Dermott Brereton's commentary

• Thread starter Thread starter kozi

He actually wasn't too bad today Derm.

He was quite supportive of St Kilda for once and said what most Saints supporters are saying, Stanley has the talent but needs to impact the game more and we should be playing Josh Bruce.

He has some good insights amongst his long winded babble.

Scott Lucas is one that's good too listen too but i think he is mainly on radio. Anyone on tv is way too annoying.

captain not so obvious on SEN.

i feel he analyses the game to an inch of its life to flesh out some obscure statistic to demonstrate some "fact" he points out

I've heard it mentioned before but he does talk like he's had about six beers. As a Hawthorn supporter he does make me cringe only because 'he's one of us' but there are far worse commentators out there that have been mentioned. How Tom Harley gets away with repeating the exact same story about Luke Bruest slipping through the Swans academy or how he is from a rugby league background in EVERY SINGLE MATCH HE CALLS is staggering!
Which is sort of ironic given that for the last two years of his playing career every time Harley touched the ball we'd get 'Did you know he takes the most marks out of anyone in the competition from opposition kicks inside 50?' from Robert Walls. Every. Single. Time.

it's funny that the "special comments" people are the worst of the lot, or to quote darce, the "absolute" worst

his performance when we played the giants this season was unbelievable. i've never heard someone rooting for a team like that. he was just cheering their kids and egging them on to win their battles and the entire game was called from the giants perspective.
Haha, this is every commentator in every game Adelaide plays and every team vs GWS and GC, they barely mention Adelaide is playing out there bar Dangerfield and Sloane and if Adelaide are ahead they aren't just barracking against them they are coaching the opposition, "how can they turn this around?", I've never seen this the other way round. When vb, bv, mackay, reilly were all playing they would mix up all of them and sometimes even mixing up Symes into this.

GWS and Gold Coast it's even bigger bias and this is clearly company line propaganda, continuous apology for their woeful performances and talking up their talent.
Ex-crows are the worst they make a bigger effort to appear non-biased and fit in with the rest.
We get Dwayne Russel a cross town supporter almost every game, we have blokes umpiring from the commentators box and replaying crow favored decisions to poke holes and then skipping over anything else.

The commentators we should have are Rex Hunt and the EJ whitten game crew.
I'd like to have Dunstall but we never get him.

It says a lot about the state of footy commentary when every single defence of this monumental flog in this thread boils down to 'yeah he's bad, but he's not as bad as....'

Should we really be thinking of it like that? Let's actually demand some quality in the media instead of putting up with every 3rd egotistical flog just because he's slightly less of a flog than the first 2 monumental arses. I'm sick of not being able to watch one game of footy without being distracted by the morons behind the microphones.

Matt Cambell always seems ok. Only seems to get the occasional game though. Maybe that's why i don't hate him yet.

Don't get this one, sorry. He's another Dwayne Russell. And, for some reason, he seems to escape the same level of hate as Tom Waterhouse, despite being just as ubiquitous on TV and radio (far more than Waterhouse this year, actually) spruiking Sportsbet.

If anything, I think the comparative levels of hatred of Waterhouse and Campbell have shown the real reason that Waterhouse caused as much outrage as he did: that he's a smarmy little shit, from a dubious family, who's a big enough douchebag to start a gambling company named after himself and with himself as the logo, rather than any real concern about gambling advertisements becoming part of the broadcasts.

my issue, which is the same with a lot of players is that the AFL commentators who played have never been able to turn off the fact they are not part of the team anymore. They are paid to objectively analyse the game. I got the sh@ts this weekend on the Dermie and McChin show when they talked about helping each other out next week at the games. Come on, this is an end of week review of the action, not a how did it impact my interests!

Don't get this one, sorry. He's another Dwayne Russell.
Don't think Matty has quite assembled Dwayne's bag of absurd cliches or penchant for over inflating the significance of the games he's calling yet.

Dermie's problem is that he over complicates things. Never uses an easy phrase when he can try to make himself look smart by using big words.

He's not a great media performer but he does come up with the occasional insightful comment, however finding it in the middle of his stream of consciousness delivery is the trick.

He's also nowhere near Robbo levels of stupidity.

Dermie's problem is that he over complicates things. Never uses an easy phrase when he can try to make himself look smart by using big words.

He's not a great media performer but he does come up with the occasional insightful comment, however finding it in the middle of his stream of consciousness delivery is the trick.

He's also nowhere near Robbo levels of stupidity.

I think everything derm says is usually right on the money.

I don't mind Dermie. People here seem to want every commentator to be exactly the same. That'd be incredibly boring.

Dermie's clearly enthusiastic about the game. He doesn't try and pretend he's some unbiased oracle. He loves Cyril and hates Essendon. It's refreshing hearing someone just be out there about things like that. He's having fun at the footy.

Give me Dermie over someone like Mark McLure who sounds like he hates his life and everyone around him.

Mark McLure is sooooo cringeworthy whenever i see him on Fox. Just doesn't seem right. Some of his opinions seem way off and yeah like you said the way he presents himself and his opinions seems like he hates life and everyone around him.

Seen a few episodes where Johnson looks pretty annoyed at him. McLure often just interrupts conversation flow to get his opinion in.

I applaud McLure and his honesty in relation the the Malthouse debacle, it's plainly obvious that Carlton have made a huge error as 'Mad Mick' continues to make a fool of himself weekly. Brereton's defence of Malthouse is shallow and misguided, Dermie is not having a good year in the media in 2014. Malthouse has dug his own grave here with behavioral traits bordering on the ridiculous. Malthouse is damaging the Carlton brand and he will never accept the fact that the game is now a made for TV spectacle and to him the cameras are a hindrance. "Mad Mick' has to understand that coaches of the present and future will be filmed going to the bog if the networks so desire. They are reportedly looking at paying $1.6billion for the next lot of TV rights and Mick better bring his own toilet paper... he might be filmed having a wipe.....Bereton needs to sharpen up his game or he might end up without a gig too.

Don't mind old derm actually. Just a laid back good australian bloke imo.

This is the image every single commentator tries to pander to and it shits me to no end. I don't want to listen to the drunk uncle at the end of the bar, I want to listen to an actual balanced analyst of the game who knows what they're talking about. We don't have any of those, they all want to be a 'personality' in their own right, sick of it.

Dermie is the worst interviewer ever. Makes a long winded statement about his views of the game and asks the interviewee to agree or disagree, which they always feel compelled to agree with, thus making Dermie feel superior to everyone.

When we have a guest on we want to hear what they think not what Dermie thinks.

I applaud McLure and his honesty in relation the the Malthouse debacle, it's plainly obvious that Carlton have made a huge error as 'Mad Mick' continues to make a fool of himself weekly.

It's funny listening to Maclure bag Mick because he was the same bloke trying to get rid of Ratten for Mick and was quite outspoken about it too.
Now he's not happy, not happy at all and probably wants Mick out such is the quick-fix-nature these Carlton blokes employ.

The Dermie waffle about Jeans on his deathbed saying he had courage makes me want to projectile vomit.

Not because I am saying it didn't happen.

But because everything that comes out of Dermie's mouth is really a story about his FIGJAM self.

Reminds me of listening to Ian Chappell commentate particularly in the 80s.

The waffle was just hiding the real underlying story about how Ian Chappell was the greatest test captain ever and what idiot would place the field that way or change the bowlers that way or just occupy the crease with no positive strokeplay.

Dermie's 800 words to say 30 is just because he cannot directly say FIGJAM.