Autopsy Delisting & Retirement

• Thread starter Thread starter TJTIGER

Correct me if i'm wrong, but do we have a bit of $$$ lying around now?
These are only guesses, as I have no clue about current contracts but:

McGuane - $350k
Nahas - $350k
Derickx - $200k
White - $350k
Tuck - $300k

That's roughly $1.5 million spare in the salary. Hampson is on about $250k, Pettard will be offered a new contract on about $300k... That still leaves about $1 million in the salary cap.

If that's correct, perhaps we're getting ready to make a move for a high-profile F.A next year.

i reckon ur abit off the mark there

mcguane is prob correct but this is what i think for the others

Nahas - 200k
Derickx - $100k (if hes lucky)
White - $250k
Tuck - $250k

dont over estimate what players would be getting

i reckon ur abit off the mark there

mcguane is prob correct but this is what i think for the others

Nahas - 200k
Derickx - $100k (if hes lucky)
White - $250k
Tuck - $250k

dont over estimate what players would be getting

Also Petterd would get about what Derickx was on. Minimal amount.

Or 2 draft picks, 2 passes, and 4 rookie picks. You then name Pettard as a nominated rookie.
That's not an option because we only have 34 players on our list. We technically have 6 picks and will pass the last 2

Just thinking it might be in McGuane's interest to take a rookie contract with the Tigers than go to Lions if available.

If regarded as a value depth third tall forward type he might be better sticking with the Tigers if he can get veteran status because that means he may have more opportunity for more remuneration through the veteran discount if available for rookies as well as team success if Tigers become contenders in maybe 3 years while the Lions are realistically about a decade away..

Might be worth a cheap list wise back up option in the forward line going forward for RFC if, and only if, McGuane can attract veteran status. Eg. 150K or less minus 100K for veteran =50K for RFC's cap or less

RFC might be willing to pay McGuane more in 3 years than the Lions due to any veteran status

Sorry Mr Magic , But what possible benefit would richmond have in offering Luke McGuane a rookie contract
There comes a time where you just need to move on from certain players and try your youth and give them the chance to establish themselfs
We have sufficiant depth for Luke mcGuans position now specially with rof Shaun Hampson who will take up the 3rd tall position with Maric

Griffiths,Edwards,Elton,Astbury,McBean will all be needing to be played and groomed to play Afl - At the moment having Backups is great but you also need to play your young backups at some point to see what they can offer

Just thinking it might be in McGuane's interest to take a rookie contract with the Tigers than go to Lions if available.

If regarded as a value depth third tall forward type he might be better sticking with the Tigers if he can get veteran status because that means he may have more opportunity for more remuneration through the veteran discount if available for rookies as well as team success if Tigers become contenders in maybe 3 years while the Lions are realistically about a decade away..

Might be worth a cheap list wise back up option in the forward line going forward for RFC if, and only if, McGuane can attract veteran status. Eg. 150K or less minus 100K for veteran =50K for RFC's cap or less

RFC might be willing to pay McGuane more in 3 years than the Lions due to any veteran status

This is ridiculous! In McGuane's interest? It was in his interest to sign a contract when he had the chance on the senior list. He wants to go home to Qld.

If McGuane wanted to go home why didn't he do it years ago??o_O

By the way it might take 8 rounds in of the 2014 season but the rucks will not be able to play 3rd tall, just too big IMO!!

It would be handy if our McGoo provided reserve backup for JR our main 3rd tall

BTW all those guys you list are too big, not agile and mobile enough, for 3rd tall, they will either play KPP or on the half forward line IMO or in a ruck/forward pocket as a role player but not 3rd tall. Edwards is too small for 3rd tall.

Just thinking we still recruit the kids but McGoo is only 26 and Edwards will be pensioned off at somepoint. Even if we pick up the likes of Acres at third tall he may still play a lot in the middle and or backline depending on our deficiencies at the time, and as we get better to help met the cap we may need the likes of McGoo like Brisbanes Pike if we can get veteran status for a cheap backup player:cool:

If McGuane wanted to go home why didn't he do it years ago??o_O

By the way it might take 8 rounds in of the 2014 season but the rucks will not be able to play 3rd tall, just too big IMO!!

It would be handy if our McGoo provided reserve backup for JR our main 3rd tall

BTW all those guys you list are too big, not agile and mobile enough, for 3rd tall, they will either play KPP or on the half forward line IMO or in a ruck/forward pocket as a role player but not 3rd tall. Edwards is too small for 3rd tall.

Just thinking we still recruit the kids but McGoo is only 26 and Edwards will be pensioned off at somepoint. Even if we pick up the likes of Acres at third tall he may still play a lot in the middle and or backline depending on our deficiencies at the time, and as we get better to help met the cap we may need the likes of McGoo like Brisbanes Pike if we can get veteran status for a cheap backup player:cool:

Um have you ever thought he might actually finally be homesick or just plain changed his mind about living in Melbourne? Life isn't black and white mate. Also, can you show me this list of big guys you talk about as I didn't say anything about them. My point being, you said it was in his best interest to stay on the RL when he had a chance to stay on the 'senior' list and not have to worry about being upgraded to play.

Homesick arguement at his age IMO is BS , he is either going back from a lack of opportunity in Melbourne maybe through his own fault or sees better opportunities in Brisbane.

BTW I am interested in RFC's interests McGuanes concerns are up to him.

Unless Brisbane are overpaying him I can't see the sense in him for him moving.

It sounds to me he stuck it out in Melbourne because beforehand, RFC was overpaying him:( Hopefully lesson learned!:cool:

Sorry Mr Magic , But what possible benefit would richmond have in offering Luke McGuane a rookie contract
There comes a time where you just need to move on from certain players and try your youth and give them the chance to establish themselfs
We have sufficiant depth for Luke mcGuans position now specially with rof Shaun Hampson who will take up the 3rd tall position with Maric

Griffiths,Edwards,Elton,Astbury,McBean will all be needing to be played and groomed to play Afl - At the moment having Backups is great but you also need to play your young backups at some point to see what they can offer

only as a cheap backup play when we get really good via veteran status. If you can't get a veteran status for a rookie it would not work.

Actually we only have 2 third tall forwards in the club JR and McGuane IMO.

sounds like McGuane passed his use by date. Funny thing is only now as a backup in the forward line has he ever been usefulo_O

What I do not get is how can we say McGuane was delisted??

McGuane IMO was not delisted. Effectively he left to go to Brisbane via a tug boat.

If a guy refuses a contract he is not delisted he has abandoned the club!:thumbsdown:

Yeah this bit confuses me too. Could Buddy or Thomas have done the same thing too if they wanted and cost their old clubs a compo pick?

Brisbane will be much better with Mcguane, could possibly beat us.

Funny thing was they didn't list the contract length that I could see, unless it's one of those………it's right in front of your face moments...o_O

I personally believe that Brisbane will wait and see how the draft pans out,If there is a kid available with their last selection they rate they will take the kid and McGoof will be Rookie listed as MA - If nothing available that takes their fancy with the last selection he will be taken with the last pick
smart move as no other clubs are interested in him

Funny thing was they didn't list the contract length that I could see, unless it's one of those………it's right in front of your face moments...o_O

Yeah I thought that was weird too, why would they tell us stakers contract length but not mcguanes?

Homesick arguement at his age IMO is BS , he is either going back from a lack of opportunity in Melbourne maybe through his own fault or sees better opportunities in Brisbane.

BTW I am interested in RFC's interests McGuanes concerns are up to him.

Unless Brisbane are overpaying him I can't see the sense in him for him moving.

It sounds to me he stuck it out in Melbourne because beforehand, RFC was overpaying him:( Hopefully lesson learned!:cool:

Oh please, now your expert on the human psych?

Whatever......:eek:

McGuane wasn't a wanted player and we waited right till the death to announce that so he could get to Brissy. He's managed to get on their senior list for at least a year and because he's a quality bloke he'll extend that .

With Edwards , Griff , Elton and now Hampson in the list McGuane was excess to our needs. Unfortunately Brisbane didn't want to grab him as a free agent because they were too busy trying not to get r*ped too hard in trade week and didn't know what players could be coming to the club in those trades . It turned out not many.

Mcgaune did try and get back to Bris years ago but we were paying him too much and Brisbane were suss on paying that much as he was still contracted to us and they only wanted to pay a 3rd round pick in a compromised draft and we needed him for depth which worked out for us over the last 2 years.

Don't you guys read the papers ?

Not sure is this the right thread but what about Richie bling I think he would be a decent pick up now 27 reaching footy maturity and wouldn't demand too much I'm guessing being lol 3rd club. If he doesn't do well in the 1s he should do well in our vfl side..?

Go Tigs