Delistings - predictions 2020

Aug 13, 2018
South Melbourne
Ok i know. Starting this thread is a bit of an arsehole act.
Nonetheless, it is a cruel reality of the annual AFL circus.
Moreso with potential list cuts.

Here are my guesses:

1. Ronke
  2. Maibaum
  3. Amartey
  4. Knoll
  5. Stoddart
  6. Ling
  7. Mclean* (50/50)
  8. Bell*
Possible out trades - Aliir, Hewett

Edit : E Taylor gone.

Tesla Tenet

Apr 13, 2016
I would love to see Ling play a full season even at EVFL to see if he can really play but i think he will end playing EVFL with a non-AFL team.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Bear31

Feb 15, 2020
Ok i know. Starting this thread is a bit of an arsehole act.
Nonetheless, it is a cruel reality of the annual AFL circus.

Here are my guesses:

1. Ronke
  2. Maibaum
  3. Amartey
  4. Knoll
  5. Stoddart
  6. Ling
  7. Mclean* (50/50)
  8. Bell*
Possible out trades - Aliir, Hewett

Just heard list sizes are being discussed between AFL and Players Assoc. An announcement prob next week.
The out of contract list should be (assuming they only get rid of players out of contract)
Main list
Kennedy
Hewett
Melican
Rookie A
Rowles
Maibaum
Renolds
Amartey
Knoll
McLean
Rookie B
Wicks

Keepers
Allir and Hewett not a chance.
Ling I reckon they keep. They and he have done the hard yards. A full pre season will see where he is at.
Bell. Still under contract.

Gone (i reckon) (Apparently list sizes, although not confirmed, have reduced rookie A players by 2).
Stoddart
Knoll. probably. Our ruck stocks were low and he didn't figure.
One of Maibaum or Reynolds
others

Depends on who we trade in and what list sizes will be.

Attachments

• Picture4.png
    Picture4.png
    16.9 KB · Views: 225

Kiama Chris

May 10, 2016
Kiama
Just heard list sizes are being discussed between AFL and Players Assoc. An announcement prob next week.
The out of contract list should be (assuming they only get rid of players out of contract)
Main list
Kennedy
Hewett
Melican
Rookie A
Rowles
Maibaum
Renolds
Amartey
Knoll
McLean
Rookie B
Wicks

Keepers
Ling I reckon they keep. They and he have done the hard yards. A full pre season will see where he is at.

Gone (i reckon) (Apparently list sizes, although not confirmed, have reduced rookie A players by 2).
Stoddart
others

Assuming we trade in a ruck + KPF and take 3 from the draft we will need to lose 5 given we were already at the most commonly mooted senior list size (38). We may choose to lose more, but I somehow don't think we will lose more than we must, unless as part of a trade.
Guys who didn't seem to figure much, if at all:
Reynolds
Maibaum
Stoddart
Ronke
O'Connor (cat b)
Knoll
Rowles
Gould (interesting that)
We will lose E Taylor for sure. The remaining 5 most likely from that list.
Might be worth seeing if Naismith will retire.

ScottBo

Aug 17, 2009
1. Ticky - walked out mid-season
2. Bedford - already has one foot in a post-footy career as a balloon pilot
3.WillHayward - self-confessed "arsehole"
4. Caesar - WA-based girlfriend said "it's me or the Swans."
5. The King - headed out on the lucrative Tassie comedy circuit
6. LukeParkerNo.1 - Has an AVO out on the Swans potential new recruit, Joe Daniher
7. Puke - turned in a positive sample of something
8 ScottBo - partner just said if you are on that thing long enough to be made a Team Captain it's probably time to buy a new book

SGBeach

Jul 19, 2019
Easy to find 5.. Reckon we'll turn over 8-10 like the last few years
So if I had to choose 8*

*Clarke - If we can get a late pick, he's gone. His tagging is good and his endurance is elite
*Thurlow - If we can get a late pick, he's gone, reckon hes surplus off half back
Foot - ??
*Maibaum - ??
*Ronke - If we can get a late pick ?? has something to offer as a pressure forward
*Stoddart - delist
Bell - ?? the club sees something
*Reynolds - would be very lucky to stay
*E Taylor - up to the courts (wish he could start this year again)
Rowles - could get lucky. Very quick, very good leap
Amartey - ?? did he progress this year?
*Knoll - ?? did he progress this year?
Allirr - a smokey for a trade. late 2nd/3rd? points and list spots needed
Hewett - a smokey for a trade. 2nd rounder? points and list spots needed
Ling - think he'll be lucky
Brand - ?? probably needed as depth

Teddy chester

Jun 11, 2016
SCG
Main list
Kennedy
Hewett
Melican
Rookie A
Rowles
Maibaum
Renolds
Amartey
Knoll
McLean
Rookie B
Wicks

Keepers

Stoddart
others

I don’t think Hewitt is out of contract. Signed the same time as papley and likely for more years than we thought like papley

Jan 13, 2007
1. Ticky - walked out mid-season
2. Bedford - already has one foot in a post-footy career as a balloon pilot
3.WillHayward - self-confessed "arsehole"
4. Caesar - WA-based girlfriend said "it's me or the Swans."
5. The King - headed out on the lucrative Tassie comedy circuit
6. LukeParkerNo.1 - Has an AVO out on the Swans potential new recruit, Joe Daniher
7. Puke - turned in a positive sample of something
8 ScottBo - partner just said if you are on that thing long enough to be made a Team Captain it's probably time to buy a new book
*Breathes a sigh of relief *

SB70

Jun 26, 2014
Main List

Gray, Ronke, Stoddart, Thurlow, Brand, Foot, Taylor.

Rookie List

Knoll, Amartey, Maibaum, Reynolds, Rowles.

Could do worse than letting them all go and using picks after everyone else is finished. With list sizes dropping there may be 40-50 picks and I guess a lot from SA and WA kids. Take a few young Victorians that could have developed this year but didn’t get chance and we may get lucky. if Bontempelli didn’t get to play in his draft year he may not have been picked as he was hardly on the radar.
If we get it wrong just start again - less depth but none of these guys are playing in a premiership

Jan 13, 2007
Main List

Gray, Ronke, Stoddart, Thurlow, Brand, Foot, Taylor.

Rookie List

Knoll, Amartey, Maibaum, Reynolds, Rowles.
Justifications.

Gray couldn’t play seniors in an injury depleted side.

Ronke overtaken by Wicks who should be upgraded.

Stoddart couldn’t break through in an injury depleted side.

Thurlow. Showed a bit towards the end but I think they’ll invest in Ling.

Brand it’s him or Melican who saved his best until the last few games. With Gould and O’Connor waiting in the wings and contracted.

Foot will be stiff but I don’t think he was injured and he’s another who needed to do it this year.

Taylor best not discussed.

Knoll and Amartey. Desperate for a ruck and they didn’t feature.

Reynolds, Rowles, and Maibaum. Stuffed by injury. What can you do?

RobbieK

Aug 20, 2009
Justifications.

Gray couldn’t play seniors in an injury depleted side.

Ronke overtaken by Wicks who should be upgraded.

Stoddart couldn’t break through in an injury depleted side.

Thurlow. Showed a bit towards the end but I think they’ll invest in Ling.

Brand it’s him or Melican who saved his best until the last few games. With Gould and O’Connor waiting in the wings and contracted.

Foot will be stiff but I don’t think he was injured and he’s another who needed to do it this year.

Taylor best not discussed.

Knoll and Amartey. Desperate for a ruck and they didn’t feature.

Reynolds, Rowles, and Maibaum. Stuffed by injury. What can you do?
Gray has a contract, so while you are justified in wanting him delisted that just isn't going to happen.

Bear31

Feb 15, 2020
Easy to find 5.. Reckon we'll turn over 8-10 like the last few years
So if I had to choose 8*

*Clarke - If we can get a late pick, he's gone. His tagging is good and his endurance is elite
*Thurlow - If we can get a late pick, he's gone, reckon hes surplus off half back
Foot - ??
*Maibaum - ??
*Ronke - If we can get a late pick ?? has something to offer as a pressure forward
*Stoddart - delist
Bell - ?? the club sees something
*Reynolds - would be very lucky to stay
*E Taylor - up to the courts (wish he could start this year again)
Rowles - could get lucky. Very quick, very good leap
Amartey - ?? did he progress this year?
*Knoll - ?? did he progress this year?
Allirr - a smokey for a trade. late 2nd/3rd? points and list spots needed
Hewett - a smokey for a trade. 2nd rounder? points and list spots needed
Ling - think he'll be lucky
Brand - ?? probably needed as depth
No way we get rid of Allir. So versatile. Getting better every year.

I think the Club has held off delistings until List Numbers are announced and draft and trade strategy is more advanced.

I expect discussions have been held with those who will miss out and the Club is using its best endeavours to find new Clubs for them.