Did Danny do Christie?

Any other explanations of the raw deal the guy gets?
Sorry no Idea but I get what you mean by saying he play well in the Guts ins VFL but in the AFL MM uses him as a KPD playing at CHB or FB

I would understand if there where better options for his role. For example last year Burns and O'Bree together with Swan. Also with the first two and Stanley and Pendleberry in the same midfield there would be a worrying lack of pace. However this year we need a big rig midfielder to step up and his form has been ignored.

I'd even understand if it wasn't for say Cook who IMO has less to offer being persisted with. Toovey as much as I think gets a raw deal on these boards, has been given much more oppertunity then Stanley and even Wellingham who I do rate has been given every oppertunity whilst it seems Stanley's cards are marked regardless of not being used in the role that he excells in.

I would understand if there where better options for his role. For example last year Burns and O'Bree together with Swan. Also with the first two and Stanley and Pendleberry in the same midfield there would be a worrying lack of pace. However this year we need a big rig midfielder to step up and his form has been ignored.

I'd even understand if it wasn't for say Cook who IMO has less to offer being persisted with. Toovey as much as I think gets a raw deal on these boards, has been given much more oppertunity then Stanley and even Wellingham who I do rate has been given every oppertunity whilst it seems Stanley's cards are marked regardless of not being used in the role that he excells in.

True that last 2 seasons accept for obree we did not have many other options but Know the Drafting of Steele and Beams(Espically for this season), Stanley does have some competion for him and that is not good news for Stanley

I'd suggest when he get's a go he doesn't set the world on fire. Didn't do anything wrong really in the last game, but then again didn't do anything spectacular. Toovey has impressed on ocassions and Mick was very impressed that he played on with a busted foot. Cook I would prefer to have seen out than Stanley, but that being said he probably nudged ahead of Stanley last time. Whatever potential he has shown in the AFL has just not translated yet into anything very spectacular.

I can't understand it. Someone had previously stated that he just follows his opponent around aimlessly when the ball is not in his vicinty.

I haven't seen any VFL games so I wouldn't know but he wins the footy in the guts and VFL but has never been given that opportunity at AFL level.:confused:

I think his cards may be marked.

I'd suggest when he get's a go he doesn't set the world on fire. Didn't do anything wrong really in the last game, but then again didn't do anything spectacular. Toovey has impressed on ocassions and Mick was very impressed that he played on with a busted foot. Cook I would prefer to have seen out than Stanley, but that being said he probably nudged ahead of Stanley last time. Whatever potential he has shown in the AFL has just not translated yet into anything very spectacular.

I'd agree with that. Although as I have said in the past his major strength is his ability to win the ball in contested situations especially in and around stoppages. It's like taking a guy who can punch but can't mark and playing them as a foward and judging them on that. Cook's preformances have been better then Stanley's but he has also had two luxury's Stanley hasn't. The first is being as a versatile player he has been played in roles he is more adaptable to. Secondly he has been given ample oppertunity to setlle into the level.

I'm starting to think Stanley will not make it.

He's only been left out of a NAB Cup side but it just doesn't look good for him does it?

It makes no sense to me to play him as a sub and give him a quarter and a bit and then drop him the next week when he showed a bit in that time.

Maybe we are not seeing something that the coaches have asked of him and he has not delivered.

I dunno. The treatment of Stanley is a mystery to me. I'd love to see him given just one practice match in the guts to see if there is something that is missing.

I've yet to see anything (aside from loose ball on the deck one on one situations) that Stanley excells in. Average kick, decent handball, awful one on one defender, slow over the mark, mediocre execution and decision making.

Whilst Cook and Toovey have deficiencies (Toovey is a god awful kick) they are brilliant defensive midfielders and they know where to run and can run all day.

We all love a player that can smash and grab the hard ball, but today's football is far more reliant on the bloke that can cover an area and run like a gazell.

That's the brutal truth.

That loose ball on the deck, smash and grab attack results in clearances, getting first hands on the ball for the team. In these situations he is generally very clean and quick with his hands and gets the ball out to a team mate effectively (at least at VFL level.)

Also if Cook is a brilliant defensive mid then Stanley is a Sam Mitchel clearance king, I don't think either are true just pointing out your hyperbole. Cook is porbably a C- defensive player.

Just out of intrest I reckon out of the 14 or so VFL games Stanley player he would have been in the best about 10 times including 1 or two proformances which were sheer dominate.

I don't understand why everyone is saying his career is over because he's been left out of a nab cup game. The club is clearly trying to get a good mix of players and give everyone a run. In my opinion J-Mac is his replacement and it's fair enough as he needs a run too.

Wait until the season proper before we start to write people off.

Cook and Toovey should go well before Stanners though.

I don't understand why everyone is saying his career is over because he's been left out of a nab cup game. The club is clearly trying to get a good mix of players and give everyone a run. In my opinion J-Mac is his replacement and it's fair enough as he needs a run too.

Wait until the season proper before we start to write people off.

Cook and Toovey should go well before Stanners though.

I think it is more the fact that he is yet to be given a decent crack at breaking into the side in the role he actually plays despite playing it exceptionally well in the 2's last year. Working on the assumption that if he was in the clubs thinking for season 09 they'd want to give him a go in the preseason and yet still haven't done that.

Possibly hasn't been used the right way but the guy has shown absolutely zero at AFL level to suggest he belongs there. Is that through lack of opportunity or just not good enough?

That's exactly my point though, without proper oppertunity how can you guage whether he is up to the level or not?

Absolutely ridiculous that he has once again been boned without being given a fair go, he did pratically all you could ask for of him in a half of football against the Eagles and he was far from the worst of our players on the night.

We choose a guy like Leigh Brown who has played 190 games and has shown he isn't good enough, but don't even give our best midfielder from the VFL last season a fair crack at making it.

It's only the NAB Cup but thats the point, its a perfect opportunity to play a guy like Stanley in his natural position, a centre circle midfielder. I don't mind if guys like Cook, Toovey, Barham, Sidebottom, Beams, etc, get a go but Stanley deserves an opportunity before them.

Disappointed Collingwood :thumbsd:

Meh, no big deal. He'll earn his spot again during the season proper.

I think it's improper to suggest Stanley in any compromising situation with Collingwood's first lady.

More likely you'll find Tooves has been kindly offering his services as an afternoon stroller-pusher/baby-sitter during his pre-season to add extra km's to his routine and build up a healthy number of Malthouse Credits™®

na he is just crap prefer cook than stanley.stanley looks well outa his depth when he takes the step from vfl 2 afl

It would have to be pretty disappointing for Stanley to bust his gut to get into the team - for four years - and to continually get over looked. All I can think is that in 06-07 he was too raw and really blew the opportunities he was given. In 08 we had better options than him - despite his excellent VFL form - with Burns and O'Bree in particular ahead of him in that inside mid postition. The fact that Pendlebury and Swan are not the quickest players wouldn't have helped his chances last year either.

With Burns gone this year there should theoretically be a place in the 22 for Stanley. I can only think that Malthouse believes that we have better options than Stanley in the midfield with Davis, Pendlebury, Swan, McCarthy and O'Bree. In essence McCarthy has taken Stanley's place in the 22. His lack of veratility is also an issue as he can't really play any other position which, with O'Bree in the midfield, is a real concern as I can't see us playing both of them in the same 22. The fact that we are also changing our game plan to a more run and carry, through the middle, handballing game plan may also work against Stanley this year. This is because he seems to get lost in play when he doesn't have the ball and is not the quickest player either.

That said he definately deserves a full game - or better a run of games - in his preferred inside mid position just to see whether he's up to it. The fact he'll only have gotten 1 and a bit quarters in 2 NAB games with a squad of 26 is really not a good sign.

It would have to be pretty disappointing for Stanley to bust his gut to get into the team - for four years - and to continually get over looked. All I can think is that in 06-07 he was too raw and really blew the opportunities he was given. In 08 we had better options than him - despite his excellent VFL form - with Burns and O'Bree in particular ahead of him in that inside mid postition. The fact that Pendlebury and Swan are not the quickest players wouldn't have helped his chances last year either.

With Burns gone this year there should theoretically be a place in the 22 for Stanley. I can only think that Malthouse believes that we have better options than Stanley in the midfield with Davis, Pendlebury, Swan, McCarthy and O'Bree. In essence McCarthy has taken Stanley's place in the 22. His lack of veratility is also an issue as he can't really play any other position which, with O'Bree in the midfield, is a real concern as I can't see us playing both of them in the same 22. The fact that we are also changing our game plan to a more run and carry, through the middle, handballing game plan may also work against Stanley this year. This is because he seems to get lost in play when he doesn't have the ball and is not the quickest player either.

That said he definately deserves a full game - or better a run of games - in his preferred inside mid position just to see whether he's up to it. The fact he'll only have gotten 1 and a bit quarters in 2 NAB games with a squad of 26 is really not a good sign.

Some good points there that with his Lack of Speed and Verstality and Also that he is not a Great Kick, That does not help him alot