you've hit rock bottom!

Our weaknesses were exposed today.

They played on at all costs, changed direction at every opportunity down back and ran us off our legs.

When they turned it over with their poor skills we still managed to turn it over back to them far too often.

And we've got far too many slowish players in the side who can't run out a whole game.

Good on the Tiggers for having a workable plan and executing it.

PREFIX: this post isnt written in anger after a loss, its a view i hold and have hung onto for some time. I am not in a fit of rage, i am happy with the realisations that are happening as we speak, in the club rooms of the NMFC. read on... :)

"There's no point eking out a few wins when we're smoothing over the cracks."

Straight from the horses mouth and I have to agree. My reaction to losses have gone from furious to this round being cool, calm and measured. For too long we have been "eking" out wins, beating sides below us and not showing ANY real signs of improvements.

We will get better, but sadly, we had to get worse first.

As for the backline we had as 'set' in the preseason, well I'll be dammed if thats a premiership backline. We need class back there. Watson has been bombing 60m pin point passes for Carlton. His 18 yrs old.
A lightbulb went off tonight when i watched our defenders, while under no presssure, stall when it comes to execution. I know they saw our loose man, but they stalled, they waited, they second guessed. THEN, when a pack formed around that first option player, our defender opted to bomb it high and long to the newly formed pack.

It looks like a hole in our gameplan, but it became clear to me tonight. It's the cattle, not the gameplan. Rather than pin point a pass and risk missing the target for all to see, they hesitate, then kick to the trusty old pack. This shit can't be taught. You either have it or you don't.

Inject some class. We should've gone harder in the rebuild.

Here we go.

if only we had dropped Petrie instead of Edwards, played McMahon on someone without any talent, put Thomas in the back pocket and held on to Alan Obst we would have won by 90.
Exactly. Take into account if we had Shane Tuck in our side instead of Richmond's and we would have won by a new world record. :stern look

1) Do you possess any flexibility in your coaching whatsoever? He did move Robbie Tarrant forward. :stern look

2) Can you explain to me why you picked Rob Tarrant in the side, then moved him, our only true hard body, out of defence and proceeded to create a series of step ladders for Jack Reiwoldt? C'mon mate, Jack Reiwoldt can't take an overhead mark. :stern look

3) Can you explain to me why you refuse to inject run in to our defence? Fair point. Bringing in Pratt and having him play along side 2 ex full backs turned half back flankers in Thompson and Firrito with McMahon thrown into the mix at times made for a very one paced backline.

4) Can you explain to me why you persist with a glut 6' to 6'2" one paced defenders with questionable ball handling skills? Not sure who else we have. Maybe for some pace we can promote Leigh Harding from the Werribee list. :stern look

5) Can you tell me why our defenders do not possess the basic defensive requirement of keeping the ball in front of themselves? I'd say this has more to do with form then anything else.

6) Can you explain to me why Scott McMahon was retained in the side and then played on a wing against racehorses Edwards and Nahas? Windsock and NorthBhoy have told me time and again that pace don't matter. You can teach a quick guy to go in hard but yah can't make a slow guy run quick. :stern look

Oh back to the question, it seemed a silly move.

7) Can you explain to me why McMahon played on Ballantyne last week? Other then Rawlings who was rightly on Hill, who do you suggest should have had first shot on Ballantyne?

8) Can you explain to me how a side that finished 5 wins and 8 goals behind us have legitimate claims to have passed us in only 9 months? There really hasn't been much improvement in our players from last year to this season thus far. I can't think of one that I can say, "Gee he has improved." That is sad.

9) Do we have ANY players in the seconds that can provide run from defence or crumb at the goalmouth? Speight should come in. Matty C is probably a week or 2 away but would help up forward. Harper could be given a shot. But the run out of defense, not sure where we will find it.

10) Can ou explain to me why you have thrown an immature midfield to the wolves? We played Richmond today. They also have a young midfield by and large. I know yah mean long term and over a number of games but missing Greenwood, Basti and Lower who I rate has hurt us.

11) Can you tell me again why you delisted Daniel Harris? Did McDonald and Crocker have anything to do with this?

Dear Brad