Mod. Notice Depressed? Anxious? Call Beyond Blue (1300 224636), Lifeline (131114), resources in OP

Think this is a great forum to allow people to get things off their chest or on their mind.

Just feeling really anxious and frozen, if that make sense. Suffer from anxiety, so feel this should normal. But this is more amped up then usual. Can’t sleep at the moment. Just anxious about the future, particularly financial and physically.

Recently I injured my foot at work, and have had time off. Work has been great but feel like I’m in flight mode not doing workers Comp. Don’t understand the process. I enjoy my work but the wage/salary. Is ******* minimum. Feel like I should look for another job however the what if’s are plaguing me. I’m a person that values loyalty, and good morals so I feel like I owe my work for their support and fun workplace. But finance is important as well. There’s higher hourly jobs but at places that are stale as well as boring. Career change is also on the plate but just don’t know where to start. Keen to get involved in cyber security perhaps.

The worthlessness of everyday is weighing on me. I am so shocked at how angry I am getting. Normally can tolerate and resolve issues however getting angry and loud at family is straining relationships. Really hate it, but this anxiousness in my chest is causing short temper.

The frozen feeling is hard to explain. Feel like should be doing more for my family, financially and physically. However am injured and returning back to work in two days in a limited capacity, when I absolutely do not have any desire to do so. That’s also contributing.
Should be doing things that I put off, however days go quick and get down on myself when it’s not done.

Will try and book a doctor’s appointment for referral for psychologist. Get things off my chest. It’s the three aspects of life that I do hold onto that’s always in my mind.
Family= happy, so proud
Work/career- so meh. Good for now but not proud of where I am.
Health= Stable and strong. But can be better.

Thanks everyone and for those out there, please keep posting and keep going everyday. Mental and physical health is always important.
If you really like your job, maybe you could ask for a raise at some point? Or even a promotion with more responsibilities? Quite often people assume that their boss won't give them a raise, so they never ask the question - but often the boss is just not thinking about it, and when asked, they think, "well, I don't want to lose him. I can offer you this much...". I know you are also taking about longer term plans and career changes, but in the short term, it's something you might consider - unless you feel that staying in this job is not good for you.

People who have suggested to go for a daily walk need to have, get or borrow a dog. Apart from having something which adds structure to a day, a dog has the added advantage of making the walk more meaningful, providing company and creating opportunity for social interaction. I retired too early and took up dog minding and walking. I juggle up to 4 dogs a week, with one regular daily walker, one that I mind three days a week, one I walk mornings 3 days a week and one that I mind irregularly but often. The dogs also give me added income of about $550 a week, a bonus given I lost a large sum of money during lockdown 2 years back.

Whatever your daily diversion, having a activity which becomes a bit obsessive really helps overcome the daily pain of living. For 4 hours a day, I can sort of switch off my problems and feelings of hopelessness. The Thais have a saying - 'Don't think too much', which I initially took as indicating shallowness but now see for what it is, a means of coping with stress or anxieties which threaten to overwhelm. My Thai mate got through 9 years of prison applying this to his daily existence. We choose sometimes to wallow in our problems, to dwell on negativity rather than lay it aside and just do something to occupy ourselves physically and emotionally.

F. Scott Fitzgerald famously wrote: “The test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold two opposing ideas in mind at the same time and still retain the ability to function - for instance, to believe that life is hopeless but be determined to make it otherwise'. Sometimes philosophically accepting that you have hit rock bottom and realising that this is likely as bad as it gets helps with both coping and healing.
Yes..that F.S.F quote is a good one.

Also good…

You say you're 'depressed' - all i see is resilience. You are allowed to feel messed up and inside out. It doesn't mean you're defective - it just means you're human.
David Mitchell.

I credit my dog with completely turning my life around. At the time I got him, in 2009, I was experiencing pretty significant depression, wasn't eating well or exercising, not socialising. All I did was work and come home. A friend and I made a pact to get a pair of dogs, one each, most due to her prodding me and thinking it would do me good. The first thing it did was get me out of the house more. I went for a walk morning and evening. I also had something to focus on. He was just a pup, so he needed lots of training. I took him to puppy school, which became a social outlet as well as an important stage in building my relationship with my dog. After that, there was a subtle and growing sense of purpose in my life. I became more engaged with people again. Talked to strangers in parks, even started considering whether I might want a partner again after quite a few years being stone cold single. Within 2 years I was in a relationship, and two more, I had a daughter. When I look back to the life I was leading, I can barely believe where I find myself today. And I don't think it would have happened without getting a dog. It was the right kind of gentle but meaningful exposure to a different, more active lifestyle. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes dogs. I've still got my dog. He's 13, coming up to 14 - which is pretty amazing given his breed usually doesn't get much past 12. I'm grateful for every extra year I have with him. I fear the day he passes - I think that might be the hardest moment of my life when that day comes. Until then, I've just gotta stay grateful that I've still got him.
I’d love to get a dog

But since my divorce I’m pretty much forced to couch surf

Can’t afford to buy a place don’t want to rent and pay someone else’s off

Would love to get another beagle but it’s just not practical at the moment

I’d love to get a dog

Good luck. It won’t be forever.

I’d love to get a dog

I'm sorry to hear that, mate. I hope things will pick up for you. What are you doing at the moment? How are you spending your time? Are you working? I don't mean to intrude, just interested.

I’m self employed

It’s become a struggle but I’ve got an employee and I’ve gotta keep it going so he has work and money

Went to my Dr and got a care plan. Psych he referred me to charged a gap of $180. Figured no price on health so went ahead. Booked a session on a Friday afternoon because work, admin called to reschedule earlier so he could go home early. Had my first session, felt like I met a company representative, not a person. Seemed preoccupied and harldy listened. Cancelled subsequent sessions. Just makes you feel worse.

Get your doctor to find someone else. You have to find the right fit. Just like any relationship a particular psych doesn’t suit everyone. I tried out a few GPs before I found my present one, who seems to be on my wavelength. Would you prefer a man or a woman, young or older? See if you can get a morning appointment, while you are both fresh.

Yeah, that's a really disappointing result. They aren't all like that. It's a shame you got a bad one first up. It's worth trying a few to get the right fit, as Dogs_R_Us suggested. I hope it hasn't put you off completely.

I’m self employed

It’s become a struggle but I’ve got an employee and I’ve gotta keep it going so he has work and money
I think having a stable place to live is essential for mental health. I'd be putting that at the top of the priority list - even if it's a share household or something. You gotta have a bed that's yours and a place to call home.

Not sure where I fit in here guys. I left, came back, iv lost a huge amount of friends since CvBS.
I get messages, then stuff, try n look, answer and don't know where to go or see. Im central Vic bush, ultra small place, trying to still fit in everywhere...feel like im done to be honest.
Best to everyone, stay well, I'll try to keep here. Get this.
I was a full on volunteer with old and lonely. Pre Flu.
Recently from the ......apply....no....you cannot aplly and talk on the PHONE unless you are tripple vaxxed, look it up... Anglicare....Try yourself!
I'll leave it there... Take care...

Not sure where I fit in here guys. I left, came back, iv lost a huge amount of friends since CvBS.
I get messages, then stuff, try n look, answer and don't know where to go or see. Im central Vic bush, ultra small place, trying to still fit in everywhere...feel like im done to be honest.
Best to everyone, stay well, I'll try to keep here. Get this.
I was a full on volunteer with old and lonely. Pre Flu.
Recently from the ......apply....no....you cannot aplly and talk on the PHONE unless you are tripple vaxxed, look it up... Anglicare....Try yourself!
I'll leave it there... Take care...
Hey mate, sorry to hear you're doing it tough. Is there a reason you need to be in such a remote location? I wonder whether isolation is hurting you. Is it your own place, or a rental? Is there a possibility of relocation for a fresh start, or is work/family/etc keeping you there? That's pretty stupid that you can't do phone support without being vaxxed. Is that even if you won't be working on site?

Thanks, I really appreciate your reply. We lived in a Central Vic town. We had lived there for over 30 years. Were good members of the community there. My misses did volunteer horse riding for the disabled. And stuff at the Opp shops. I worked volunteer for Red Cross visiting lonely older people as well as visiting the same at Maryborough Vic Hospital. Lockdowns. Ok I get it was new, I do. But I own my life, I own my body, so we got locked out. Fair enough. Now its in. The true science, it stops ZIP, nothing. We had to move out of out town as the Exodus from Melbourne was utterly insane! Owners cashed in selling their houses then for Double. Yes they did, we knew the real estates people here from being there for so long. Owners also Doubled rents from then say 200 bucks a week to 400.
We could not compete. I worked for yrs there contributing and volunteering. We went for houses, 100 plus going against us getting out of Melb and other places and on top of that we know 100% they were offering above the price and chasing locals out. We are now many Ks from there now but even when we go to shop its like "who are these people!?" I struggle to recognise those I used to bump into.
Everyone, huh, how funny, everyone now is a fraction of the past, say the same.
We live now in an utter dump! All we could get. The gaps in the floorboards are an utter disgrace. We cant live in the bedroom. Walls with it all falling apart, dust dropping, the gaps in the floors we had a tarp over it to stop the wind blowing dust and cold air up. When it's windy the tarp lifts. We moved our bed into the, I swear true, lounge which is bare concrete! The best room in the house. So, we live in a 3 bedroom dump but can only habitable wise use the kitchen and lounge. Its friggin rat and mouse infested and we have gone through in 12 mths 5kg of baits outside. I made the mistake of using it everywhere. Big fail. They were dying under the house and we were getting maggots coming up through the floorboards gaps. We now trap around the house, bait around the block borders.
I was getting them nesting in my damn engine bay!
Think I got it worked out. The owners are DOGS. A year later, no floor coverings to cover the gaps, they promised to do so. No garage for the car, another bs broken promise. No curtains, we put up cup hooks and have sheets. I could go non....non...non.... for sentence after sentence.
This is renting now. And this is country Vic now. Stuffed. We have heard over and over from others the same. Hey, we got a roof over our heads, a home, of sorts. And, I was really happy to hear from Red Cross they will take me back on board as a Volunteer to be a friend over the Phone the the Old lonely. Ready for this!? I contacted Anglicare to do the same. For Me......to talk to an old lonely person on the Phone I need to be Tripple vaxxed. Seriously. To simply talk. They told me when I said "oh come on, to talk!?" The reply "yes we need to keep everyone safe"
Ill leave it all there. Cheers mate and take care.

Thanks, I really appreciate your reply. We lived in a Central Vic town. We had lived there for over 30 years. Were good members of the community there. My misses did volunteer horse riding for the disabled. And stuff at the Opp shops. I worked volunteer for Red Cross visiting lonely older people as well as visiting the same at Maryborough Vic Hospital. Lockdowns. Ok I get it was new, I do. But I own my life, I own my body, so we got locked out. Fair enough. Now its in. The true science, it stops ZIP, nothing. We had to move out of out town as the Exodus from Melbourne was utterly insane! Owners cashed in selling their houses then for Double. Yes they did, we knew the real estates people here from being there for so long. Owners also Doubled rents from then say 200 bucks a week to 400.
We could not compete. I worked for yrs there contributing and volunteering. We went for houses, 100 plus going against us getting out of Melb and other places and on top of that we know 100% they were offering above the price and chasing locals out. We are now many Ks from there now but even when we go to shop its like "who are these people!?" I struggle to recognise those I used to bump into.
Everyone, huh, how funny, everyone now is a fraction of the past, say the same.
We live now in an utter dump! All we could get. The gaps in the floorboards are an utter disgrace. We cant live in the bedroom. Walls with it all falling apart, dust dropping, the gaps in the floors we had a tarp over it to stop the wind blowing dust and cold air up. When it's windy the tarp lifts. We moved our bed into the, I swear true, lounge which is bare concrete! The best room in the house. So, we live in a 3 bedroom dump but can only habitable wise use the kitchen and lounge. Its friggin rat and mouse infested and we have gone through in 12 mths 5kg of baits outside. I made the mistake of using it everywhere. Big fail. They were dying under the house and we were getting maggots coming up through the floorboards gaps. We now trap around the house, bait around the block borders.
I was getting them nesting in my damn engine bay!
Think I got it worked out. The owners are DOGS. A year later, no floor coverings to cover the gaps, they promised to do so. No garage for the car, another bs broken promise. No curtains, we put up cup hooks and have sheets. I could go non....non...non.... for sentence after sentence.
This is renting now. And this is country Vic now. Stuffed. We have heard over and over from others the same. Hey, we got a roof over our heads, a home, of sorts. And, I was really happy to hear from Red Cross they will take me back on board as a Volunteer to be a friend over the Phone the the Old lonely. Ready for this!? I contacted Anglicare to do the same. For Me......to talk to an old lonely person on the Phone I need to be Tripple vaxxed. Seriously. To simply talk. They told me when I said "oh come on, to talk!?" The reply "yes we need to keep everyone safe"
Ill leave it all there. Cheers mate and take care.
Wow, mate. You've been through a hell of a lot. I think it's easy to forget that people who didn't want to be vaxxed experienced a type of discrimination and suffered in ways most people can't relate to. So I just want to acknowledge that to you - I hear you. I'm not surprised you feel fed up after what you've been through. Losing your position in your town and then having to live in a dump is demoralising. I hope you'll be able to chip away at your house and make it liveable. If I didn't live in Tassie, I'd come and give you a hand in sorting it out. It pisses me off to hear how landlords are able to ignore their responsibilities while cashing in on high rent conditions. The least they could do is reinvest the money they get for doing nothing back into the property. I hope the Red Cross work can bring you some sense of purpose. Take care mate. Reach out any time.

What’s everyone go to for anger? Can really feel like like this is an underlying depression issue, which I’m confused to as why.
This is damaging my relationship with my wife and kids. In big trouble.

This season feels really weird. I’m not as emotionally invested. A loss, oh well, a win eh good. A loss would be awful for the weekend, a win would be boost. Feel like supporting is just a void atm. I mean I try with bigfooty and keeping on the ball with information. But it’s mostly boredom or procrastination more then passion.

It really bothers me. I feel like I cannot do anything. Overthinking and paranoid for the future.

What’s everyone go to for anger? Can really feel like like this is an underlying depression issue, which I’m confused to as why.

This season feels really weird. I’m not as emotionally invested. A loss, oh well, a win eh good. A loss would be awful for the weekend, a win would be boost. Feel like supporting is just a void atm. I mean I try with bigfooty and keeping on the ball with information. But it’s mostly boredom or procrastination more then passion.

It really bothers me. I feel like I cannot do anything. Overthinking and paranoid for the future.
Are you worried about your job? Your family? Are social issues weighing you down? Is your immediate environment stressful? Can you find one aspect of your life that you are able to improve, eg diet, exercise, a leisure activity that is relaxing? Don’t invest yourself too much in footy - disappointment gets to all of us at some stage and is relatively unimportant in the wider world. And don’t watch the news or read newspapers or news sites. I know of a least a couple of people who felt better when they got off that habit.

What have you tried so far? Have you sought any professional help? If you suspect you have depression, you're probably right, and you definitely want to get that treated properly. It is indeed frequently connected with uncontrolled anger. You definitely want to get onto that as soon as possible because it's hard to undo the consequences of people being scared of you.

It is good for killing a panic attack, however definitely not recommended for long term use. It's highly addictive and turns you into a bit of a zombie. It's like Valium but a lot stronger. There are better options out there.

On top of that, it is very rarely prescribed in Australia, most of the Xanax going around is black market which poses another risk.

Girl I ruined my life for - had an affair, got divorced, totally restructured everything about my life, dropped me like a bad habit 2 weeks ago because she thought I was cheating - I wasn’t - and that I was lying about getting divorced - I wasn’t - now she has cut me off completely, reported me to our boss (we work for the same company) for emailing her to try and find out why she won’t at least tell me verbally what I’ve done wrong.

If a bus hit me right now I simply would not give two *s