Delistings

Jan 25, 2002
East Melbourne
Brisbane Lions
Cincinnati Bengals
Mick Martin, Luke Hammond, Craig Bolton all join Nathan Clarke as delistings. It looks like Martin was only delisted as he couldn't agree to contract terms with the club, so he is a slight possibility to be redrafted.

Darren Bradshaw has also not been upgraded prior to the draft.

People's thoughts??

Originally posted by cjwalkley
Mick Martin, Luke Hammond, Craig Bolton all join Nathan Clarke as delistings. It looks like Martin was only delisted as he couldn't agree to contract terms with the club, so he is a slight possibility to be redrafted.

Darren Bradshaw has also not been upgraded prior to the draft.

People's thoughts??

Did Darren have to be upgraded a 2nd time?

It looks like Martin was only delisted as he couldn't agree to contract terms with the club, so he is a slight possibility to be redrafted.

I doubt it. Although, we have 9 picks in the draft, he could be picked up with any of the picks after 49 considering the club wanted him on. We'll see, but his chances of being redrafted are unlikely

Maverick mate, I know how you feel after Cupido was traded.

Re: Re: Delistings

Originally posted by Danni

Did Darren have to be upgraded a 2nd time?

Yes, as Cupido returned from the Injured List, so he could be traded, therefore Darren Bradshaw needed to be promoted again, which the Lions decided against.

I don't hink he qualifies for rookie list this year, due to his age as well.

Re: Re: Re: Delistings

therefore Darren Bradshaw needed to be promoted again, which the Lions decided against.

Can anyone tell me why Darren does not get a run with the Seniors?....because by all accounts, it sounds like he deserves a trot.

Re: Re: Re: Delistings

Yes, as Cupido returned from the Injured List, so he could be traded, therefore Darren Bradshaw needed to be promoted again, which the Lions decided against.

wonder why brissie didnt - darran looked good when i saw him :confused: :confused: :confused:

To some extent, I'm surprised that S.Morrison wasn't delisted. After only a couple of games from three seasons (despite good performances in the reserves), he's certainly been pretty lucky to hold his place.

I wonder if the club will give him more ground time in 2003? It seems as though they may have a future role for him after all.

Originally posted by Stocka
To some extent, I'm surprised that S.Morrison wasn't delisted. After only a couple of games from three seasons (despite good performances in the reserves), he's certainly been pretty lucky to hold his place.

I wonder if the club will give him more ground time in 2003? It seems as though they may have a future role for him after all.

The club wouldn't have wanted to bring the list down to 30. I think they were happy to bring it down to 31, which remains with what I've been thinking all day. Shane probably would have been delisted if Martin and the club could work out a contract. No doubt they will probably still try and work it out so they can get him in one of the drafts.

Back to Shane, I think the club might consider him to be able to fill in Lynch's role when Lynch retires or help Leppa out at CHB which can aid Leppa to go up forward hence us needing a key position player, he could be the one. But he has to show it in the games he plays next year if he wants to have a future at the club.

So what are our thoughts about the potential redraftings?

I wouldn't be too fussed either way on Martin but you would think that Bolton would be redrafted. Will Clarke's luck run out after being redrafted last year? I still think he deserves another chance. They have to redraft Darren Bradshaw, don't they? He looks to have at least as much potential as his brother and we need all the forwards we can find.

How many picks will we have for redrafting? Apparently the talent in this draft will run out early on, so we may devote our last three or four picks to redrafting. In that case, you'd have to pick:

1. Craig Bolton
2. Darren Bradshaw
3. Nathan Clarke
4. Mick Martin

I suppose the benefit we have is that, except for Bolton, none of these players would be well known to the other 15 clubs so the probably of them going elsewhere in the draft seems fairly low. Maybe Geelong might have a crack for Bradshaw on the basis they didn't get his brother!

If Bolton is redrafted then perhaps the tooth fairy does exist.

I'm unclear on Darren Bradshaw's position - perhaps Danni can explain?

Clarke and Martin might be lucky but I can't imagine it. Martin more likely I suppose.

yeah i didnt think that michael owuld be redrafted & i hear that he says he wants to try somewhere else...

yeah SB... even i (the jumper holder) am amazed that your mate 'shane' is still on the list... good luck to him.. another year of torment & i really wanted him to come back so i can tell him when i am finished school...that's abou thte only reason why i am excited about leaving school...... so i can tell him that i am finished

I was going to fly up to Brisbane for round 1 next year to see Mick in his comeback. Was going to fly up regardless. Now he is not going to be playing, I am saving my money. Instead if he's picked up by another club and he is playing round 1 in either Melbourne, Sydney or Adelaide - I will go see that instead. Cheaper.

Regarding Morro, hes the key position we are after I guess. Can play CHB, CHF or FF and will get more of a chance next year.

Excuse me for coming onto your board but we've been discussing Darren Bradshaw on the Port board and whether we might pick him up. So what do you people think of him?
Is he like his brother? What kind of player is he?

Only joking;)

Darren is not as tall as Daniel but seems physically sronger,
more likely to stand his ground and try to outmuscle his opponent than take big overhead marks.

Having said that, he has a good lead and takes lots of uncontested marks.

His form was HOT in the first half of the season but he tapered off toward the end.Got a run in the Seniors once only (against Richmond, I think) but only for 5 minutes or so, during which he had one bad clanger.

Didn't get a look in again and it may have knocked his confidence a bit.

Looks a good prospect though.

Cheers.

I reckon Bolton lost his way after he was knocked out by D.Neitz in 2000. He put together a string of good performances before that (including a BOG against Fremantle), but afterwards, he was only sporadic as he seemed to lack confidence and always seemed to be second guessing himself.

The fact that he was given tough opponents didn't help either, and likewise, he isn't particularly suited to one particular role (he is an "in between" sort of player). I could still see further opportunities for him at another club, but they would need to instill some degree of confidence in his abilities in order to develop him as a regularly useful contributor.

nah he just never got a chance in the seniors... he was getting 30 or more possessions in the reserves...... even if he was to play a whole game in the seniors he would get at least half that amount coz i know that the leagues r different..... like if he was played on the wing or on the ball he would be right.... just anything but in the back line & he would have showed u all.............

in some ways I see Bolton as a Matthews experiment that didn't work.

Look at moving Leppa to the backline and even after some early baths, persisting with him there.

He has done the same with Bolton, except Bolton didn't get to string the game together like Leppa did, he ended up being a 2nd string player, who most often was offered up as the sacraficial lamb in any number of mismatches.

Certainly couldn't have doen his confidence any good, and more than likely didn't help him cement respect in the eyes of his team mates or the coaching staff.

Maybe he is a case of Matthews getting it wrong, or maybe he is a case of Matthews giving him opportunities that he wasn't able to live up to. I'm not sure. I just think that like Ben Robbins, he may have better success elsewhere, and in doing so it won't be harmful to the line up of the Lions as it currently stands.

From the AFL site ...

"It is believed that Brisbane would have struggled to fit McRae and Pike within its salary cap had Cupido not agreed to move to Essendon."

Puts a slightly different complexion on things. Fancy losing Pikey !!

I'd still rather have kept Cupido than Morrison.

Probably rather keep Cupido than McRae at this stage of their respective careers, too.

Oh well.:(

Delistings