Devils to Fold

• Thread starter Thread starter Duff TV

Thought the same as MARVELDC when I read that too!

My mail is Ben Atkin was asked to address the players before the game and had to pay his way into the ground!

I wonder how many Devils games Scott Wade has paid to get in to?

Why the Devils have had to go.

"Anyone who was against it, and is now a convert - why? Could you please point me in the direction of the game breaking argument, because it's gone right over my head![/quote]

Mr Gibbke,

Mate you don't go to local Tassie footy games and witness the absolute massive difference in both standard & quailty of games and players that are in the same comp.

When a Glenorchy plays a team outside the 5 its a one sided scrap that does nothing for football. Games are boring. Its boring to film, its boring as a spectator, players after the game shake their head, the winning side was not tested, sponsors come along and wonder why they throw $$$$ at crap and basically its just not a healthy situation.

Its the same in the NTFL - lop sided boring contests that turns people away.

Yet go to a Regional game at its more often an interesting battle as games have atmosphere and the punter looks forward to next week.

So something has had to give, the Devils have had to make way. On this note I think Wade and co just may have got it right.

Mate if you want me to send you a few DVD's of the 144 roster games we have filmed in the past two years I can do so and you would see for yourself how good local footy can still be and how bad at the other end it often is.

The fact is the Premier League having 8 teams and NTFL 10 teams were never ever going to be able to reach a standard that was high enough to get it back on the box (ABC TV) and radio. This is surely what we all want for our top local players.

Assuming this happens then the profile will lift and clubs will benefit and hopefully gone will be the lop sided games that happen almost 50% of the time.

There is alot of water to go under the bridge but hopefully footy will be the winner out of all this.

Re: Why the Devils have had to go.

Mr Gibikee,

Mate you don't go to local Tassie footy games and witness the absolute massive difference in both standard & quailty of games and players that are in the same comp.

When a Glenorchy plays a team outside the 5 its a one sided scrap that does nothing for football. Games are boring. Its boring to film, its boring as a spectator, players after the game shake their head, the winning side was not tested, sponsors come along and wonder why they throw $$$$ at crap and basically its just not a healthy situation.

Its the same in the NTFL - lop sided boring contests that turns people away.

Yet go to a Regional game at its more often an interesting battle as games have atmosphere and the punter looks forward to next week.

So something has had to give, the Devils have had to make way. On this note I think Wade and co just may have got it right.

Mate if you want me to send you a few DVD's of the 144 roster games we have filmed in the past two years I can do so and you would see for yourself how good local footy can still be and how bad at the other end it often is.

The fact is the Premier League having 8 teams and NTFL 10 teams were never ever going to be able to reach a standard that was high enough to get it back on the box (ABC TV) and radio. This is surely what we all want for our top local players.

Assuming this happens then the profile will lift and clubs will benefit and hopefully gone will be the lop sided games that happen almost 50% of the time.

There is alot of water to go under the bridge but hopefully footy will be the winner out of all this.
Duff you change your mind as often as you change your undies. What changed it this time since August 26th?

These comments by me are going to probably cost me opportunities next year but I am prepared to say what must be said as I can't live with myself being associated with the current administration.

To those who will hop in bed with AFL TAS as it stands next year HANG YOUR HEAD IN SHAME. SHAME SHAME SHAME.

They are not all pirates at AFL TAS, in fact there are some very good people there but change at the top must happen and happen soon otherwise football in this state will be the biggest loser.

Come on footy public, unite and lets push for change.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=12205595&postcount=340

Re: Why the Devils have had to go.

Duff you change your mind as often as you change your undies. What changed it this time since August 26th?

Roorat, what I am saying is that Statewide would be good as I think we need it but not with the current administration at the helm.

I don't know what can be done about that though mate.

Duff, I can't argue with someone who goes to Tasmanian footy games every week, who obviously also knows and loves his footy, about what's right in front of them, especially when I'm way up here. I'd love to see any of the 144 roster games your company has covered, and seeing as I've never seen my Devils actually play a live game, and unfortunately never will, as well as never having seen my Northern brothers actually beat the South in any of those constant thumpings we regularly inflict upon supposedly superior opposition (insert "typical southern excuse on its way" icon here!), I'm sure I'd be graphically enlightened...

I kid 'cos I love...

But my point is not what IS, it's about what WILL BE...

The previous SW comp managed more 100 point thrashings in 15 years than the AFL has managed in 112. Clubs struggled for money, went under, were decimated when players left for whatever reason, and the product sucked. We know this, we saw it, and many people were as happily vocal about the end of SW and all its pitfalls as have been celebrating the end of the Devils. All this has happened before and will happen again...

Promises have been made, and the business model is different. But will it produce the desired end result? I think not. You'll reduce the number of clubs given worthwhile money to an ideal ten, leave the rest to rot, introduce cost cutting measures to these ten clubs that will not necessarily improve the standard of players nor attract the mainland marquee players of the late 80's-early 90's (making you ask what can they actually do with this cash), but should keep the clubs afloat...

If SW was the only way to go and such a no-brainer, it would never have been ditched in the first place! Where was the Tasmanian submission for more funding in 2000 to keep the league alive? Why did they not then build this business model if it's so good?

Watch as ten clubs get the lion's share of football money, but not enough to do any more than pay the bills (certainly not enough to regularly attract players like Weightman, Code, Grinter, Wright, Rhys-Jones, Wright, Groenewegan, German, etc etc), and the unique demographic that is Tasmanian footy splits even further down the middle. Supporters will not ditch a non-SW team they already support and start following one of the chosen ten - they'll stay down or they'll give up footy altogether because their comp has had the guts ripped out of it. NW and Northern supporters (half the state) will not jump on the B-D-NL-L-SL wagon when they live in the other NTFL towns or already support their demoted side in the NTFA. Wotherspoon hasn't been smugly laughing at southerners for 20 years because he's a crazy old man - he's been laughing because his comp has kept itself stable all this time while the rivals continually build themselves up to outwardly grand heights and then disintegrate through their own inept and unfocussed folly...

Tasmanian footy is country community footy. You're all kidding yourselves if you think local clubs are anything but. If the money was spent ensuring all of the sides survive, you foster interest right across the board. You get your players, your passion for the game, and local interest in it, from this. The standard rises when juniors go to their local club and it isn't a debt-ridden joke. Numbers attract quality, which then attracts numbers. Unlike the SA/WA/VFL, the clubs and these rivalries for the new SW League weren't there from the beginning - we are far too stubborn to start adopting an A-League model, and we are not Sydney or Brisbane, where noone gives a rat's anyway about the local comp, and where you have an AFL team and copious amounts of AFL funding paying all the bills.

I see nothing that will be a godsend - just more lies and promises. Sure, there will be some good matches - throw money at privileged footy clubs and that's what tends to happen...we all enjoyed the 3-way rivalry between N.Launceston, Clarence and N.Hobart in the early 90's, some of the best club footy ever witnessed in this state, but for a few good matches, we're going to decimate...how many clubs are there in the state these days...?

Everything has been promised, and nothing is being backed up and sold. I don't need to be leaning on the boundary fence week in week out to be able to see this...it's just the same old story, like it was in the 26 years I lived in my home state...

I've never been a great fan of the Devils, but that is only because of the structure.

In what warped world would a football governing body think it would be okay to run a football club and make decision in the interest of its club and members, as well as attempt to act in the best interests in the development of football across the whole State?

When will AFL Tasmania be held accountable for their decisions, and who gets the axe when the mooted Statewide League fails?

Well done Mr Wade, I hope you are proud of your achievements thus far, in your apparent effort to make soccer the number one football code in this State. :thumbsd:

Gibbke

That is a fair dinkum good comeback and you know what mate I reckon you are spot on re putting $$$$ back in local clubs and comps and keeping it Regional.

But at the end of the day the old 6 team TFL and NTFA and NWFU's aint gunna be funded by the AFL. That's too old school for them as supporting communities is out. They have the bucks and whilst Wade is at the helm this = UP YOURS FOOTBALL PUBLIC IF YOU WANT A QUICK FIX PLEASE SIGN HERE.

So it will be "up yours Kingborough, Brighton and New Norfolk, stuff the Regional and all other comps in Tassie, the clock is ticking, make a decision or miss out."

As you say Gibbeke miss out on what and mate you may just be right. This is such a delicate issue that is being rushed in. Its madness.

But AFL TAS will continue on their way, surround us all in confusion, leaving the boxes unticked and not able to answer the questions.

They are surely joking if they think 2009 is a goer.

So does anyone know what the future holds for the Devils 2008 squad?

I'd imagine the likes of Vearing, Hardy, Koulouriotis, George, Langford, S. Plummer, T. Plummer, Bongetti, Mooney, Setchell would all return back to their native mainland.

Street, Shackleton, Hazell, Geappen, Thurley I would have thought would be hotly pursued by other VFL, SANFL or WAFL teams.

Cornelius, Robinson, McCulloch, Williams, Salter will still hold hopes of being drafted (particularly the first two).

That leaves from the list: Cox, Gilmore, Savage, Richter, Long, Lemm, Bielski, Neville, Charlesworth, Creese, Williamson, Cassidy, Moles, Burgess, Bowden, Andrews, Whish-Wilson, Johnston, O'Brien, Mihoceck, Milne, Shade. What will these players do? Simply return to their local clubs?

I'd imagine the likes of Vearing, Hardy, Koulouriotis, George, Langford, S. Plummer, T. Plummer, Bongetti, Mooney, Setchell would all return back to their native mainland.

Street, Shackleton, Hazell, Geappen, Thurley I would have thought would be hotly pursued by other VFL, SANFL or WAFL teams.

Cornelius, Robinson, McCulloch, Williams, Salter will still hold hopes of being drafted (particularly the first two).

That leaves from the list: Cox, Gilmore, Savage, Richter, Long, Lemm, Bielski, Neville, Charlesworth, Creese, Williamson, Cassidy, Moles, Burgess, Bowden, Andrews, Whish-Wilson, Johnston, O'Brien, Mihoceck, Milne, Shade. What will these players do? Simply return to their local clubs?

surely you are joking re street, Hazell, Gaeppen in other VFL/SANFL/WAFL clubs??? Hazell has a chronic hip complaint that whilst is on the mend is not going to auger well for future recruitment and he has a long injury track record, Street works for AFL Tas and wont get as cushy a job unless his bro at the Bulldogs offers him something?? and Geappen, common he is an honest goer but I wouldn't have thought he would get a kick in the VFL anymore other than in the Devils side, body has suffered too much and he murders the ball:eek:

as for may of the others I imagine they will all go back to their local clubs or SWL club of choice if they wish to extend themselves or in many cases go to cashed up 2nd tier comps for coin$$, what other sport in the world rewards mediocrity with $$$ like footy does?

Hot tip, Koula whatever his name is and Thurley in a package deal somewhere down Bells Beach way??

Hey DUFF TV!

If you're the same DUFF TV who films those POOR QUALITY DVDs of the N.T.J.F.A. grand finals over the years, then the only reason i can see why you want the state league is, because maybe some sucker of a football club might not know how badly you film footy games, and ask you to do their games. All you can see is $$$$$$$$$ for yourself! :mad:

For what you charge for the poor quality is a disgrace!:thumbsd:

You haven't answered my previous question

"What dream did you get that number from?" "Greater than 50% being in favour of statewide! You made the statement, BACK IT UP!

What the hell happened to Neville anyway, was a big signing after spending 2 seasons on an AFL list and I don't think he has played a game all year..

A couple of these blokes as previously mentioned will go and play in SWL ie: Cox, Savage, Richter, Charlesworth & Cassidy
What could happen is also coaching roles in lower leagues like the Regional and Old Scholars comps could be given to some of these players ie: Gilmour, Creese, Burgess & perhaps someone like Street may also take up an offer like that..

What the hell happened to Neville anyway, was a big signing after spending 2 seasons on an AFL list and I don't think he has played a game all year..

A couple of these blokes as previously mentioned will go and play in SWL ie: Cox, Savage, Richter, Charlesworth & Cassidy
What could happen is also coaching roles in lower leagues like the Regional and Old Scholars comps could be given to some of these players ie: Gilmour, Creese, Burgess & perhaps someone like Street may also take up an offer like that..

You don't think Street & Richter will be pursued by other VFL teams?

Hey DUFF TV!

If you're the same DUFF TV who films those POOR QUALITY DVDs of the N.T.J.F.A. grand finals over the years, then the only reason i can see why you want the state league is, because maybe some sucker of a football club might not know how badly you film footy games, and ask you to do their games. All you can see is $$$$$$$$$ for yourself! :mad:

"What dream did you get that number from?" "Greater than 50% being in favour of statewide! You made the statement, BACK IT UP!

If you can tell me what game you are referring to then I would gladly refund you if I thought it was poor vision, commentary and not good value @ $30.

If you are referring you to this years NTJFA I didn't film this. Please write a letter to the NTJFA with any concerns you may have.

Duff, I'll go on record as saying every time I've clicked on your site, I've enjoyed what you've put on it.

Marvel, you diss but you don't back it up. Do better or shut up.

^^
My son still watches his Dufftv under 12 dvd, nothing wrong with the quality. A different lot were filming at this years Grandfinal so we'll see what the difference in quality is tho I noticed there was only one cameraman.

surely you are joking re street, Hazell, Gaeppen in other VFL/SANFL/WAFL clubs??? Hazell has a chronic hip complaint that whilst is on the mend is not going to auger well for future recruitment and he has a long injury track record, Street works for AFL Tas and wont get as cushy a job unless his bro at the Bulldogs offers him something?? and Geappen, common he is an honest goer but I wouldn't have thought he would get a kick in the VFL anymore other than in the Devils side, body has suffered too much and he murders the ball:eek:

as for may of the others I imagine they will all go back to their local clubs or SWL club of choice if they wish to extend themselves or in many cases go to cashed up 2nd tier comps for coin$$, what other sport in the world rewards mediocrity with $$$ like footy does?

Hot tip, Koula whatever his name is and Thurley in a package deal somewhere down Bells Beach way??

mate u are a disgrace. Street doesnt work for AFL Tas anymore, and the only thing that will keep him in the state is his new job. Any SANFL or WAFL side would jump at the chance to get him. Charlesworth is a class act, just struck down by ankle problems, and remember he was named in the VFL squad earlier in the season. Geappen can play and would get picked up by any SANFL club if he left.

Neville had ongoing groin probs, OP which flared preseason was sitting this one out. Shack prob wont go after already coming back once.

Hey DUFF TV!

Hmmmm Marvel DC you tend to sprout off about absolute poop! I suggest you stick to reading your Wonder woman comics champ. I bet you read them in the toilet!!!!!!!!

Always loved your work Duff regardless if it is footy, cricket or weddings. Spend my $30 every day of the week if i had too

Hmmmm Marvel DC you tend to sprout off about absolute poop! I suggest you stick to reading your Wonder woman comics champ. I bet you read them in the toilet!!!!!!!!

Always loved your work Duff regardless if it is footy, cricket or weddings. Spend my $30 every day of the week if i had too

Reply from MarvelDC

"I must hurry back to my comic book store, where I dispense the insults rather than absorb them."

Tassie Hawks Cup

Latest Dodgy Duff TV highlights can be seen here involving New Town, Prospect and Ulverstone High Schools.

It's the Grade 10 Tassie Hawks Cup finals put on by Hawthorn FC.

http://dufftv.com.au/?p=171