delist Russell now!

I thought JR did show "some" signs last night, but that turnover late in the 3rd quarter will stick in our minds for a while.

Perhaps what Ratts could do is drop him back to the Ants, and advise David Teague to play him in a certain position for a while. For instance, play him as a lead up HF, like he did against Collingwood last year. Get him some confidence in that position, and then should his form warrant it, bring him back into the team later in the year, for one last crack at making it as an AFL footballer.

Sadly, for him though, I reckon the horse has well and truly bolted.

I thought JR did show "some" signs last night, but that turnover late in the 3rd quarter will stick in our minds for a while.

Perhaps what Ratts could do is drop him back to the Ants, and advise David Teague to play him in a certain position for a while. For instance, play him as a lead up HF, like he did against Collingwood last year. Get him some confidence in that position, and then should his form warrant it, bring him back into the team later in the year, for one last crack at making it as an AFL footballer.

Sadly, for him though, I reckon the horse has well and truly bolted.

I think that's something he really needs, it seemed as though he shit himself every time he had the ball.

It's true, Russell can't play, has all the physical characteristics that you could hope for but no football brain, is always lost, has no defencive skills and no special attributes. He will never make it because he doesnt understand the gameand lacks hardness at the ball. Doesn't know how to go about getting the ball and when he does he makes poor decisions. Too much of a passenger.
Pinical moment was when he stopped chasing his opponent V essendon and his opponent kept running and got the ball and goaled. That summed it all up.

Pity he didn't go to Hawthorn because he wouldnt even get close to gettin a game for them.

Yes get rid of the hack including Carrazzo, Holla and a few others. Time for excuses is long gone.

You're kidding right?
He's been one of our best in the opening 3 weeks of the season. :rolleyes:

HBF card this moron... he has waited three weeks for Thornton to play a semi decent game and now he is on his high horse. He had pot hole allegations for the last two weeks and now when he plays a semi decent game out come the knifes...

then again he is from sydney what would he know about football? also claims he didnt watch the game last night... must be grounded... thank god school holidays are over soon!

FFS, do you actually think Thornton's 9 possession game was 'semi good?' You are dillusional mate

I just hope he gets injured and can't play and then everyone can see how his lack of defensive pressure, poor attitude, poor kicking, poor decision making etc costs us many goals. THORNTON IS A KEY REASON WHY WE CONCEDE 100+ POINTS PER MATCH

FFS, do you actually think Thornton's 9 possession game was 'semi good?' You are dillusional mate

I just hope he gets injured and can't play and then everyone can see how his lack of defensive pressure, poor attitude, poor kicking, poor decision making etc costs us many goals. THORNTON IS A KEY REASON WHY WE CONCEDE 100+ POINTS PER MATCH

yeah I mean the 14 plus goal kickers that Essendon had were all Thornton's men... get a grip! Sydney huh? explains a lot on your AFL knowledge... let me guess you hate the number 32? or is it just the combination of the letters T,H,O,R,N,T,O,N that has you so worked up?:rolleyes:

Your judging a defender based on possessions? :eek:

No ____ing idea...

I was born and raised in Melbourne and played for centrals under 18s. I live in Sydney for work reasons. Thornton is part of backline that consistently concedes 100+ points per match. I think you must be gay and secretly like the guy - why don't you ask him out - you will find he is a 'loose' defender

yep... definitely a school kid... thank god school holidays are over soon! :rolleyes:

I can clearly see what Carlton's problem is now... thanks for pointing it out deadshit...

it is our one man backline!!! Next week rats needs to get some men down there to help thornton... cause I mean according to this brain dead moron we are running with a one man backline!... How could we be missing this?! :rolleyes:

I dont blame J Russell for last night but he had a shooooocker, imo, this is a game we should have won the reasons why we didnt are many, the first umpiring decission of the night, stevo's first couple of touches, easy to say these are just little things at the start of a game, but they have us on the backfoot playing catch up, stevo's game was great so dont think i am bagging him just his first couple of possies, and he did run out of legs, as they all did, so we are not fit enough, there are so many possatives from this game that bye the time i got back to my car to drive home from the game my anger had settled and i had started thinking about next week and the real possability it could be the week that see's us end this horrible period, and even though we lost, it was a fantastic game, no bloody flooding, two teams attacking each other and playing footy the way i want to see it played. Our time is comming

The footage of Russell 'pulling out' of the contest where Lloyd marked on the lead 50m straight in front, 2nd quarter (?), should be shown, and made an example of what is not acceptable at the football club. Weak, selfish acts such as this belong nowhere in a successful football team.

I've hated him since the start of last year and never seen him play a good game or even a game that shows promise. I wanted him to make the grade since I played football against him at under 17's for Sturt, but his time is up, Bentick's time is now!

hate to make my first post a negative one, but i agree with the general consensus here. that turnover late in the third quarter was unforgiveable. good league footballers just dont make those mistakes often. Russell needs to go bak to the Ants for 4-6 weeks and earn his spot back in the side. Nothing Russell has done to date earns him a spot in our 22 every week. Cannot believe he would play ahead of Setanta, who actually shows promise and bleeds for the Navy Blue.

Agree. And looking forward to your second post in another 2 and a half years.;)

Another player we should have traded while he had some currency.
I remember when there was talk about him wanting to go to Port.

What's he worth now at the trade table? Nothing.

We need to do a hawthorn and take a risk or two while trading.
Let's no longer be afraid of trading players that have some value if we get well compensated

delist Russell now!