Health Depression

• Thread starter Thread starter smasha

What makes you think she has been incorrectly diagnosed Borderline personality?

My girlfriend has that paired with bi polar. She is doing a lot better then when i first met her, but my experience then was that going to emergency or having anything to do with the mental health system is a waste of time.

Finding a good psychiatrist in the end, is pretty much the key.

I agree but this has not happened yet. It's been incredibly hard to find a good one. She has had various diagnosis including bi polar, schizophrenia and borderline personality. The latter is something you should read up on because there is controversy around it being a personality disorder in the first place AND there is a terrible stigma attached to it. A male showing the same symptoms as a female with borderline personality is more likely to be diagnosed as a sociopath. The reason i remain unconvinced about her diagnosis, is she has had so many of them and they're conflicting.

The schizophrenia is confused with psychotic breaks from reality which happens to her under stress and through lack of sleep.

She flatly does not have borderline personality and bi polar i'm undecided. As i said, she's fallen through the cracks, she suffers from depression and insomnia. The numerous psychs she has seen have not been able to get her on the correct medication, therefore she is not functioning and self medicates with benzo's, pot etc. Benzo's and diazapans etc only make depression worse.

For the OP, there is a guy in the US who runs a stress reduction clinic. He has a cd 'mindfulness for beginners' which is excellent and has a fantastic meditation cd as well.

http://www.thehouseofoojah.com/audi...s-for-beginners-jon-kabat-zinn-audiobook.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jon_Kabat-Zinn

I agree but this has not happened yet. It's been incredibly hard to find a good one. She has had various diagnosis including bi polar, schizophrenia and borderline personality. The latter is something you should read up on because there is controversy around it being a personality disorder in the first place AND there is a terrible stigma attached to it. A male showing the same symptoms as a female with borderline personality is more likely to be diagnosed as a sociopath. The reason i remain unconvinced about her diagnosis, is she has had so many of them and they're conflicting.

The schizophrenia is confused with psychotic breaks from reality which happens to her under stress and through lack of sleep.

She flatly does not have borderline personality and bi polar i'm undecided. As i said, she's fallen through the cracks, she suffers from depression and insomnia. The numerous psychs she has seen have not been able to get her on the correct medication, therefore she is not functioning and self medicates with benzo's, pot etc. Benzo's and diazapans etc only make depression worse.

For the OP, there is a guy in the US who runs a stress reduction clinic. He has a cd 'mindfulness for beginners' which is excellent and has a fantastic meditation cd as well.

http://www.thehouseofoojah.com/audi...s-for-beginners-jon-kabat-zinn-audiobook.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jon_Kabat-Zinn

Having dealt with someone first-hand that was diagnosed with 'borderline personality disorder', I can tell you understand completely and sympathise with your friend. I can't go into too much detail (never know who reads this stuff!) - but I knew this person in a professional capacity, someone who was the victim of the exact dilemma BBC arose, lack of mental health care facilities in this country...because the disorder is one that is so controversial in its diagnosis, it is then of course VERY difficult to treat properly.

The stigma you speak of is becuase of the uncertainty of the diagnosis, 'personality disorder' the public perception is that it is not even a real disease. In the mental health profession is these people are not perceived or dealt with much better. The person I speak of was kicked out of mental health care at every opportunity because of the lack of beds quite simply but also because of the difficult behaviour they exhibited. Kicked out hospital and left with the family, then back in hospital, few more meds, back on the street because the family cant handle them. The person eventually commited suicide. There are several other elements to this scenario which were very tragic and basically how every institution failed this person.

Having dealt with someone first-hand that was diagnosed with 'borderline personality disorder', I can tell you understand completely and sympathise with your friend. I can't go into too much detail (never know who reads this stuff!) - but I knew this person in a professional capacity, someone who was the victim of the exact dilemma BBC arose, lack of mental health care facilities in this country...because the disorder is one that is so controversial in its diagnosis, it is then of course VERY difficult to treat properly.

The stigma you speak of is becuase of the uncertainty of the diagnosis, 'personality disorder' the public perception is that it is not even a real disease. In the mental health profession is these people are not perceived or dealt with much better. The person I speak of was kicked out of mental health care at every opportunity because of the lack of beds quite simply but also because of the difficult behaviour they exhibited. Kicked out hospital and left with the family, then back in hospital, few more meds, back on the street because the family cant handle them. The person eventually commited suicide. There are several other elements to this scenario which were very tragic and basically how every institution failed this person.

Apart from committing suicide the second paragraph in your post is the identical scenario to the one I am referring to.

stop it! we're not in any physical pain, the only pain only a man can understand

but seriously, days when the sun doesnt come out does get me down, although the opposite of that has the same effect on me as well

live with it, dont let it get you down, even if it does. another theory of mine is people get it because of maturity in the brain, you reach a point of development, but believing there should be more (because growing up takes a lifetime, it doesnt stop when youve made the transition from child-> to teenager-> to adult), people feel down because thats all there is... we cant grow wings and fly or become anything more.

just make the most of it, and live

I think one of the best things to help depression is this thread itself. What often leads to depression is that you think your alone in your thoughts and feelings.

I too have had to deal with some of these issues.

One of them being my Dad stealing money from me to feed his gambaling addiction.

He used me and made me think that I was wrong and being delusional.

I only see him on weekends and rare occasions these days. Other than basic chat about how our footy teams when on the weekend he has no influence on me anymore.

I'm a pretty happy person generally, but still feel down about things like this from time to time.

The only problem she has found with it, is the lack of doctors who specialise in BPD. Never really been on the end of controversy at all tbh. Maybe she has been quite lucky. She was diagnosed as strictly bi-polar before but once she was diagnosed as BPD and her treatment changed there was a big improvement. There are different symptoms of BPD though and what my gf has is probably less destructive then what some others may have.

I have a lot of sympathy for the people who suffer and those who are with them though. A lot of stress goes with it.

There is a real problem with the mental health facilities in this country. So many nurses and doctors give everything they can, but there are so many people that fall through the cracks :thumbsd: It's so sad that people who are mentally ill end up on the streets simply because there is no other place for them :(

stop it! we're not in any physical pain, the only pain only a man can understand

but seriously, days when the sun doesnt come out does get me down, although the opposite of that has the same effect on me as well

live with it, dont let it get you down, even if it does. another theory of mine is people get it because of maturity in the brain, you reach a point of development, but believing there should be more (because growing up takes a lifetime, it doesnt stop when youve made the transition from child-> to teenager-> to adult), people feel down because thats all there is... we cant grow wings and fly or become anything more.

just make the most of it, and live

I'd rather be in phsyical pain. Physical pain hurts at the time, but you know that given time it will get better. Mental pain comes and goes at will and is as debilitating as any injury I've ever had - and I've had some rip snorters. One second you can be on top of the world, then for no apparent reason you wouldn't mind it all coming to an end. Some people are faced with requiring medication to keep themselves on the straight and narrow, but anti depressants can have some pretty lethal side effects, both mentally and physically.

Nobody likes being on them - it is somewhat degrading, and I don't know anyone who has been on them that hasn't tried to stop, both cold turkey, and by weening themselves off. For a person to sit back and realise that they may just have chemical imbalances inside their brain which require constant medicinal intervention is a terrible feeling. The feelings that result from not being on medication are even worse though. Saying 'stop it, we are not in any physical pain', indicates that you have little idea of just how bad depression and its associated ailments can be.

What a massive load of wank.

IMO depression is a self fulfilling prophecy, a convienent escape clause for bums who havent got what it takes, or lack the desire to be better than they are.

Smasha is a perfect example, complaining about EVERYTHING.

Pull your fingers out and realise you only live once FFS.

IMO depression is a self fulfilling prophecy, a convienent escape clause for bums who havent got what it takes, or lack the desire to be better than they are.

**** Yeah, Just stop being depressed, Its obviously a choice!

BTW i get extreme Bi-Polar, While somedays i can just pull myself out of bed and deal with it thinking "Im not going to let myself do nothing for 8 hours" i get the occassional Day where i go from anything from not being able to attend work to picking fights with people over the smallest shit either starting it or not being able to let things go knowing full well the next day i am an absolute dick for it i dont really have "control" of it

I dont really like discussing it and keep it secret from most my mates and such, But it slightly annoys me when people say "Just dont be sad Lol!" Maybe its a Chemical Imbalance, Maybe a Bad Upbringing, Possibly something Superficial, It still is an absolute sucky place to be in, i Myself back when i was 15-16 was Really struggling to deal with it, and i wish i had got some help before it de-railed myself from my study/Friends,

But Hey, what Do I know more then you? Maybe i didnt have the desire to go to work or generally be social a day every week, or have the desire to just lash out and break stuff for no real reason now and then?

That attitude has been very seductive to me in the past but it's entirely bullshit and needs to be shut down.

**** right man! Its just like the other day, I saw this motorcyclist stack his bike into a lamp post right, and he was there on the ground like squirming and shit going like "ah shit man I think I broke my leg" and I was like "just walk it off mate, harden up ffs" and he was like "nah seriously call an ambulance mate I've really hurt myself" so I just started kicking him and yelling "Bullshit mate its a self fulfilling prophecy, you just lack the desire to walk you lazy bastard, what a convenient escape clause" and then I got arrested.

In all seriousness, it really is this simple:

1. We can all agree the brain is in charge of the way people behave

2. We can all agree the brain is a major organ of the human body

3. We can all agree that major organs in the human body are susceptible to sickness and injury

Therefore, if the brain gets sick or injured, its pretty realistic to think it will affect somebodies behavior, right?

In future, try not to be such a stupid ****. Cheers.

**** right man! Its just like the other day, I saw this motorcyclist stack his bike into a lamp post right, and he was there on the ground like squirming and shit going like "ah shit man I think I broke my leg" and I was like "just walk it off mate, harden up ffs" and he was like "nah seriously call an ambulance mate I've really hurt myself" so I just started kicking him and yelling "Bullshit mate its a self fulfilling prophecy, you just lack the desire to walk you lazy bastard, what a convenient escape clause" and then I got arrested.

In all seriousness, it really is this simple:

1. We can all agree the brain is in charge of the way people behave

2. We can all agree the brain is a major organ of the human body

3. We can all agree that major organs in the human body are susceptible to sickness and injury

Therefore, if the brain gets sick or injured, its pretty realistic to think it will affect somebodies behavior, right?

In future, try not to be such a stupid ****. Cheers.

I'd give that post a positive rep if I could, well said mate. :thumbsu:

And personal experience wise, well, about a month after giving up smoking, I went and saw a doctor for depression. I've been told by this doctor, after a 5 minute consultation - that I was depressed. The medication they gave me (Lexapro) really messed me up. I took it for about 2 months then quit because I was getting MORE depressed taking it.

I've been fine since, just needed to adjust to no longer being a drug addict. And by adjust, I mean that I needed to start smoking again. Now I'm all good.

It's funny though how some mental disorders are quite looked up to (psychopathy for an example) while others are considered weak (depression). You'll find most true psychopaths are really cool people, interesting, and high achievers. Most depressives aren't. The same kind of ra-ra, positive thinking, go out and get 'em crowd love a good psychopath.

The way I see it is, your life is going to unfold in some way or another - but you should go as hard as **** int hat direction as possible. Iggy Pop was a nutcase, so was Einstein, so was Hitler - but they all achieved a lot in their lives because they just ran with teh craziness. Don't be pissed off that you don't fit into societies idea of what 'cool' or 'successful' is. It's a very narrow definition these days and its almost always equated with wealth. I feel wealthy every day and I am on Centrelink benefits, being paid by the taxpayer to learn some interesting shit is about as wealthy as you can get.

Just take a minute, think about whether you're actually depressed, or whether you're just feeling anxious and inadequate. If it's the latter, you really do need to stop comparing yourself with other people - mainly because it doesn't matter anyway. Took me a long time to figure that out.

Yeah it's interesting to see how theres negative effects to removing supposedly bad elements in your life.

Got into some trouble with the law a few weeks back, been advised by my legal representation to give up alcohol for the meantime, if only for it looking decent in the eyes of the judge when the case is heard, but also to stop making so many bad decisions after a few too many.

On one hand, I'm saving a bit of cash, lost a bit of weight, spending more time doing housework/readings/study etc.

On the other, I've realised just how much I dislike people who I have no need for. Up until now, a lot of my social interaction with people at uni has been based on a need for people to go have a beer with during a poorly timed break, or because I wanted to get in their pants. As someone in a long term relationship and not needing a beer, I don't need anyone at uni at the moment, so I'm as anti-social as it gets, to the point of unnecessary rudeness.

To be re-assessed in a few weeks I suppose...

Cool, when the person you love most in the whole world tries to kill themselves and you have to physically stop them literally on the brink of death, then come back and tell me it's an escape clause for bums.

Until then, take your **** out of your hand and stop be an ignorant pole smoker.

Very true Pav

To all the whingers in the thread, let me tell you something you already know.

The world ain't all sunshine and rainbows. It's a very mean and nasty place and I don't care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get it and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward.

Very true Pav

The world ain't all sunshine and rainbows. It's a very mean and nasty place and I don't care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get it and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward.

This is the kind of thing someone says when they're a pussy and struggle to handle the daily pressures of everyday life.

You're mistaking your own failings with an actual disease. Depression has nothing to do with your own ineptitude and constant failure, it is a disease - not a matter of perspective.

This is the kind of thing someone says when they're a pussy and struggle to handle the daily pressures of everyday life.

You're mistaking your own failings with an actual disease. Depression has nothing to do with your own ineptitude and constant failure, it is a disease - not a matter of perspective.

That's the kind of thing Rocky says. Being able to bounce back from painful events and being resilient is different to depression and other mental illnesses.

:D:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

exactly!!

Very true Pav

:o

god your an ignorant moron STFU

Very true Pav

I hope you seriously don't get struck down with depression. Because if you do, karma is a bitch you do not want to deal with. :o

Geez you are a miserable bunch aren't you.

It was a quote from Rocky 6, so precious that you can't even detect a bit of humour.

Get over yourselves and stop thinking that you should be handled with kid gloves just because your GP wrote you a prescription for aropax or lexipro.

Geez you are a miserable bunch aren't you.

It was a quote from Rocky 6, so precious that you can't even detect a bit of humour.

Get over yourselves and stop thinking that you should be handled with kid gloves just because your GP wrote you a prescription for aropax or lexipro.

Wait, so why was that funny again?

I accept you were just mucking around, but, where is the funny?

The way I see it is, your life is going to unfold in some way or another - but you should go as hard as **** in that direction as possible. Iggy Pop was a nutcase, so was Einstein, so was Hitler - but they all achieved a lot in their lives because they just ran with teh craziness. Don't be pissed off that you don't fit into societies idea of what 'cool' or 'successful' is. It's a very narrow definition these days and its almost always equated with wealth. I feel wealthy every day and I am on Centrelink benefits, being paid by the taxpayer to learn some interesting shit is about as wealthy as you can get.

Seriously, this is one of the wisest things I've ever read on an internet forum! Brilliantly said. I try to live by this every day.

But yes, I agree with BBC. Depression and other mental illnesses are very real, unfortunately. Often mis-diagnosed, yes, but they do exist.