Dear Jack,

• Thread starter Thread starter _Wang_

I said a couple of years ago he'd be a gun and got shot down for it on bay 13. I guess they can all kiss my ass now.
You can add Weaver to that list. He was rabid when we drafted him.

And there was also so old prick that suggested that Weaver had got that one wrong :) If you knew this kid like I did he was always gonna get there. The ones that make it in this game are those that are driven to.

What also impresses me is his attitude in general. I got a chance to go into the rooms before the Dreamtime game last week and hadnt seen him in a year or so. Guess who spotted me and made a beeline to shake hands and say gday. Its little shit like that that stands out.

And there was also so old prick that suggested that Weaver had got that one wrong :) If you knew this kid like I did he was always gonna get there. The ones that make it in this game are those that are driven to.

What also impresses me is his attitude in general. I got a chance to go into the rooms before the Dreamtime game last week and hadnt seen him in a year or so. Guess who spotted em and made a beeline to shake hands and say gday. Its little shit like that that stands out.

:thumbsu:RIPPER story!!!
Agree 100%

Anyone who seen "The Incredibles" will understand why I call him "Jack Jack". He's the super hero family baby who supposedly had no special power. In fact, he's got them all!

was frustrating the way he tried to beckham everything off the ground but i love the confidence and arrogance that he has to try it. will be a star soon if he keeps this up.

It's called keeping your feet..... his from tassie he knows how to play in the wet.

And there was also so old prick that suggested that Weaver had got that one wrong :)

+1 TT

Been saying for years he was the best tall in that draft and that Miller had pulled off a real coup getting he AND Polak in a year where we only had a mid first-round pick.

The game that really sealed it for me was the one at the Championships where he kicked four and helped Tassie home by kicking the sealer in appalling conditions (was against NSW from memory). He just had so much heart and will to win, his hands were amazing in the conditions at ground level or in the air, you could tell beyond any doubt he was a natural with a great football brain, and his kicking with the wet ball was superb.

Weaver wouldn't have a bar of it, doubt he would have taken him with a 4th/5th rounder he was so damning of his potential.

Weaver has a very smart football brain, but he really got that one wrong.

+1 TT

Been saying for years he was the best tall in that draft and that Miller had pulled off a real coup getting he AND Polak in a year where we only had a mid first-round pick.

The game that really sealed it for me was the one at the Championships where he kicked four and helped Tassie home by kicking the sealer in appalling conditions (was against NSW from memory). He just had so much heart and will to win, his hands were amazing in the conditions at ground level or in the air, you could tell beyond any doubt he was a natural with a great football brain, and his kicking with the wet ball was superb.

Weaver wouldn't have a bar of it, doubt he would have taken him with a 4th/5th rounder he was so damning of his potential.

Weaver has a very smart football brain, but he really got that one wrong.

Agree Rayzor. Weaver didnt get too many wrong and when he talks I listen but arguing Sellar was the right pick in this instance wasnt his finest hour.

Please.... Gibbs? Jack shits on Gibbs

To be fair gibbs had 45 touches today, not a bad player.

The only other key forward from the draft i would consider is tippet. Love to have them in the same forward line together, but i think Griff maybe more the comparable to Tippet in the future :thumbsu:

To be fair gibbs had 45 touches today, not a bad player.

45 Touches and 2 inside 50s and Carlton players hunting him out at the end to bolster the number. All againsed a crap opposition, and they only managed to win by 29pts. Good effort though, but 45 isnt comparable to when Diesel Williams had high numbers. And dont forget 18yo Scully had a 18 possie qtr.

Havent forgot scully had 18 in a quarter or that 45 possies isnt what it was when diesel did it. All that being said would be more then comfortable with gibbs pulling on the Tigers jumper the kid is all class.

Im not unhappy with Jack either. Turning into a superstar recently just needs to keep going in the same vein.

Havent forgot scully had 18 in a quarter or that 45 possies isnt what it was when diesel did it. All that being said would be more then comfortable with gibbs pulling on the Tigers jumper the kid is all class.

Im not unhappy with Jack either. Turning into a superstar recently just needs to keep going in the same vein.

True. I would also like Gibbs playing for us. But as it stands ill take Jack any day. Definitely on track to equal his cousin.

i have been saying for a while that jack is going to be good but we just need to wait... he has shown glimpses like against WC a few years back and in other games but now with a bit of confidence he is vcoming into his own...nick took till he was 23 to become a superstar... though i still think he shouldn't be the number 1 forward down ther... he needs another player to take the heat of him and i reckon big griff can provide that so in a few years it could be buddy and roughy esc

45 Touches and 2 inside 50s and Carlton players hunting him out at the end to bolster the number.

Playing off the backline. How many rebound 50's? That's what you would want from him.

He's playing the same role as Lid's at the moment, and doing just as well.

Re; Jack - Richmond supporters need to just be patient. We expect everyone to be fully developed from their first season, we don't seem to realise players won't start influencing games until they are at least in their 3rd year (generally, there are exceptions).

Playing off the backline. How many rebound 50's? That's what you would want from him.
He's playing the same role as Lid's at the moment, and doing just as well.

Out of 45 possessions Gibbs had 2 inside 50s and 2 rebound 50s
Lids had 29 touches 5 inside 50s and 6 rebound 50s

Big difference

That isn't what I expected, I watched the game yesterday (most of it, I was doing other stuff at the same time) but I thought Gibbs was a lot better than those stats.

Agree Rayzor. Weaver didnt get too many wrong and when he talks I listen but arguing Sellar was the right pick in this instance wasnt his finest hour.

Weaver got lots of them wrong.

It's just that he had such a superior attitude that no-one was game to try to take him on very often.

He thought Mick Gayfer's brother (I think it was) would be the #1 pick in one draft - didn't even get drafted. Thought Scott Homewood was the pick of that draft (for us) and didn't play a game. Thought Connors and Collins were top 10 and they got drafted in the 60's or 70's. Ones that he did get right were Poyas - he was livid when we drafted him, and Roach.

What I really liked about Weaver was his profiles of the juniors. He wrote very articulately and went to a heap of games (unlike others). But in terms of talent spotting, he was no better than anyone else.

On another forum he used to post under his real name and he used to really twist off if anyone dared question him.

What I saw on the weekend was a player who can legitimately be a full forward.

I used to think he was a third tall, probably because he *looks* a bit undersized and when playing in tandem with Morton, they both played a floating HFF type role.

Since Morton has left he's played a true leading forward type role so on that basis I was wrong too. He is a very smart footballer. Knows where to lead, knows when to double back, knows how to subtly bump his opponent away from the ball, he's an excellent mark, and his kicking has improved significantly.

If we can just find someone to sit at CHF we will have a very difficult forward line to match up on.