Delistings announced

To be brutally honest mate, i would rather Martin over Trengove and Scully anyday.

Dont get me wrong, those 2 will be champions too, but no 1 plays footy and fends off like our boy dusty!

Not here to debate this old chestnut.

I'm here to celebrate Jordie's career. Without his precision, long range shots on goal and calmness under pressure, Melbourne would only have one up and coming young gun superstar, not two. :thumbsu:

i have asked this question a few times but have not got an answer from anybody that really knows the rules.

Gourdis ........................ love the guy & really hope/wish he makes it & im sure will be given every chance.

apart from the fact that he is a required player , why do we need to promote him to the senior list THIS YEAR !!

why cant we leave him on the rookie list & promote him next year if we want to.

why waste a spot on the senior list if we dont have to !!

Has to be either promoted or delisted this year by all accounts!
Because he was on the senior list then delisted an re-rookied he only gets 2 years, this is his final year!

Showed enough to be upgraded anyways IMO so very happy to put him on the senior list!

I'm here to celebrate Jordie's career. Without his precision, long range shots on goal and calmness under pressure, Melbourne would only have one up and coming young gun superstar, not two. :thumbsu:
That debate hasn't even began to bear fruit. Martin is the Superstar. Scully and Trengove are good, honest footballers. That makes your snide 'Jordy' reference relevant only in the context of positioning the RFC to select Martin,,,,,,think about it.

All well and good, but this isn't the Melbourne board.
Remember where you are posting.

Nahas very lucky. I guess he's only there because of our lack small forward depth :cool:

I'm not overly upset Nahas survived the cull. We have shed 11 players for the second year in a row and he does have an upside if he can get fit , put on weight and learn how to hit a target.

Watching the round 22 Port game Nahas's skills were disgraceful but if he hit every target he was going for by hand and foot he might have got 3 votes. I have faith that the coaching staff can improve him, even if it is only enough to create some GWS trade currency. He'd fit right in at Blacktown and is the type of player that would bring in the supporters in the Western Suburbs of Sydney.

Shit you not he gets a decent run this year.

Must be bin day Friday morning at the Hardwick household, just tossing out the trash late Thursday arvo:D For those mentioning Nahas he may have been next in line but you can't cut everyone, and to be fair he's been better than all those delisted of late.

Last year for Nahas.
Will be part of the final cull.

Yep I feel that after next year it will be a lot harder to pick the cull list.
Probably not too many, if any retirements next year.
Players that need to have good 2011 or at least show something IMO:
White, Nahas, Webberly, Hicks, O'Reily, Thursfield, King, and possibly Tuck.

As expected, 8 senior spots and 3 rookie spots vacated, 1 senior spot replaced by Grigg leaves 7 for the ND. Hopefully we'll upgrade Gourdis, take 5 picks in the draft and then secure Houli in the PSD. That would make it a pretty good off season as far as I'm concerned.

BTW those wondering about Nahas, the bloke has a year to run on his contract as all draftees are given 2 year deals, that is why he is still around.

As expected, 8 senior spots and 3 rookie spots vacated, 1 senior spot replaced by Grigg leaves 7 for the ND. Hopefully we'll upgrade Gourdis, take 5 picks in the draft and then secure Houli in the PSD. That would make it a pretty good off season as far as I'm concerned.

BTW those wondering about Nahas, the bloke has a year to run on his contract as all draftees are given 2 year deals, that is why he is still around.
Nahas signed an extension.
And yes, it looks like 5 in he draft this year which is great. Picks 6, 29, 46, 50, 67.

That's pretty much how I see it too. It's good to think that we have a plan and are quietly executing it. :)

Has to be either promoted or delisted this year by all accounts!
Because he was on the senior list then delisted an re-rookied he only gets 2 years, this is his final year!

Showed enough to be upgraded anyways IMO so very happy to put him on the senior list!

if thats the rule, defiately have to promote but if the rule is 3 years on the rookie list we should keep him on & upgrade him as our pre selected upgraded rookie in which he will earn similar dollars to being on the list proper & we get the chance of another player.

Pretty impressive that only ONE guy that Hardwick recruited was delisted, especially considering we went up to Pick 71.

I'm still absolutely shocked that Jordan McMahon got delisted...

...this late.

why would you be impressed with only one bloke going in the hardwick era. i wont say hardwick selection as i dont believe thats how it works, or should work.

even rookies last 2 yrs in the main and most certainly few go from the list proper in their first yrs unless they muck up bad.

Nahas signed an extension.
And yes, it looks like 5 in he draft this year which is great. Picks 6, 29, 46, 50, 67.
When did he sign an extension, he was upgraded to the senior list last year in the draft which meant an automatic 2 year deal as far as I was aware. If he has signed a new deal on top of that to increase it to another year after 2011 I'll be surprised.

have to say i waqs expecting just 8 all up to go. 8 plus rookies is not bad at all.
if gourdis is promoted houli is taken psd and with grigg it still only leaves 5 nd picks.
6 29 32 46 50 plus 3 rookies.
would really like to use 2 more nd picks 63 and 80 on mature types. theres enough duds there still to delist.

When did he sign an extension, he was upgraded to the senior list last year in the draft which meant an automatic 2 year deal as far as I was aware. If he has signed a new deal on top of that to increase it to another year after 2011 I'll be surprised.

Im also positive he signed an extension a few months back. RFC should confirm this for us one way or another.

I would bow to your better knowledge RT. I think you might be right.

Glad Hislop got delisted as well.

It's amazing how this time last year or the year previous some of us would have accepted the crap that some of these players were dishing out but now with Hardwick in the frame if they are not quality we are wanting them out and not looking bad. :thumbsu:

Shame for Thomson - had hopes. Ditto Alroy - lightning at training and thought he might just click, but it never happened

Only promote Gourdis I'd reckon. O'Reilly mayyyybe, but as Thursty has stuck around we will have fewer options for him there.

Very pleased with the list management, even if it's a sobering reminder that the upside we all hoped for has now been revealed as the stuff of fantasy.

Remember Polo's first game? Gee, I thought we had something.

Yes but Melbourne still haven't won a flag since the advent of colour TV...or since humans set foot on the moon...or the Vietnam War started...or even since the Beatles first set foot in Australia. Christ Australia's population has practically doubled and you still haven't been able to jag a flag.

Delistings announced