Mod. Notice Depressed? Anxious? Call Beyond Blue (1300 224636), Lifeline (131114), resources in OP

Yeah head down to Arden St, there's something extra special about watching pre-season training during a rebuild.

It's strange; when times are tough for me (GAD, OCD, MDD), I find bliss in solitude but that comfort really does stifle my recovery. I find running helps a lot - getting your body moving in any way possible can make a world of difference. What are you into besides footy?
Also helps being outside in the sun too, vitamin D can be a magical thing.
Play some beach volleyball, enjoy making fantasy football content.

That's exactly right! Did you get out to training yesterday? Would've been hot in the sun!

I love playing volleyball, even though I'm terrible. In a social setting it's fantastic as well. Are you in to Supercoach of AFL fantasy?

I'm feeling down tonight. I'm going to go to the docs tomorrow. I should be enjoying my life at the moment but I'm not. I feel aspects of my life caving in and I really hate how I don't feel great mentally.

Tonight's a struggle
Really great work on sorting a Dr's appointment, mate. That's such a mature step; you're a badass :cool:

How are you feeling this morning? Any other plans for today?

That's exactly right! Did you get out to training yesterday? Would've been hot in the sun!

I love playing volleyball, even though I'm terrible. In a social setting it's fantastic as well. Are you in to Supercoach of AFL fantasy?
Nah didn't make it out, I think the heat kept me away too.
I play supercoach.

People who have suggested to go for a daily walk need to have, get or borrow a dog. Apart from having something which adds structure to a day, a dog has the added advantage of making the walk more meaningful, providing company and creating opportunity for social interaction. I retired too early and took up dog minding and walking. I juggle up to 4 dogs a week, with one regular daily walker, one that I mind three days a week, one I walk mornings 3 days a week and one that I mind irregularly but often. The dogs also give me added income of about $550 a week, a bonus given I lost a large sum of money during lockdown 2 years back.

Whatever your daily diversion, having a activity which becomes a bit obsessive really helps overcome the daily pain of living. For 4 hours a day, I can sort of switch off my problems and feelings of hopelessness. The Thais have a saying - 'Don't think too much', which I initially took as indicating shallowness but now see for what it is, a means of coping with stress or anxieties which threaten to overwhelm. My Thai mate got through 9 years of prison applying this to his daily existence. We choose sometimes to wallow in our problems, to dwell on negativity rather than lay it aside and just do something to occupy ourselves physically and emotionally.

F. Scott Fitzgerald famously wrote: “The test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold two opposing ideas in mind at the same time and still retain the ability to function - for instance, to believe that life is hopeless but be determined to make it otherwise'. Sometimes philosophically accepting that you have hit rock bottom and realising that this is likely as bad as it gets helps with both coping and healing.

People who have suggested to go for a daily walk need to have, get or borrow a dog. Apart from having something which adds structure to a day, a dog has the added advantage of making the walk more meaningful, providing company and creating opportunity for social interaction. I retired too early and took up dog minding and walking. I juggle up to 4 dogs a week, with one regular daily walker, one that I mind three days a week, one I walk mornings 3 days a week and one that I mind irregularly but often. The dogs also give me added income of about $550 a week, a bonus given I lost a large sum of money during lockdown 2 years back.

Whatever your daily diversion, having a activity which becomes a bit obsessive really helps overcome the daily pain of living. For 4 hours a day, I can sort of switch off my problems and feelings of hopelessness. The Thais have a saying - 'Don't think too much', which I initially took as indicating shallowness but now see for what it is, a means of coping with stress or anxieties which threaten to overwhelm. My Thai mate got through 9 years of prison applying this to his daily existence. We choose sometimes to wallow in our problems, to dwell on negativity rather than lay it aside and just do something to occupy ourselves physically and emotionally.

F. Scott Fitzgerald famously wrote: “The test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold two opposing ideas in mind at the same time and still retain the ability to function - for instance, to believe that life is hopeless but be determined to make it otherwise'. Sometimes philosophically accepting that you have hit rock bottom and realising that this is likely as bad as it gets helps with both coping and healing.
Great post 👍. Plus, having to think about the well-being of someone else, the dog/s, takes your mind off yourself for a while. Plus, dogs can provide enjoyment and bring a smile to your face, even if you don’t feel like it.

A friend of mine does dog-minding in their house, up to a week at a time, or a few days. Started off with friends’ dogs, then word of mouth brought a few other clients. That’s a bit harder if your house isn’t suitable, but dog-walking can be done by anyone.

Great post 👍. Plus, having to think about the well-being of someone else, the dog/s, takes your mind off yourself for a while. Plus, dogs can provide enjoyment and bring a smile to your face, even if you don’t feel like it.

A friend of mine does dog-minding in their house, up to a week at a time, or a few days. Started off with friends’ dogs, then word of mouth brought a few other clients. That’s a bit harder if your house isn’t suitable, but dog-walking can be done by anyone.

My family will be upset when our dog staffy x passes away but the enjoyment we have had as part of the family adds something nice. Puts a smile on my face when my kids give her a pat or take her for walks along our property.

Can't think of a more appropriate username to respond to my post!

I dog sit in other people's houses or my own one bedroom apartment. Looking after dogs in an apartment also gives you good reason to get out of bed early!

You're right about dogs taking your mind off yourself. This might sound weird, but I aim to give dogs in my care a memorable and exciting experience. I have taught 3 dogs to swim in the last 2 years, 2 of which were aged 13 and 6.

Several people going through hard times here have kids. I am surprised that they don't also provide an emotional boost. Combine them with dogs and you have all you need to sustain life (other than a loving partner of course!).

I am not naïve enough to pretend that depression can be easily overcome. But you have to try with whatever means you have at your disposal. Short term goals like getting through one day at a time, trying to make the most of the moment, helps me deal with what otherwise often seems a pretty hopeless situation.

I dog sit in other people's houses or my own one bedroom apartment. Looking after dogs in an apartment also gives you good reason to get out of bed early!

You're right about dogs taking your mind off yourself. This might sound weird, but I aim to give dogs in my care a memorable and exciting experience. I have taught 3 dogs to swim in the last 2 years, 2 of which were aged 13 and 6.

Several people going through hard times here have kids. I am surprised that they don't also provide an emotional boost. Combine them with dogs and you have all you need to sustain life (other than a loving partner of course!).

I am not naïve enough to pretend that depression can be easily overcome. But you have to try with whatever means you have at your disposal. Short term goals like getting through one day at a time, trying to make the most of the moment, helps me deal with what otherwise often seems a pretty hopeless situation.

I got a cat. Works wonders for me.

kittyatwork.jpg

I used to love the rainy, overcast weather my whole life but now it just is a big downer on my mood. Maybe it will change back to normal once I get myself right.

Becoming a sunny day person, it's weird.

My family will be upset when our dog staffy x passes away but the enjoyment we have had as part of the family adds something nice. Puts a smile on my face when my kids give her a pat or take her for walks along our property.

We adopted a staffy ( the dog pounds have heaps of them) last year and they are amazing.
Gave new life to our old house, and they absolutely love you for taking them in. A real handful, but if you're a dog person who has the energy they are wonderful.

We adopted a staffy ( the dog pounds have heaps of them) last year and they are amazing.
Gave new life to our old house, and they absolutely love you for taking them in. A real handful, but if you're a dog person who has the energy they are wonderful.

That's very similar to my story. A two year old staff x that we adopted from the pound.

Very good around children. Unfortunately a bit immature around other dogs.

Still a lovely and loyal dog.

I used to love the rainy, overcast weather my whole life but now it just is a big downer on my mood. Maybe it will change back to normal once I get myself right.

Becoming a sunny day person, it's weird.
Perhaps because you now associate grey rainy skies with depression and sunny days with happiness. I used to love the sound of rain on the roof when I was a kid, particularly when lying in bed before sleep. It's a feeling I have never been able to truly recapture.

I loathe winter in Melbourne. It's the time of year in which I have to work hardest at elevating my mood. There was always something soothing about escaping the elements in a dimly lit room with an open fire, but selling my house in the hills and moving into a high rise apartment in St Kilda stole that simple pleasure from me. When you are emotionally struggling and depressed, it's likely you'll see weather for what it is rather than how it might be viewed through the rose coloured lenses of a happy life.

I credit my dog with completely turning my life around. At the time I got him, in 2009, I was experiencing pretty significant depression, wasn't eating well or exercising, not socialising. All I did was work and come home. A friend and I made a pact to get a pair of dogs, one each, most due to her prodding me and thinking it would do me good. The first thing it did was get me out of the house more. I went for a walk morning and evening. I also had something to focus on. He was just a pup, so he needed lots of training. I took him to puppy school, which became a social outlet as well as an important stage in building my relationship with my dog. After that, there was a subtle and growing sense of purpose in my life. I became more engaged with people again. Talked to strangers in parks, even started considering whether I might want a partner again after quite a few years being stone cold single. Within 2 years I was in a relationship, and two more, I had a daughter. When I look back to the life I was leading, I can barely believe where I find myself today. And I don't think it would have happened without getting a dog. It was the right kind of gentle but meaningful exposure to a different, more active lifestyle. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes dogs. I've still got my dog. He's 13, coming up to 14 - which is pretty amazing given his breed usually doesn't get much past 12. I'm grateful for every extra year I have with him. I fear the day he passes - I think that might be the hardest moment of my life when that day comes. Until then, I've just gotta stay grateful that I've still got him.

Wonderful story. Good luck for your future.

Great post! So glad to hear that your dog turned your life around. I don't currently have a dog because I want to be able to go OS each year, plus I am 69 and without a family support network or friends who could care for my dog if anything happened to me. I look after other people's dogs everyday of the week - sometimes have 3 at a time. I really notice the difference between the times I have a dog staying with me and those when I don't. But walking dogs twice daily still gives me a positive daily addiction and the opportunity to interact with other people. I agree with you 100% regarding the ability of a dog to turn your life around.

What breed of dog do you own? You have a partner and daughter now so the passing of your dog will be less painful (though still very difficult) than if you were alone.

For anybody contemplating getting a dog, the shelters are full of dogs (and cats) that would make grateful and loving companions. You can go to the websites and see if there are some suitable animals for you. Like humans they too have different needs and the shelters can often match you with a pet that is most suitable for your circumstances.

Think this is a great forum to allow people to get things off their chest or on their mind.

Just feeling really anxious and frozen, if that make sense. Suffer from anxiety, so feel this should normal. But this is more amped up then usual. Can’t sleep at the moment. Just anxious about the future, particularly financial and physically.

Recently I injured my foot at work, and have had time off. Work has been great but feel like I’m in flight mode not doing workers Comp. Don’t understand the process. I enjoy my work but the wage/salary. Is ******* minimum. Feel like I should look for another job however the what if’s are plaguing me. I’m a person that values loyalty, and good morals so I feel like I owe my work for their support and fun workplace. But finance is important as well. There’s higher hourly jobs but at places that are stale as well as boring. Career change is also on the plate but just don’t know where to start. Keen to get involved in cyber security perhaps.

The worthlessness of everyday is weighing on me. I am so shocked at how angry I am getting. Normally can tolerate and resolve issues however getting angry and loud at family is straining relationships. Really hate it, but this anxiousness in my chest is causing short temper.

The frozen feeling is hard to explain. Feel like should be doing more for my family, financially and physically. However am injured and returning back to work in two days in a limited capacity, when I absolutely do not have any desire to do so. That’s also contributing.
Should be doing things that I put off, however days go quick and get down on myself when it’s not done.

Will try and book a doctor’s appointment for referral for psychologist. Get things off my chest. It’s the three aspects of life that I do hold onto that’s always in my mind.
Family= happy, so proud
Work/career- so meh. Good for now but not proud of where I am.
Health= Stable and strong. But can be better.

Thanks everyone and for those out there, please keep posting and keep going everyday. Mental and physical health is always important.

Think this is a great forum to allow people to get things off their chest or on their mind.

Just feeling really anxious and frozen, if that make sense. Suffer from anxiety, so feel this should normal. But this is more amped up then usual. Can’t sleep at the moment. Just anxious about the future, particularly financial and physically.

Recently I injured my foot at work, and have had time off. Work has been great but feel like I’m in flight mode not doing workers Comp. Don’t understand the process. I enjoy my work but the wage/salary. Is ******* minimum. Feel like I should look for another job however the what if’s are plaguing me. I’m a person that values loyalty, and good morals so I feel like I owe my work for their support and fun workplace. But finance is important as well. There’s higher hourly jobs but at places that are stale as well as boring. Career change is also on the plate but just don’t know where to start. Keen to get involved in cyber security perhaps.

The worthlessness of everyday is weighing on me. I am so shocked at how angry I am getting. Normally can tolerate and resolve issues however getting angry and loud at family is straining relationships. Really hate it, but this anxiousness in my chest is causing short temper.

The frozen feeling is hard to explain. Feel like should be doing more for my family, financially and physically. However am injured and returning back to work in two days in a limited capacity, when I absolutely do not have any desire to do so. That’s also contributing.
Should be doing things that I put off, however days go quick and get down on myself when it’s not done.

Will try and book a doctor’s appointment for referral for psychologist. Get things off my chest. It’s the three aspects of life that I do hold onto that’s always in my mind.
Family= happy, so proud
Work/career- so meh. Good for now but not proud of where I am.
Health= Stable and strong. But can be better.

Thanks everyone and for those out there, please keep posting and keep going everyday. Mental and physical health is always important.

It sounds like you've got a pretty good handle on things but I'd definitely recommend seeing your GP and getting a referral. I found it made a huge difference being able to talk to someone about what I was feeling.
Good luck.

What breed of dog do you own? You have a partner and daughter now so the passing of your dog will be less painful (though still very difficult) than if you were alone.
You're right, I need to keep that in mind as the day draws closer. He's a Border Collie/Labrador cross. He's going to be 14 this year, he has arthritis and some nerve issues in his hind legs, which will progress to the point where I have to let him go to be kind. It kills me to contemplate this, but I also need to be his advocate and make sure he doesn't suffer too much. At the moment, he's still happy and loves his daily walk - so I cherish that as long as it lasts.