Strategy Dermott Brereton joins St.Kilda as specialist coach

mhde20.jpg

otm9tj.jpg

Oooooooohhhhhh look at me! Love me, Want me, shower me with kisses!

Who was our fwds coach after Hamill took over vfl? Ratten? Or does he still do it?
There's already improvement in the fwd half before Dermi arrived.
Watch em all come out and go how much we've improved up fwd, later this year. Must be Dermi.
This is a nothing signing. I don't see what he could offer that others can't.
He's on record for hating on us in the past.

I respect your right to hold this opinion, Colleague. However, as several other posters have remarked, if this appointment contributes toward us achieving success, then I for one, welcome it. I think perhaps that we need to be mature enough to get over any perceived “hate” on the part of DB toward the Saints, and just see how it works out!

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Richo said today that it was Ratten who identified a need for a coach to focus on 'forward craft' of our young forwards. To me it is a sign of significant maturity of the coaching staff that they are able to identify needs, and can recognise when they aren't the best people to fill them. Remember that Ratten was a brand new coach at the club who was assigned the forward line. And he immediately says 'I can't do this alone, we need another part time coach to focus on a different aspect'.
Good idea. To be honest our key forwards don’t get marks on the lead or have one on one contests enough, membery and Bruce included. If we can maximise our advantage and also coach Mccartin (if he comes back) and King to come on faster, we’ll have some potent key forwards to look forward to for the next 10 years.

Don’t mind the idea of Dermie being with us, even if it is to get a bit of stability from the press. So that gives us him, Dixon, Spud, Dal & Roo in the media singing our praises. The more supporters/players hear about us, especially the way we are playing, then we just might become a “ “ destination club.

Should we approach Barrett ...... yeah, NAH!!!

The dees poor form may be the effect of drinking their own bathwater.

Post Game they cut to derm...... This campaigner sitting there like "bathwater? I been drinking that for 40 years, can down the whole tub and it doesn't even phase me."

Welcome aboard dermis. Hopefully some of that swagger rub off on our boys set shot kicking.

I respect your right to hold this opinion, Colleague. However, as several other posters have remarked, if this appointment contributes toward us achieving success, then I for one, welcome it. I think perhaps that we need to be mature enough to get over any perceived “hate” on the part of DB toward the Saints, and just see how it works out!

I don't have to be mature about anything.. He's not Al Clarkson.
He went on record after Watter was sacked for saying that we make stupid decisions as a football club and that's why we never win premierships.
Now he may have been right at the time lol but its beside the point. He had no right attacking us publicly like that.
I don't think he's the sharpest tool in commentary. Which lets face it that's what he is now. So what's the point.
Let's go get Eddy Maguire to be our media relations coach.
Like the other bloke said. He's a hawthorn spy.

He went on record after Watter was sacked for saying that we make stupid decisions as a football club and that's why we never win premierships.
Now he may have been right at the time lol but its beside the point. He had no right attacking us publicly like that.
I don't think he's the sharpest tool in commentary. Which lets face it that's what he is now. So what's the point.
With respect our history is littered with stupid mistakes and only one flag.

He kind of makes a valid point IMO.

Comment noted!

I reckon five day and five night premierships allows you to strut your stuff whenever you like.

We bemoan not having enough people at the club who have experienced success. There is no more successful CHF in the game. Good appointment by the club.

If you want an example of Derm’s contribution to a successful Hawthorn side, check out the first five minutes of the ‘89 GF.

I’m sure I’ve seen a documentary with slo-mo footage of Dermie in really bad shape in the hands of trainers after the Yates hit. They’re trying to get him off the ground He won’t have it and goes to full forward and kicks the first goal of the match.

Don’t remember any strutting at that time. Just getting the job done against a very good Geelong side.

BTW Check out media buffoon Dipper’s performance in this game too. Can’t judge a footballer by what they become after their playing days. Our own Spud slots nicely into the great player (defender), media buffoon category too!

"No right"? What could that possibly mean? He's a media commentator, he was commenting on the club. Of course he has the "right".
True he has the right. Like freedom of speech. Wrong term.
He wasnt just commentating on the club like you say.
It was heated verbal venom directed right at the club and it was straight after the sacking, it was abusive and it was very public.

Fair point. That's a general problem with afl coverage imo, there's way too much personal crap and very little pretense of objectivity.

our clubs administration has deserved public shaming in the past.

Oooooooohhhhhh look at me! Love me, Want me, shower me with kisses!
Bathwater Derm , did you see the flog in his media conference , Just looking out the window i can see a few things that need a tweek , yeah like your ego Derm , sorry i think this is a bad decision ., time will tell

Well he needs to stop acting like a twat on the tv then
And Derm....u aint 25 anymore dude
That hair is a freaking joke
Nailed it mate , the dick still thinks is a 20 year old surfer , I cant believe how so many on here think its great he has come to the club , i would bet my left one 99% of you were calling him a flog last week

Never met him so I can’t really talk about his so-called flogginess, but if his expertise can help players like Winx, Parker etc. then why not? Time will tell.

He coached the son of a friend of mine at Sandy Dragons and they said he was brilliant with young guys.

He's a Dick. We all know it.
Can he teach Winx and others how to be a gun fwd, that's the point of getting him onboard. Ratts will know the answer to that better than us. I like the appointment.

He is a flog who is extremely knowledgable on key forwards.
Who cares about his persona if he can make our key forwards better.

Saints are playing Hawks in a final. Clarko gives Derm a call for a bit of an inside scoop.... what does Derm do?

Do we trust him?

I'd be inclined to give him info on a need to know basis.

Seriously? Do you really want to go through all the clubs who have employee's who might have worked for another club?
Most club employee's would be in that category.

Seriously? Do you really want to go through all the clubs who have employee's who might have worked for another club?
Most club employee's would be in that category.

I like the appointment... said so in this thread. I'd still be inclined to give him info on a need to know basis.

He's always gone out of his way to bag us as a club so it's going to be hard to take him in as one of our own. I remember him saying that he thanks god he went to the Hawks instead of the Saints, said we have a loser mindset that stops us being able to win and several other disparaging things like his post Watters slaying of us.

I remember Blight being openly hostile about us and we went and employed him and can't help thinking it's some kind of inferiority complex that makes us pay our critics.