Delistings announced

Glad Hislop got delisted as well.

It's amazing how this time last year or the year previous some of us would have accepted the crap that some of these players were dishing out but now with Hardwick in the frame if they are not quality we are wanting them out and not looking bad. :thumbsu:

Yep, just another sensible step from a football club actually delivering what they said they would.... Doing the groundwork that Wallace and co. weren't prepared to do...:thumbsu:

and who else do you think will be part of that final cull tugga.

i reckon as many as 10 from the list proper.
All clubs cull every year, but I do believe that this year will be the final cull that gives us enough depth to challenge.
Sorry I didn't word it well enough (not being facetious, I obviously didn't).

Not here to debate this old chestnut.

I'm here to celebrate Jordie's career. Without his precision, long range shots on goal and calmness under pressure, Melbourne would only have one up and coming young gun superstar, not two. :thumbsu:

haha ur club can also be happy that they had TWO opportunities to pick dusty! what a shame. hows the dynasty coming along?

and who else do you think will be part of that final cull tugga.

i reckon as many as 10 from the list proper.

If you think 10 will go next year you're delusional :cool:
I'd say Tuck and Nahas are a good chance to go and that's about it. Maybe White if he has a quiet year. Yeah we all know you don't like Mcguane. I reckon he's alot more important than Moore to our club

If you think 10 will go next year you're delusional :cool:
I'd say Tuck and Nahas are a good chance to go and that's about it. Maybe White if he has a quiet year. Yeah we all know you don't like Mcguane. I reckon he's alot more important than Moore to our club

yep as many as ten.

mcguane - a spud of the highest order. oh i see you mentioned him already.
thursfield - a player whos so highly rated no one else wants him.
connors - everyones love child atm. if he continues to make shocking decisions and butcher the ball on a regular basis next yr he will be in the gun.
graham - one word hack.
jackson - see connors. except hes done it for 7 yrs.
king - another of the try hards who lacks the polish for the role. a puny 70kg tough man its laughable.
nahas - lol that we gave him an extension. how lacking is he.
rance - another poor yr next yr with poor skills lack of smarts and no presence in the air and gonski for me.
tuck - we will see, really has been a part of a long term problem.
white - dud.
i coul;d add a few others who i dont rate and not mentioned the rookies. the above represent ordinariness and even if we make finals i would be looking toi find better than that lot.

yep as many as ten.

connors - everyones love child atm. if he continues to make shocking decisions and butcher the ball on a regular basis next yr he will be in the gun.
graham - one word hack.
king - another of the try hards who lacks the polish for the role. a puny 70kg tough man its laughable.
rance - another poor yr next yr with poor skills lack of smarts and no presence in the air and gonski for me.
white - dud.
i coul;d add a few others who i dont rate and not mentioned the rookies. the above represent ordinariness and even if we make finals i would be looking toi find better than that lot.

3/4 of them are good players. Not going anywhere. Maybe you should pull on a jumper because by the sounds of it you're the best player we're likely to see in our lifetimes :cool:

yep as many as ten.

graham - one word hack.
white - dud.

Them 5 are the player's that should be upgraded on in the next couple of drafts.

McGuane - club seem to rate him highly.

Connors - Is young and has only played less then 30 games too soon to right off but his upside is enormous.

Jackson - Rated by the club, the best run with player we have and his disposal is nowhere near as bad as you think it is.

Graham - Still very young for a #1 Ruckman 23 I think he is from memory, tapered off real fast towards the end of the year just got smashed around too much.

Rance - Is still very young, good size for a KPP of his age time will tell.

Them 5 are the player's that should be upgraded on in the next couple of drafts.

Connors - Is young and has only played less then 30 games too soon to right off but his upside is enormous.

Jackson - Rated by the club, the best run with player we have and his disposal is nowhere near as bad as you think it is.

Graham - Still very young for a #1 Ruckman 23 I think he is from memory, tapered off real fast towards the end of the year just got smashed around too much.

Jacko can be a bit iffy at times but still worth persisting with. I'd keep Thursty too. Santa would have delisted Jamar 3 years ago because he was exactly the type of player he refers to as a dud

next year realisticaly the following could be gone

white.............. really needs a break out year & do a foley disposal must improve.

tuck............ needs to continue like he did this year & gather high disposals and less turnovers

thursfield ........... becoming the dinasour backman at tigerland hopefully next year somebody will want him otherwise gonski

mcguane ............... has to become the general of the backline or offer more up foward to keep his place

king ............. had a reasonable year & hardwick likes him, but turnovers & brainfarts kill us skills are terrible on the fringes

nahas ........... sh!ts me with the way he constantly goes to ground & doesnt offer much with rotations at richmond now for 2 years & doesnt know where the gym is. if he doesnt kick 40 goals he;s no good to us

so the club rate mcguane does that make them automatically right. seems to me we are looking pretty hard for a mcguane replacement anyway. astbury post and grimes would all have his position.

connors - just a statement if he continues to utterly butcher the ball either with poor decisions or poor execution he will have to go. hes no baby either hes a big bodied 22 yr old medium. how much upside is there.

jackson - so after 7 yrs hes nothing more than a run with player and i disagree his kicking at times coupled with his lack of decision making decisivness makes him ordinary.

graham - hes 23 ffs hes so deficient in so many areas it is not funny.

rance - well again he needs to dramatically improve improve in areas that traditionally have little improvement in them. i dont like to mention rance but you cannot just ignore his weaknesses.

we disagree again one thing for sure mcguane jackson graham in particular are a part of an on going problem that we are slowly over coming. and yes these blokes will play some good footy but in the main they will wallow in ordinariness.

so the club rate mcguane does that make them automatically right. seems to me we are looking pretty hard for a mcguane replacement anyway.

Your a funny furker santa. McGuane is easily in our top two (with Moore) Get used to it, he is the toughest bugger on our list bar none, WILL not be de-listed next year

And that is what Dimma and the rest of us want. I find it so funny those who want him (and expect him next year to be de-listed) gone. Go to the RFC site and look at his stats... FFS... as a backman he is up there with the best. His disposal to a team mate might not be the best, but EVERY thing he does as a back is first class.

Leppa would have him one or two on our list... the rest of you should just get over it.

so the club rate mcguane does that make them automatically right. seems to me we are looking pretty hard for a mcguane replacement anyway. astbury post and grimes would all have his position.

connors - just a statement if he continues to utterly butcher the ball either with poor decisions or poor execution he will have to go. hes no baby either hes a big bodied 22 yr old medium. how much upside is there.

jackson - so after 7 yrs hes nothing more than a run with player and i disagree his kicking at times coupled with his lack of decision making decisivness makes him ordinary.

graham - hes 23 ffs hes so deficient in so many areas it is not funny.

rance - well again he needs to dramatically improve improve in areas that traditionally have little improvement in them. i dont like to mention rance but you cannot just ignore his weaknesses.

we disagree again one thing for sure mcguane jackson graham in particular are a part of an on going problem that we are slowly over coming. and yes these blokes will play some good footy but in the main they will wallow in ordinariness.

Exactly THE CLUB rates him and obviously rate him more then you do and I will go with there opinion over yours.

Connors - Doesn't utterly butcher the ball all the time, sure he turns it over sometimes trying to create play but nothing that can't be fixed with a bit more composure and experience.

Jackson - I hope you do realize that a run with player is a Tagger yes? and that is what Jackson is a Tagger, every club has them and every club needs them, I suggest you go over some of his games again because from the games I watched (all of them) he regularly hit targets 40+ meters nowhere near as bad as you have in your mind it is.

Graham - Exactly hes 23, you yourself say Talls need time to come on and they need alot more time then a small, so why right off Graham so early in his career? Jamar just had his best season being a AA ruck, yet he was on the verge of being delisted just last year.

You seriously have to stop being so negative all the time, being so negative all the time doesn't allow you to see the good things these players do on a regular basis, sure they stuff up like all players do but there upside far outweighs there downside.

And just some food for thought for you.

Here is a comparison of Graham vs Jamar at same age

Graham
Ave Disposals 10.7
Ave Marks per game 3.1
Ave Tackles per game 3.4
Ave HITOUTS per game 19.2

Jamar
Ave Disposals per game 4.4
Ave Marks per game 2.3
Ave Tackles per game 1.1
Ave HITOUTS per game 10.2

Quite clear who is the better ruckmen at the same age, don't be so quick to right off a player so early.

lol the only thing that will tell who is right is time . time in the main has proven me right most of the time. unlike the club and unlike your good self.

three main things have held me in good stead over the yrs.
player strengths. player weaknesses. and overall performance.

on jamar if you listen to most it took until age 27 before he had a decent yr rather the exception than the rule dont you think. or would you like we wait till all our players turn 27 before we do some thing about the lack of performance.
besides i dont rate jamar a good player despite one good yr in how many.

lol the only thing that will tell who is right is time . time in the main has proven me right most of the time. unlike the club and unlike your good self.

on jamar if you listen to most it took until age 27 before he had a decent yr rather the exception than the rule dont you think. or would you like we wait till all our players turn 27 before we do some thing about the lack of performance.

I think your missing the point, every person and there dog knows that bigs take longer to hit there straps and especially Rucks, Coaches know this that's why they persist with them through the good and the bad.

Anyway enough arguing about this, as we won't ever see eye to eye on most things, I just get the feeling though that you are playing the negative type all the time so when something happens you can say I told you so.

Just quickly though who do you "rate" as a ruckmen, and what is your time frame in giving them to show there worth?

So let me get this right... you've been calling our players duds for some time, and you've been proven right and that gives you some sense of satisfaction?

You should maybe look for something that you can enjoy. Clearly it's not 'supporting' the Tigers.

Firstly, I'd just like to say that almost everything in this off-season period thus far has been pleasing, with giving Carlton a fair trade when they were in trouble being the one exception, and possibly made up for if Houli comes good.

I know its not in the spirit of the positive times we're in and our hope for the future, but wow did we muck up that 04 draft. Obviously Lids is a star, but you can't really bugger up number 1. Lets look at these players:

1. Lids (128 games) - star and only going to get better, doesn't deserve a mention here.
4. Tambling (108 games) - had one decent season, underperformed badly for where he was taken, traded away for much much less than his original value.
12. Meyer (17 games) - didn't crack the senior side much, never showed anything, traded away for basically nothing.
16. Pattison (59 games) - all heart but never had much talent, traded away for not much.
20. Polo (56 games) - showed something in bursts, but never cemented a spot or looked likely to be a great player.

Thats 4 of our 5 picks inside of the top 20 in that year no longer at the club, and without getting much back. What a shame that in such a low year, where we were supposed to get such talent, we wasted our picks.

Look at Geelong's drafting, particularly in 1999 and 2001, and you see why they had a dynasty. Their smart drafting created an amazing list, and it might be a cliche by now but if we're going to make top 4 in the next few years every pick needs to be gold, especially in these diluted drafts.

Go tiges.

So let me get this right... you've been calling our players duds for some time, and you've been proven right and that gives you some sense of satisfaction?

You should maybe look for something that you can enjoy. Clearly it's not 'supporting' the Tigers.

what you think i dont support them. support is not sticking your head up your arse and pretending the sun shines. you should be able to support and still tell the truth as you see it if you cant then you should maybe look at something else. seeing the warts and all and the crapness and sticking with them well i call that support.

what do you want me to say. i rate them when i dont. sheesh no winning on here.
as for taking satisfaction for being right, piss off its never been what im about i rate our players the same as every other teams players right or wrong. but wheople throw up id trust the club no matter what i throw up good for you but i would rather trust my own judgement its proved to be better than the clubs over the yrs.

all im saying is based on basic principals and not letting one eye go yellow and the other black it aint hard to use a bit of common sense and get most things right. imo we still have another cull to go big deal. we are much better off than we were 12 months ago because i felt three quarters of the list was shit then now its only a quarter.

Not here to debate this old chestnut.

I'm here to celebrate Jordie's career. Without his precision, long range shots on goal and calmness under pressure, Melbourne would only have one up and coming young gun superstar, not two. :thumbsu:
even if jordan had missed that goal you still would have gotten scully and trengove you just would have made sure you lost to the dockers 2 weeks later so jordy reallly did not help u all that much after all :thumbsu:

Firstly, I'd just like to say that almost everything in this off-season period thus far has been pleasing, with giving Carlton a fair trade when they were in trouble being the one exception, and possibly made up for if Houli comes good.

I know its not in the spirit of the positive times we're in and our hope for the future, but wow did we muck up that 04 draft. Obviously Lids is a star, but you can't really bugger up number 1. Lets look at these players:

1. Lids (128 games) - star and only going to get better, doesn't deserve a mention here.
4. Tambling (108 games) - had one decent season, underperformed badly for where he was taken, traded away for much much less than his original value.
12. Meyer (17 games) - didn't crack the senior side much, never showed anything, traded away for basically nothing.
16. Pattison (59 games) - all heart but never had much talent, traded away for not much.
20. Polo (56 games) - showed something in bursts, but never cemented a spot or looked likely to be a great player.

Thats 4 of our 5 picks inside of the top 20 in that year no longer at the club, and without getting much back. What a shame that in such a low year, where we were supposed to get such talent, we wasted our picks.

Look at Geelong's drafting, particularly in 1999 and 2001, and you see why they had a dynasty. Their smart drafting created an amazing list, and it might be a cliche by now but if we're going to make top 4 in the next few years every pick needs to be gold, especially in these diluted drafts.

Go tiges.
2006 and 2009 were our dynasty years, chuck in Cotch and Vickery in between, plus another good haul this year and we'll be laughing.

yep as many as ten.

graham - one word hack.
white - dud.

SC, after nahas, rance, and white, (should all go next year) your really talking about a very different quality of player to those we've delisted in the last 2 seasons.

Whilst Mcguane, Thursfield may not be of sufficient quality to win a flag, they won't be delisted until the likes of Gourdis, Astbury, Grimes go past them, if indeed they go past them at all.

Graham, Jackson and Connors for me are required players moving forward, even if ultimately they end up as depth players. And if they end up as depth players we will have a bloody strong squad.

I have learnt my lesson if writing off King, if he goes backwards from last year then yes he'll rightly go, but he's a determined and adaptable little bugger and could well eek out a niche role for himself.

Graham - Exactly hes 23, you yourself say Talls need time to come on and they need alot more time then a small, so why right off Graham so early in his career? Jamar just had his best season being a AA ruck, yet he was on the verge of being delisted just last year.

You seriously have to stop being so negative all the time, being so negative all the time doesn't allow you to see the good things these players do on a regular basis, sure they stuff up like all players do but there upside far outweighs there downside.

And just some food for thought for you.

Here is a comparison of Graham vs Jamar at same age

Graham
Ave Disposals 10.7
Ave Marks per game 3.1
Ave Tackles per game 3.4
Ave HITOUTS per game 19.2

Jamar
Ave Disposals per game 4.4
Ave Marks per game 2.3
Ave Tackles per game 1.1
Ave HITOUTS per game 10.2

Quite clear who is the better ruckmen at the same age, don't be so quick to right off a player so early.

This is why you NEVER NEVER NEVER use a high pick for a Ruckman.

Delistings announced