Deeper problems than we know?

• Thread starter Thread starter Cleric

bagdad-bob.gif

It's ok guys - the Port supporters are here to save the day.

I think the players were peeved at Sando going public on Vince leaving (saying Vince wanted out, 4 years etc)
Too many players are close to Bernie and knew it wasn't the case
Vince comes back after leave and tells how disappointed he was Sando never took his calls and tells the world he didn't really want to go
So when Bernie goes on 5AA and tells his story that contradicts the Coach its not a good look for our man Sando who it seems can't handle tough conversations and doesn't cope with not being liked?

Crows media - too predictable now
Biggest financial loss in history announcement - same day announcement of Sando for 2 more years (sort of a feel good as Chapman and Sando live in each others pockets so at least Chapman was happy)
Last weeks showdown loss? - and the media release is all about Brodie Smith re-signing
Todays AFC Facebook thread is on Peter Caven and the 98 GF

We should beat the Saints - and the few weeks after that look ok but if we lose look for a cavalcade of the 97 GF team or Modra highlights on the big screen

Smokescreens everywhere to hide many issues This is a Club in dire need of strong leadership

Does John (what's his name - the journalist guy) still post?

If he does, can he ask the following question?

What sort of relationship do you (directed at Sando) have with Steven Trigg right now? positive, negative or non at all.

Now, the reason I ask this is - Michael Voss was on Open Mike and he was asked that questions and he answered, "none at all". It would be interesting to hear what sort of relationship he has with Trigg.

True to an extent but even if we win the next 4 games, IMO we still have big issues that need sorting out.
but will they be still talking about the players not getting along with Sando?? or will they be talking about how rosy everything is gong??

Unfortunately I see it as a no win situation. We lose all or most of the next 4 the focus will be on on field performance which will allow admin/media to turn the blow torch on coach and players. We win them all and all of a sudden it's trigg and co slapping themselves on the back congratulating themselves on how good everything is going. I just cannot see any change being effected in the near future:(

So sad that the people involved in running this club are more focused on covering their asses and keeping their jobs than on field success. We really are screwed as far as the eye can see....

We can't sack anyone (admin or coaching) because the first one cut loose will spill the beans.

We're stuck.

Very true.

However, if they come to the decision to sack Trigg, the rest will follow.

I just hope like heck we don't have any more skeletons in the cupboard. Like who paid the fines, or if the board knew and we lied to the AFL.

In fact - if anyone has any sort of evidence that the board lied to the AFL commission, this is what someone like Caroline Wilson would want to get a massive story going.

So sad that the people involved in running this club are more focused on covering their asses and keeping their jobs than on field success. We really are screwed as far as the eye can see....

The real sad thing is, we don't have anyone willing to ask that questions why they are not doing the right thing by standing aside.

Well done also to Kernahan for putting out a youtube message for the fans stating how unhappy the CFC is with their perfomances. Who from our club has shown some leadership and tried to stop the rot? All we did last week was send out Radar. I dont think anyone has faced the music this week after Saturdays non-effort.

That's because Sticks answers to the members.

The real sad thing is, we don't have anyone willing to ask that questions why they are not doing the right thing by standing aside.

Because ego gets in the way of progress. Self interest before club.
Everyone keeps banging on about Trigg going. Pretty sure one person sits above him that says he is a people person but its just lip service.

So people need to decide:

Does offering players for trade (like Vince) hurt morale or does it help us build a better team which will keep stars like Danger. It cannot be both.

Being traded is part and parcel of being an AFL player, and something they all have to deal with, whether it be being traded themselves, or having a close mate traded away. However, I think there is a difference between being aggressive and trading players to improve your team, and being forced to trade players to alleviate pressure put on your list due to inept members of the administration completely ballsing things up. Players get pinged by the club for things when they **** up, but it seems at Adelaide, it's business as usual if upper management does the same thing.

Hey guys,
Please don't take this as a troll, it's true I'm a Swans man but the Crows are/were very memorable to me. I've been reading and forming my own opinions on the current problems, and I, too, am concerned. I feel quite informed on the subject, and the whole situation stinks through to your "the mum's love him" skipper. Someone correct me, some of this will sound conspiracy, just remember, AFC are my second team. This is for you guys:

A team who's financial success has never been related to, or linked to their on field performance has been exposed for the risk averse, business-like management over the last half a decade. It connects all the dots. This means you've been washed and turned into a family friendly brand. I also feel, the extension of this is that there is a lot of overhead between the football department and the management, people not focused on football. This makes a very stark, and unflattering comparison with the Power brand at the moment which is focused on football. The crows management have been too willing to accept the football status quo, because it allowed them to tune the money making machine.

Enter the expansion clubs, internal targets were aggressively courted, and were taken from AFC. Happened a couple too many times for an aggressive club, in tune with the needs of their players not to have responded, reduced the pain. I feel the crows could have done more from this, and it really was the start of the decline.

Enter the Tippett situation. Big, strong, gets people to the games. The Crows worked unethically, and irrationally in keeping a poster boy. It was so clear he was out of there, not accepting that Brisbane trade (to me) is an incompetent decision, only explained by Tippett's over inflated importance for the club's image and his damn balfour's ads. Gosh. This one is a real stinger in hindsight. Cue draft sanctions and the horrendous clause that the internals of the investigation will not be discussed.

Your fitness guru, gets poached, contract offer not met as the club's bottom lines is looking a bit raw. An annecdotal statement that Trigg isn't into fitness coaches/ believes in fitness through game simulation etc. An assistant coach absorbs the role, the media is used to make it sound like he's the right man. Trains the teams cardio up by running, running, running. Potentially misses the point of repeat power recovery and this could be bad.

Vince occurs, he gets a lot of bad press so he's on the chopping blovk right? Players hear. More discontent. The marketing dream of the Crouch bros occurs even though the list is crying for speed, speed,speed.

Enter the Adelaide Oval. AFC work hard to block the move. Westpac centre is a large investment and so forth, the media appears to be used to devalue the Port brand. If the management is as business orientated as I believe, I have no proof, but feel Port are attempted to be burnt to the ground through repeated feel bad stories, several on 5AA. Anyways, jokes on the AFC a Adelaide Oval is an overwhelming success, and the event appears to be lacking forward planning from a members point of view/ the managements passive resentment underpin the true celebration. Also, Crows financials all of a sudden take a genuine and true beating, back to square one on the business front.

Trigg has manipulated the media, the members and the footballers for maximum financial gain, called his members customers. Used every trick at his disposal to grow a brand at the disregard of the heart of the brand, football. And now I hear, the AFC has several policy in place reducing the power given to members to vote on the board. Policy unique to the AFC and not in place at any other club.

IF THIS IS TRUE THEN IT'S UP TO YOU, THE BIG FOOTY MEMBER TO GET THIS STORY OUT.

Being traded is part and parcel of being an AFL player, and something they all have to deal with, whether it be being traded themselves, or having a close mate traded away. However, I think there is a difference between being aggressive and trading players to improve your team, and being forced to trade players to alleviate pressure put on your list due to inept members of the administration completely ballsing things up. Players get pinged by the club for things when they **** up, but it seems at Adelaide, it's business as usual if upper management does the same thing.

it wasn't being traded that was the issue between Vince, the players and the Coach

it was the coach's sell to the public that hurt the team and the fact he told an untruth - when they all knew the story

also heard that a player got a call from bird man about coming to brisbane. this was before the club had spoken to that player. so a past player tells a current player the club wants to trade him - what do you think that player will do when his contract is up?

it wasn't being traded that was the issue between Vince, the players and the Coach

it was the coach's sell to the public that hurt the team and the fact he told an untruth - when they all knew the story

also heard that a player got a call from bird man about coming to brisbane. this was before the club had spoken to that player. so a past player tells a current player the club wants to trade him - what do you think that player will do when his contract is up?

Would have thought he would test the waters... or perhaps the yoghurt.

So people need to decide:

Does offering players for trade (like Vince) hurt morale or does it help us build a better team which will keep stars like Danger. It cannot be both.
I'm not sure that keeping players at all costs does much for morale either. All of the players know that if the club has to spend a million a year to keep Dangerfield it will just mean less for everyone else.

I reckon Frawley would have pissed a few of his team mates off this week.

I think it's time for Riccutio to stand up and tell it how it is.
It's funny listening to Roo at the moment. Dittmar obviously knows how much Roo knows and just keeps niggling away.

All the time in the world for Roo, but he's another part of the problem. Favourite son of the club, now with a media job reliant upon access to the club. He's not going to expose anything unless he decides to move to Vic to further his media career.

Is there noone in this pissant town willing/able to do some hard journalism?

I'm not sure that keeping players at all costs does much for morale either. All of the players know that if the club has to spend a million a year to keep Dangerfield it will just mean less for everyone else.

I reckon Frawley would have pissed a few of his team mates off this week.
Is there anyone at Melbourne who could genuinely complain? They're lucky there's a minimum TPP spend.

Reckon paying Tippett pissed the players off, but trying to peddle a lie regarding Vince is far more destructive. Undermining trust is never a good thing, if you want blokes to play for you.

It's funny listening to Roo at the moment. Dittmar obviously knows how much Roo knows and just keeps niggling away.

All the time in the world for Roo, but he's another part of the problem. Favourite son of the club, now with a media job reliant upon access to the club. He's not going to expose anything unless he decides to move to Vic to further his media career.

Is there noone in this pissant town willing/able to do some hard journalism?

Everyone's involved...

I think it's time for Riccutio to stand up and tell it how it is.

He seems to hold back a lot. I keep hoping he just lets loose on the radio but he just sits on the fence. I can understand if it affects his media job but I would love to hear him fire up