Des

• Thread starter Thread starter chook2734

So that he is having a good season this year with a very average midfield equates to what exactly? That he doesn't need anyone else to make him look good.

Yeah fair call. I guess my point was maybe everyone in the football world, not just Freo supporters, considered him a midfielder and expected him to do what a traditional midfielder does - in and under packs etc... like J Carr, Kerr & Co which is what everyone seems to have been marking him against and it is not his thing. If he was marked on being a wing/ flanker maybe we'd all see him in a different light and judge him accordingly. Along the lines of an Andrew Embley type player. He still needs to show consistency over a few years to.

Come on there are plenty of midfielders that don't play the in and under role, I thought a west coast fan would have known that. The trick is getting the right balance of in and under players as well as the fast skillful players to break the lines.

It will be interesting to see how he goes, but virtually every week someone posts something about Headland that begins this way. usually it is, "Yeah he has been good this week/month/year etc, but unless he backs it up this week, then he is soft/a dowhill skier/seagull/tradebait." No matter how he performs this week, he has had a good year.

Des has missed out on the important part of testing him, which is finals. With the season he has had so far, hes done a good job. However if he had been a finals campaign and played poorly again i would have been calling for his head. Its a moot point now though.

You mean, every time Des isn't getting the ball fed out to him, he has a poor game stats-wise. Hase has only had one bad game for the season against Geelong, the same game Des went missing when the heat was on, so i guess you have some correlation there.

I think its fair to say that guys like Des live and die off guys like Hase, because Hase gets the hard ball and des waits for the soft ball.

Wingman have performed this role for a hundred years.

Craig Bradley (imo one of the greatest, and most unheralded players for his quality ever) made a hall of fame career out of doing just that.

if your outside players are having to extract their own ball, how do they carry and break the lines?

as an opposition supporter Des has one problem, and only one problem: he doesn't love the game he was born to play. imagine if someone told you, you were a born world class synchronised swimmer or curling champion?

Des has all the talent in the world, maybe his attitude to the game would be different if he didn't?

Yeah playing for Brisbane as a seagull getting fed by one of the best midfields of all time. Mate anyone with half an ounce of football ability would be made to look good with Voss, Black, Lappin, Aker, Power and co at the bottom of packs feeding it out.

this post reveals a fundamental misunderstanding of the game.

I'm just trying to work out who these in and under players, are extracting the ball out to? :)

Not sure, but they did a good job against your boys last week. ;)

Seriously that is not Dessies job, even though in the past month he has been doing that aswell. He is an outside runner who finishes off the good work cos there is knowone else to do it. Hence why i bought up Mcleod. Similar roles but at different ends of the field, one a sweeping half back the other a goalkicking forward.

Not sure, but they did a good job against your boys last week. ;)

don't get to carried away, we've been shown up by some fairly average sides recently :)

Seriously that is not Dessies job, even though in the past month he has been doing that aswell. He is an outside runner who finishes off the good work cos there is knowone else to do it. Hence why i bought up Mcleod. Similar roles but at different ends of the field, one a sweeping half back the other a goalkicking forward.

yeah that's fine, but seeing as that's what I've already said earlier i'm not sure how you expect me to respond?

if your outside players are having to extract their own ball, how do they carry and break the lines?

I've tried that line of argument numerous times, but people who already have a set opinion about Headland it equates to..... SOFT. They want someone who extracts the ball and gets it to themselves. With Headland they also want him to apply a shephard so that he can kick it to himself in the forward line.

headcase better watch out for selwood next week :thumbsu:

im sure chicky would love to teach him a thing or two next sunday as well. onya chicky

Headland's courage on the footy field has been brought into question many times, but if Headland and Chick went toe to toe then Daniel would be Dessie's bitch. Mundine wasn't a tough guy on the rugby field either.

I've tried that line of argument numerous times, but people who already have a set opinion about Headland it equates to..... SOFT. They want someone who extracts the ball and gets it to themselves. With Headland they also want him to apply a shephard so that he can kick it to himself in the forward line.

nah he's an absolute dud, we'll give you a 4th round pick for him :D

honestly, he's exactly what we lack. he's a very good player, and just because he could be great, doesn't diminish what he actually provides.

You're on the right forum. Most of the posters on here want him gone, and as quickly as possible. Shouldn't cost you much, because he is not worth anything. That's according to most posters on here.

Untouchable!!!!!!!

The guy is a star.

Hes not untouchable, and hes not a star, but he is a required player.. for now.

He is in my book. You dont trade guys that are as good as him and have passion for the guernsey.

This would be Des best season at the Dockers....

Sure his previous years have been sub standard, But this year even his harshest knockers must admit he is giving it all ....(and i was a critic)

Lets all hope he can play a blinder this weekend.

Deserves another contract, maybe 2 years..