Preview Dees vs. Lions - Official Teams

I dont mind mcdonald but he is just keeping the spot warm for tappy. They are like for like but tapscott is just better in everyway.

1 selection i dont like is Davey(finished) much rather see benell scooting around our forward half.

I dont wanna see Martin spending too much time in our forward line with clark there aswell i reckon they could start him in the green vest. if jamar&clark stay fit i reckon he might find himself at casey a bit this year.

bates been picked after a huge preseason by all accounts. Trainign will only get you so far, we will see where he is in a month.
Flash is far from finished. Being played up forward again will do him wonders.

Martin has an x factor about him. Could be anything and should play most games.

I'm stoked to see Tynan play. I know phantom drafts don't count for much, and this especially matters less due to the perceived lack of 'depth' in last years draft, but he was expected to go much much higher than 50~ pick we took him with. Looked to be quite a courageous kid in the NAB Cup, i reckon with Grimes moving to the midfield, Tynan could end up playing the role that Grimes was down back previously.

I could be wrong but with all the other experienced fit players around, he has obviously shown something. Neeld doesn't seem to have the "give them experience because they're young" attitude, it's more of a "play because you've earned it".

The more I look at Brisbane's lineup the more I think this should be a convincing win. Particularly their forward line which is spud central without Brown. Trying to keep a lid on it though.

Who do you guys expect to be the sub and to get subbed-out in the game tomorrow?

I reckon Tynan will be the sub. Who gets subbed out for him is anyones guess though

Hope it isn't Tynan; I always feel for the debutant who is made the sub.

Yeah but it eases them into I feel.

However if you are going to debut as the sub I feel you should look at playing the kid the following week aswell.

Been in the states last few weeks for work, so have missed most of the pre season matches. But It's great to see Tynan and Magner getting a game. Both seem to suit Neelds gameplan of tough contested footy.

The midfield is still a little concerning for me. Trengove and McKenzie by the sound of it haven't played a lot of pre season matches. We lack a bit of class and pace. Grimes will hopefully play in the midfield. Been screaming out for this for the past couple of seasons. But again, he's missed a couple of pre season games. Brisbane definitely have the midfield weapons to match us and get a lot of the ball.

Our defence should hold up though. Merrett is a monster. Yes, his best footy is in defence, but he has played a lot of footy in the F50 and won't be a pushover. The thing that still stands out about our defence is lack of footskills. Joel Mac and Bartram turn it over consistently. Rivers, Garland and Frawley are all competent, but not super kicks. I think we need Strauss and Tappscott back asap to help in this area. I'd prefer Bail on a wing than in defence. Still might happen.

Our F50 is intriguing. No Sylvia, no Petterd and no Jurrah would normally have me deeply concerned. But I feel with Clark, we have a genuine player who can contest and give us a tall option we've lacked. Howe is a real danger and Davey and Green both have a lot to prove. I'm not sure Stef is a forward. He seems to drop too many marks he should take.

Watching Carlton last night, it proves we desperately lack one or two crumbing forwards. If Davey can spark and give us 30-40 goals this year, and one of Bennell, Tappscott or Blease can help in this area, i think we will have most bases covered on the field. This game is a big danger game however. I feel we will win, but not by a lot. Jones to get BOG as he'll take another step in becoming one of our best players, and the Dees to get up by 18 points in front of a healthy crowd of 40,000....

However if you are going to debut as the sub I feel you should look at playing the kid the following week aswell.

Maybe, I don't get it though, the whole point of a sub is to make an impact in the last part of the game. Debutante's don't really excel at that.

I actually agree that Tynan will probably be made sub; but it definitely puts a dampener on a special day for the kid.

I'm with most here and really like the look of our side. Brisbane certainly don't have a strong side at the moment, particularly with no Brown, and I think it will be a mistake to play Merrett forward as he would be the perfect opponent for Clark.

Time will tell but I am quietly confident that we should win this game. We did, however, say this last year and only just fell over the line so it's certainly not a given that we will win.

Maybe, I don't get it though, the whole point of a sub is to make an impact in the last part of the game. Debutante's don't really excel at that.

That's a pretty good point, good points for both cases I suppose

Nice summary although:

"After a less than precise 2011, the new Brisbane coaching set up which includes new assistants Neil Craig and Mark Harvey, have turned the focus to maintaining possession and using the ball well."

Wrong team mate, Craigy's with us. :thumbsu:

Surprised you bothered to read it.

Our forward line needs a bit more pace and agility.

HF: Jack Trengove, Brad Green, Jeremy Howe
F: Aaron Davey, Mitch Clark, Stef Martin

Davey is the only player you would consider a small quick forward here.

Eh Bennel's looked pretty ordinary recently. Davey hasn't looked his best either but he looks far closer to it in the preseason than how he did the past couple of years.

well we can only hope that davey can actually have a bit of a crack because we havent seen it from him for quite some time.

i would still back tappy in a contested mark situation
If Macdonald has one strength, it's his contested marking.

Problem comes shortly after that typically, but I'm not surprised to see him in a Neeld side.

If Macdonald has one strength, it's his contested marking.

Problem comes shortly after that typically, but I'm not surprised to see him in a Neeld side.

That's it.. he wins it, gets it, ****s it.

Nice summary although:

"After a less than precise 2011, the new Brisbane coaching set up which includes new assistants Neil Craig and Mark Harvey, have turned the focus to maintaining possession and using the ball well."

Wrong team mate, Craigy's with us. :thumbsu:

What's worse is that I do know this....the result of some late night/rushed cutting and pasting and lack of a proof read!! :o

Lesson learnt.

Sorry if I missed it somewhere in here, but can anybody tell me which current best 22 players the Dees are missing today, through injury only? Just trying to keep a list of injury trends for each team.

Cheers