Developing Paddy

• Thread starter Thread starter ike2112

Just to update out of last game's debut.

Apparently, McCartin had been brought in as an emergency on Thursday FOR BRUCE, and NOT for Riewoldt. Bruce had been fighting gastro all week, and Paddy was there in case Bruce just couldn't play. From that perspective, it was a relatively like-for-like replacement (two young tall forwards)

Then, in a completely unforeseen situation, Riewoldt was injured in his pre-game routine. This was a double wammy: now, McCartin was in for Roo, which is not a like for like, and everybody knew it. But also, Bruce, who really shouldn't have played (as he hadn't really pulled up by then from the gastro) just HAD to play.

Perfect storm of unfortunate circumstances. This is why it all looked a bit half-baked, confused, late-notice, etc.

Also puts Bruce's game into perspective as well I guess
Honestly, I'm astonished that he got 2 goals under the circumstances.

Fact is, Bruce is equal 5th on the leading goal kickers so far this season, and only 3 behind Kennedy at the top.

He presented strongly though.

Takes courage & confidence to do that in your first game on the big stage.

Plenty of good signs.

I'm really looking forward top seeing him playing without the ball being a cake of soap like it was last week. Anyone who has played footy as a forward knows how difficult it is to be effective with your marking when conditions are like that. Add to the first game nerves, late call up etc. it was pretty much the worst possible conditions for a young key forward to debut in. As long as it isn't greasy there I reckon we will see a really improved display this week when conditions are better. I'm glad they kept him in Roo or not.

Bruce at the start of the year was playing the closer-to-goal full forward tall position. That is ideally where McCartin belongs. So that they are both after that same position at this stage in their development doesn't help.

Longer-term is these two are our KPF answer, and it looks like they ought to be, Bruce needs to start taking leads further out and coming down the wings at times like Roo. Let Paddy own the territory within 30m of the posts.

Bruce at the start of the year was playing the closer-to-goal full forward tall position. That is ideally where McCartin belongs. So that they are both after that same position at this stage in their development doesn't help.

Longer-term is these two are our KPF answer, and it looks like they ought to be, Bruce needs to start taking leads further out and coming down the wings at times like Roo. Let Paddy own the territory within 30m of the posts.

True. However Paddy is probably a better field kick to tee up the forwards, and Bruce is probably a better set shot for goal! But Bruce is currently fitter to run up the ground, and stronger to park in the goalsquare! Much to think about.

At least it might give them a nudge toward working on other parts of their game.

Whilst it does provide those kind of minor issues, the great thing I realised after watching the Pies game again, is that both have a much greater understanding than Stanley showed. Even with a first gamer and a guy who has played about 9 AFL games in the fwd line, there were none of those frustrating moments of one guy dragging their defender closer to another's space they were leading to. That sort of thing really used to piss me off!

Just to update out of last game's debut.

Apparently, McCartin had been brought in as an emergency on Thursday FOR BRUCE, and NOT for Riewoldt. Bruce had been fighting gastro all week, and Paddy was there in case Bruce just couldn't play. From that perspective, it was a relatively like-for-like replacement (two young tall forwards)

Then, in a completely unforeseen situation, Riewoldt was injured in his pre-game routine. This was a double wammy: now, McCartin was in for Roo, which is not a like for like, and everybody knew it. But also, Bruce, who really shouldn't have played (as he hadn't really pulled up by then from the gastro) just HAD to play.

Perfect storm of unfortunate circumstances. This is why it all looked a bit half-baked, confused, late-notice, etc.
Not true Perse...I knew at 12 o'clock that Roo's calf was crook

1.01 for cartsy to slot his first goal. Book it
Cartsy?? Hmmmmmmmmmmmm
8560268922_7e3d9bacea.jpg

Nope, dont like it.
:p

(the nickname that is)

knowing the boys they'll probably line him up with a play on the word paddy: burgers, sanitary pads if he's really unlucky. I lolled for a while when I heard sinclair's nickname is "jeff", because we already have too many jacks. Hahahahaha

Hogan - what a game!! But this is his 3rd year in the system with his first being in the VFL and then last year out all year with back issues. It just shows why time must be given to the larger blokes and so we need to do the same to Paddy. I hope Roo is fine for the following week and Paddy goes back down to the VFl to learn his trade having a taste of it at AFL level.

Even if he kicks 3 or 4 goals he should still have a spell as he is not ready yet and also the club has said he is not ready yet...

Hope Paddy can have a similar impact in a couple of years' time

Have to think Hogan's development was greatly helped by being able to play VFL; a fairly decent level, above TAC Cup, but without any strong expectations or reliance upon him to hit form asap and get into the AFL side. By being barred from a call-up, he had clear focus on adjusting to adult footy, with a settled environment. He was able to dominate and go into AFL with that proven ability, and everything he learnt under his arm.

This was a contributing factor on me starting this thread around our handling of Paddy.

Have to think Hogan's development was greatly helped by being able to play VFL; a fairly decent level, above TAC Cup, but without any strong expectations or reliance upon him to hit form asap and get into the AFL side. By being barred from a call-up, he had clear focus on adjusting to adult footy, with a settled environment. He was able to dominate and go into AFL with that proven ability, and everything he learnt under his arm.

This was a contributing factor on me starting this thread around our handling of Paddy.

....which is a primary reason why we can't compare the two kids over their first 3 years as they will have had different paths.

Not like that.

Should wait until Roo is back IMHO

So anyone want to give me a rundown on what happened today?

I think when Roo is back it's a trip to the twos for Paddy.

Disagree, I think a run in the twos until Nick is back.

Not enough experience to develop him and bring him in the game.

Bruce and Membrey new at it too.

Disagree, I think a run in the twos until Nick is back.

Not enough experience to develop him and bring him in the game.

Bruce and Membrey new at it too.

I'm with Kel, send him back to sandy

Hopefully spencer has a good game to get elevated

If we are going to have Bruce forward, if we are going to have Lonie, Sinclair, Billings and Members around the 50 arc as well then all need to learn to work with Paddy in that very same F50, and whilst Roo is out and we have no other options that warrant selection to fill that role, then Paddy should play and simply rotate through as required since his tank would not be there, nor would be his core strength (remember how long it took for Stanley to fill out?".

Dropping him for the sake of dropping him won't help either himself or the side.