Deleted

Moran has shown a lot as a KPF & in the ruck. His athleticism, especially given his height is simply awesome. However, according to the needs of the club, he would probably be most useful as a KPB, so they are trying him in that role. And although I think he has shown more in limited exposure in others positions, there is something appealing about a giant freak shutting down players with extraordinary athletic qualities, and providing a link man role where possible. NAB challenge is for experimentation, so let's not take such a small sample and prematurely jump to conclusions, especially given Moran is such a project player.

Also re:Established players thread.

Moran's ceiling is much higher than most, give him time. Sure he might be a big bust, but that Carlton game at the very least has shown that he is worth persisting with.

I think those calling for a "cease fire" on Moran are misunderstanding the criticism being levelled at him. It's not that he's not got the tools to be a good player, it's that his position is not that of FB.

To use a very much reaching example, consider Burton. Even at his peak, I wouldn't play Burton at FB. Sure, he's tall enough, athletic enough, good in the air, but he's not going to stick to his man, is going to get lost in tight passages of play, and is going to have his athleticism wasted in the position.

Moran is not a FB. He needs to be in a position where A) he can use his tools to his advantage, namely his height and athleticism, and B) his weaknesses are not a disadvantage to the team. Loose man in defence, winger, tall foward, even third tall defender are positions he can play and I wager play well in time. Full back? Not so much.

I think the real issue here is not wether Moran is a FB or not, his position will be sort out in time, but rather we have no back up for Rutten.

Stevens can god with the more leading orientated CHF's if Bocky is out, but if Truck goes down in the regular season we'd be foreced to send Bock back to FB, where he isn't as comfortable and we loose his run and then move Stevo to CHF where he'll loose a lot of one on ones and not be able to use his 3rd man up ball reading.

We need to look at developing a youngster.

Moran was the first point of call because of his size and athletisism.

Moran better matchup then Stevens?
No way.
Stevens would be tossed around like a rag doll against Roughy, who looks like a gorilla at the moment, he's developed hs frame even more and is out of Stevo's weight division.

Stevens has the brain to go with him, but my point was about physical match ups, in which case Moran is out only back up 'truck'.

Stevens would be tossed around like a rag doll against Roughy, who looks like a gorilla at the moment, he's developed hs frame even more and is out of Stevo's weight division.

Stevens has the brain to go with him, but my point was about physical match ups, in which case Moran is out only back up 'truck'.
I see what you mean, but I personally think that Stevens athletism will be better then Morans tall figure.
I know people think Moran is fast and everything, but he doesnt have the skill to become a backman as yet, as for Stevens, he does.
I think putting Moran on Roughy for a quarter will be good to see how he goes, even though it may be a challenge for him.

I see what you mean, but I personally think that Stevens athletism will be better then Morans tall figure.
I know people think Moran is fast and everything, but he doesnt have the skill to become a backman as yet, as for Stevens, he does.
I think putting Moran on Roughy for a quarter will be good to see how he goes, even though it may be a challenge for him.
Stevo is about as athletic as me after a night on the piss. No his strength, it is Morans however.

Im in no way saying Moran would be able to hold off Roughy, hell, he'd probably conceed a good 4 goal quarter from standing in the wrong positions. But we're not at the stage where we'll be playing for a home Preliminary final.

I think Moran should go back to the SANFL for a lot of this year and learn how to play defense, but we have to develope a Truck back up.

Stevo is about as athletic as me after a night on the piss. No his strength, it is Morans however.

Im in no way saying Moran would be able to hold off Roughy, hell, he'd probably conceed a good 4 goal quarter from standing in the wrong positions. But we're not at the stage where we'll be playing for a home Preliminary final.

I think Moran should go back to the SANFL for a lot of this year and learn how to play defense, but we have to develope a Truck back up.

Agreed. At the moment we don't really have a "genuine" FB replacement. They're all either 3rd talls or they prefer other positions. I reckon we should try Sellar/Hentschell or even Gill at FB. Gill has the athleticism and discipline to play FB i reckon. Stevo can then play CHF, Tippett FF, Walker FP. Hentschell as 3rd tall down back or if thats not working, you can always swap and change between Stevens, Gill and Hentschell. I think Moran should be either a ruckman or a forward. Can't really see him doing well down back as he hasn't really got great footy smarts at this stage and doesn't really have the discipline. He plays very loose- he prefers to be running around and not given much instructions IMO.

I think those calling for a "cease fire" on Moran are misunderstanding the criticism being levelled at him. It's not that he's not got the tools to be a good player, it's that his position is not that of FB.

To use a very much reaching example, consider Burton. Even at his peak, I wouldn't play Burton at FB. Sure, he's tall enough, athletic enough, good in the air, but he's not going to stick to his man, is going to get lost in tight passages of play, and is going to have his athleticism wasted in the position.

Moran is not a FB. He needs to be in a position where A) he can use his tools to his advantage, namely his height and athleticism, and B) his weaknesses are not a disadvantage to the team. Loose man in defence, winger, tall foward, even third tall defender are positions he can play and I wager play well in time. Full back? Not so much.

Can't agree with you Commander. Dustin Fletcher is tall, quick, athletic, agile, about 7cm taller than Trusk and also lighter- not a gorilla. Look at Matthew Scarlett, again, taller than Rutten, but 6kg lighter also. Perhaps FB is not the best position for Moran in the long term, but at the moment, basically, it is to early to tell. Given his size and speed, it's a worthwhile experiment giving him a run on the last line of defence IMO.

What ground is the game being played at?

Does anyone have an address?

Edit ~ Is it?

Trenaman Crescent
Berri, SA, 5343

If you can find the Berri Resort Hotel -- which sits right across the road from the river -- you will find Berri Oval right behind it. The gate on that side of the ground sits behind the grandstand.

Trenaman Crescent runs that way but doesn't lead straight into it. The easiest way to get in is from Riverview Drive, with runs in front of the hotel, then turn onto Ahem St -- 'scuse me -- and there is a side street that leads up to that exact gate called Wade St.

Also re:Established players thread.

Moran's ceiling is much higher than most, give him time. Sure he might be a big bust, but that Carlton game at the very least has shown that he is worth persisting with.

you have a point, he has potentially a high ceiling.

it is worth remembering that is not exactly a virgin prospect. after all, he's already been given up on by one club.

personally i think he flatters to deceive, but he does have talent and I guess that should earn him a little time.

Can't agree with you Commander. Dustin Fletcher is tall, quick, athletic, agile, about 7cm taller than Trusk and also lighter- not a gorilla. Look at Matthew Scarlett, again, taller than Rutten, but 6kg lighter also. Perhaps FB is not the best position for Moran in the long term, but at the moment, basically, it is to early to tell. Given his size and speed, it's a worthwhile experiment giving him a run on the last line of defence IMO.

he has size and speed, but also an aversion to manning up, disciplined positioning and physical contact.

size and speed isn't everything for a key defender.

maybe he will make it as defender, but equally he's traits so far don't seem applicable to the task. he's also probably of most use to us as a disciplined defender.

he has size and speed, but also an aversion to manning up, disciplined positioning and physical contact.

size and speed isn't everything for a key defender.

maybe he will make it as defender, but equally he's traits so far don't seem applicable to the task. he's also probably of most use to us as a disciplined defender.

Our whole TEAM has an aversion to manning up, Moran isn't alone there! ;)

Well as far as I can tell, we have two more trial games before the season starts. So here is what I'd like to see us do:
Game V Hawks:
Rest:
Doughty, Shirley, Bock, McLeod, Edwards, Walker (do we really need to see how they play or flog them before the season starts)

Give extended gametime to:
Petrenko (in defence), Moss (why isn't he playing given Martin is?) SMack (up forward), Dangerfield (obviously), Sloane, Cook, Jacky, Schmidt

Positions:

Moran on Roughhead (hey you have to learn how to play in defence, so might as well do it in trial games.)
Hentschell in defence (Can he play there now? - Lets find out before the season starts)
Stevens in defence (to help cover for Moran and Trent)
Petrenko in defence (playing the McLeod role)
Moss on Back flank.
Jacky and Cook as crumbing forwards
Tippett at full forward
SMack in FP
Sellar at CHF (all game - he needs time to find his spot)
Gill to play half game time as roaming forward

I would then use the game Vs Sydney to put our team back together properly. (i.e. bring in the experienced guys - but rest Goodwin). I just don't see the point of playing all of your experienced blokes in a game which means nothing, when we can better use the time to experiment with our young guys and positions.
It is a long season, why not use this time to rest up a few of our blokes?

Both Fletcher and Scarlett are excellent at sticking to a man - and equipped with enough knowledge to know when they are safe to run off their man (Scarlett in particular). Moran hasn't shown the faintest glimmer of this. Certainly I encourage them testing him out to see what happens but so far the test has come up negative in that regard.

isn't that a contradiction in terms?

No.

If you can find the Berri Resort Hotel -- which sits right across the road from the river -- you will find Berri Oval right behind it. The gate on that side of the ground sits behind the grandstand.

Trenaman Crescent runs that way but doesn't lead straight into it. The easiest way to get in is from Riverview Drive, with runs in front of the hotel, then turn onto Ahem St -- 'scuse me -- and there is a side street that leads up to that exact gate called Wade St.

That would be Ahern St:)
Not sure if the entrance via grandstand will be open. On big days the main entrance would be via Trenamen Cr where there is acres of parking available on the soccer fields alongside the oval.

Yeah and only 5~ years ago Moran had never played Aussie Rules before. He's a pretty quick learner. Also, very few AFL FBs play that position prior to being drafted, it is a learnt position. And considering Moran's success at FF, I don't think its beyond the realm of possibility that he'll learn FB. What you're doing is drawing on a very small sample size and presuming that he won't be able to learn the close checking required of a KPB. You are misunderstanding those defending Moran in the role. I'm not saying he's shown much if anything in the specific role at FB, I'm just saying its not beyond the realm of possibility and if it works out, he'll be a huge asset to the team and potentially create serious headaches for the opposition forwardline. I would even admit that its an unlikely proposition, but the pay ff would be huge. It's the NAB Cup, experiment. This is how elite players are found.

Also, Burton was a messy, messy example. Not tall enough or the right body type for FB. But that's just me being pedantic.

Yeah alright I agree with you.
And that suggestment about Moran going to the SANFL to play back sounds great too.

Why would you send him back to the SANFL to learn defence? Give the man a real education. That would probably be retrogressive to his development if anything. He wouldn't have to work as hard to stick to his opponent. You are guys are once bitten, twice shy.

Deleted