Deeper problems than we know?

• Thread starter Thread starter Cleric

It's funny listening to Roo at the moment. Dittmar obviously knows how much Roo knows and just keeps niggling away.

All the time in the world for Roo, but he's another part of the problem. Favourite son of the club, now with a media job reliant upon access to the club. He's not going to expose anything unless he decides to move to Vic to further his media career.

Is there noone in this pissant town willing/able to do some hard journalism?
It's a shame he doesn't try, but Roo seems to be trying to be as nuetral as possible most times (unlike a lot of other ex players in the media).

Unfortunately for the Crows a lot of their ex players in the media tend to be the "larakin" type, Fitzgerald, Jarman, Rowey etc who probably don't have the desire, or the credibility to lead the move. Cornes would probably be written off as a bitter old man / ex coach and Rucci would be labelled as having an anti-Crows agenda by the majoirty of supporters if he tried too.

if we didn't trade to get a reasonably early pick, and were still sitting bottom of the ladder, which we still would be, we would be in an even worse predicament than we are now, a slow Bernie vince wouldn't be helping us.

people are clutching at straws with this theory.

if the players are sooking over this then its totally unproffesional, they would of all moved on from that issue.

while our club has made bad decision after bad decision the Bernie trade wasn't one of them.

We can't sack anyone (admin or coaching) because the first one cut loose will spill the beans.

We're stuck.

Well that's just a process we need to go through. It's going to be a painful process to rebuild onfield and in the offices, may as well start soon.

if we didn't trade to get a reasonably early pick, and were still sitting bottom of the ladder, which we still would be, we would be in an even worse predicament than we are now, a slow Bernie vince wouldn't be helping us.

people are clutching at straws with this theory.

if the players are sooking over this then its totally unproffesional, they would of all moved on from that issue.

while our club has made bad decision after bad decision the Bernie trade wasn't one of them.
It's been said a bit though, it's not just because of the trade..
It's the way it and Vince was handled..
But it's also not just over the Vince trade..

and here I was thinking you might have posted something semi intelligent

What would you like me to say? "We told you so"? Most of the thoughts and realizations you guys are coming to have been suggested by others (and no, not just Port supporters) for a while now, and while it's probably not as bad as some of you think it is, something not quite right is going on. The problem for you guys is that you appear to be the vocal minority..... between the club publicly denouncing supporters who oppose them, the nice "Crows can do no wrong" retiree crowd, and the local media blindly going into bat for the club it's going to be tough to get heard. It might be time to apologize Caro for the verbal bashing you guys gave her over Tippettgate, and make some noise in her (and the rest of the other Victorian media's) direction.

Being traded is part and parcel of being an AFL player, and something they all have to deal with, whether it be being traded themselves, or having a close mate traded away. However, I think there is a difference between being aggressive and trading players to improve your team, and being forced to trade players to alleviate pressure put on your list due to inept members of the administration completely ballsing things up. Players get pinged by the club for things when they **** up, but it seems at Adelaide, it's business as usual if upper management does the same thing.
Suprised you have to repeat this again, suprised some just don't get it.

bagdad-bob.gif

It's ok guys - the Port supporters are here to save the day.
That is pretty funny

I genuinely despise Trigg, Chapman and the rest of the AFC Board. The only way we will see genuine change is if we finish bottom 6 for 3 or so years. This is the only thing that will wake the natives up from their docile sleep. However, Trigg/Board aren't idiots they know that we must finish in the 8 or around the 8, or they are out the door. This is their main agenda (just top 8 or thereabouts) and then if we happen to ass a premiership along the way then that's an unexpected bonus.

It's funny listening to Roo at the moment. Dittmar obviously knows how much Roo knows and just keeps niggling away.

All the time in the world for Roo, but he's another part of the problem. Favourite son of the club, now with a media job reliant upon access to the club. He's not going to expose anything unless he decides to move to Vic to further his media career.

Is there noone in this pissant town willing/able to do some hard journalism?
Roo is disappointing (unlike Rowe/Bone/Dillon who are downright embarrassing) when it comes to discussing the Crows management.

Hey guys,
Please don't take this as a troll, it's true I'm a Swans man but the Crows are/were very memorable to me. I've been reading and forming my own opinions on the current problems, and I, too, am concerned. I feel quite informed on the subject, and the whole situation stinks through to your "the mum's love him" skipper. Someone correct me, some of this will sound conspiracy, just remember, AFC are my second team. This is for you guys:

A team who's financial success has never been related to, or linked to their on field performance has been exposed for the risk averse, business-like management over the last half a decade. It connects all the dots. This means you've been washed and turned into a family friendly brand. I also feel, the extension of this is that there is a lot of overhead between the football department and the management, people not focused on football. This makes a very stark, and unflattering comparison with the Power brand at the moment which is focused on football. The crows management have been too willing to accept the football status quo, because it allowed them to tune the money making machine.

Enter the expansion clubs, internal targets were aggressively courted, and were taken from AFC. Happened a couple too many times for an aggressive club, in tune with the needs of their players not to have responded, reduced the pain. I feel the crows could have done more from this, and it really was the start of the decline.

Enter the Tippett situation. Big, strong, gets people to the games. The Crows worked unethically, and irrationally in keeping a poster boy. It was so clear he was out of there, not accepting that Brisbane trade (to me) is an incompetent decision, only explained by Tippett's over inflated importance for the club's image and his damn balfour's ads. Gosh. This one is a real stinger in hindsight. Cue draft sanctions and the horrendous clause that the internals of the investigation will not be discussed.

Your fitness guru, gets poached, contract offer not met as the club's bottom lines is looking a bit raw. An annecdotal statement that Trigg isn't into fitness coaches/ believes in fitness through game simulation etc. An assistant coach absorbs the role, the media is used to make it sound like he's the right man. Trains the teams cardio up by running, running, running. Potentially misses the point of repeat power recovery and this could be bad.

Vince occurs, he gets a lot of bad press so he's on the chopping blovk right? Players hear. More discontent. The marketing dream of the Crouch bros occurs even though the list is crying for speed, speed,speed.

Enter the Adelaide Oval. AFC work hard to block the move. Westpac centre is a large investment and so forth, the media appears to be used to devalue the Port brand. If the management is as business orientated as I believe, I have no proof, but feel Port are attempted to be burnt to the ground through repeated feel bad stories, several on 5AA. Anyways, jokes on the AFC a Adelaide Oval is an overwhelming success, and the event appears to be lacking forward planning from a members point of view/ the managements passive resentment underpin the true celebration. Also, Crows financials all of a sudden take a genuine and true beating, back to square one on the business front.

Trigg has manipulated the media, the members and the footballers for maximum financial gain, called his members customers. Used every trick at his disposal to grow a brand at the disregard of the heart of the brand, football. And now I hear, the AFC has several policy in place reducing the power given to members to vote on the board. Policy unique to the AFC and not in place at any other club.

IF THIS IS TRUE THEN IT'S UP TO YOU, THE BIG FOOTY MEMBER TO GET THIS STORY OUT.
I agree with alot of what you say other than the bit about Matt Crouch. Thommo is most likely retiring this year and Matt is a one for one replacement. The long term plan is to put Danger and Sloane on the outside, for Dangers pace and Sloanes run and carry. Douglas is also an outside player, and Grigg is more wing and goal kicker. Brad Crouch is an inside player but also has the ability to run and carry and break the lines with his hard running. I fully support the clubs push for Matt. Time will tell all but im happy to go one the record and say that Matt will be a huge get for us.

On what planet is Brad an inside player?

We have plenty of insiders, Kerridge and Lyons to name two. What we don't have is pace.

I'll let you in a secret: Matt was targeted to ensure we kept Brad on the books. Sssh don't tell anyone.

Sent from my luxury yacht in the Bahamas

Being traded is part and parcel of being an AFL player, and something they all have to deal with, whether it be being traded themselves, or having a close mate traded away. However, I think there is a difference between being aggressive and trading players to improve your team, and being forced to trade players to alleviate pressure put on your list due to inept members of the administration completely ballsing things up. Players get pinged by the club for things when they **** up, but it seems at Adelaide, it's business as usual if upper management does the same thing.
BINGO!!

For those claiming this is clutching at straws, I'm not for a minute saying the mode of Vince's departure is the cause of all our woes. However I do believe it has been a contributing factor.

I was kinda thinking the same myself,until I realised we dont have players like Ablett, Corey, Chapman, Scarlett, Ottens etc
Compare these names to danger, Sloane, Talia, walker and a few other young guns. We have the cattle it's just not performing (also meaning in 2006 how were these players rated).

Problem being you have just named our 4 best players, and in any other given top 6 side Id probably consider 2 of them slightly overrated, harsh as this may sound.
I could throw on another half a dozen at least from the Geelong squad listed above which we`d all consider superstars if playing in the tri-color.

Who are these young guns you speak of which compare to the likes of Bartel, Ling, Mackie, Milburn, Kelly,Stevie J, etc at similar stages of their career?
Besides B.Crouch,Betts and perhaps Grigg if he gets his work rate sorted, our list lacks anyone else I expect to reach this caliber of player.
Guys like Henderson,Smith,Jacobs and anyone else whos arses we all love to blow hot air up, may impact the ALF world as much as Cam Mooney ever did if we are very very lucky.

Yep goals against for turnovers is a long way worst in comp.

When was the last time you saw any team play 3 games in a row, each a template of the last?

3 goals down at half time, come back in the third to get in front or close to, then just stop and disappear?

I don't recall ever seeing it, or anything like it. Inexplicable
Port had the opposite pattern a few years back would lead for three quarters and then lose the fourth. Won me some nice cash noticing that one.

On what planet is Brad an inside player?

We have plenty of insiders, Kerridge and Lyons to name two. What we don't have is pace.

I'll let you in a secret: Matt was targeted to ensure we kept Brad on the books. Sssh don't tell anyone.

Not sure if serious?
Brad is and always has been inside mid. But dont take it from me.

#2 Adelaide - Brad Crouch (VIC – Mid/Def)Height: 184cm, Weight: 83kg, DOB: 12/01/1994
Recruited from: North Ballarat Rebels
Style: Luke Hodge
:Range (2012): 2-5Profile: Really strong inside player. Could play AFL footy now. Very ready to go. Physically is ready. Has a complete game. Really hard worker and will never die wondering. Future captain material. Ball use very good and is good by both hand and foot. Speed very good and can break the lines. Can also play off a back flank and provide some high level rebound and I expect this is where he starts his career before building into a full time midfield role. Very low risk guy where you know what you’ve got, and you know he will succeed in a big way at the next level.

Even Sando can tell you that
“Crouchy will play predominantly in the midfield – that’s his natural position and where he’s played most of his footy. “He’s a really tough, inside midfielder, but also gives us a bit of class outside the contest."

You dont know much about footy do you really?

Heard Rowie on the radio when I was driving home today.

Everything is going great in SA footy right now.

Well that's it guys, case closed. Lock the thread. Everything is fine.

I heard that.

That man could not be more full of shit if he tried.

Not sure if serious?
Brad is and always has been inside mid. But dont take it from me.

#2 Adelaide - Brad Crouch (VIC – Mid/Def)Height: 184cm, Weight: 83kg, DOB: 12/01/1994
Recruited from: North Ballarat Rebels
Style: Luke Hodge
:Range (2012): 2-5Profile: Really strong inside player. Could play AFL footy now. Very ready to go. Physically is ready. Has a complete game. Really hard worker and will never die wondering. Future captain material. Ball use very good and is good by both hand and foot. Speed very good and can break the lines. Can also play off a back flank and provide some high level rebound and I expect this is where he starts his career before building into a full time midfield role. Very low risk guy where you know what you’ve got, and you know he will succeed in a big way at the next level.

Even Sando can tell you that
“Crouchy will play predominantly in the midfield – that’s his natural position and where he’s played most of his footy. “He’s a really tough, inside midfielder, but also gives us a bit of class outside the contest."

You dont know much about footy do you really?

Oh I know he's a tough midfielder, and I also know that, as a youngster, his early physical development had him winning a lot of inside ball, but if we're talking "inside mid" as in a Scott Thompson/Sam Mitchell type, Brad isn't it. As he develops further I see him being the Pendlebury type. If it's a tough ball extractor you want (ie an inside mid), brother Matt is your man... even Sando can tell you this:
He plays a bit differently to his older brother, Brad,” added Sanderson.

“He’s a left-footer and has a different body shape. He’s a nuggety, inside midfielder whereas Brad has a bit more outside class.”

;-)

He was back pedaling because KT sent him an email after he called out Port Power for being FOS about the 50000 members. I took it as a nothing statement to appease KT but he still actually thought the 50k is smoke and mirrors.
That's exactly how I heard it

Oh I know he's a tough midfielder, and I also know that, as a youngster, his early physical development had him winning a lot of inside ball, but if we're talking "inside mid" as in a Scott Thompson/Sam Mitchell type, Brad isn't it. As he develops further I see him being the Pendlebury type. If it's a tough ball extractor you want (ie an inside mid), brother Matt is your man... even Sando can tell you this:

;-)

My exact words were Brad is an inside mid who has the ability to run and carry and break the lines, so hes not a pure inside mid, so therefore it was good get to get Matt as he is more inside and would be a 1 for 1 replacement for Thommo. Im not sure why you chose to pull out my point that he is an inside mid saying on what planet was he an inside mid. He is an inside mid who has an ability on the outside.

Would you call Pendles an inside mid?