2012 59799 41319
2013 55487 50901
2014 48009 43196
2015 47259 49877
2016 46188 41155
2017 46815 55950
2018 49898 61175

AV 51524 43222

Shows up just what bandwagoners Richmond supporters are, Numbers up and down like a whore's draws, 6 times this millennium they've averaged less than 40,000, have to go back to 1998 for the Pies to do that, our lowest this millennium 41759 in 2005. And even in you best year this millennium you couldn't eclipse the Pies of 2010 & 2011. Be interesting to see just how quickly it all drops off again for the Tuggers.

Congrats on the win.

I thought your supporters were fantastic post game, nobody yelled or laughed in my face as I trundled around in tears lol just a big bunch of happy people celebrating a deserved premiership. Can comfortably say it was the most respectful opposition I’ve encountered after a GF loss. Kudos to you and your people. It’s refreshing to be able to walk away with a more positive opinion of your opponents.

Now go home, your colours are too bright for our sadness :p

So true. This was my first grand final ever and I expected everyone to mouth off, not one person did they just got up and cheered their team. I found both lots of supporters just excited and what a 1st grand final to go to. It was amazing even though we lost. What an experience. What a classy bunch of people. I actually don't mind west coast and Adam Simpson. Glad that they finally earned the respect that they deserved all along this year. Just hope we get a key defender now. I really want Stephen may. We don't need to lynch we need may.

Couldn’t agree more. Glad I’m not the only one who had a positive experience

Was sitting in a bar in phuket watching the game with my eagle supporting mate. The look of devastation on my face, i think he was to scared to say anything or boast into my face.

On the other hand i seen some non eagle supporting fans giving hell to some pies fans. Bit of a scuffle broke out. The collingwood hate is so strong in some people. Hate it when fans of non gf teams get involved in that crap. Just appreciate the game for what it is no need to get agro and start a fight.

See this is what everyone likes to see, a bit of self-deprecating humour. It shows you are well adjusted. It helps to process the negative emotions so they do not degenerate into bitterness and twisted resentment and hate. Unfortunately Tigers supporters seem to collectively not been able to master this skill. 38 years is a lot of hate and resentment. You’d like to say it’s not their fault and that they were born this way but that would mean they are not fully in control of their own faculties. Would they admit that? I think not, which means they know right from wrong. They remember how it feels. So we are left with either they are a bunch of sadistic narcissists, or the ones who don’t think there’s anything wrong with it so lacking in conscience psychopaths in a strictly clinical sense. I don’t think it’s the latter given we have not had a prolonged spate of serial murders in Melbourne committed by disenchanted Richmond supporters. Not one Richmond supporter I personally know and (with exception of a few notably self-actualised individuals of Richmond persuasion) those who frequent this forum clearly cannot emotionally process anyone making the slightest remark that the Tiges are less than what the image of which they have of themselves is, and then fixate upon those who they feel have contributed to any imagined slight ready to publicly vilify and discredit and diminish others with malicious intent at any and every opportunity. Why are they this way? Why does it seem to be a common trait prevalent only amongst the vast majority of Richmond supporters and not really any other clubs’ fans? I find them very intriguing from a strictly academic perspective, sudden onset borderline personality disorder isn’t something you tend as a forensic psychologist to encounter much, let alone with such speed and prevalence that it’s been seen within a population that doesn’t appear to be confined to any age, sex or geographic demographic the only common trait is barracking for Richmond. Seems to be seasonally-dependent though so it’s probably one of those rare and hard to predict events such as an Ebola epidemic, luckily as it shares quite a few parallels with the virus in that it is extremely infectious, appears to evolve rapidly as it spreads with its incubation period decreasing exponentially with hosts who previously displayed no characteristic traits of Richmond support previously suddenly displaying full-blown symptoms of unprovoked vitriolic verbose, fixation on individuals or group of individuals perceived to be an existential threat, feelings of victimisation and being “short-changed” in society and a generalised irrationality and passive aggressive demeanour. Luckily however it is a relatively uncommon once in every 38 year event due to its destructive and damaging nature, one that with careful planning can be contained by the swift quarantine and internment of individuals at the first display of characteristic symptoms and treating them with several courses of ECT until they normalise.

Brilliant Post

Eloquently put and couldn't agree more.

Year Pies Tuggers
2000 45012 44012
2001 49977 46129
2002 50608 32796
2003 50124 35630
2004 42852 35378
2005 41759 35800
2006 52883 42701
2007 54898 38255
2008 59213 43548
2009 53435 43165
2010 63256 37452
2011 61488 42784
2012 59799 41319
2013 55487 50901
2014 48009 43196
2015 47259 49877
2016 46188 41155
2017 46815 55950
2018 49898 61175

AV 51524 43222

Shows up just what bandwagoners Richmond supporters are, Numbers up and down like a whore's draws, 6 times this millennium they've averaged less than 40,000, have to go back to 1998 for the Pies to do that, our lowest this millennium 41759 in 2005. And even in you best year this millennium you couldn't eclipse the Pies of 2010 & 2011. Be interesting to see just how quickly it all drops off again for the Tuggers.

I don't get this obsession with other teams (especially Richmond) - but I AM pretty new to Big Footy so I must be missing something.

Our team has earnt a lot of respect this season and in Grand Final from opposition supporters which is the only consolation I have from from Saturday, so why bother going on and on about them, it just sounds like we are more worried about richmond than where we are heading ourselves. I'm sure our coaching staff and players don't stress about Richmond - we beat them in the Prelim anyway. The people at my work who follow the Tigers were pretty nice to me after we beat them in fact and Hardwick was very gracious in his comments about Bucks too.

Yes, they are a big club with lots of members and are pretty strong on field and financially now too - I don't particularly care if they have more members, or bigger crowds or more money or the media loves them. Or how many flags we won 80 years ago or how we used to have bigger crowds than them. All I care about is us playing in finals now and winning premierships now. You don't win premierships by being the biggest club, but you do for being the best club - that's what we have to aim for.. Forget Richmond.

I don't get this obsession with other teams (especially Richmond) - but I AM pretty new to Big Footy so I must be missing something.

Our team has earnt a lot of respect this season and in Grand Final from opposition supporters which is the only consolation I have from from Saturday, so why bother going on and on about them, it just sounds like we are more worried about richmond than where we are heading ourselves. I'm sure our coaching staff and players don't stress about Richmond - we beat them in the Prelim anyway. The people at my work who follow the Tigers were pretty nice to me after we beat them in fact and Hardwick was very gracious in his comments about Bucks too.

Yes, they are a big club with lots of members and are pretty strong on field and financially now too - I don't particularly care if they have more members, or bigger crowds or more money or the media loves them. Or how many flags we won 80 years ago or how we used to have bigger crowds than them. All I care about is us playing in finals now and winning premierships now. You don't win premierships by being the biggest club, but you do for being the best club - that's what we have to aim for.. Forget Richmond.
The obsession is the other way.
While we had one Tiggers thread, after our great PF win, they apparantly have up to eight threads about us!

Seems to be a lot of flack being thrown at us by opposition fans whose teams were not good enough to make it. So let’s break it down club by club.

West Coast - You were magnificent as were we. We threw everything at you and you stood up. Deserving winners. Enjoy the celebrations. A new rivalry has been built between these two great clubs.

Richmond- We know we embarrassed you last week and we know you want to be us. You just can’t be. We finished higher than you on the ladder, we have played you in 6 Grand Finals and lead 4-2, we lead you in the head to head by a significant margin and we own just about every crowd record. By the way you haven’t beaten us in a final in nearly 40 years.
You are like our jealous little step sister who wants to be us. You never have been and never will be, We own you.

Melbourne-Copping flak from Demons supporters is amusing seeing as they haven’t won a Premiership under the decimal currency system. You are the laughing stock of football. At least you have 2022 in Beijing to look forward to. For a club that spends so much time in the snow you would think you would learn to ski uphill.

Carlton - Footballs biggest embarrassment and quickly becoming irrelevant. Once you celebrated your own successes and were a club I admired. Now your only success is hoping other clubs lose. You have not won a Premiership this millennium. You make me laugh now and you are so bad that I don’t even consider you a worthy rival. At least you will make cash over summer opening up a souvenir shop with all your insipid wooden spoons. Thanks for making me smile.

Essendon- You Finals victory drought is becoming the stuff of legends. Jaidyn Stephenson has won twice as many Finals in one year as you have in the last 14 years. Time we looked for a new ANZAC day opponent because we are sick of propping you up. Maybe a merger with Carlton may work.

Geelong and Hawthorn - You have earnt your keep in modern times and still have a right to be proud. A leave pass granted to you both.

North, Bulldogs, Adelaide, Port, Lions, Swans, Saints - You are are so hopelessly underwhelming and irrelevant to the AFL that you don’t even deserve your own comment.

GWS and Gold Coast - Like Maccas, you are an over rated franchise. Give me a fish and chip shop hamburger any day.

Dockers - Your ok. Haven’t learnt to hate you yet like the other 16 sides but your time will come.

Proud of you Pies. Side by Side. It’s us against the rest. Always has been. Always will be. Would’t have it any other way.

Floreat Pica.

I'm a Hawk member and I want to say this. Just read an article about the cheer squad and the banner, the banner had nothing to do with Saturday.

If any BF Pie has ever read my stuff about grey rules and umpiring by guess work or perception , because the AFL cannot make the rules plain and simple, AND THEY FIDDLED WITH THEM FOR TEN YEARS, then you would see that I have mentioned probably at least for 5 or 6 years since I started raving and driving people up the wall about the rules , the poor bloody umpires and the chance that one day, a team would win and a team would lose because of an umpiring decision, which is not supposed to happen.

But it happened on Saturday , and I sympathise , I think the Eagles were great by the way, but they kicked badly 2 or 3 times in the last quarter, and just at the point of no return , the umpire sees nothing????? in the block of a Collingwood player and an Eagle being paid a mark!

The goal killed the game and the team that had led most of the day fell victim to either umpire perception by an adjudicator, or blindness , or misinterpretation of tricky rules!
The fault belongs to the AFL and its rules administration, I think the Giants may have fallen victim to a "not seen or not paid " free kick in 2016 finals.

I 've been spitting about this for two days now, and I confess to not being an Eagles fan , but , in games for the last few years we have seen momentum killed and games changed by strange calls , so many times in finals and H&A, that here we are talking about the miss of a free, instead of the footy.
And I for one can't help it , its been a bug bear of mine for years and I predicted this would happen in a GF one day.

Sorry Pies it was you, but, this is an ongoing thing and has more to do with the state of Australian Rules Football in the AFL rather than the two Grand Finalists, the record stands.
But gee wiz, any one can make excuses and complain , unfortunately there is a stain on this flag, because of one missed decision. Of course the umpires board will say, " he nailed it' he didn't. He missed it or just, DIDN'T ADJUDICATE!

Was sitting in a bar in phuket watching the game with my eagle supporting mate. The look of devastation on my face, i think he was to scared to say anything or boast into my face.

On the other hand i seen some non eagle supporting fans giving hell to some pies fans. Bit of a scuffle broke out. The collingwood hate is so strong in some people. Hate it when fans of non gf teams get involved in that crap. Just appreciate the game for what it is no need to get agro and start a fight.
Your right but the AFL make me angry, Dim and Gil have stuffed the game rule wise. Just for money.
Both teams deserved to win, but the end was atrocious, and as I've said to others I don't follow either and I didn't have a bet on Collingwood either!

You know , these comments a just fantastic, and of course all sensible people behave like sensible people and of course it was a good game , I guess a few BF people might have a go at me, but I am not actually talking about the teams that just played, its the state of the game and how it is umpired , its as simple as that, and it is rampant every week.
My voice means nothing, but lots of voices do , and something rather unfair happened on Saturday.

Eloquently put and couldn't agree more.

Year Pies Tuggers
2000 45012 44012
2001 49977 46129
2002 50608 32796
2003 50124 35630
2004 42852 35378
2005 41759 35800
2006 52883 42701
2007 54898 38255
2008 59213 43548
2009 53435 43165
2010 63256 37452
2011 61488 42784
2012 59799 41319
2013 55487 50901
2014 48009 43196
2015 47259 49877
2016 46188 41155
2017 46815 55950
2018 49898 61175

AV 51524 43222

You also have to remember that in the years 2004 and 2005 the mcg capacity was 70,000 due to redevelopment!!

Beaten by an umpire mate, but its over, now for trading.

Please don’t talk about umpires anymore!!! If we keep on talking about the blocking holding free that Maynard should of got with 2:20 left if the game the Collingwood’s fc will not move on and we could have a bloody long Season in 2019!

Wtf is with Richmond supporters?

Out and about in melb Saturday night and any Collingwood fans out were gracious.

Richmond fans were all... “you’re lucky you didn’t play us”

Give me a bloody spell... how about don’t get flogged in a prelim first you entitled knobs

Wtf is with Richmond supporters?

Out and about in melb Saturday night and any Collingwood fans out were gracious.

Richmond fans were all... “you’re lucky you didn’t play us”

Give me a bloody spell... how about don’t get flogged in a prelim first you entitled knobs

I think this is because we Collingwood fans realise that who ever won deserved the win but also how tough it would of been for the loser. At the end of the day we Collingwood fans are use to close gf losses. Richmond fans are morons. If Richmond played west Coast of the pies on gf day they would of got flogged. Anyway proud of the season and the players there guts out and with the cattle we had on the ground we did the best we could. The difference in the end was west coast tall timber as our Achilles heel our back line is just too small due to Dunn and Sharenberg being injured. Anyway hopefully this burns the players over summer and we pick up May from the Gold Coast and we can be serious challenges again in 2019.

Great season by the eagles who are the best team in the competition atm

Please don’t talk about umpires anymore!!! If we keep on talking about the blocking holding free that Maynard should of got with 2:20 left if the game the Collingwood’s fc will not move on and we could have a bloody long Season in 2019!

What is needed that is long, is a long long long look by the AFL into how it teaches its umpires to adjudicate games, any games, your year is runner up, perhaps it shouldn't be , but that's the record now.

What I'm talking about now is that H&A and finals for years now the decisions because of rule fiddling have created unfairness in the game.

It has created a situation where by a fix could be easily employed, you know gambling like in world cricket!!!

It has created a momentum killer by umpires allowed to go to extremes in pedantic fiddles like calling advantage when it is not really a good time for it, or by calling a player who is off his own boot taking an advantage and brings him back to behind the mark, really , why?
When did umpires become such a huge part of the game that now they are subject to this kind of stuff after every weekend , that's why the seasons are long long long and here is one for you, Scott and Richardson on the TV one saying he thought the umpires had eased up a bit on calling frees , when in fact the blocking call was quite numerous over the rest of the season previously and in the finals.

Why do umpires let up on rules in finals anyway. Your loss is a perfect example. Yes I am pretty p155ed off with the AFL. Rake in plenty of money but create this crap.

So again I say sorry Collingwood , the Eagles won , there is without a doubt a stain on their flag, and it will be just like the stain on 2006 years later , where they played their guts out but after some revelations later on, we find so many questions about their own health ( you know what I mean)!
And then you look at what the AFL and ASADA did to Essendon????

My beef is with the AFL , and it should be, to all genuine understanding fans, this is not necessarily about Eagles and Collingwood, it was only one free, but it was ignored right at the point it should have been paid. In simple terms the lack of competent umpiring in that few seconds caused the win and the loss, AND IT SHOULDN'T HAVE!

But as far as the AFL goes, they have for over ten years since around 2003 fiddled with the rules, bringing in new things to ease the pressure on forwards or get more scoring, well yeah that worked ....NOT! in trying to make the game flow , they have killed the game by pedantics and stop start and packs etc , although that eased off a bit I reckon from half way through this year.

So in fact this GF may wake a few people up, to the over kill by bureaucrats in the AFL too many cooks too many rule changes. Too many getting paid for nothing valuable!

Beaten by an umpire mate, but its over, now for trading.
To be fair, Stephenson ran 26m for his second goal without bouncing (was shown on the couch) so sometimes it goes both ways.

Ultimately it was anyone's game and and coming onto another team's board and whinging about the umpires is pretty classless, especially when the supporters themselves have been absolutely graceful in defeat.

Hats off to Collingwood, you guys have been all class.

You know , these comments a just fantastic, and of course all sensible people behave like sensible people and of course it was a good game , I guess a few BF people might have a go at me, but I am not actually talking about the teams that just played, its the state of the game and how it is umpired , its as simple as that, and it is rampant every week.
My voice means nothing, but lots of voices do , and something rather unfair happened on Saturday.
Get off the mushrooms, ffs.

I think it's lovely that we have a thread for opposition supporters, a meeting place where they can catch up, get to know one another, trade their barbs/thoughts. I think it's really, really nice.

I think it's lovely that we have a thread for opposition supporters, a meeting place where they can catch up, get to know one another, trade their barbs/thoughts. I think it's relly, really nice.
Well at least the ones here are being rather gracious and supportive, if not joining in with our spot of wallowing in self-pity and telling us chin up.
The more disordered characters of their ilk have gravitated towards another thread on the main board where there are some individuals who I strongly believe tortured small marsupials, birds and pets as children and really need to be under close custodial supervision whilst at large in the community.

Well at least the ones here are being rather gracious and supportive, if not joining in with our spot of wallowing in self-pity and telling us chin up.
The more disordered characters of their ilk have gravitated towards another thread on the main board where there are some individuals who I strongly believe tortured small marsupials, birds and pets as children and really need to be under close custodial supervision whilst at large in the community.

I know we've suffered, as Collingwood supporters, but some of the spirits which haunt the main board have the hallmarks of traumas beyond my reckoning. The glee and abandon with which they try to torment others is something to behold...and then recoil from.

To be fair, Stephenson ran 26m for his second goal without bouncing (was shown on the couch) so sometimes it goes both ways.

Ultimately it was anyone's game and and coming onto another team's board and whinging about the umpires is pretty classless, especially when the supporters themselves have been absolutely graceful in defeat.

Hats off to Collingwood, you guys have been all class.
I counted 9 or 10 steps on the replay. Don’t think it could have been 26m between him gathering the ball and kicking it.