Dermott Brereton's commentary

• Thread starter Thread starter kozi

The verbal diarrhea of the AFL commentators is plain as dog's balls to me now after listening to the magnificent Martin Tyler commentate the World Cup - less is more boys!
I was thinking exactly that watching the World Cup yesterday morning.

A penalty shoot out and it's not over the top garbage about hair styles, what someone did last game, the size of a sign in the crowd.....just the sport.

Can you imagine these channel 7 clowns if they got their hands on a penalty shoot out!?

"Oh boy Richo, we are going to go to a penalty shoot out!!! Can you believe it?! This is going to be massive Darce! Who's going to take the first punt...oh boy wowee!"

A penalty shoot out and it's not over the top GarageBand about hair styles, what someone did last game, the size of a sign in the crowd.....just the sport.

Can you imagine these channel 7 clowns if they got their hands on a penalty shoot out!?

"Oh boy Richo, we are going to go to a penalty shoot out!!! Can you believe it?! This is going to be massive Darce! Who's going to take the first punt...oh boy wowee!"
it's an incredible contrast isn't it?

I sometimes revel in watching a game of soccer, and miracle of miracles, often the commentator stops talking altogether! You are just left with the game and the crowd noise. It's magic.

You don't need to say something for the sake of it. The game can speak for itself. Say something only when something needs to be said. Seven hells, it's not hard

Oh and Tom Harley can leave this planet at any time.
If we wasn't a dual premiership captain at Geelong I'd probably agree with you. Dual premiership captains don't grow on trees.

I used to love Channel TEN's commentators and overall coverage. Each game always gave me chills and they created an insane (good) atmosphere. I think the commentators were Anthony Hudson, Robert Walls, Steve 'Quarters' and my personal favourite commentator of all time Tim Lane... He had a voice that could make a wolverine purr. :D

When Mooney interviews someone at the quarter time breaks or after the game, his expression when he's listening to the answer (no matter what it is) is exactly the same as the expression every bloke has when a girl he is keen on is banging on about God knows what and he's desperately trying to look earnest, caring and interested.

I have perfected the same expression for when my wife tells me why she wants to watch Offspring.

It only took him a season to realise that he didn't cut the mustard and promptly moved over to commentary. A coaching stint best left forgotten.

Very true. To his credit though, at least he rolled up his sleeves and had a go at it. There are plenty of football media "personalities" who will assuredly never do that.

Sometimes I hate it and sometimes it's ok. I have issues with most commentators though. He and Chef calling a Hawks game is ok sometimes but they sometimes try and be over unbias.

I have time for Duck.

So do I. Probably because he speaks less than any other commentator, and he only talks about the actual game going on. Strange that.

A penalty shoot out and it's not over the top GarageBand about hair styles, what someone did last game, the size of a sign in the crowd.....just the sport.

And Dermott chips in with how he was in a similar position back in 87 with the whole world watching and gee...it was tough but he saved the day and won it all by himself

Those three words sum up him in the media and especially his commentary. It all eventually comes back to, and is only about, himself.

Has an obsession with big players and big thighs in particular, but can provide great insight's.

Can't stand his views on my team though.

****ing Dermott would say "I can tell from the position of the sun over Brazil, his body language and the length of the grass at the stadium he will try to place it in the top right hand corner" BOY OH BOY, WOWEEEEE! Tom Harley: "yes its a tense moment, whoever scores the most penalty goals wins that match"

Not my point at all.

You asked
an idiotic question so in turn I gave you a run of the mill answer.

That said, I'd still rather listen to Dermie talk about the footy than yourself.

Don't try that card now mate the answer you gave was not run of the mill at all. You clearly think that Dermott is a very intelligent man because he's played AFL footy and won 5 grand finals. How can you say it's not your point at all when you've echoed it in basically every post?

If instead of talking about the footy here you'd rather go listen to Dermie talk then why have you posted numerous times trying to defend the crap you've sprayed in this thread that's been shot down by everyone?

Anyway, let us know what Dermie thinks about peoples' views here next time you sit down for a $6 decaf cafe latte with him.

Don't try that card now mate the answer you gave was not run of the mill at all. You clearly think that Dermott is a very intelligent man because he's played AFL footy and won 5 grand finals. How can you say it's not your point at all when you've echoed it in basically every post?

If instead of talking about the footy here you'd rather go listen to Dermie talk then why have you posted numerous times trying to defend the crap you've sprayed in this thread that's been shot down by everyone?

Anyway, let us know what Dermie thinks about peoples' views here next time you sit down for a $6 decaf cafe latte with him.

Hey come on. 5 day AND 5 (meaningless) night Premierships.

it's an incredible contrast isn't it?

I sometimes revel in watching a game of soccer, and miracle of miracles, often the commentator stops talking altogether! You are just left with the game and the crowd noise. It's magic.

You don't need to say something for the sake of it. The game can speak for itself. Say something only when something needs to be said. Seven hells, it's not hard

Could not agree more mate. How good is it when they just stop for 5 seconds after an amazing goal and you're just left with the players and crowd's reaction. It is magic.

Imagine Dermie after a goal in the soccer. While the players and crowd are going wild celebrating he'd be in a calm voice saying "Now I reckon I would have put that just a bit more to the left - in the 80's you know the only way we used to do it was...........etc, etc ..........."

He's continually head-hunted by big media execs all around the country. No offense, but their evaluations of Brereton's seem to be a lot more correct than yours.

Brereton knows what he's talking about. It's not a fault having a big vocabulary. He's good with his words and he chooses to use his strengths to give everyone a good idea of what's going on.
Pisstake surely.

Recently claimed Hams was a player we had been cultivating to fill a midfield role and has previously stated Kennedy was in AA form despite missing most of the season with injury.

He doesn't watch or follow the league and it shows.