Delist

When Mullett was subbed off, my mate told me and I had to remind myself if I had ever seen him playing. I couldn't. She then asked (before he'd kicked a goal) "Has Petrie had a kick yet?" I couldn't recall one. (The scoreboard showed he'd had 2 soon after when he lined up for the goal). I recall Black's efforts only because they seemed so bad. Majak was OK compared to these players.

Having said that, would I delist him? Probably not. I've seen more in Brown than I have in Daw and would not select Majak ahead of Big Ben at this stage. The forward line this year has been bollocks. Only LT gets a pass and even that's down from last year. So to single Daw out would be tough. But if Petrie has a 2015 like 2014 I'd retire him off. If Black has a 2015 like 2014 I'd test the market for him. And if Daw has a 2015 like 2014 I'd delist him. Sounds like a rebuild to me.

Scored 6 goals in his 3rd afl game. Has a vertical leap that out hustles most Ruckman. And so far brown has shown a lot more? Im sorry I disagree. As much more 'footy sense' brown might have. He hasn't done anything that much more in my opinion to make him a stand out and selection certainty each week

Issue is he is a ruckman that should be rested in the forward line, not a forward giving Goldy a chop out.

Your right, he should be kept for at least another year as a backup ruckman.

I think Majak may not have enough upstairs to make it at the top level to be honest.

I don't buy this "hasn't had an AFL upbringing" crap. Plenty of players have basketball or similar backgrounds and can quickly adjust to footy or other sports if they are talented enough. Watching Majak sometimes it looks like he has never seen an oval before, like he is completely lost on what is going on around him and it is quite bizarre.

I wouldn't delist, and he is not the reason we lost. I would keep for a couple of years as depth as our fwd line is shithouse, but I don't expect him to be that player we hoped for unfortunately. When Brown is fit I would replace Majak immediately.

I heard Brad Scott say on either TV or radio that Brown is ahead of Majak in the pecking order so I am sure he will come straight back in when he is fit.

The only KPF who put in better than an average performance last night was Hawkins. Black show a couple of signs. Petrie was nullified almost completely. Daw took a couple of nice marks, some good ruck work, and a handful of terrible blues. Kersten was the worst of the lot. I would still swap Black and Daw for Wood and Brown. It's called dropping, not delisting.

Like this swap too. Wood should get a birth although Wild Scotts has said during the week that he needs to work on his defensive game. These words really shit me because its not as if Boomer is a defensive beast either, but Woods attacking game is really good. He left foot kicking is his best attribute and we really need someone more than ever who can hit an inside 50 target, its one of the things that has really let us down this year. As for Brown I would like to see him back asap.

Went through the season tonight and done the win/loss record for when Maj is in. It seemed to me that we always seem to lose when he plays, however thats incorrect. Our win loss record is better when he doesnt play but not by much.

Games he played which is 8.

4 wins/4 losses Wins against Freo/Bris/WC/Rich
Losses against GC/Geelong/Carl/Geelong

Games he didnt play.

6 wins/ 4 losses Wins against WB/Port/Syd/Melb/Haw/Stk
Losses against Ess/Coll/Adel/Bris

Doesn't categorically tell you whether he demands the ball too much down there but I have no doubt it tells a story. WE have certainly beaten better quality teams we he hasnt played.

Probably played 50-100 odd junior games (?) (my son played his 50th a few weeks back in the U11's) he started well behind in knowledge of the game. Shows more promise than what we have coming through for the role he needs to play: RUCK/forward.
Needs games into him and good development coaches.

Went through the season tonight and done the win/loss record for when Maj is in. It seemed to me that we always seem to lose when he plays, however thats incorrect. Our win loss record is better when he doesnt play but not by much.

Games he played which is 8.

4 wins/4 losses Wins against Freo/Bris/WC/Rich
Losses against GC/Geelong/Carl/Geelong

Games he didnt play.

6 wins/ 4 losses Wins against WB/Port/Syd/Melb/Haw/Stk
Losses against Ess/Coll/Adel/Bris

Doesn't categorically tell you whether he demands the ball too much down there but I have no doubt it tells a story. WE have certainly beaten better quality teams we he hasnt played.

Which games was he subbed off in Richmond, any others?

Trade/delist.......Majak, Jacobs, Anthony, Adams, Tarrant, Firitto, McMahon, Bastinac, B.Scott......there is just a few.......we need a massive cleanout unfortunately:(we wont win a flag with those types:thumbsdown:

so the fish does not rot at the head first, besides Scott, all you want to change is a few kids and a few old warriors. and you call that a cleanout?

I have been of the opinion we will not win a flag whilst Drew (and I love Drew, great clubman blah blah blah) is at the club, he can not be relied on to be a match winner when needed, except against Richmond or in milestone games.

so the fish does not rot at the head first, besides Scott, all you want to change is a few kids and a few old warriors. and you call that a cleanout?

I have been of the opinion we will not win a flag whilst Drew (and I love Drew, great clubman blah blah blah) is at the club, he can not be relied on to be a match winner when needed, except against Richmond or in milestone games.

Yeah, but every time he plays well in other games you mustn't see it - i.e. hawthorn a few weeks back ..

What a stupid thread
He was far from our worst tonight

I think this is the biggest problem... That when majak plays, this is the best that can be said about him.
IMO he's not suited to a deep KPF role, there's too much improvement needed for a guy who has been on the list 5-6 years. Browny fills this role in our side much better due to his ability to contest, plus plays differently to Drew and therefore adds a little. I think he could make it as a full time ruck playing a kick behind like McEvoy. But probably not at North, due to Goldy.

After watching the replay, in the 2nd Q, that great judge Luke Darcy stated " that Maj's front two feet are facing forward ", apparently, this is his main problem when failing to take a contested mark, thanks for that darce :rolleyes:
That's pretty close to a racist statement from Darcy. ;)
But I am sure it's more to do with him being an idiot, of course.

Probably played 50-100 odd junior games (?) (my son played his 50th a few weeks back in the U11's) he started well behind in knowledge of the game. Shows more promise than what we have coming through for the role he needs to play: RUCK/forward.
Needs games into him and good development coaches.
We know he is behind in the knowledge of the game. The question is, whether it's possible to bridge that gap or are we wasting our time.

Until Daw is able to develop better game sense, he needs to either be in the ruck or chained to a goal post. He gets so painfully lost when he's out of the 50. In my mind he's still a project player, he has made some improvements playing proper games, but still just has some terrible weaknesses. I wouldn't think he is on a huge deal of money, and he does have a lot of upside. If he can get an actual preseason under his belt I'm willing to bet both his functional strength and game sense would improve. That said I wouldn't be putting a huge amount of money on it, there is still the chance he may never 'come good', but it's too early to tell still IMO.

On a side note I think Drew has been hard done by. He's way down on what he's been producing the last couple of years, but I dont think it has much to do with him declining. While some games have been genuinely bad, he generally puts in a lot of hard yards still. Unfortunately he constantly ends up against 2 defenders (especially when Daw plays), ends up having other forwards jump for the same ball (Daw once again, but black certainly hasn't done him many favours), and has had to endure some depressingly shit delivery. Our mids RARELY put the ball to advantage of a forward into space. IMO he gives more defensively than any of our other key forwards (and patch ffs), he almost always chases and attempts to smother, as well as laying the odd tackle. The one thing that genuinely worries me about him though, is that he doesn't often go on a lead, he seems almost Clokishly happy to engage in a wrestle, which rarely results in anything good.

This.
His ruck work was very good.
And whilst he did get beaten when forward at least he ran to the right spots and provided a target.

Just needs to work on body work positioning and timing when jumping for a mark

He runs straight into Petrie's space which is fine but he then stops instead of running through and creating space behind him and his man drops back and makes it a 2 on 1 against Drew.
If he/forward coaches can fix this he will at least create space and stop the 2 on 1's if he is not the main option.

We know he is behind in the knowledge of the game. The question is, whether it's possible to bridge that gap or are we wasting our time.

Absolutely he can with good development coaches and game time in the 1's, my bigger concern is our development of players (not just maj). I think he is definitely ahead of Currie and Brown at the moment for the role we need him to play.

They play different roles so the comparison isn't really a fair one.

Plus Brown has shown more than Maj, been one of the few shining lights of the season when looking at the future.

He runs straight into Petrie's space which is fine but he then stops instead of running through and creating space behind him and his man drops back and makes it a 2 on 1 against Drew.
If he/forward coaches can fix this he will at least create space and stop the 2 on 1's if he is not the main option.

If only this was all he lacked in football nous, all he seems to know is when we kick a behind he needs to stand the mark and sometimes others players even need to remind of this..

Watching Maj at VFL, he is far more comfortable with his place in the team and his role in the game. Hence he is a far better player at that level than AFL. Now of course you'd expect that to be the case anyway, but the difference is not so much the drop in quality from AFL to VFL, but that Maj is clearly worrying less about what he should be doing, and just doing it. Confidence at AFL level appears to be a massive issue for him at the moment.

Where the drop in quality feeds into his confidence is that at VFL, he doesn't confront many defenders capable of out-bodying him or out smarting him. He can pretty much do as he likes and they have trouble stopping. He's the big dog and he knows it. And while he is far from consistent even at that level, he plays like it. And that excites me - more than any other young KPF on our list, he shows that kind of alpha male attitude that real power forwards are made of. Plus he can run, jump, mark and kick - he just can't quite put it all together.

The solution, I reckon, starts back in the weights room. He just came off a pre-season where he had to build his fitness back up after knee surgery. He really needs to put time into building up the strength in his legs, hips and core. My theory is that if he builds his core, he will be able to physically match it with AFL level defenders, which will build his confidence and make him believe he ca play AFL, which in turn will see him play with self-belief and intent rather than wafting around aimlessly.

So I'd give him another year on the glass half full theory. Well, he's contracted for another year anyway. But if he ends 2015 doing what he is doing now...yeah, nah.

Your right, he should be kept for at least another year as a backup ruckman.

I heard Brad Scott say on either TV or radio that Brown is ahead of Majak in the pecking order so I am sure he will come straight back in when he is fit.

Like this swap too. Wood should get a birth although Wild Scotts has said during the week that he needs to work on his defensive game. These words really shit me because its not as if Boomer is a defensive beast either, but Woods attacking game is really good. He left foot kicking is his best attribute and we really need someone more than ever who can hit an inside 50 target, its one of the things that has really let us down this year. As for Brown I would like to see him back asap.

I think I want to cry! Brown is one of the most uncoordinated, clumsy looking types i've ever seen play for us. (that includes Spider Burton) We're truly f***** if this is the case.

Watching Maj at VFL, he is far more comfortable with his place in the team and his role in the game. Hence he is a far better player at that level than AFL. Now of course you'd expect that to be the case anyway, but the difference is not so much the drop in quality from AFL to VFL, but that Maj is clearly worrying less about what he should be doing, and just doing it. Confidence at AFL level appears to be a massive issue for him at the moment.

Where the drop in quality feeds into his confidence is that at VFL, he doesn't confront many defenders capable of out-bodying him or out smarting him. He can pretty much do as he likes and they have trouble stopping. He's the big dog and he knows it. And while he is far from consistent even at that level, he plays like it. And that excites me - more than any other young KPF on our list, he shows that kind of alpha male attitude that real power forwards are made of. Plus he can run, jump, mark and kick - he just can't quite put it all together.

The solution, I reckon, starts back in the weights room. He just came off a pre-season where he had to build his fitness back up after knee surgery. He really needs to put time into building up the strength in his legs, hips and core. My theory is that if he builds his core, he will be able to physically match it with AFL level defenders, which will build his confidence and make him believe he ca play AFL, which in turn will see him play with self-belief and intent rather than wafting around aimlessly.

So I'd give him another year on the glass half full theory. Well, he's contracted for another year anyway. But if he ends 2015 doing what he is doing now...yeah, nah.

I agree with all above and also believe Daw and Drew (unless we move Drew to defence) can not work in the same team, I would love to see Daw parked in the goal square and see the damage he could do, he just gets totally lost playing as a "2014 AFL Forward" and yet he maybe the perfect forward to force other clubs to have to leave their full back in the goal square. Wow imagine that North dictating to other clubs how they have to play?

Here's a bit of a left wing idea. We lack a "monster" KPF so why not create one, bulk up daw to the Hawkins/Cloke level, 108Kg+ DAW-kins. Park him in the goal square. Lovely.

Delist