Dear Essendon...

you must have been sticking it to her in that 15 minutes :D

Here's the thing, I didn't. My daughters are Port supporters so like your example of being gracious in defeat, I was setting an example about being a good winner. No gloating, no nothing.

I think that actually worked against me. My wife was after something to take her anger out on and I was giving no ammo. It turned into a surprise attack which ended when I said there was plenty of time left but she was being a sore loser.

I took my boy to the Brissie game and one of the things we were most looking forward to was his first ever kick of the footy on the ground!

It all went so horribly wrong.

Firstly, as is often the case with kids, getting out the door is a nightmare, and by the time you've packed all the snacks, rustled them into their clothes, sent them to the toilet etc; you inevitably are rushing for that train. And it wasn't until my wife dropped us off and drove off I realised we'd forgotten the ******* footy.

Boy was inconsolable when I told him. He didn't think we'd be allowed on the ground without a footy and he didn't want to go on there without a footy. Ok mate, I said, I'll fix this. So, hit the merch stand outside the ground and picked up what was admittedly a pretty sweet full size Sherrin (we didn't previously have a full size one) for $30 less 10% membership discount.

Alright, things are looking up! $27, not budgeted for, but I just won't drink and at least the boy's happy!

Half time, things are looking dire after a shocking 2nd quarter, and my will to not drink goes out the window. Stay here mate, and I'll get a drink. Come back with two.

Then, sure enough, my worst fears are realised in the last, and we lose. Instead of being able to slink off I am forced to sit there listening to the song, watching the Lions celebrate. I honestly thought this was one time I could be almost guaranteed a nice relaxed happy kick to kick!

But then the second siren goes and out we go, in the throng. And it was awesome. We both had a blast. He kicked a goal on the ground, we had a good kick to kick, and we left. And because of that I was happy and not anything like as shattered as I would have been if I had have slunk out, and I've set a good example around losing gracefully.

Kids are awesome, and kids make footy way more awesome
The last time I took the boys out for kick to kick post-game my eldest tripped on the steps, hurt his shin, got the sulks, and wouldn't go out on the ground. I took the 5 yr old on his own instead and within a minute he was conked on the head by a footy and was in tears... such formative footy memories for them...

Husband was a true blue Tiger supporter but now he seems to barrack for anyone who is playing against Essendon.

The fact that I haven't covered his face with a pillow as he sleeps is a real credit to me I feel

Husband was a true blue Tiger supporter but now he seems to barrack for anyone who is playing against Essendon.

The fact that I haven't covered his face with a pillow as he sleeps is a real credit to me I feel
Credit or dishonor? Im not sure

I took my boy to the Brissie game and one of the things we were most looking forward to was his first ever kick of the footy on the ground!

Firstly, as is often the case with kids, getting out the door is a nightmare, and by the time you've packed all the snacks, rustled them into their clothes, sent them to the toilet etc; you inevitably are rushing for that train. And it wasn't until my wife dropped us off and drove off I realised we'd forgotten the ******* footy.

Boy was inconsolable when I told him. He didn't think we'd be allowed on the ground without a footy and he didn't want to go on there without a footy. Ok mate, I said, I'll fix this. So, hit the merch stand outside the ground and picked up what was admittedly a pretty sweet full size Sherrin (we didn't previously have a full size one) for $30 less 10% membership discount.

Alright, things are looking up! $27, not budgeted for, but I just won't drink and at least the boy's happy!

Half time, things are looking dire after a shocking 2nd quarter, and my will to not drink goes out the window. Stay here mate, and I'll get a drink. Come back with two.

Then, sure enough, my worst fears are realised in the last, and we lose. Instead of being able to slink off I am forced to sit there listening to the song, watching the Lions celebrate. I honestly thought this was one time I could be almost guaranteed a nice relaxed happy kick to kick!

But then the second siren goes and out we go, in the throng. And it was awesome. We both had a blast. He kicked a goal on the ground, we had a good kick to kick, and we left. And because of that I was happy and not anything like as shattered as I would have been if I had have slunk out, and I've set a good example around losing gracefully.

The only time I've engaged in kick to kick after a terrible Essendon loss I also found it assisted me in coping with the loss.

Can't wait until my son is old enough to take to the footy.

Took my ten yo out for his first kick on the ground after that game. First kick goes right through his hands and splits his lip open. Tears, tanty, then after a few minutes he shook it off and we had a great time kicking back and forth. Was still pissed at the loss driving home, but much less so!

Mrs and her entire family are Hawthorne. The past 5 years have been soooo much fun.

My old man grew up on Raleigh street Essendon and my mother is related to AF Showers - of the the old stand at windy hill fame.
I can honestly say that I am not related by blood to anyone who does not barrack for the bombers. Both sides. All the cousins, aunts, uncles, grandparents, all bombers.

The ex is Carlton but both kids are bombers. I'm the only one whose ever taken them to a game, so they're indoctrinated now.

I met my partner in Boston and rd 23 ESS v FRE will be the first game she ever sees. Fingers rossed for a good one. She enjoys the highlights I show her, already a big Tipp fan.
Unfortunately, after being in Boston for the marathon a couple of years ago, she isn't so keen on a team called the 'bombers'.
But I think I have her believing that the 'Dons' are a different thing, and the mascot is a mafia don, which is ok.

that's awesome.

I must say, one of my great life joys at the moment is how much of a little Essendon fanatic my 5 year old boy is turning into. He is MENTAL about the club, and it warms the kakkles of my heart so, so, so much.

And one of my favourite parts is the names we have for the players. His brother is Zac so Zachy has always been a favourite, and I have photos of my boy with Zach and his other two favourites Walla and Big Joe.

Earlier this year when James Stewart was lining up in a flash of inspiration I said "it's Big Jim", and his face lit up, "Big Jim?!!". And now we have Big Tom as well. Big Joe, Big Jim and Big Tom.

On the weekend he goes "Dad, I saw Dice the other day and I was going to call him Heppell!". So I explained how both were perfectly fine.

My new absolute favourite though is his new fling: Zarkarakis. It cracks me up every time when he yells out for Zarkarakis.

He's a little Bomber fanatic, it's best

My 2.5 year old loves "Tippy" and "Mert"

I'm bloody lucky, my wife to be changed from port to the Bombers and on top of that her father also changed clubs and now supports the Bombers, my 4 kids all love the Bombers, my 7 year old loves Hurley and Francis because he loves the movie how to train your dragon and the lead characters father looks like them when they had their beards.

Brilliant! I have a nearly 2 year old and a 5 month old. I can't wait to take them to the footy for the first time!!

honestly, the first time I took my eldest boy to the footy was one of the proudest days of my life, as corny as it sounds. I remember sitting there looking at him on the train seat opposite to me, with his scarf on, and it was one of those moments I knew I'd always remember.

He liked it then, but this year is a different story. Haha he is being sooo good this week so that he doesn't blow his chance of watching the game until half time this week - which is waaaaay past his usual bedtime as a 5 year old :D

As it stands my younger boy has next to no interest yet, but that's fine. Either he'll get it or he won't. I hope he does, but mainly because I know it's something that my eldest and I will be able to share until the day I drop off the perch. I reckon you'd be just as proud as you were the first time - that time you realise that you and your adult son are catching up to go to the footy together :)

honestly, the first time I took my eldest boy to the footy was one of the proudest days of my life, as corny as it sounds. I remember sitting there looking at him on the train seat opposite to me, with his scarf on, and it was one of those moments I knew I'd always remember.

He liked it then, but this year is a different story. Haha he is being sooo good this week so that he doesn't blow his chance of watching the game until half time this week - which is waaaaay past his usual bedtime as a 5 year old :D

As it stands my younger boy has next to no interest yet, but that's fine. Either he'll get it or he won't. I hope he does, but mainly because I know it's something that my eldest and I will be able to share until the day I drop off the perch. I reckon you'd be just as proud as you were the first time - that time you realise that you and your adult son are catching up to go to the footy together :)
I remember seeing the photo of your gorgeous boy on the way to his first footy game. His smile was fantastic and what a day it was.

My 17yo loves the Bombers despite starting out as a Tiger member.

Dear Essendon thank you for the joy you give our kids, whether they be 5 or 17.

I remember seeing the photo of your gorgeous boy on the way to his first footy game. His smile was fantastic and what a day it was.

My 17yo loves the Bombers despite starting out as a Tiger member.

Dear Essendon thank you for the joy you give our kids, whether they be 5 or 17.
I knew you'd remember it too :) And I know you saw my most recent one of him on the ground with his footy. I really liked that one too. I think footy is a bit like Xmas: you remember what it's really about when you see it experienced with childlike wonder

Taking them to the VFL is also a good option for young ones. They can play on the oval during the breaks and generally if the Seniors are able they attend these games. Great photo opportunities for your kids

not wrong. That game where I got photo's of my boy with Walla, Big Joe and Zachy was a great example.

There we are, at the ground just watching on early in the first. I look around, and do a quick double take at a guy leaning up the back because damn it he looks a lot like a smaller version of Zach Merrett. And, hang on, that's bloody Goddard next to him!

And like one of those old school 3D pictures coming in to focus, I suddenly realise that the roughly 15 guys leaning up against the back fence is pretty much the entirety of the EFC senior playing list.

I pointed it out to my eldest son and there was much pointing, excited giggling, and even a little tear of excitement or two. My son was pretty interested in them as well

not wrong. That game where I got photo's of my boy with Walla, Big Joe and Zachy was a great example.

There we are, at the ground just watching on early in the first. I look around, and do a quick double take at a guy leaning up the back because damn it he looks a lot like a smaller version of Zach Merrett. And, hang on, that's bloody Goddard next to him!

And like one of those old school 3D pictures coming in to focus, I suddenly realise that the roughly 15 guys leaning up against the back fence is pretty much the entirety of the EFC senior playing list.

I pointed it out to my eldest son and there was much pointing, excited giggling, and even a little tear of excitement or two. My son was pretty interested in them as well
Excellent.

We went to a couple of games last season including the final against Footscray.

It's good footy

Last week at the two's game a bloke had to drag his terrified young son (prob 9yrs old) over towards Orazio to ask for a signature. His kid grabbed one of the seats in front and he literally had to be pried off of it as he nervously laughed at Razzle. Bloody hilarious.

Mine was born and bred...which makes visits to the in laws pretty good (but I might have just derailed this thread). My dad was in this boat...and mum changed to Essendon for him...and the trade off was us kids had to be catholic haha.

So long as Sunday games aren't affected by this compromise. Spose you could just confess on Monday an carry on..

Forgive me father for I have sinned. Actually...the old man has long passed and the old lady has an orange dot on her forehead in an aksharam somewhere in QLD lol and the only time I enter a church nowadays is for a wedding or a funeral. That worked out well!

This thread has inadvertently become the Family football club thread; so I'm going to post this one here.

My missus is the one who said the name Cramiherb.

Yesterday when I was watching Norf vs Dees, the camera went to Brad Scott and I heard her say:

"Far out, that guy must manage every club because I feel like I see him everywhere!"

lol

Dear Essendon...