Health Depression

Well.....yeah.

So.

I'm living in Thailand now, with my wife. I'm applying for a 12 month visa (due marriage) to be able to come and go from here as needed.

I am safe, happy, cared for and with people I love and who love me.

I have been assessed by Centrelink as "incapable of doing more than 0-2 hours of work each week"

Which sucks.

People, even Centrelink staff, seem to think the DSP is some kind of holy grail - government staff have, on more than one occasion (I have been on the DSP before), congratulated me on being assessed as disabled and incapable of work......for 1149 AUD each fortnight.

DISABLED.

YOU ARE CONGRATULATING ME FOR BEING DISABLED AND FEELING LIKE A FAILURE AND A STAIN AND A DRAIN ON SOCIETY.

I get it, I understand it, for sure.

But it doesn't change the reality I have to deal with - I am, in the view of government and treating health professionals, unsuitable for earning a wage by my own hand.

But you know what?

Like I say to my psychiatrist, I am not the problem.

This world is the problem.

I don't WANT to be like this. I don't WANT appellations of incapability and unsuitability.

But nobody, NOBODY, can ever understand the rage that comes from being discarded like that. To walk down the street and feel ashamed of your output, your contributions. To feel like you are a card carrying member of the "Failure Club", or the "Modern Life Broke Me" club.

Nah.

**** that.

Society is the problem, not me.

My problem is I see it and feel it and care about it, even to the detriment of myself. Being outside of the world, being invisible, being just another shuffling, shambling hobo.....just someone irrelevant, meaningless, inconsequential......"like a bottle cap or a piece of lint" (credit to Equalizer 1)....when that place is your world, it is very lonely, very dark and very crushing.

But nobody else understands it, unless they have been there at 4AM on a city street and wondering where to sleep and when you can next eat.

Hence.....loneliness.

Because that is what loneliness is - it isn't being alone, in solitude (that's actually really nice and soothing) - it's being in a place with other people, be it a room, or a hall, or a stadium or a world, in which people are unable or unwilling, to understand you without judgement, to accept you as valid without any further justification.

You are an island in a sea of humanity and no matter how much you want otherwise, you will never matter. Your needs, so different from the majority, are rendered immaterial.

YOU JUST WANT TO BELONG.

Belonging to something is a cure for loneliness - hence RWNJ/conspiracists etc - they offer acceptance without judgement, indeed more likely welcome with warmth and shared conviviality. Another illusion - you will be nothing more than a tool in furthering goals for another.

And after all those words, what now?

I still believe. I still hope for peace and happiness. I still want a world of sustenance for all. I still hope for bounty and vittles to attend your door, if not mine. I can wish and hope for a better life for you and your family and do what I can to ensure the world the next generation inherits is a better place than this one.

And because I think that, because I BELIEVE that, because I have lived my whole life like that.....I'm the crazy one.

**** you.

Peace.

Well.....yeah.

So.

I'm living in Thailand now, with my wife. I'm applying for a 12 month visa (due marriage) to be able to come and go from here as needed.

I am safe, happy, cared for and with people I love and who love me.

I have been assessed by Centrelink as "incapable of doing more than 0-2 hours of work each week"

Which sucks.

People, even Centrelink staff, seem to think the DSP is some kind of holy grail - government staff have, on more than one occasion (I have been on the DSP before), congratulated me on being assessed as disabled and incapable of work......for 1149 AUD each fortnight.

DISABLED.

YOU ARE CONGRATULATING ME FOR BEING DISABLED AND FEELING LIKE A FAILURE AND A STAIN AND A DRAIN ON SOCIETY.

I get it, I understand it, for sure.

But it doesn't change the reality I have to deal with - I am, in the view of government and treating health professionals, unsuitable for earning a wage by my own hand.

But you know what?

Like I say to my psychiatrist, I am not the problem.

This world is the problem.

I don't WANT to be like this. I don't WANT appellations of incapability and unsuitability.

But nobody, NOBODY, can ever understand the rage that comes from being discarded like that. To walk down the street and feel ashamed of your output, your contributions. To feel like you are a card carrying member of the "Failure Club", or the "Modern Life Broke Me" club.

Nah.

**** that.

Society is the problem, not me.

My problem is I see it and feel it and care about it, even to the detriment of myself. Being outside of the world, being invisible, being just another shuffling, shambling hobo.....just someone irrelevant, meaningless, inconsequential......"like a bottle cap or a piece of lint" (credit to Equalizer 1)....when that place is your world, it is very lonely, very dark and very crushing.

But nobody else understands it, unless they have been there at 4AM on a city street and wondering where to sleep and when you can next eat.

Hence.....loneliness.

Because that is what loneliness is - it isn't being alone, in solitude (that's actually really nice and soothing) - it's being in a place with other people, be it a room, or a hall, or a stadium or a world, in which people are unable or unwilling, to understand you without judgement, to accept you as valid without any further justification.

You are an island in a sea of humanity and no matter how much you want otherwise, you will never matter. Your needs, so different from the majority, are rendered immaterial.

YOU JUST WANT TO BELONG.

Belonging to something is a cure for loneliness - hence RWNJ/conspiracists etc - they offer acceptance without judgement, indeed more likely welcome with warmth and shared conviviality. Another illusion - you will be nothing more than tool in furthering goals for another.

And after all those words, what now?

I still believe. I still hope for peace and happiness. I still want a world of sustenance for all. I still hope for bounty and vittles to attend your door, if not mine. I can wish and hope for a better life for you and your family and do what I can to ensure the world the next generation inherits is a better place than this one.

And because I think that, because I BELIEVE that, because I have lived my whole life like that.....I'm the crazy one.

**** you.

Peace.
I am so happy that you are back in Thailand with your wife.

The rest I’m sorry for but to feel safety, love and care is far more important than the rest.

Best of luck for your future mate. I hope things change for you ❤️

I am so happy that you are back in Thailand with your wife.

The rest I’m sorry for but to feel safety, love and care is far more important than the rest.

Best of luck for your future mate. I hope things change for you ❤️

Thanks mate :heart:

For everyone ITT - I've said it before - stay strong.

It's an EASY thing to say of course - but then, I've had to DO lol - but you CAN find a path forward. It doesn't matter if you can't see it - IT IS THERE.

Some days in life, everything easy.....no problem.

Other times....not so much.

But there are rare times when every avenue seems blocked. When it isn't just difficult, it seems IMPOSSIBLE for things to improve.

Maybe they won't. Maybe the situation will get worse. Maybe you are, truly, in the bracket of homeless and jobless, bereft of means and options, where every face is a grim rictus of invited pain and discomfort.

Maybe.
Maybe.
Maybe.

I like certainty.

In the absence of certainty, where my only options are preceded by "maybe......" , I seek certainty. If everything APPEARS ****ed, then IT MUST BE SO.

So, I attach "everything is ****ed and **** it all, where's the knife?" to those moments.

Wrong. Oh, sometimes I WISH it were true, believe me.

But, life has taught me that isn't the case - life is struggle.

I have never yet seen a video of the Serengetti, where lions and antelopes are chilling under a tree drinking wine spritzers.

So...STRUGGLE.

Because that is life.

Solve problems. Visualise a future.

Don't give up - because you are still in the game.

Maybe, sure, 10 goals down at the final change, kicking against the wind, nobody on interchange..........but.....you wouldn't want your footy team throwing in the towel, I'm sure.

These things are easy to say, harder to live.

I have.

So you can too - even if you think you can't.

Love all y'all.

Peace.

I’m masking again, been off work with chronic back pain for two months now, surgery is my only fix, probably a 12 month wait, pain meds do nothing , I can’t stand sit or walk for more than 10 minutes before nerve compression kicks in. I’m ****ing over it right now.

Sorry to hear that man.

Have been off work from sciatica last week.

Same sorta thing, back pain that shoots down the glutes and down the right leg.

Panadeine forte and celebrex helps though but once it wares off it comes back a bit.

Would be ****ed to end up the same way as you mate. Like I said, sorry to hear it.

Did you do weight training at all?

Sorry to hear that man.

Have been off work from sciatica last week.

Same sorta thing, back pain that shoots down the glutes and down the right leg.

Panadeine forte and celebrex helps though but once it wares off it comes back a bit.

Would be ****ed to end up the same way as you mate. Like I said, sorry to hear it.

Did you do weight training at all?
Yeah I’m getting no pain relief, I’m on diclofenac, amitryptiline and forte. I’ve got severe stenosis in L4 L5 S1 and severe facet arthritis and a slipped vertebrae which is pushing a disc. I do t do any weight training. My job is labor intensive so I can’t work at all like this and I love my job.

mate..i was the same a while back. couldnt get out of bed for months

surgery was a miracle.

all good now. hang in there. surgery is worth it.

Yeah doom scrolling on Facebook and that reel hit me really hard
Yep! The world being a shit hole doesn’t exactly help.

My dad has just been diagnosed with colon cancer recently and I’ve wished a few times it was me instead. Not to prevent him from dying, just so I could but I have a daughter who needs me so I get up everyday bc of her, I paint the fake smile on and carry on like my world is good

I went to work last Friday & didn’t last an hour … so I have taken some time off

Feeling ashamed, embarrassed & hopeless
Do whatever it takes mate. I just keep working bc if I stop…. I feel like I will actually crumble and I just can’t afford that but mostly I just don’t want to look weak bc I crucify myself enough already

This everyday! Im so sick of pretending life is peachy!
I keep saying it. All my life people say smile. Be happy etc. Being content is better than pretending to be happy it is so peaceful.

Sometimes it’s better to pretend than copping the poor you bullshit!

MY fake smile is terrible. I usually laugh and smile when I feel like its worth it

I went to work last Friday & didn’t last an hour … so I have taken some time off

Feeling ashamed, embarrassed & hopeless
Feel it. Been in a low spot myself at least trying to feel content.i work, sleep, goto the gym.

You are expected to be happy or you are miserable and many don't understand you.

The worst thing is being in a low place and treated like absolute shit. People thinking they can talk to you however they want as if mental health means nothing.

HAppened a few times these last few weeks. Made a minor mistake at work and got spoken down to in front of the group despite spending weeks going above and beyond in my job. . I may not be perfect and perhaps misunderstood but that doesn't give people the right to launch an all out assult on your character or to shame you in front of others.

Health Depression