Debt and Deficit - Coalition Budget Emergency

Wages are supply and demand based and you have to expect to pay more for a specialist doctor than a GP or nurse in any society.
He does have a point that some colleges seem excessively restrictive with their intake (looking at dermatology or ophthalmology)

All valid but the real test is get rid of medicare and let's see who can afford medical services. I dare say we would face a very different scenario and point of view advocating a review.
Get rid of Medicare ? So like what the USA do (Obamacare excepted)? Where people go bankrupt from an ED attendance? Doesn't appear to have caused downward pressure on US medical wages having user pays, just disproportionate effect on the poor (who are often sick) so if they are paying a larger share of income on health compared to the rich, this would be seen as economically regressive and as such undesired by all economic theories I am aware of. Not to mention political suicide.

Exactly.
But apparently its the doctors that are the problem?

One of the posters said you dont need specialists because you can just google it. My jaw hit the floor. Then went from the windoooooow to the waallll.

You can own your own house and land. But you arent aloud to do the electrics yourself. Your not supposed to do the plumbing yourself. You cant even get access to everything you need to install your own air-conditioning.
But its the doctors that are the problem?
You cant build your own house. You need to pay others to pay others to do it.
No chance they would put in as much care and attention into building my own house as I would. But Im not aloud to do it. Even just paying someone to build a house on your own land you have to go through piles of red tape.

But spinal damage is something you can fix with a quick google.
To clarify I think the poster is concerned that the medical "union" ie AMA is restricting supply and therefore boosting prices. I don't know if plumbers, builders etc do the same - how hard is it to get an apprenticeship out there (heard varying reports running both extremes "no one offers apprenticeship to can't fill positions).
However AMA restrictions are more aimed at stopping nurses and pharmacist from providing health care outside of their scope of practice without medical supervision. It is the specialist colleges that do restrict some supply - via use of exams and arbitrary standards (even if you meet the pass mark some colleges bell curve it so not only do you need to pass but beat 50% of the other candidates- so at most 50% can become specialists) and restrictions on entering training that lack transparency.

However AMA restrictions are more aimed at stopping nurses and pharmacist from providing health care outside of their scope of practice without medical supervision.
This is one of my bugbears. Why do I need to re-visit a doctor to continue my scripts? $70 for a script consult? GTFO.

It is supposed to review need for medication/ monitor side effects. But if it's just a quick script write it should be fully bulk billed IMO.
I'm scared that if GPs don't bulk bill this consult EDs will get overwhelmed by people wanting scripts (apart from those wanting narcotics they will always turn up )

There is a thing called an owner-builder permit. I know people that have done it and it was easy to please the building inspector dude. Saved them shitloads.

Only an idiot does their own electrical

Get rid of Medicare ? So like what the USA do (Obamacare excepted)? Where people go bankrupt from an ED attendance? Doesn't appear to have caused downward pressure on US medical wages having user pays, just disproportionate effect on the poor (who are often sick) so if they are paying a larger share of income on health compared to the rich, this would be seen as economically regressive and as such undesired by all economic theories I am aware of. Not to mention political suicide.

sorry no

I was suggesting we remove the cloak of medicare to test whether medical bills were affordable for average people. If people had to pay the full amount, would people say doctors bills are fair and reasonable.

I doubt it.

Your example of the US demonstrates it is even worse in the US, in both cost and protections. I don't want us to go down that route and I have little doubt we will unless we keep pressure on costs.

FTR I think universal health care is a must

Or a qualified electrician. Even then they might trade with a mate in industry.

Of course.

Dad is a plumber and tradies get shitloads of cash from idiots who do their own work, wreck the house, and then pay someone professional to repair the damage and do the original job

So your now saying in addition to doing the owner/builder thing the average punter is gunna become a qualified sparky? Suuuuure

Is that what I said is it? Hint: No it's not what I said.
Are you saying only qualified electricians can understand electricity? Are you saying electricians the only people that can install or maintain and troubleshoot electrical wiring systems?
Anyone that isn't an electrician but can do these things at the same standard as a trained electrician is an idiot right?

Is that what I said is it? Hint: No it's not what I said.
Are you saying only qualified electricians can understand electricity? Are you saying electricians the only people that can install or maintain and troubleshoot electrical wiring systems?
Anyone that isn't an electrician but can do these things at the same standard as a trained electrician is an idiot right?

Yes, its illegal for unqualified peeps to do their own electrical because its too easy to * up

Only a moron would let an unlicenced person do their electrical

What on earth made you think I equate changing a light bulb with wiring a house? lol

Possibly when you responded to someone claiming that "Only a moron would let an unlicenced person do their electrical" by saying "Yes changing light bulbs is dangerous business"

Changing light bulbs isn't electrical work?

Not in the context that the term electrical work was being referred to in the first place, it's not. I'm aware that changing a light bulb involves work, associated with an electrical fixture, if that makes you happy.

I was already happy but I appreciate your effort.