Deledio: who is going to play on him

face it carlton dont have anyone that can go with lids..... 2 good will kick 5 goals
Carrazzo ran with Deledio in round one last year and had more of an impact on the game by keeping him quiet.

No reason why Jackson can't do the same thing when he has a bigger motor than Carrazzo and played well on Harvey last year.

LMAO

Bower has been working out all summer .. have a look at the size of him now !!

img_46cb01f5a7f0b.jpg

Jake the Muss would be handy bursting out of a back pocket swinging a bottle of Waikato Lager.

Carrazzo ran with Deledio in round one last year and had more of an impact on the game by keeping him quiet.

No reason why Jackson can't do the same thing when he has a bigger motor than Carrazzo and played well on Harvey last year.

Outside of his game on Harvey, cant really remember Jackson having a memorable game (correct me if im wrong :confused:)
seems like some people judge a player on one performance to gauge their actual ability, rather than consistently haveing good games.

Like Hird was so good at deledio's age he was 'stuck up forward'. that's where the guns play, dopey.

Deledio is playing in the forward line because he couldn't handle the pressure in the midfield. Comparing him to Hird is just silly, as he'd be lucky to have 10% of Hird's natural ability. There's more to being an effective forward than running fast on the lead and kicking a goal. His footy smarts, and goal awareness are ordinary. An average reader of the game and is a terrible contested mark, in fact he's terrible at contested anything. lol. His specialty is getting a receive in space either on the lead, or playing as a very wide midfielder. He does not like the physical stuff. Deledio is a midfield with ability, who has gone backwards in his development because of a weak attitude and a soft coach. He needs to toughen up, stop the sooking, and be a little more team-oriented. The Tiges not only stuff up draft picks and trade choices, but this is yet another example of shocking player development. No wonder the Tiges are a complete and utter 28 year successless Basket Case. :)

Rodney you have probably seen a lot more of Deledio but as you know opposition fans can only go by what they see when they watch players. I had some sort of argument with a Tigers fan on your board last year about how bad Deledio's kicking had become after watching one game mid-season, to which the response was 'Deledio is a great kick and always will be'.

I think Deledio's marking and kicking were suspect last year and his quality dropped dramatically. Hopefully for you guys he can lift the quality back to number 1 status but I think you're ignoring how poor he was at times in 2007.

Deledio went backwards in 2007. He keeps telling us how great he is, even saying in the press recently he'll be a great midfielder in the future blah blah blah, but the fact is he got the sooks when the opposition put a tag on him, and requested a role on the HF flank to escape the tag. Early last year he got the sooks when Terry put him on the HB flank to help the team structure. He's rapidly becoming, a selfish, soft non-team oriented player. Disappointing. :)

careful:D

True, very true, I just don't think it's a good time to chuck him down back unless they've been working on it during the off season.

Bower has always been a defender :rolleyes:

I'd go with Waite or Thornton to pick him up:thumbsu:.

Waite will be needed for one of their talls, no way he'd be wasted on Dildo.

Thornton will most likely get Pettifer, he has done some good jobs on him recently.

Deledio is playing in the forward line because he couldn't handle the pressure in the midfield. Comparing him to Hird is just silly, as he'd be lucky to have 10% of Hird's natural ability. There's more to being an effective forward than running fast on the lead and kicking a goal. His footy smarts, and goal awareness are ordinary. An average reader of the game and is a terrible contested mark, in fact he's terrible at contested anything. lol. His specialty is getting a receive in space either on the lead, or playing as a very wide midfielder. He does not like the physical stuff. Deledio is a midfield with ability, who has gone backwards in his development because of a weak attitude and a soft coach. He needs to toughen up, stop the sooking, and be a little more team-oriented. The Tiges not only stuff up draft picks and trade choices, but this is yet another example of shocking player development. No wonder the Tiges are a complete and utter 28 year successless Basket Case. :)
Parrot, you're a galah. At Deledio's age Hird was nothing more than a kid with potential in a premiership side. Deledio has soaked up 3 years of the pressure of being the saviour of a side lacking success. He is a great contested mark, a beautiful kick and has the abiity to play anywhere. He will rip a hole in Carlton's defence on Thursday night. I can't wait.

I doubt that very much. In fact, I reckon he won't have much impact on the game at all. We have a number of options to cover Deledio, and whats more, being an ex Carlton supporter, he'll be in awe of watching the great man run around in Navy Blue for the first time.

The game is already lost if we're only worrying about an inconsistent and an outside midfielder without the poise of a Gibbs or Murphy. Put our guns in the midfield and let the Tiggers worry about stopping the laces out supply to Fevola, Edwards and Hartlett. Ratten might prefer to see Deledio start closer to goal than up the ground where he would double back using his speed and kick a goal or pass it off. Deledio is no Brad Pearce who was quick off the mark AND able to one grab a mark on the lead before converting from 50 metres. The Tigers don't have a Spalding and Kernahan there to draw the better defenders away from Deledio when he plays forward.

Cleve Hughes doesn't scare me.

I'm more worried about covering Brown, Richo and that dud Pettifer.

Pettifer is a spud, but always bobs up and kick a couple of goals because we lack good medium defenders.

Rodney you have probably seen a lot more of Deledio but as you know opposition fans can only go by what they see when they watch players. I had some sort of argument with a Tigers fan on your board last year about how bad Deledio's kicking had become after watching one game mid-season, to which the response was 'Deledio is a great kick and always will be'.

I think Deledio's marking and kicking were suspect last year and his quality dropped dramatically. Hopefully for you guys he can lift the quality back to number 1 status but I think you're ignoring how poor he was at times in 2007.
Don't get me wrong Borissey there are some well made points here re-Deledio.He certainly hasn't worked hard enough at shaking a tag and can drift in and out of games.
His contested marking however is excellent and I believe most times he is a lovely kick.I am not one of these Lids this and Lids that types,just stating some opinions based on seeing most of his games.
For what it's worth I think he will be an outstanding forward in time as opposed to on-ball.

Don't get me wrong Borissey there are some well made points here re-Deledio.He certainly hasn't worked hard enough at shaking a tag and can drift in and out of games.
His contested marking however is excellent and I believe most times he is a lovely kick.I am not one of these Lids this and Lids that types,just stating some opinions based on seeing most of his games.
For what it's worth I think he will be an outstanding forward in time as opposed to on-ball.

You may be right in time, but at the moment I dont think he is the main focus of Carlton planning. I think taking Deledio deep into the forward line is a big plus to Carlton planning - if he was midfield we'd have to consider his imapct but I maintain Wallace playing him like this takes away a trump card.

If we control the middle the game is ours. No doubt IMHO. take away a good young mid like Delids and you arent even challenging.

Deledio went backwards in 2007. He keeps telling us how great he is, even saying in the press recently he'll be a great midfielder in the future blah blah blah, but the fact is he got the sooks when the opposition put a tag on him, and requested a role on the HF flank to escape the tag. Early last year he got the sooks when Terry put him on the HB flank to help the team structure. He's rapidly becoming, a selfish, soft non-team oriented player. Disappointing. :)

He went backwards did he? How do you come to that conclusion parrot when he's just turned 20 yo and has only been in the system 3 years? I wouldn't say Marc Murphy has gone forwards much if we judge based on your criteria (whatever that may be). :thumbsu:

The game is already lost if we're only worrying about an inconsistent and an outside midfielder without the poise of a Gibbs or Murphy. Put our guns in the midfield and let the Tiggers worry about stopping the laces out supply to Fevola, Edwards and Hartlett. Ratten might prefer to see Deledio start closer to goal than up the ground where he would double back using his speed and kick a goal or pass it off. Deledio is no Brad Pearce who was quick off the mark AND able to one grab a mark on the lead before converting from 50 metres. The Tigers don't have a Spalding and Kernahan there to draw the better defenders away from Deledio when he plays forward.

Cleve Hughes doesn't scare me.

I'm more worried about covering Brown, Richo and that dud Pettifer.

Pettifer is a spud, but always bobs up and kick a couple of goals because we lack good medium defenders.

It's Brown and Richo not lids that will be the big scorers on the night. With a underman backline due to injuries richo would kick 8.17 :cool:

Deledio: who is going to play on him