Des

332docker said:
I was led to believe he played on Tadgh Kennelly in this game. Check his stats and you will see 2 kicks 7 handballs for the game.

Cheers for that. I really did want to know whom was his direct opponent, was very hard to pick up on the coverage. Good get if it was Kennelly.

Thanks for those thoughts re Headland playing on Kenneally, it definitely puts it into perspective. I am a bit of a Des fan, and he is mine in the Buddy stakes. He did not stand out in the finals, and I guess I expected him to have a significant impact, so would have to say was a bit disappointed. Not that we would have picked him necessarily, but would prefer Headland on the list to Brennan (who will get better), so personally I don't criticise the trade that brought him here.

The other thing with Des is that he is exactly what the Dockers say they need; a tall, fast midfielder with skill. So if he goes, we need that even more.

Having said all of that, I believe that anyone is up for trade if a value trade, which makes us a better team comes along. Given that he left Bri-vegas to come home, I cannot see that happening.

Serious question.

Is Headland a great finisher. From the freo games I have watched this year he runs through fifty blazes away and misses. I remember him at the lions charging through the centre and banging goals from 45 out. Has he lost this side of his game. If so, why would you want him any more.

Headland is a very good finisher. I have occassionally seen him lead out of the goal square too, and thought he was quite good. Maybe later in his career he can be used in that way a bit like Roo for Adelaide.

I watched a replay of the Brizzy vs. Caringbush GF when Dessie played.
He was quiet, did very little, but still got that medallion.
I'd put the fear of god in him, and tell him that next season is his last at Freo, same with Schammer. The only way these two perform is when they are scared whitless that they will be dropped.
Schammer was good against Melb, but he has had some very ordinary other games.
I'd let Soreknee & Parker go as well in this period coming up.
If we want to get serious about a flag, we need to grab our chance.
That is 2007 or 2008.

Jack-Packenham said:
Serious question.

Is Headland a great finisher. From the freo games I have watched this year he runs through fifty blazes away and misses. I remember him at the lions charging through the centre and banging goals from 45 out. Has he lost this side of his game. If so, why would you want him any more.

His skills are greatly over rated and average at best.

His out on the full against the swans was embarrassing.

dominguez said:
His skills are greatly over rated and average at best.

His out on the full against the swans was embarrassing.

That was because of pressure, his capacity to deal with it is the inherent problem in his game. Put him in the clear under no pressure and he could drill a ball through the eye of a needle. Have an opponent bearing down on him just about to iron him out and that ball would go off sideways.

his delivery to pavlich this year especially early in the season was really good.

his finals series was poor however his regular season before the melbourne game was really good.

Rob said:
That was because of pressure, his capacity to deal with it is the inherent problem in his game. Put him in the clear under no pressure and he could drill a ball through the eye of a needle. Have an opponent bearing down on him just about to iron him out and that ball would go off sideways.

Hahaha, so we play him against bottom 8 sides but send him to Subi against good sides and for the finals?

Ripper said:
I reckon He won the game against the Pies at the MCG for us.

I see Kennally was back to a 20+ possession game in the GF as well.

I reckon you blokes underrate just what DJ does.

Exactly. You don't rack up 6 tackles if you are uninvolved in a game. And Des's disposal has been a feature of that run of 9 games.

I heard that Des got a rocket up him towards the end of last season. For mine he has improved dramatically in his hardness at the coal face. You have to accept he's a ball carrier not a natural ball winner. In the same way that Hasleby will never be a ball carrier. So I can't fault his application this season.

He gets plenty of tackles because he won't put his head over the footy and waits for his opposition player to grab the ball.

We may add a best 22 player next week but at this stage my side for round 1 2007 looks like this-
B- Hayden Mcpharlin Parker
HB- Grover Johnson Mundy
C- Peake Bell Black
HF-Schammer Pavlich Crowley
F- JLo Murphy Farmer
R- Sandilands J Carr Hasleby
Int- Dodd M Carr Duffield Cook
Em- Webster McManus Thornton Polak Drum

That's 27 guys that I would play ahead of Headland (with trade week and the draft to come). Considering he would be in the 10 highest paid players on our list he has been a massive disappointment.